84 reviews
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,4
92% recommended this app
84 reviews
Andrew F.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Pretty good so far.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to collect user passwords from my team automatically without us having to remember to document everything has been pretty helpful.

Pros

It was quick and easy to setup and deploy on my systems and customer systems. Being able to see who accessed a password and when is also pretty huge for audits.

Cons

There are some things that can't be changed after you set them, some of the setup is not super intuitive or flexible. Things like assuming the customer has a person who can administer the service onsite and forcing you to have at least 1 site administrator per customer when in reality, there are probably a number of companies that don't have a person in house suitable to be the site administrator.

Integration with N-Central doesn't seem there quite yet, but we're hopeful they'll get it working properly soon enough. You can access and copy the passwords from the Take Control, but it won't actually paste the passwords into the system it seems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kendall P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Product

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

This software has been a life saver in terms of saving time and money. I would highly recommend it.

Pros

I really like that all my clients information is readily available in 1 place. I don't have to hunt through pages of documentation to find a password, IP address, how to article or anything. All information is laid out in a standard format

Cons

the integration with ConnectWise Automate and Control seems a little delayed. and sometimes doesn't show up at all if the serial number isn't populated in Automate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kelly speers I.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Passportal Ocular +Docs is helping us prevent brain drain

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

our documentation and password management are kept up to date allowing our contractors as well as the outsourced teams to know what we have in place.

Pros

How easy we keep records of our client's setup and secure their credentials.

Cons

there is a bit of a learning curve but support is helpful getting over the humps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

MSP Password and Security

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall great experience, it helps us achieve some GDPR compliance and audit ability of our customers as well as a central store for documentation

Pros

The audit report of known password by user and the ability to change windows password

Cons

The fact that single sign on and ad sync is not an option at the moment

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ryan C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

PassPortal Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The reporting capabilities are pretty good. The idea of Docs is really good, but needs some work.

Cons

It's pretty slow going between sections and clients.
While there are a lot of integrations, there are no ways that I've found to bulk edit imported assets, or merge duplicate assets.

Runbooks don't export long sentances properly, they don't word wrap well. For instance a long URL in a text field exported to a PDF would go off the page

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good password management tool, fair documentation platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall our experiences with Passportal (previous to being bought by SolarWinds) has been positive. While there have been some issues they have addressed them and the product has continued to grow substantially since we've been onboard.

Pros

It does a good job of keeping login information for various customers in a central, secure, managed location. It allows you to restrict access to specific clients to specific people or teams and tracks every time a technician has accessed a password so you know what needs to be rotated if they depart.

Cons

The browser plugin is tolerable but not great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nick R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Changed the way the business operates.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/26
Review Source: Capterra

The software has enabled our business to organise, check and collate all our clients documentation and credentials in one place. This means our technicians are spending a lot less time searching for information, so overall efficiency for our customers has been greatly improved. Having the ability for our technicians to have their own secure vault for corporate credentials has also improved our overall security.

Pros

Access to the portal on any devices at any time.
Portal is well designed and extremely fast to use.
Ability to store credentials and documentation in the same portal is amazing, plus the ability to link documents and credentials in revolutionary for us.

Cons

After using the software for nearly 6 months we have found no issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Love the password management features

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Full auditing of password access
Ability to fill passwords in ConnectWise Control (ScreenConnect) sessions

Cons

Documentation piece is lacking, but improving.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ethan B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Passport Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use joined with Screen connect making it easier to use the login feature

Cons

That you can only link it with screen connect and it does not support other RDC clients

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dean B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Reasonable software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Support and sales teams have been quite responsive on this, our second go.

Pros

The primary reason it was selected was for password management which has a plugin for Connectwise Control. The added bonus of a fledgeling document management systems helped tipped the balance.

Cons

Encountered a number of bugs during the initial setup but these were corrected or worked around. DMS is still very limited. More automation with regards to integration would be beneficial.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Craig M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Documentation made easy

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Passportal has made documentation a lot easier and quicker. It provides a really good structure of all of the documentation, which I didn't have previously with using something like OneNote.

Cons

Having a couple issues with integration with Ninja. Same serial number computers aren't coming in. Working with support currently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Michael F.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

From implementation to party of our daily rotation

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

The subfolder/search issue gave a bad first impression for myself and my staff of the product. The inability to automate the backup with 2FA is a major issue.

Pros

Once we removed the subfolders and placed all of the passwords at the root of the clients it works just as we need it to on the web and mobile apps for quick access to users and passwords.

Cons

There is an ability to create subfolders for each client but when you have a number of subfolders for all clients it breaks the search function eliminating the possibility of using the subfolders.
There have been 2-3 major outages in the 8 months we have been using this application. This increases the need for constant backups which can only be done via an application run manually.
Support was not aware of the ability to run the backup application from command line which has instructions in text file in the same folder as the application itself.
Unfortunately you can't run a backup via command line and automate it (batch file, scheduled task, etc.) with 2-factor authentication enabled (which we HAVE to have enabled) so you would have to run the backups manually. If there is ever an update to a password between backups and there is an outage then the staff does not have access to the updated password until the service is restored.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Joseph M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

PassPortal

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

We have been able to centralize and secure passwords for our company. This product has also helped secure our clients passwords for internal use as well provide a portal for our clients to use which helps provide value to our clients.

Pros

What I liked most about Passportal is how you can manage your clients. I like that i can private label the product for our company. The mobile app is great and very handy and works well. Securing our clients passwords has been a huge benefit.

Cons

Initial setup was not so intuitive and needed to run through the training twice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good bang for your buck

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

It's a solid product at a fair price.

Pros

Good documentation is key to running a successful MSP and PassPortal allows you to keep good notes for both your team and your clients in a secure manner. It's as comprehensive as their largest competitor, IT Glue, but significantly less and with only a month to month commitment.

Cons

It's still not inexpensive, but it's necessary as you scale and mature your MSP. It's also a major undertaking to get setup, but there are good resources to get you up and running.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very happy with Passportal

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It forced us to develop good habits. We previously documented in the site config section of autotask which was functionally no different than a notepad file. Passportal's structure of templates and linking forces us to put in more information which leads to better notes.

Cons

There are some customization aspects which are still lacking, but are on the roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good service, solid features, questionable overall business tactics

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to use, secure and seems to get regular development.

Cons

No cons about the software itself, the company (Solarwinds) is questionable at this point though. Since SolarWinds purchased PassPortal the cost for add-on licenses has more than doubled. We were made aware of this coming change by our rep through the course of a random conversation, not via any formal customer notification. Our rep said we would be grandfathered in at the old pricing level, but that does not appear to be the case. Shady... very shady.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Graham C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Product, Serious Implementation Issues

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

It's a good tool, but the configuration is taking way to long

Pros

The product is solid. Its password management feature puts it ahead of other documentation platforms. But...

Cons

Transitioning from IT Glue has been nearly impossible. I was told we'd be able to export all our data from IT Glue, and import into PassPortal via a basic .zip file, but it wasn't that simple. First, and most importantly, not one password was successfully imported from IT Glue to PP. Zero. The same with documents and articles. So effectively, all of the useful information that can't just be grabbed by integrating with our PSA/RMM tools was not imported.

I've been told fixes are coming, but it's been weeks and nothing. I have been manually moving password over using the import template, which generally works, but it is time-consuming and one of the appealing features was the import process. Now I have some passwords for some clients, plus some articles and documents, but nothing consistent.

And support has not been particularly helpful. They keep saying fixes are coming and not following up, and ultimately I need some kind of resolution here.

I very much hope I can do the bulk import soon because it's been almost two months and I am still using two products.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Arthur B.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Passportal essential in today's password reality

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Using better passwords makes us more secure and sharing passwords between co-workers is now a breeze. The support team is fabulous.

Pros

I simply does what it is supposed to do without any unnecessary complexity.

Cons

We found a glitch with one web site that would not allow login with the product. We simply use another browser until it is sorted out. The other thing is not really a con; I have to change all my weak passwords now and enter them into Passportal to keep things more secure. Not a terrible thing by any means.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stefan J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great password soulution

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Nice mobile app, great audit reports, the password AD sync helps alot for service accounts.

Cons

Right now I cant see any cons in the way we use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Troy T.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Advance using Passportal

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

The experience with the product has been greatly received from our Team and we are seeing a lot more efficiently within the team as they can go to a client, find the required information and get the job done. Also with the integration of Solarinds RMM our team are spending more time in Passportal and less in RMM because everything can be accessed from one location.

Pros

When we first saw the demo we were really impressed about the Password management capabilities and what it had to offer. Then once we got passed that we saw the real benefit of the product and that was the documentation side of thing the product had as well as the integration with Solarwinds RMM.

Cons

The only con we have found at the moment is the ability to have a default location to store articles and then link them to clients that share and use the same application.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great product for MSPs

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Channel focused and helps us solve the password problems our clients face

Cons

Would like to see 2 factor authentication as a service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jon B.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazing product for password protection

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and easy to setup and easier to administor

Cons

I would like it to with work with all applications

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kristy H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent password management software but lacks in its additional features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

The password management part is awesome. However the Docs sections lacks many features to stand up to the competition such as IT glue or Atlassian Confluence. I find it ironic that your knowledge base is using confluence and yet the doc portion of your software is lacking in options and collaboration abilities.

Pros

Password management is easy and manageable

Cons

The Passportal Docs section needs an overhaul - its way to restricted and constrained. There are bugs in the templates as well. It doesn't allow for collaborative collection of data because the templates are too rigid. If the docs section was more customizable and took some of the features from articles - where you can add text boxes, change text size and move things around would be ideal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Levon T.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It just works

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

As an MSP provider, we need something that will just work out of the box and is not admin heavy.
When training up L1 and apprentices you dont want to spend hours and hours showing them how to use a tool, it must be easy to use and self explanatory.
The integrations is has is perfect, the commands you can remotely is nice also like CMD and the info it can also fetch of said device.
I have seen other tools with similar or less that ability/features that are either more expensive or more admin time needed to maintain.

Pros

Integration
Secure
Multi factor Authentication
Efficient
Small Footprint
Manageable
Works

Cons

None yet, I am going to have to keep you posted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andy I.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/19
Review Source: Capterra

Good product

Pros

Add-in to connect wise very useful, website itself easy to navigate as is chrome add-in

Cons

Have used LastPass in the past which has a local application available which is easier to navigate

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10