35 reviews

ClearPoint Strategy

Strategic planning, performance management, & reporting

4,9 /5 (35 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
35 reviews
Erin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommend ClearPoint

Reviewed on 2019/09/20

Pros

Ease of use, ease of setup, flexibility, strategic plan tracking (we previously housed our plan in a word document)

Cons

There are a couple of features that are only available within the highest level package and there are fewer user licenses available in the package that we have, but it's what suits our organization best at this time.

Shannon B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint is great for showing alignment & how our business is connected throughout...

Reviewed on 2018/04/16

Pros

The ease of creating & generating various types of reports that are needed. The customer support is the best I have ever experienced. I also appreciate that they are consistently evolving the product and features to reflect the feedback and needs of users.

Cons

Some features are not very intuitive and it takes some digging to understand how to use them fully. However, the support available negates this.

Mark P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ClearPoint has given us a clear edge in tracking our progress on our strategic plan objectives

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Ease of tracking strategic objectives and performance measures.

Pros

What I like best about ClearPoint is the ease of use of the software and the amazing product support. We have been able to really move forward on tracking our strategic objectives and performance measures for our organization, all in one place.

Cons

The challenge we had with ClearPoint was the formatting of some reports. Working with their suppot team we were able to work through that and generate our required reports in a format that works for us.

Delinda P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Year and Counting - Great Application & Great Technical Support!

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

The staff who are available on-line for support are great! It's so refreshing to get immediate feedback when I'm working in the software. There has never been a time that I have to wait more than a few minutes. The staff are very knowledgeable, as well. Very positive experience each time!

Pros

I appreciate the software's flexibility, adaptability, and ease of use

Cons

I have no dislikes at this point about the software.

Jamie J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Product and Company

Reviewed on 2015/04/01

We've been using ClearPoint for many years now, and the developers have always been very receptive to our particular needs and wishes. I've always received prompt, friendly service and beneficial tips on how to more effectively use this tool. The possibilities with ClearPoint are significant, and the staff there are always willing to help.

Kelley H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Use the software daily

Reviewed on 2018/01/19

Pros

Cloud based, ability to see other municipality measures, project management tools.

Cons

Cost for licensing of large number of employees. Need updates on a more frequent basis to keep up with the times

John T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What a refreshing pleasure it is working with their staff!

Reviewed on 2016/12/08

ClearPoint's support team is one of the main things that really sets them apart. They are always very reachable and quick to respond to any question, whether they are asked by an account administrator or a basic user. They listen to everyone, even the little guy. Another thing that sets them apart is that when you find a glitch with a new version they work to fix it quickly and you don't have to wait a couple years until the next version comes out. In my 17 years, I have dealt with a lot of different performance management software companies and they have provided me the best customer service by far and it isn't even close. Not to mention they are all pleasant to work with and seem more like friends than business associates.

Pros

Each version is becoming more user-friendly and it continually becomes more efficient with editing and graphing the measures. I like the way you can edit and add data to the measure from one screen. Also, the graphing software is versatile and meets your needs. I like that you can add hyperlinks into the different input categories. Like being able to input GIS maps into the analysis section of the measure.

Cons

I Do not like that you cannot expand the columns widths in the measure data tables. I would like to size each column differently based on the need and would like to have wrap text capability so the row height can accommodate different verbiage without cutting off the words.

Response from Ascendant Strategy Management

John,
Thank you for such a kind review. We are motivated by the work you and others are doing at Olathe. It is great. Also, with regards to your suggestions for enhancements, we should have both items addressed shortly. The wrapping headers will be fixed on December 15, 2016, and the more flexible column widths should be improved in early 2017 (January hopefully).

We listen closely to our customers and continue to work to make the product easier to use with each release. Thank you again for the great review.

Ted Jackson, Managing Partner

Hannah B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint for Performance Management Scorecards

Reviewed on 2015/06/03

There's an evolving science to performance measurement that we're continually learning. By science, I mean there are right ways and wrong ways to structure performance information. If we'd set up the new performance information system without the guidance of ClearPoint, we could have ended up with something that looks a lot like our old binder, which was overwhelming. The ClearPoint team acted as our architect, just as we were the data architects for our executive team. When we were setting up the system, nine out of 10 times, they'd agree with our objectives and tell us how to accomplish them, but they were also clear when they didn't agree. ClearPoint would say, `This is nuts. You'd be kicking yourself if you did it this way.They helped us avoid pitfalls. When it came to our design, we needed a way to organize and visualize data quickly at multiple levels. ClearPoint was engineered to ensure key data would show up on one page and was easy to read. We even made sure the RAG status colors were calibrated to show up clearly on boardroom projectors. Now that the system is set up, we have more time to do deeper analysis'not just what happens month to month, but over, say, a two-year time period. Now that the data is more trusted, more people are asking for it.

Laura K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint for Performance Management

Reviewed on 2014/08/26

We use ClearPoint for our performance measurement scorecards. To make transition to the new software as smooth as possible, ClearPoint worked with us to build the system so that it mirrors the system of inter-linked, color-coded Excel scorecards that our staff was familiar and comfortable with. Over the year that we've used this software, ClearPoint staff has been responsive and helpful answering our questions and working with us to resolve any issues we've encountered. Overall, the system is fairly easy to use and administer, even though there is a little bit of a learning curve when transitioning from Excel. The system allowed for additional features that our previous Excel scorecards did not have. For example, some of our departments created custom reports allowing them easily compare performance data. Also, we can drill down to look into the underlying performance indicators. Finally, ClearPoint allows publishing performance reports on the web - a helpful feature for public organizations committed to transparency.

Rick M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint: A Significant Step Up from the Rest

Reviewed on 2015/04/02

Beyond serving as a university professor of strategy, I have also done a lot of strategic planning and balanced scorecard consulting with dozens of organizations over the years. I started off with some other solutions and software platforms but migrated to ClearPoint over a year ago. The value that CP brings to my clients is remarkable. It is intuitive, robust, and very easy to customize for the needs of an organization. When I have a question or problem, their support response time is very fast. Every client I work with now goes with ClearPoint. It is so much less cumbersome when compared with Excel and the feature/price point mix is unmatched in the industry.

Trena C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2016/11/03

I had the privilege of using ClearPoint on my job. It is a great program and I strongly recommend it to others that may be considering it. I also feel that the ClearPoint Support Team is awesome.

Delinda P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

More than satisfied with ClearPoint Strategy

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

In addition to the product, I am extremely satisfied with the training we received on site, as well as the sessions we have via conference call with our account representatives. No questions are too simple or too complicated. We are not limited in the number of times we reach out and appreciate the account rep keeping in touch with us and responding promptly to our inquiries. We have also appreciated the webinars that are offered and look forward to attending the annual conference for the first time this year.

Pros

The software is very intuitive and extremely flexible, as it caters to our needs as the customer. We appreciate the many resources that are available to support us in getting used to the product so that it is not intimidating or overwhelming. We don't feel limited in any way regarding how we will use the product as we make plans to move from our initial use (strategic management) to other possibilities (i.e., project management). We are also pleased with the layout and format options we have for our reports.

Cons

At this point, I don't have any cons, other than wishing I had the product sooner.

Response from Ascendant Strategy Management

Delinda,

We are so happy to hear you are pleased with your use of ClearPoint so far! It is great to hear the onboarding process has been made easy due to the onsite training, conference calls, and the overall ease of use of the tool. We are glad we can support you in managing your strategic plan through our support resources and the layout and format options we can provide with reports.

We are looking forward to our continued partnership as you grow in ClearPoint and begin to conquer new areas, like project management!

Tricia Jessee, Customer Success

Laura B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great overall!

Reviewed on 2019/10/08

Pros

The software is pretty user-friendly and offers a number of custom layouts and fields that are really helpful for my organization. The customer support has been fantastic.

Cons

It does take a while to set up, so there may be something to having support for setup. There are a handful of small features that are missing that would have made the software more useful to my organization--more flexible reports, more granular permission-granting, ability to add run charts.

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great Strategic Plan monitoring tool!!

Reviewed on 2019/10/02

Pros

ClearPoint provided our municipality with a simple and easy to use platform to manage and monitor the organization's Strategic Plan.

The platform has also allowed staff to track and report on departmental business plans, key activities and performance measures.

The online support is phenomenal as they are always prompt and offer great solutions, even for the most complex scenarios.

Cons

Some elements cannot be customized.

Not all reports can be exported into the desired format.

Certain tasks require too many steps.

Rich B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent decision support tool

Reviewed on 2015/05/01

Clearpoint has been an excellent addition for our organization. A lot of the talk in the business world today revolves around data. For a many years, we assumed that the answer to all our questions was to collect greater and greater volumes of information. The key, however, is not infinite data, it's using the data that you have well and Clearpoint is an excellent tool to do that. It's strength lies not it its complexity, but in its simplicity. It provides a structure that requires our organization to make some basic decisions about the information we have. What is good? What is bad? How are these things connected? Are our initiatives having the impact that we want. Answering these questions has been crucial to providing sound strategic direction.
Our organization also found that the pricing structure for the product also fits well with our budget and need. Having cost structured around administrators allowed us to begin our use with a low-cost pilot program before deciding to make a large investment. Once satisfied that this was the product for us, it was easy to scale up and begin to use Clearpoint across our entire organization. Even now, with minimal to no cost for browsers, it's easy to get information in the hands of people who will perform analysis and people who will make decisions.
In addition to a great product, the Ascendant team is great to work with. They are incredibly responsive to questions and requests, working with us until we get the answer that we need. And they are constantly updating a large library of FAQs, job aids and instructional videos that are very useful for administrators and average users alike.

Christina B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to support Our Strategy

Reviewed on 2016/11/03

ClearPoint has so much potential. We are utilizing it for reporting and tracking our performance measures and key activities. The support staff is amazing. There are many learning opportunities available. We stay up to date through informative webinars and ongoing conversations. I'm am always excited to learn What else can ClearPoint do?

Pros

The functionality, ease of use and support provided.

Cons

The cost.

Nikki B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Clearpoint is an easy to use software that helps keep you organized and focused on your goals

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

I am very pleased with clearpoint ! I always learn something new about the software every time I use it

Pros

I like that everything is in one place. I can keep all of the company's goals and metrics for multiple office locations in one convenient area

Cons

it is a little difficult to learn when you want to code and create features by yourself, but thankfully the support team makes this easier

Tim J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excel to Clearpoint Strategy

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

CPS is used for goal tracking, idea machine ideas review, and project tracking at a high level not as a project management tool.

Pros

Ease of use and how easy it was to organize goals and create reports.

Cons

Since we have a lot of projects in our organization, it would be helpful if the software had more project management capabilities. Also, when displaying Gantt Charts, the ability to only display the projects at the highest level would be helpful.

Alan S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint as a Critical Tool for Strategic Planning/Performance Measurement Initiatives

Reviewed on 2015/04/03

ClearPoint provides a solid balance of functionality and flexibility. The staff at ClearPoint are wonderful to work with and were critical in configuring the system to meet our strategic planning and performance measurement needs. Judging success with the implementation of any system has a lot to do with acceptance by the staff who will be using it. Our department staff have embraced ClearPoint and are developing creative ways to utilize its power and functionality. The ability to import data into ClearPoint with little or no manual effort has been a critical element in the acceptance of the system by our staff. Time wasted by duplicate entry of performance data has been all but eliminated with the data loading feature. The true test of any performance measurement system is to effectively facilitate the process of using data for decision making. ClearPoint is passing this test with flying colors.

Ed F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ClearPoint recommended without reservation!

Reviewed on 2015/04/03

One of the key tenants at the City of Olathe is we are a metric driven organization. In order to take our performance measurement efforts to the next level we needed a system that could adapt and support our ever evolving needs. ClearPoint has taken all we could to throw at it and performed beautifully. It has allowed us to fully engage departments in a way we were not able to do before. Also, the ability to automatically load data through DataLoader packages has been a huge benefit to us. Departments were always concerned with the inefficiencies of having to do duplicate entries and with DataLoader that issue is a thing of the past. Finally, the customer support we have received from Joseph and all the ClearPoint team has been outstanding. I recommend ClearPoint without reservation.

Maria victoria E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ClearPoint Strategy Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

Measurement of strategy execution

Pros

The links among several Scorecards, Objectives and indicators

Cons

We do not hace access ti allego features

Luz A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accountability and accessibility

Reviewed on 2019/10/15

We have been using Clearpoint for years for strategy accountability, and being able to go back 5 years and see the progress of our strategic endeavors helps the organization staff with trusting new projects. Our investors and partners always ask us how do we track our strategic plans, we always have it so accesible that you get to show them as they ask. The impression it causes has definitely increased our capacity for impact. Clearpoint helps us with the level of transparency we want to demonstrate.

Pros

We find it very reliable and the capacity to go back years on previous strategies are a plus for documenting learnings. The navigation is very user friendly. All resources available are very good and help in providing workshops. The Customer service is great, we sometimes struggle with creating some formulas and the team responds quickly.

Cons

The biggest challenge for our organization in maximizing Clearpoint is our technology capacity in terms of programming. Some features Look great but we can’t use them properly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Align and dashboard your results with this powerful easy to use tool

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

Clearpoint enables us to continually monitor our progress toward our strategies and goals, track progress on projects and ensure that we are applying our resources to achieve the right results.

Pros

Clearpoint allows you to easily build your balanced scorecard and align your measures to appropriate goals and initiatives. Set appropriate threshholds for your measures and automatically set a visual status of progress which can be rolled up to track overall progress toward goals. All this can be easily done by automatically loading your data from a variety of sources whether excel files or a SQL compliant ODBC data source. Informative dashboards and reports that can illustrate the alignment of Intitiatives, measures and goals while giving a clear visual indication of progress in charts and graphs. The support team is one of the best with which I have ever dealt, very knowledgeable and responsive.

Cons

None, I've used Clearpoint for a number of years and it does exactly what it is supposed to and they continually improve the product.

Regina M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ClearPoint allows us to create a strategic plan that drives collaboration and high-level...

Reviewed on 2018/01/19

ClearPoint Strategy provided the platform we needed to take our strategic plan from a departmental, tactical driven to-do list to an idea-mapped, living document that drives collaboration, high-level strategy, and accountability.

Pros

The capabilities and output of the software. There is nothing we have asked for that ClearPoint Strategy wasn't able to provide. The custom report capabilities was the solution to one of our biggest challenges with our Strategic Plan.

Cons

Although the online help library is a tremendous source of information, as a new user of the software, most of the tutorials are written for someone that is already familiar with the software. When I first started mapping our strategic plan into the software, I needed resources with basic information on getting it set up. I found most of the tutorials were written with the assumption that the user already knew when and why to use an option, and the cause and effect of using it. Now that I have a much better understanding of how options work together, the tutorials are much more useful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top notch customer service and en easy to use platform to manage your Balanced Scorecards

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

The software helps to ensure all of our Balanced Scorecards are properly managed, tracked, and updated.

Pros

It's a very easy to use software which means training is easy when you have many users. It does exactly what we need it to do and meets our needs in terms of reporting for all of our Balanced Scorecards. The staff is amazing - very responsive and helpful. We are very pleased with the dashboard that was created for our internal reporting.

Cons

I really have nothing negative to say. ClearPoint meets our needs and again the staff is super helpful and very responsive.