16 reviews

OpenKM

Document and enterprise content management solution.

4,7 /5 (16 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,2
100% recommended this app
16 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fantastic DMS solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/24
Review Source: Capterra

Great solution with all fully integrated components of DMS core, workflow, reporting, OCR, etc.

Pros

Very cost-effective yet with enterprise-class features and functionalities.

Cons

Hope to see mobile app's built-in file previewer soon.

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We, at OpenKM, appreciate your highly positive feedback. Our team has primarily been working on Version 7 recently, now that it is live we will be looking to continue improving in other areas, and have noted that the previewer for the mobile app is a highly sought function for its users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose miguel S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Digital Document Management Done Right!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

Digital Document Management can be implemented to a very wide range of verticals, but to be precise and in my experience, you can achieve:
- Procurement documents
- HR Documents
- Medical Images
- Legal Contracts
- Service Contracts

Pros

The most valuable advantage of OpenKM is its API. It is so easy to connect OpenKM to other systems (this is the most common scenario for Document Management). Using Rest services, OpenKM can connect to your ERP, CRM or even your BPM of choise, you name it.

Cons

Its UI is a little dated, but version 7 will come with a big overhaul in this regard! So, stay tuned.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM, appreciate your highly positive feedback. We are very excited by the opportunities and advancements possible with Version 7, and hope to be able to show the improvements to the UI soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ben R.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 51-200 Employees

OpenKM Experience

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Overall functionality. Open Source. Feature rich.

Cons

The application was written with discrepancies such as:
• The Copy and Move command behave differently as it relates to inheriting permission in the target folder. The Move command should work like copy with the option to clone security.
• Email: When sending an email from the Write Email icon, the emails get saved in the Email section below Taxonomy. However, when emails are sent via Send link or Send document attachment or Notification, they are not saved in the email folder. All emails and notifications should be saved in the email section.
• Stamping: Text stamps do not have the option to choose a page or page range, but Image stamps do. All stamps should have the option to apply to a specific page or range.
• Stamping: All stamps - be able to set the default page number when creating the stamp.

When sending an email, it would be nice to be able to type ahead to get to the name or at least to have the ability to enter the first initial, to quickly move to the name desired.

Write mail Icon to default the “Reply to” to the sender.

When clicking on a link in an email, to be able to configure which browser it should go to either on a system level or per user, not for OpenKM to open the document in the default browser. This is because many use Chrome as their default browser but OpenKM works best with Firefox. So, even if the default browser is Chrome, there should be a setting to open document links in a specified browser.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM appreciate your feedback. Our team is currently performing a significant user interface overhaul as part of the version 7 update, and we have sent your UI requests to our technical staff so they may be reviewed for inclusion in the new interface. We will be providing many improvements soon, and hope to see your desired changes among them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Michael J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good for building a searchable PDF database

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/25
Review Source: Capterra

We use the software to maintain bills received from our facilities over 2 states. We have to keep everything for at least 2 years before compacting and archiving with the ability to pull up documents on the fly. We currently have roughly 200,000 PDFs in OpenKM and the only lag comes from Adobe. We are running it on an in-house VM with very little resource usage and have had almost no problems.

Pros

Drag and drop from file explorer is a huge plus for our non-tech savvy users.
Adding a tag to each PDF for future recall is good if you don't want to OCR everything.
Up time is excellent. Over the last ~2 years, we have gone down maybe twice, and neither time was for more than an hour. Very dependable.

Cons

The interface is a bit outdated.
OCR is a bit hit or miss.
Help files could be better. There are a few features that I had trouble getting more info on.
User access can be a pain to set up, especially retroactively.

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We, at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We had a technical concern preventing us from updating our UI, which has been addressed with Version 7. Interface improvements are now on our development schedule.

We are also currently revising our documentation for the new version, and it will see improvements shortly as well. The OCR and User Authentication both require some experience to use to their full potential, such as setting user permissions through the database, which will be much faster for some changes.

There are also alternate options, the OCR engine used is pluggable if an alternative would be preferred, and OpenKM Professional can be set up to use Active Directory or LDAP for authentication. If you would like any additional information, please contact us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Allen G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 201-500 Employees

OpenKM Two year review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

We have solved our NYS and HIPAA regulatory requirements for governance of our documents.

Pros

It has all the features that a company needs to satisfy requirements for documentation management.

Cons

It requires a basic training session before any user can get started. We about one hour to get them started, then a follow-up later.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We believe that OpenKM gives you a whole array of useful features that can improve its usability and help your company process workflows.

We agree that basic training is necessary to learn how to use OKM and get the most benefits of our application.

We believe it might be beneficial for your team to attend one of our free webinars that take place once a month. The next one in English is on 12/17/19 at 1:00 pm EST. If you want to register, please do so by using the following link

https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/5090586405572191756

During the webinar, your team can post questions that, if the time allows, will be answered right away, or we will be addressed afterward via direct email.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Guy L.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: Self Employed

OpenKM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Very good and functiona

Pros

Programmable with Java
Excellent Tech support

Cons

The search routine needs work to be flexible. The order of the words should not impact the search

The add-ins are not the most convenient and need some work. Still prefer live-edit to the add-ins.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM appreciate your highly positive feedback. We are currently performing a significant overhaul for Version 7, and we have submitted your improvement requests to our technical team for review. We hope to show you the many advancements in OpenKM soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sascha P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

OpenKM Professional - price performance winner

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

OpenKM is a great software for document filing and search. Also it is excellently suited as backend-service for own applications or the integration in third-party applications.

Pros

- transparent license and price model
- no hidden costs or limitations (API-calls, ...)
- very stable and high performance
- feature rich
- expandable

Cons

The design could be renewed, but is not absolutely necessary.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM, appreciate your highly positive feedback. The new Version 7 update is allowing us to perform a complete UI overhaul for OpenKM. Please be on the lookout for news; we are working on releasing the improvements as soon as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Armando I.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best Document Administration Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

-Quick searches
-Can manage large data whitout any worries
-Easy customization.
-Can develop any solution from data hosted on OpenKM

Cons

-Not too friendly graphic design
-Slow uploading documents at a large range of documents.

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM appreciate your highly positive feedback. Our in-progress Version 7 update includes many speed improvements and an entirely overhauled interface. We are currently working on releasing these updates as soon as possible and look forward to hearing our customer's thoughts on the new OpenKM.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

From the beginning of our collaboration contacts are very pleasant and high level skills

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very well documented, the sources are accessible and understandable, the commissioning is fast and the use is done quickly because the solution is developed in a logic and a business vision.
OpenKM solution leaves plenty of possibilities for integration of add-ons.

Cons

Maybe the software is only in English which can be a problem for users who do not speak and do not understand English

Response from OpenKM

Thank you very much for your interest in OpenkM.
The document Management System is translated to more than 39 languages. The language pack is available in the OpenKM Knowledge Center: https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/
for both Community and Professional version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Santiago Q.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

My point of view

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/11
Review Source: Capterra

Very useful software for document management, many useful features for end users like me.

Pros

Useful features for the end user.
Possibility of creating document templates.

Cons

None remarkable at the time of writing this review.

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We believe that OpenKM gives you a whole array of useful features that can improve its usability and help your company process workflows.
If you wish to learn more about these features, we invite you and your team to register for one of our free webinars that take place once a month. The next one in Spanish is on 12/03/19 at 1:00 pm EST. If you want to register, please do it by visiting https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/8554189870089448715
If you would prefer to attend the English presentation, the next meeting will be on 11/19/2019 at 1:00 pm EST, and please use the following link https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/5090586405572191756
We hope to see you there and answer any other questions or concerns you might have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kaz Z.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Functionality and cost. Easy to use, after it is setup correctly.

Cons

Not easy to create or change modules. You must be experienced in Java

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We, at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We agree that many users will not have the time to learn Java to fully customize OpenKM and its modules to their needs on their own. This is a necessary side effect of offering a powerful and flexible tool capable of being adapted to any need.

We have an E-learning program (details on our website at https://www.openkm.us/en/training.html) and our technical team is also available for customization work; we can handle these tasks for our users when necessary.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Santiago A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A good Tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a good experience, the software fulfills its purpose even with plenty of features, just with a couple of customer service problems. We feel comfortable with the application

Pros

- Excellent functionality
- Friendly interface
- Periodic increase of characteristics
- Possibility of interconnection with other systems
- Reasonable price
- Proper versioning

Cons

- Support and after sales service
- Response time

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We, at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We understand your comment regarding the support and after-sale service response time. We are working hard on reviewing and improving our response time frame, and we hope to meet your expectations in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Manuel S.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

OpenKm

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

Great product revenue in the investment

Pros

Friendly use, and very reliable for user

Cons

They have to be more area complete, mean

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We, at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We would like to understand better your comment regarding the listed con, and we will contact you ASAP.

Hello Manuel,

Thank you for speaking with us and clarifying your review. For your specific comment on the date and time formats in the system, we recommend that you open a support ticket, our technical department will be happy to assist you. If there are any other comments you have, please let us know.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kellson F.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

my impressions

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/11/09
Review Source: Capterra

personally I have nothing to regret

Pros

It's great for helping people in their personal business.

Cons

page layout is a bit confusing this makes it difficult for users to access

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,
We, at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We understand your comment regarding the page layout, and we want to let you know that currently, we are working on a complete revamp of the user interface.
This new interface will be a seven or eight-year update in technology, making OpenKM more useful, more intuitive, and modern looking.
We certainly hope you will allow us to show you the new OpenKM in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Roberto P.
Industry: Computer Hardware
Company size: 2-10 Employees

High performance

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Open Km covers all needs of managment documents.
High performance
Timely support
Scalable

Cons

Could improve the graphic interface and have better design

Response from OpenKM

We at OpenKM, appreciate your highly positive feedback. We are happy to announce that, with the new Version 7, we are performing a complete UI overhaul for our application. Please look forward to many improvements to the interface shortly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alejandra N.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very useful

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can have access to a lot of documents in one second.

Cons

I don't know all the functions so I don't use it often.

Response from OpenKM

Hello dear customer,

We at OpenKM, appreciate your overall positive feedback. We regret to hear of the difficulty you are having taking maximum advantage of this tool.
If you wish to learn more about the useful OpenKM features, we invite you and your team to register for one of our free webinars that take place once a month. The next one in Spanish is on 12/03/19 at 1:00 pm EST. If you want to register, please do it by visiting https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/8554189870089448715.
If you would prefer to attend the English presentation, the next meeting will be on 11/19/2019 at 1:00 pm EST; please use the following link https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/5090586405572191756.
We hope to see you there and answer any other questions or concerns you might have.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10