Showing 21 reviews of 11

Keygen

Product licensing & distribution management API

4,6 /5 (11 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 21 reviews of 11
Alex H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally!

Reviewed on 2019/03/18

Pros

For small & fast moving teams, licensing & user management has always been a pain - especially on multiple platforms. I was thrilled to archive our internal license management tools once we discovered and integrated keygen.

Cons

We still need to provide our own web application/interface for our customers to retrieve their license keys. It would be awesome to see Keygen solve this as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good documentation & support

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

We have an up & running licensing system for our dekstop application (https://storepilot.com) with minimal work thx to keygen.

Pros

Documentation & support is really nice. Rest api documentation lives up to the newest standards, just like Stripe and WooCommerce. Easy integration with almost any type of software.

Cons

Reports endpoint is not yet available at this time, but developers said they collected data and would make available later & that was good news for uss. Also the website dashboard could need a better look & feel, but api is most important to uss & works well.

Abdul rahman S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

Pros

- Ease of use
- Ability to integrate it with most important programming languages
- Great support
- High security

Cons

Documentation can be further enhanced and new programming languages should be added to the documentation (e.g. Python)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

easy to use keygen

Reviewed on 2018/12/11

easy use

Pros

easy use of wording to find product serial codes

Cons

not known yet waiting to try out the program that is available for trail

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review for Keygen

Reviewed on 2020/03/23

I use this software to take serial num for civil3D . Easily I can do it using keygen

Pros

Keygen is serial key generator.Using this software we can manage our license key easily. also it does not take long time for that.

Cons

There are not least thing about this software. But,There are not free trail for it. We do not use always this software. This use for when we want serial number. So that there should be free trail.

Vildan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Licensing the way it should be

Reviewed on 2019/01/10

If you're building a new product, the last thing you want to think about is licensing. Especially all the crazy concepts like Node-locked, Floating etc. You're for sure gonna get it wrong in the begin and will have to experiment a lot. Keygen's flexible API and seemingly endless configuration options exactly allowed us to do so. Licensing was planned to make up at least 25% percent of planned dev time for our product so it's awesome to see that we've been able to cut it down to 2.5% with Keygen.

Pros

This product comes with great documentation and an extremely helpful support. As licensing is a highly important topic for a commercial product it's super nice to have somebody available listening to your questions and helping out with good ideas and suggestions. Thanks to the representatives.

By far the best part though is that Keygen in the end of the day is nothing else than a Rest service. As such it is possible to integrate it with whatever technology you're using, as long as you can make HTTP requests. Moreover it was the only offering we found to suite our Electron based app.

Cons

Being located in US the server speeds and CDNs for EU and Asia aren't the best but it gets constantly better.

Kanwar J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keygen is easy to use, inexpensive, and the support is great

Reviewed on 2019/06/08

Pros

It was simple to use, even for someone not from a computer science/programming background. Without it I would not have been able to get trial versions out to potential customers. The pricing structure is also very reasonable especially for our company where we are pre revenue.

Cons

I would be great to see some Youtube videos explaining the various terms and setup.

Cameron M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keygen is tremendous, being easy to work with, flexible, and well documented.

Reviewed on 2018/07/16

Using Keygen saved me the trouble of building and maintaining my own licensing server and strategy. It is easy to work with, reliable, and affoardable.

Pros

Keygen is one of the rare products that is legitimately satisfying to work with. It's obvious that the creator cares deeply about the quality of the product.

From my own experience there are so many things that work well:

- the interface is well designed
- the API is flexible, logical and easy to work with
- the documentation is clear and comprehensive
- there are a wide array of well documented implementation examples on GitHub
- the product is in active development
- support is responsive and unusually helpful

I'm the solo designer/developer of a well known design tool. When I decided to switch to subscription pricing, I began building my own licensing server. Part way through the process I learned about Keygen. After reading through the documentation and speaking to support about my goals, I immediately abandoned my own licensing server in favor of cloud functions and Keygen. I have zero regrets.

Cons

Since Keygen is billed monthly, it's most viable for services that also have some sort of recurring billing, or that have a reliable revenue stream. Hobbyist developers will probably have a hard time justifying the cost, despite how good the product is.

I mention this more as a heads-up to those investigating than as a negative, as I don't think there would be any other way for Keygen to make money that would also be useful for one-time-purchase software.

Alex B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software licensing made simple, professionally and at a reasonable cost

Reviewed on 2018/08/27

We have a great product for a specific market. We did not want to develop an entire licensing solution from scratch. As we though that thousands of other companies required software licencing too, there had to be a generic solution out there that addresses the problem. So we can invest our time developing our core software, and not the licensing for the product.

Keygen resolved this problem beyond our expectations. Allowing us to have even more granularity that originally thought possible.

Pros

Keygen has a price point that works for our business model. Flexible thanks to metadata fields for each object that you can use to customize your product features and requirements. Credit card integration to automate sale workflows. Simple to implement, super strong security and multiple licensing models supported.

I've never been so happy to find a new product/service since I discovered Amazon!

Cons

I spend weeks Googling for software licensing solutions on the cloud. I was only finding very expensive solutions, some of which try to charge you a percentage of the price of your product. Just ridiculous, it's more like a VAT charge proposition than anything else.

But finding Keygen was really difficult. Maybe because the word Keygen is too generic for search engines, or maybe because we were not using the proper tags. But we found Keygen on a forum comment, not on Google. First time ever that this happens to us!

Jared D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keygen has flexible license management options backed by great customer support

Reviewed on 2018/07/27

Overall a great product that enables quick license integration with a very easy to use API!

Pros

Keygen is enabling us to very quickly get licensing off the ground for a reasonable price and with great customer support to answer any questions.

It is easy to use with a well documented API and great examples, particularly for web applications. The documentation is available with examples for multiple programming languages and clearly walks through getting set up. The user control panel is very intuitive to use and manage users and licenses directly!

Cons

There are a few more web application examples than desktop examples. This is not a problem as the documentation is very easy to read for a desktop developer! Do not be afraid to dive into it!

Anthony O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic solution all-round. Highly Recommend it

Reviewed on 2018/07/17

Saved time, money and made our customers happy. My staff are able to manage licenses with ease

Pros

The sheer simplicity of it brings to licensing software. We were issuing licensing and validating them in minutes

Cons

I can't really say I've experienced an issues with the solution. I would like to see more features like the ability to add metadata though the UI, however it's already on the roadmap!