Tatango

Mass text messaging (SMS) marketing platform

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(69)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

69 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use!

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

Great!

Great!

Pros

The software is easy for users to navigate. The reporting is strong and Tatango's Tech Support team is quick to respond and helpful.

Cons

It would be great if zip codes/numbers weren't clickable

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review of Tatango

Reviewed on 2020/01/18

It was good, but then the price jumped up we started looking at other companies and found better...

It was good, but then the price jumped up we started looking at other companies and found better options.

Pros

I loved how you could see who unsubscribed from your texting service and that also the stop was included within the text but not charged to you as credits.

Cons

The price jumped up on us and was just too expensive to use. Also it was difficult to put forms in and it didn't have the google shortner option so when you put a link in it ate up much of your character limits.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Good Platform for Small Company

Reviewed on 2019/07/12

Pros

Easy to send ad hoc messages. Really good platform for a small company.

Cons

Can't scale for bigger companies. Back-end system is not able to communicate/pull data efficiently.

Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tatango

Reviewed on 2020/08/21

Pros

The software is super easy to use and very effective.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to set reminders to make sure our subscribers hear from us on a regular basis. In a small company where one person carries a lot of different titles it easily slips through the cracks. It would also make things more efficient if there was a way to automatically share with your text subscribers and social media subscribers simultaneously.

Alternatives Considered

SimpleTexting
Heather
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid product, amazing team, quick results FAST

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

We needed a better way to reach our customers to drive revenue. Email is dead and paid social can...

We needed a better way to reach our customers to drive revenue. Email is dead and paid social can get expensive. Yes we had to do the work to acquire phone numbers in addition to emails but seeing great success with adding this form of communication and letting our customers choose how they receive our promotions, product updates etc.

Pros

So easy to use. Didn't need hours of on-boarding, was up and running, sending messages and pulling reports on the first day. Also love that Tatango focuses on SMS and is REALLY good at it vs. just being another add-on within a CRM or email service. They know what they're doing and team provided helpful strategies to acquire and engage our customers.

Cons

Honestly nothing. 10/10 very happy and highly recommend for any brand.

Tessa
Tessa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

#1 for a reason

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Overall, a great way to reach you customers if you can afford it.

Overall, a great way to reach you customers if you can afford it.

Pros

Tatango is fairly easy to use and has all the features most users will ever need. I also really liek the blog the provide - lots of helpful tips.

Cons

This can get a little pricey, especially for a small business. Also, even though it is very easy to use, you still need a level of sophistication to fully take advantage of Tatango.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Team, Intuitive Platform

Reviewed on 2020/08/27

Pros

We helped set up a customer on the Tatango platform. The Tatango UI was very easy for the customer to use. They were selected over other vendors becuase their platform was able to send text messages to very large lists (4M+ subscribers) very quickly with high deliverability. We liked them becuase their support requests were answered quickly by very knowledgeable people.

Cons

Their platform currently focuses on the US and Canada and they lack Mobile Wallet functionality that some others in the space have on their SMS platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Features for your marketing plans

Reviewed on 2020/08/27

Overall, Tatango has been beneficial for our organization and our marketing strategies, and we will...

Overall, Tatango has been beneficial for our organization and our marketing strategies, and we will continue to use their services.

Pros

Tatango can be hard to navigate at first, but overall has a lot of powerful features. Discovering all these features and implementing them into our marketing plan has been crucial in our growth.

Cons

Tatango is not the most ' user-friendly' or 'pretty' option, if anything I'd recommend changing the user interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It works for what I need, sometimes unreliable

Reviewed on 2020/08/03

Its okay, it works well for what I need

Its okay, it works well for what I need

Pros

The software is pretty easy, but it crashes pretty frequently for me.

Cons

Its not the most reliable, it crashes or sometimes I can't log in

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I was terrified to text... until it was SO easy with Tatango

Reviewed on 2019/07/15

I work in fundraising -- and Tatango has yielded at least 200% ROI within the first month of...

I work in fundraising -- and Tatango has yielded at least 200% ROI within the first month of investment. This is an exceptional addition to any fundraising program

Pros

Incredibly user friendly -- great visual previews. You can teach someone to use this in about 5-10 minutes.

Cons

I work at a firm and across many clients who use Tantago -- it's frustrating to need to tie each account to another email instead of having one log in and a list of clients to select once logged in

Daria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best solution for big or small text messaging programs

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

The staff is attentive, responsive and moves quickly on big or small requests. They are constantly...

The staff is attentive, responsive and moves quickly on big or small requests. They are constantly looking ahead and prioritizing the most important part of text message programs: deliverability.

Pros

Tatango has a friendly UI for all skill-sets and levels, making it easy to train juniors on the team to utilize the platform. The workflow makes sense and is logical, and can be applied to the growing and changing needs of your text messaging operation.

Cons

Page load times and ease of reporting are the two areas my team has been working with Tatango to improve.

Jackson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Tool for Politics

Reviewed on 2022/03/16

Pros

I think the interface and overall ease of use is Tatango's best attribute. It's easy to teach and learn. Also, the segmentation and testing is easy to figure out.

Cons

It is hard to navigate from one campaign to another if they are not owned or hosted by the same administrator/organization (you'll have to set up multiple usernames & then log out/log in to go between groups if working on more than one org.)

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy but frustrating

Reviewed on 2020/05/18

Pros

Software is overall easy to use and understand with minimal learning curve. While it takes some outside tinkering to do exactly what you want, it's very customizeable.

Cons

There have been numerous times where the software still simply break. A text that was scheduled to go instead gets deleted, or in the process for saving it gets deleted, or costs will not calculate. There has been very little explanation for this, and as an organization that uses this 5/7 days of the week it's disappointing.

Mitchell
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mitchell's review

Reviewed on 2020/05/18

Positive, raised a lot of money for political clients

Positive, raised a lot of money for political clients

Pros

easy to loading texts, quick results, simple user interface

Cons

could do more with targeting - limited to including 'any' or 'all', can't do a mix (If I wanted to send recent users who also had a tag, but then exclude a different group)

Once or twice scheduled texts have died due to tatango errors

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

Very positive.

Very positive.

Pros

Unlike many other CRMs, this is exceptionally easy to use and understand. It's very user-friendly and doesn't require much training to learn.

Cons

There are many bugs that come up over time and affect your ability to get a text out -- luckily the Support Staff is very quick to respond.

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

positive, overall great platform

positive, overall great platform

Pros

very easy to use and understand. Customer service is always fast

Cons

segmenting not as easy as it could be. Statistics also seem to be flawed regularly

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use and great customer service

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

So far it's been good. We have had a few issues with delayed text messages with initial sign-up....

So far it's been good. We have had a few issues with delayed text messages with initial sign-up. Being a retail location, we have our cashiers try to get customers to sign up at the point of purchase. The customers receive an offer for the initial sign up. The cashiers have reported that several customers do not receive the text messages while standing there.

Pros

I like the ease of use. The text preview is a great feature. I like the send test text feature. The ability to do surveys, several opt in codes, and campaigns.

Cons

The delay of messages. Reports can be a little difficult to run.

Alternatives Considered

Avochato and Trumpia

Reasons for Switching to Tatango

Customer service, price
Bobby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

for text fundraising

Reviewed on 2020/11/19

Pros

Great customer service
Great communications when bugs are expected
Overall usability

Cons

it should be automatic ability to draft after adding funds

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Software, small bugs but great service

Reviewed on 2020/10/12

Very effective for text based fundraising.

Very effective for text based fundraising.

Pros

This is highly effective for texting.

Service is great too.

Cons

The program can be buggy, but it's getting better.

Also, some of the bugs have more to do with the carriers than the software itself.

Company is very responsive to help tickets.

Carla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

Pros

I like the ease of use and set up for this product. Deploying texts is easy and straightforward, and the price point is great.

Cons

There are other softwares that allow for custom responses, i.e. Text back A, B, C and get a customized response based on what the user texts back. That would greatly benefit our ladder of engagement. I also think the UI is a little outdated and I would like more data segmentation/tracking. An integration with ActBlue would be great.

Alternatives Considered

Mobile Commons

Reasons for Switching to Tatango

Price point and contract length
Mayank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Interface and API review

Reviewed on 2019/07/12

Pros

Interface is great, very user friendly and super easy to click around and get what you want. Ease of creating campaigns and then easy to monitor performance

Cons

API design and fetching data out programmatically is not good (lacks a number of features which are standard)

Nicholas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reliable Broadcast SMS

Reviewed on 2020/08/29

Pros

Great customer support, good communication

Cons

Some backend features experience downtime

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tatango

Reviewed on 2019/09/12

Pros

Tatango has an easy to use UI. We use it almost exclusively via API and we can do pretty much anything we need to via API since we are just using Tatango to send out SMS messages.

Cons

It isn't the cheapest text marketing solution, but you get what you pay for.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Useful Product

Reviewed on 2020/05/18

Overall positive, makes mass texting a breeze.

Overall positive, makes mass texting a breeze.

Pros

Very easy to produce mass texting for clients

Cons

Sometimes a bit glitchy, especially with more content heavy MMS

Gina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best mass text message marketing platform available

Reviewed on 2019/07/06

Easily the best text message marketing platform available. Tatango is easy to use, has super fast...

Easily the best text message marketing platform available. Tatango is easy to use, has super fast messaging and great features (like video messaging and A/B testing), and provides unbeatable expertise and support. The blog is full of good tips and information too.

Pros

It's easy to use and has great features. Its messaging is super fast. Its unbeatable industry expertise.

Cons

So far I have zero cons to report. I think that Tatango is truly the best.