183 reviews

Tempo Timesheets

#1 time tracking app for Jira since 2010.

4,3 /5 (183 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
183 reviews
Bruce M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tempo Timesheets Rocks!

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

We switched to Jira/Tempo several years ago (from FogBugz) because we needed a development tracking tool with a good time tracking system. We picked Jira Software Cloud first and then selected Tempo Timesheets for time tracking. No regrets with Tempo. Jira has been (and still is) an adventure at times, but Tempo Timesheets has been a solid performer from the start. And it has received significant improvements over time. It's a great choice for my company.

Pros

Easy to use.
Integrates well with Jira Software Cloud.
Reasonably priced.

Cons

Not big , but due to Jira changes, it now takes an extra click to get to Tempo time entry in a Jira ticket.

Kaiser A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Aged well

Reviewed on 2019/10/28

Our Professional Services thrives on this. When you are looking for the over/under on your portfolio of projects, and need the insights as to when you are approaching capacity, Tempo Timesheets becomes critical for our organization.

Pros

Ease of use and reporting functionality are key drivers for project accounting. Tempo Timesheets is easy enough to use for the daily user, but still sophisticated enough to use for executive views.

Cons

Nothing that hasn't been addressed in recent releases.

Adam H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product and easy to use, a couple small changes would make it great

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Overall we were able to go live and start using the timesheets without too much of a problem. We like it because it is fast and love the ability to download our raw data for reporting.

Pros

The software is pretty intuitive and both fast and easy to get time entered into along with a good ability to download data for different integrations we have from the API.

Cons

Some of the documentation is hard to use and find for the current version of the software. It seems like there is a lot of old or outdated information available.
When searching for issues to enter time against using the issue lookup box the search is fast but terrible. It seems really inconsistent why you get the result you do.

Matej G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

This enables blind micromanagement

Reviewed on 2019/10/21

It is good, maybe a litle heavy weight UI.

Pros

A nice step towards a time-tracking software. I think that today (2019), developers track time, they track it only for purposes of customer invoicing.

Cons

Enables micromanagement. It takes about 15minutes to look for each issue I worked on that day, or multiple mental task-switches during the day. Don't get me wrong... this tool is required in some situations, as mentioned above.

I am leaving my company for exactly this reason: I do not want to do mental task-switches... While logging after each task, small tasks become lengthier and I can get as many done in a row, because it is more difficult to move my focus between execution and retrospective reflection. That is why I try to log my time only in the evening, or the next morning.

Read about it... it is a horrible thing, what a task switch does to your focus in the long-term.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very good - would recommend

Reviewed on 2019/11/02

Overall very good. Support has provided quick turnaround on any questions. Bug fixes and improvements continue at a good pace, and the improvements are quality ones.

Pros

For issue-oriented end-users (e.g. developers), it's a great tool.
* Easy to use
* Seamlessly integration with Jira
* Easy administration

Cons

For account oriented end-users, there's an impedance mismatch. These users just want to log time against an account. Logging time against an issue and then assigning it to an account never feels right to them, and it's their biggest complaint. Tempo's solution is Internal Issues, but that doesn't resolve this usability issue for these users.

Does not support labor categories well - especially when a user performs different roles with different labor categories in a project. It can be partially worked around with work attributes.

Reporting works great for what's built-in but still needs improvement. E.g. reports of hours by combinations of project, account, user, role, work-attributes are needed. Dumping into Excel is the workaround here.

Al T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great timesheet integration with Atlassian Stack

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Tempo Timesheets allows us to manage both our project progress monitoring and billing in one integrated package. As a developer, being able to enter my time for work without leaving my IDE is fantastic and makes it easy to ensure that real work done converts to jobs being billed.

Pros

* The integration with the Atlassian stack
* The reporting
* The ease of logging time (via web or even git comments!)

Cons

* It's a reasonable amount of work to set up a new customer
* There's no API link into Xero Accounting

Bryan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tempo Timesheets

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Pros

Tempo Timesheets is a great app for time tracking when using Jira. Its ease of integration with Jira is very easy and intuitive to use. Being able to have specific teams with a supervisor for quicker and easier timesheet approvals is key. Along with having the ability to add accounts along with custom worklog attribute fields to help label the work being logged!

Cons

The reporting in Tempo is not bad but it could be better. Unfortunately, all Tempo data can not be pulled to give you a full picture of what your company is logging total work towards with Jira information. Tempo is making efforts in approving this.

Mauro L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It complements JIRA perfectly

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

I use Tempo Timesheets since two years ago and I find it very easy to track my work and to review the work of the rest of the team. Its nice interface and mobile app make it easy and pleasant for everyone to use it.

Pros

Integration with JIRA. Mobile app. Review of timesheets by team leaders. Approval workflow.

Cons

I found a little bit difficult to understand the role of accounts and other advanced features. I think those are great features that should be better highlighted.

Christoffer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for time reporting, when bundled with Jira

Reviewed on 2019/11/06

Well, hour reporting is much faster and much more transparent, and so is customer invoicing at the end of the reporting period.

Pros

Tasks are automatically there to report time on, if you use Jira consistently which we of course do. Good overview on the whole team and if there is some work time which is not reported.

Cons

At times, there are slight issues with getting the right amount of hours on the right day and task, and the wrong task is easily selected by mistake, and it is cumbersome to correct.

Joanna P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tempo in HCM Deck

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

JIRA alone does not provide the possibility of settling projects. Tempo solved our problem. It allows us to settle our team's working time - holidays, sick days and additionally settle paid projects.

Pros

Reports - many configuration options - best for me: reports based on issue filters

Cons

Frequent problems with the application - for example, you cannot report time, or you do not see the time reported ... Maybe associated with an ongoing software update?

Pawel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Product Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/19

We previously used a custom solution which was not integrated very well to JIRA. With timesheets we have much more integration, clarity of data and reports options that are easily to use.

Pros

Easy of use, transparency, can be easily adopted in the organization

Cons

Lack of some specific reports, user interface is sometimes confusing

Paul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for keeping track of project times

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Overall a good experience with Tempo and it gives us the clarity we need on our projects.

Pros

Gives us the ability to keep track of and understand the time it takes for any given project.

Cons

Interface is a little dated, due to the UI it can be a little hard at first navigating and figuring it out.

Danche P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

suitable for our needs

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Pros

Ease of use. Nice UI. Reporting is easy, could be made even better by addition additional filter criterias before extracting report

Cons

search options. Sometimes if very difficult to search from Jira tasks. Additional search criteria would be nice, like customs fields

Sigurjon F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of Tempo

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Good

Pros

Easy to use and good product keep track of work on Jira Issues. Helps us to track working hours.

Cons

Reporting could be better. We export into PowerBI to get a good owerview and analysis of timesheed data.

Ramiro G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ok, but missing a little UX

Reviewed on 2019/10/28

Pros

It's easy and does what it's supposed to do ok.

Cons

Migration between JIRA Software to Cloud is not supported.
Tracker in JIRA + chrome add-on is a little buggy (sometimes it starts at -20 seconds).
When you try to log time and you are already in an issue with the shortcut 'W', it ask you to set the issue manually.
Missing some basic configurations in my opinion, and configurable reminders.

Emanuele F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Tempo Timesheets

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Pros

Integration with jira, some reports and use of API

Cons

Exports are not very useful as is and some features are missing in the Account area: like setting a total amount of hours for an account (now you can only set a monthly budget)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

+5 year happy company

Reviewed on 2019/10/19

Pros

Reporting agility, transparency, strong integration with jira.

Cons

missing how to proper save reused reports

Diego A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Product Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Overall it is ok. Specially useful in conjunction with Jira. UX could be improved:
* easily copy an entry
* more intutive time entry
* history or undo if I mistakenly change the wrong entry (e.g. because I selected one with same description but different time)

Pros

The thing i like the most in the integration with Jira

Cons

Input element for time using the web application

Bennie J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Additional Functionality Request

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Provide ability to track time with minimal overhead for those who have to and report this data to the various functional stakeholders in the company.

Pros

TIme capture is great. Reporting is good.

Cons

1.) Ability to natively track time from Epics and subissues within Epics.
2.) Ability to render gadgets a macros in Confluence (we do a lot of business reporting to executives in Confluence. Not having Tempo Time data in confluence is very disappointing.

Joshua D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Save Time with Tempo

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Pros

This integrates well into a work breakdown structure providing insights into where different resource levels are spending time.

Cons

They are frequently updating and some of the latest releases have taken away old features our users were used to and miss.

Carl M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customisable

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Time reporting integrated with our customer projects. Makes a solid ground for our invoicing.

Pros

It’s customisable enough to fit most organisations. Report generator fits most needs

Cons

Would need better reports for the more advanced reports. Implement the JQL and we’re set

Deborah G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

JIRA Cloud TEMPO user

Reviewed on 2019/11/04

Pros

It is very easy to log time on a ticket.

Cons

It does not have type of work as a customizable field.

Setting up reporting using Accounts, etc. is a lot of work and frankly have not been able to satisfactorily set up.

Gerson B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall Control onSW Development

Reviewed on 2019/11/04

Pros

Using Tempo we have an online overview of development costs and can improve future estimations

Cons

Sometimes it is difficut to search a projet to add hours...

Crystal A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love Tempo Timesheets

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

So easy and fast to track hours on projects for necessary reporting needs. Super efficient!

Pros

Ease of use, ability to export user hours on a project seamlessly, ease of adding hours to a project and transparency.

Cons

No issues at all at this time, everything is work great.

Craig D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Use Timesheets

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Very positive. A big productivity improvement.

Pros

Easy to get started and use. Easy for team members to enter and adjust time as well as review.

Cons

Some more flexible report groupings would help.