Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Overall rating

3,6 /5
(84)
Value for Money
3,2/5
Features
3,5/5
Ease of Use
3,2/5
Customer Support
3,5/5

64%
recommended this app
Sort by

84 Reviews

Rebecca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Overall experience has been great, just a few things that can get confusing or hard to do, but...

Overall experience has been great, just a few things that can get confusing or hard to do, but other than that, it is very useful for what we use it for. We keep a lot of information and this software allows us to do that.

Pros

This software allows us a great way to keep track of giving history, event information, solicitations and personal information. Also allows us to pull simple and in depth reports.

Cons

Can be a little cumbersome sometimes when you want to dive deeper. Pulling in depth reports can be confusing with continued training.

Cyrus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mixed Reviews

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what...

They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros

Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons

Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Difficult to use | Difficult to maintain | Expensive | Releases are poorly tested by Ellucian...

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

-Business users in all departments find Banner difficult to use
-Database engineers find Banner...

-Business users in all departments find Banner difficult to use
-Database engineers find Banner difficult to maintain
-IT staff finds Banner difficult to support

Banner is obsolete in the technological age we live; there are cloud finance, HCM, CRM, and student information applications which integrate well with each-other and outperform banner in nearly every category.

Pros

Customer support Is friendly and responsive.

Cons

-There is a Massive maintenance overhead
-There is a need for business users to constantly watch the community for systemic issue and bug alerts
-Documentation is intentionally over-complicated to encourage the purchase of Ellucian consulting
-Implementation is more complicated than competitor applications due to the age of the product
-Data is stored un-uniformly in 'shotgun' style in the database making migration away from banner very difficult.
-There is no dashboard -- the entire user interface is a very weak showing
-Self service is impossible to leverage for reliable company-wide / student-wide document delivery.
-Almost no reporting capabilities are built-in; admins must instead write database queries for end users.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Colleague as an ERP

Reviewed on 2016/10/15

Colleague is an overall great product. Ellucian has been working hard to improve Colleague's...

Colleague is an overall great product. Ellucian has been working hard to improve Colleague's features and functionality, especially on the Self-Service platform. This work has kept them at the front edge of innovation with responsive design that allows your constituents serve themselves from any device. This takes pressure off of administrative staff so they can focus on quality support to your students.

Ellucian does a good job at being connected to their customers and understanding the constantly changing needs in the academic world. They hold focus groups, beta testing groups to allow the engaged community of customers to provide input, and it shows in the quality of the newer products they have created.

Pros

Mobile friendly self service
Integration through Ellucian XE
Active user community on Ellucian's eCommunities social media platform

Cons

Reporting. Expect to spend money on a reporting tool.

Kathy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I work with one module for the software and they have a great network for help.

Reviewed on 2017/08/22

The Ellucian software is very helpful in keeping our school on track and making it easier for the...

The Ellucian software is very helpful in keeping our school on track and making it easier for the student to navigate Admissions to registration to financial aid to graduation.

Pros

Very functional and customizable to your school. We get the opportunity to let the company know what we want in the software and they usually update to meet the various schools needs. Very aware of all federal guidelines and requirements.

Cons

Training for use of the module or processes would be nice when something new is implemented. Several screens and options are usually available with short descriptions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Ellucian was our school's SIS for 15 years

Reviewed on 2018/07/02

Pros

I wish that I could say what we liked about this software, but there really is not anything to put here.

Cons

The system was extremely outdated. The portal experience (Luminus) to get in was awful. Even as they try to update that portal experience, it is simply putting cards and widgets where links used to be. But those things break repeatedly. As well, the lack of interconnection inside the system and with external tools is just plain weak. There is a reason Workday is starting to see so many adoptions in the market and that so many schools are switching out student portals for updated, contemporary, mobile friendly, inter-departmental software options.

Danielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Banner by Ellucian

Reviewed on 2020/10/16

Overall working with Ellucian has been pleasant. My employer had the system long before I came...

Overall working with Ellucian has been pleasant. My employer had the system long before I came around so I can't speak to the implementation. Anytime I have needed to reach out to Ellucian with an issue or create a ticket they have been very helpful

Pros

Once you learn the terminology to search by, using the software becomes a lot easier. I frequently use reports for tracking open invoices and running payments. I like that the system is dynamic in that it updates quickly when another user is making a change.

Cons

It was a difficult system for me to learn and I couldn't find much training material for it. The reports you can run are basic and need a lot of manipulation to do any analytics.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not always the most user friendly

Reviewed on 2022/07/14

Pros

The recent upgrades have made it much more user friendly and easier to navigate.

Cons

Integration with other products can be very glitchy at times. It takes someone with serious knowledge to be able to navigate that process. If you have that, then you're fine. If not, prepare to spend some money on it.

Kenneth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students.

Reviewed on 2017/08/08

It is our school ERP.

It is our school ERP.

Pros

The Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.

Cons

Ellucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

University Integration

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

The integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.

The integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.

Pros

Ellucian continues to find new ways to assist the universities with the many needs of the ever increasing technology needs.

Cons

Not always do you get the best "training" support, but they will always find a solution.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and...

Reviewed on 2018/02/13

With angst and time we get what we need from it.

With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros

Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons

so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

Sheenah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Recruit Pros and Cons

Reviewed on 2022/08/28

Pros

Recruit has some great reports, integrates with both Eventbrite and Salesforce and can really streamline enrollment processes fo4 a school.

Cons

Implementation is painful, at best. Customer support is difficult because no one seems to understand the product. Customizing for a community college is difficult, as well.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Unfortunately...It' what we've got...

Reviewed on 2018/08/20

Pros

I guess the only good thing I can say about this software is that it works (kind of) most of the time.

Cons

This software is the least user friendly software I have ever used. I understand that databases are boring, but this software (until the last update) looked like it was from 1996. Nothing about this is intuitive for the general user. For ease of use I would have given it zero stars, but I was unable.

Jenny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Use HR module on daily basis

Reviewed on 2017/05/18

Pros

the support for Ellucian is awesome. It took a while to learn how to use Colleague but once I learned my area, it was very useful.

Cons

it's not intuitive. I wish there was a training that new employees could go to in their area to learn about the Colleague product to help understand how the change I make affects others.

Nela
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Worked in Ellucian at a community college

Reviewed on 2018/04/25

Pros

Very user friendly. Screens are very self explanatory making it easier to understand what fields need to be filled out

Cons

There is a lot of functions that cannot be changed once saved. In leaves it would be beneficial if you could delete something if it was inputted incorrectly

Isaac
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall good customer service.

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

Pros

The community that is always ready to help each other. You can reach out to hundreds of users and get answers.

Cons

Upgrades can be very time consuming and complex, the reporting is not up to standard and some user functionality is not easy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Not user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/10/23

n/a

n/a

Pros

It keeps all of our student databases, it integrates with our LMS so grades can be transferred without having to be manually typed.

Cons

The clunky look. It seriously needs to be updated to a modern, easier to use interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reliable and secure

Reviewed on 2018/05/07

Pros

I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons

There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

Iris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Can't begin to describe how horrible

Reviewed on 2019/11/16

The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and...

The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly. It looks like it's built in the 90ies.

Pros

Absolutely nothing, besides it just being horribly ugly the UX and Usability is utterly terrible.

Cons

As professional in tech I decided to enroll in some part time college classes for enrichment and I was appalled at the software system both schools had for students. Both systems for some reason look and navigate completely different but I found out are still made by the same company. Both is so complicated to use (again both totally different though students need to perform the same tasks) and I'm not sure why people (both school but especially the software company) think this acceptable is beyond me.

Mandy
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Great for recruiting nor for admissions

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Pros

This is a great tool for recruiting. It can send out emails and invites to different events. It can keep track and store records, it has great potential.

Cons

We were promised that this tool would streamline the admissions process and make it so that our school would only need to have one application. This was a promise that this program could not and has not been able to keep.

Beth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Better that other similar products

Reviewed on 2019/08/06

Pros

the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons

still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Started out as a great idea, but functionality is horrible.

Reviewed on 2018/08/01

Pros

Visually appealing and the user interface is easy to use and navigate through tabs. A nice face lift from the older interface.

Cons

The program is so slow. When you're trying to do multiple processes a day, the waiting adds up. Sometimes I will wait a whole minute to wait for a process to execute, very frustrating.

Lauren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not very user friendly and when told the system will do something, it actually will not.

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

Pros

It is hard to say because we have had issues with getting the system to do what we need it to, but I do like that it will create a positive pay file for manual checks.

Cons

It won't do some of the basic things for financials that I as an accounts payable person feel that the system should do.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review of Colleague by Ellucian

Reviewed on 2019/04/05

Overall it is a decent product. I am on the non-credit side of the school and utilize it a little...

Overall it is a decent product. I am on the non-credit side of the school and utilize it a little less than those on the credit side, however, it is still a decent product.

Pros

It is a decent way to organize all of student data. It also allows for managing the fiances of my departments.

Cons

It takes some time to understand how to use it efficiently. I have been using it for a year and still discover different features.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

User-friendly but a new experience.

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Good experience but takes time.

Good experience but takes time.

Pros

It was super easy to use when we didn't run into freezing issues. Allows us to pull up any student information that we need and found a way to troubleshoot successfully.

Cons

Sometimes it seems that there are way too many extra steps for no reason. Although it was easy to use, there is a learning curve to master.