100 reviews

Sunbird DCIM

Data center management system for mid to large enterprises

4,7 /5 (100 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,9
99% recommended this app
100 reviews
Greg R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DCIM Solution for Any business

Reviewed on 2020/05/01

Managing over a hundred global locations comprised of local offices and data centers have been a huge challenge. With the implementation of dcTrack/PowerIQ we were able to achieve clear visibility into each of these locations and eliminate a lot of technology debt.

Pros

Practical Data Center inventory management and power monitoring tool in one. Easy to use with intelligent and clear reporting and helpful dashboards. We've grown and developed our business processes and procedures while implementing the tool - moving away from manual data entry and management via multiple spreadsheets is the thing of the past we'd never go back to.

Cons

With every release there are always new features delivered that were requested by the customers. As with every tool, some level of customization is always required. In some cases it may not be as intuitive as one would wish and reading the admin manual is a must.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

dcTrack Your do it all DCIM tool.

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

Utilizing Sunbirds DCIM Tool dcTrack has made me more efficient at my job and helping the teams that use it work more efficiently as well. dcTrack has become our Gold Copy so to speak with regard to tracking our assets. It helps the Operations team find devices quickly, without having to look in multiple places for where assets should be. Sunbird has created a do it all tool that works, it does what it says it will do and the level of support you get with it is first rate. I can use my DCIM tool to help keep track of network ports, and empty cabinet space and run power reports.... the uses and possibilities are endless.

Pros

The Visualization of my datacenter floor. i find myself in it all day going cabinet to cabinet. This portion of the tool gives you 3d CAD rendering of your datacenter that you can quickly click on a cabinet and take you to the device you are looking for. This feature also is very useful is seeing cabinet temps, power usage when paired with smart PDU's oh and one of my all time favorite features in this Visualization feature is the ability to measure out cable. You can click on measure in the menu and then click a point on your datacenter map then trace out where your cable will run and go point to point. It gives you an accurate distance so you know which cable lengths you will be using. Just one of the many various useful elements of dcTrack.

Cons

I do not have many issues or complaints with regard to dcTrack. The issues I do come across tend to be buggy new release issues that once called into the Sunbird Support Team, it's handled and rectified quickly. For example there was an issue with having to load up Adobe Flash when opening a certain tab in the software. The issue was isolated to this one tab and only when using Chrome did it come up. The Sunbird team was quick to correct this and on the next software update release, it was addressed.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the detailed positive feedback. dcTrack is now flash free with release 7.0. Customer's have given us very positive feedback on our new modern elegant HTML 5 Flash free GUI. It also includes user option to use in light or dark mode. Dark mode looks really cool.

Greg B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sunbird dcTracks/PowerIQ: Great products and ease of use with excellent support

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

The overall experience has been great. In many implementations with software and other DCIM providers this has by far been the best experience we have had. The support is quick and direct, usually solving issues and answering questions on the first contact and typically in the same day. The team members providing instruction in remote sessions were knowledgeable and took the time to make sure we understood the functionality and how to repeat it. The product is great and fits all of our requirements; where there was not a direct process for an integration with other tools, the Sunbird team was quick to assist. The Sunbird software is easy to use, integrates with other products easily and the GUI is very clean. After demonstrations and comparison to 6 other competitors, Sunbird products stood out well above the rest.

Pros

What we like most about Sunbird's DCIM solution is the integration between dcTracks and PowerIQ along with the great features, detailed user interface and ease of use. The software is setup in a way that is very intuitive to use and just as easy to implement from image to production use. The implementation/proof of concept team was great to work with. The weekly sessions made sure we were able to achieve all our requirements and not only assisted in setting up the software but showed the team how accomplish the tasks on our own so that we could replicate and update our data as needed.

Cons

At this point there is not much that we dislike about the software. It contains all the features and ease of use we expected; and more. We would like an additional feature for integration with server cabinet door locks to see the status; if they were open/closed and who accessed the rack based on badge. The way the integration currently works is to send an alert when triggered but doesn't fully meet what we would like to accomplish.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the 5 start review. Customer success is our top priority. Feedback from customer's like you have greatly helped us in designing our 2nd Gen DCIM solution.

Todd L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sunbird PowerIQ

Reviewed on 2020/02/28

Sunbird has been great to deal with. From sales to their help desk they are the best in the business with communicating with their customers. I have never had a better experience with any other company from a help desk / support perspective. Literally five minutes after I place a ticket I get someone who is located in the States and has a high level understanding of the product able to help me. I couldn't ask for better support.

Pros

When purchasing a DCIM tool we felt that PowerIQ gave us the ability to accomplish everything it was that we needed to do. This tool has provided us with such visibility into our data center environments wherever they may be. We felt this was the best tool on the market for the price with what are needs were.

Cons

As of right now I have found nothing that I don't like about the product.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive feedback. Hershey bar with almonds is my favorite!

Dirk S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Transparency to the datacenter

Reviewed on 2019/06/06

We had to know how much power our Datacenter is using and we had different PDU's in use. Sunbird helped us to integrate all of them in one software product. So we have everything in one view.

Pros

The Software is very powerful. Each release brings new features, that are very usefully. With the new dashboards you have only one look to see if something needs attention. In the meanwhile our Datacenter team knows more about the rooms, climate, power consumption than our facility management. The functionality for reporting is very powerful and can automatically sent them to the persons, that need it.

Cons

Because the software is so powerful, there are a lot of things you have to configure. As better it's configured, as better are the results. It take some time to set everything up. We took Sunbird to support us and this have been the right choice for us.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive feedback! We plan to have our next German user group in March. Hope to see you!

Eric W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid product with great feedback and response team.

Reviewed on 2016/06/20

Having deployed the Sunbird product line for nearly 4 years, there were several inflection points that forced us to make the decision: move forward with Sunbird or find another product. Each time that decision came up, Sunbird was able to act fast and provide immediate solutions to our problems. We are very happy with the customer support and responsiveness.

Pros

Simple UI doesn't overwhelm the new user yet still provides a full experience for the expert user.

Cons

Our rapid growth caused scaling issues, overloading the software.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. We have a true partnership you and our customers.

Brian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hard to imagine business without Power IQ

Reviewed on 2016/06/17

Being responsible for 100+ sites, the level of visibility Power IQ provides is extremely valuable. Prior to using this product, we did not have this in a centralized platform. There have been numerous success stories since deploying Power IQ and we are pleased with the continual development this product is receiving. The product is evolving into many of the features we have a roadmap for integrating so it is definately product that justifies the investment.

Pros

Having all the information for all our locations centrally located has helped greatly. The ability to power cycle an entire device that is dual power corded has helped as well.

Cons

The floor plans in the dashboard view take a long time to load. With all the sites and having them on a slideshow, not always is the floorplan populated prior to switching to a different view.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Fritz R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sunbird's software solutions are innovative and intuitive to use. A number of important...

Reviewed on 2018/07/02

Excellent overview, timely warning, optimal reports - and all with little effort!

Pros

All in all a convincing offer. Product, licensing model, price, service, etc. convince in comparison with other solutions.

Cons

In the case of dcTrack, the licensing model for PCs should be extended in order to be able to map office units (PC, Printer, etc.) with the software beyond the data center (Racks/Cabinets).

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. We made sure we fully covered the data center, lab. IDF/MDF and colo models first. We that fully covered now, we are expanding into the office areas.

Zach B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sunbird DCIM Review

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Pros

Easy to setup and use. Easy to add devices one at a time or discovery wizard.

Cons

The analytics and reports could be cleaner and more powerful. Better exports of them too.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive feedback. I will reach out to you to discuss your reporting ideas.

John F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sunbird DCIM review

Reviewed on 2019/06/05

We are using DcTrack for inventory control and space management in our new data center. PowerIQ is monitoring our power strips inside the data hall cabinets. The alerting feature informs us right away when devices require immediate attention.

Pros

The Sunbird products work as advertised. Both DcTrack and PowerIQ products work well and are easy to use. The Sunbird website is easy to navigate with lots of helpful features and quick videos. Keeping the device models/templates up-to-date is an easy process.

Cons

The software has very few drawbacks, but he OS is not a standard Linux environment. It looks like an appliance running CentOS and not supported by our internal Linux team.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive review and for hosting our Chicago user group meeting this year. Glad hear you find our quick videos helpful.

Kevin L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awesome

Reviewed on 2017/05/17

Pros

Its vendor agnostic and awesome! They are very easy to work with. Definitely worth a look!!!!!!!!!

Cons

None. There are no cons that I think of, which is great!. I am a happy customer all around!!!!!!!!

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Antonio P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software, excellent support team!

Reviewed on 2017/06/14

Pros

Ease of use, every new version is better than the last. support team help is great. the functionality between my devices (pdu's, crac unit's, Temperature sensors) is outstanding.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Tanner W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tanner's Sunbird DCIM Software Review

Reviewed on 2016/06/17

We were tracking all of our PDUs through spread sheets and monitoring ping through solarwinds before coming across this product. It has helped our facilities staff immensely with monitoring power usage throughout all of our sites.

Pros

I really like the Data Center tab where i can expand down and see what equipment and pdus are located in each rack.

Cons

When setting the display to PDU name it hides the IP address of the PDU and vice versa. It was apparently a security concern for some companies, but a pain for us.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Ian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Dairy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Useful & Functional Tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/27

Data Centre Facility Reliability & Performance is now being monitored and measured.

Pros

Ease of Setup & Configuration
In depth levels of monitoring and customization
Excellent new Health Dashboard Tiles

Cons

Limited Reporting Options for financial reports & UPS status.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive feedback. Hope to see you at our next London user group so we can discuss your financials and UPS reporting needs

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Well developed infrastructure management tool!

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

Pros

Very powerful tool for analytics and device management. We love using it to track power consumption per device and temperature/humidity in our data centers.

Cons

It took a while to get it configured and working the way we wanted it, but Sunbird was there to help us every step of the way and make sure we got the most out of their product.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. We provide free weekly training every Wednesday. See our support portal https://www.sunbirddcim.com/dcim-technical-support to sign up and to view video recordings of prior training sessions.

Muhammed K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Datacenter inventory

Reviewed on 2019/05/13

Pros

I reviewed Sunbird for demo purposes. I can say the product is actually successful. But as the number of insufficient support team in Turkey. The most successful aspect

Cons

As the number of insufficient support team in Turkey.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive review. We support Turkey with a local partner named Valen. They are a very good at service and support. Maybe you connected to our USA support via our portal. I will remind them that they can also leverage Valen. We also have have an SE Manager that speaks Turkish. He previously worked at Telcoset in Turkey and moved to the USA to work for us.

Francesco L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

an happy customer.

Reviewed on 2018/12/03

I am fine with it.

Pros

the 3D view
the technical support is excellent

Cons

I am still in a learning curve and I have never used a more detailed software like dcTrack. it is not easy until you learnt it enough.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. We provide free weekly training every Wednesday. See our support portal https://www.sunbirddcim.com/dcim-technical-support to sign up and to view video records of prior training sessions.

John V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great DCIM Tool

Reviewed on 2016/06/20

I am an implementation partner for Sunbird. I love working with their product. They make it very easy to load data from spreadsheets and quickly stand up an instance of the tool with the client's data.

Pros

Installs very clean. The OS and database are all packaged and installed as a VM. The developers listen to your feedback and are constantly updating the software. I have always received great support from their staff.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Sander S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review PowerIQ DCIM

Reviewed on 2020/11/03

Very pleased about multi vendor PDU support by plugins

Pros

One Screen overview for Health DC and all PDU's
LDAP support
Backups
PDU tagging for reports

Cons

No memory when you come back to a previous TAB screen
(Need to open the complete folder tree again to go to the DC racks)

Anders B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Why I chose Sunbird DCIM

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Pros

I like it because of its ease of use, good features, great support and help if needed. Easy to update and are frequently updated.

Cons

Most of the problems I had is mostly on my side, i.e I am not familiar with terms, technical lingo and mindset. So when for instance filling in information is a bit tedious but it is getting easier.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive review. We plan to have our European user group meeting in April. We also offer free weekly training every Wednesday. See support portal for more details and recordings of all previous trainings.

Torsten W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PowerIQ is admin's best friend, dcTrack is best to comfort revisors and auditors

Reviewed on 2020/12/03

(x) Support is over-average
(x) new releases have a high quality, we always wait a few month until implementing a new release and in the last two years we never had an issue after a release upgrade

Pros

New hardware devices are ready be monitored in seconds. Management of hundreds of hardware devices such PDUs and sensors lost it's complexity. PowerIQ superseded our Nagios Installation for all hardware-related devices. It becomes more and more our primary trap host.

Cons

Compared to PowerIQ setup of dcTrack is complex. Integration of PowerIQ an dcTrack could be easier to use. (License) Price for integration of USVs into PowerIQ is definitely to high, as a result we do not monitore our several USVs via PowerIQ

Mihail U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Believe in your strenghts

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

Quite fast response from Support Team, always kind and a vast knowledge with lots of step-by-step help guides.

Multiple troubleshooting options
etc

Pros

Good tool to monitor all equipment
easy to use
lots of admin/network options

Cons

needs more bulk update of devices, eg: Change Timezone or Time on all PDU's , or Connect all PDU's to NTP server by a bulk option.
etc

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for the positive review. Have you tried out PDU bluk configuration clone feature? That will all you to set the NTP server and time on all you PDUs. This is a link to a video on how to use this feature. https://support.sunbirddcim.com/support/solutions/articles/24000046504-power-iq-7-0-how-to-restore-and-clone-raritan-and-server-tech-device-configurations

Markus H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

dcTrack and PowerIQ are amazing tools to help you keep track of what's going on

Reviewed on 2019/10/11

The possibilities with these tools are almost limitless.
I haven't discovered anything we would miss at work yet.
You can build custom dashboards, DC rooms in 3D, rack overviews, power- and data-connections and more so that everyone can get an insight without being in the room.
For the operation of a data center a DCIM software solution is absolutely necessary. The tasks today are very varied and it is easy to lose track.
With dcTrack you can get the overview back. Of course there is a lot of work behind it but you should start with the work. There won't be a 100% solution but if you know what you want and take the first step, you will see that it goes forward.

Pros

The support is great and you always get help and solutions for problems.
The insertion of racks, devices, PDUs and connections is possible by bulk import and therefore fast and clear.
You can create different roles for each user and assign rights for each user.
You can plan very well in advance and then display it virtually as it might look.
Work orders can also be created and documented.
I have already taken part on a user group meetings where wishes, problems, user questions are answered and solutions are sought. One is kept up to date about new developments and there is user training on demand.

Cons

There aren't really any disadvantages with these tools, just the complexity that exists, let you sometimes ask what you do first and what can waiting for.
You should make sure that all users are involved in different tasks.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. Our development team is highly motivated to provide you elegant software that makes it easier for you to perform your daily work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Caretech Solutions Inc.

Reviewed on 2018/11/30

As a remote datacenter manager, it is invaluable to have a visual readout of our assets, and easily be able to determine and display capacity. As a Shared Services provider, we can easily demonstrate to existing customers where their racks are located, how populated they are, etc. This is also useful in sales initiatives; having a 3-D graph of racks with available capacity (one of the vendor-provided reports) makes the salesman's job easier.

Pros

I like the fact that it can be as high-level, or granulated as you like. I initially started with "where are my racks and what's in them" usage, easily generating 3-d visuals, and exporting .csv and .pdf reports. Using the built-in import and export tools, I've been able to add entries for power whips (and associate them with racks), and populate chassis with individual blades. Next steps will be to update network information for devices, again, with the easy import tools.

Cons

The models library sometimes lacks the specific Make, Model, etc. of a device I'm adding, so I'll have to use a similar one, or define a generic one. Sunbird has a mechanism to submit model addition requests.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Dave D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Deploying devices is so much easier to preform with 100% accuracy.

Reviewed on 2017/06/15

It organizes and centralizes information and it greatly aids in MACD

Pros

The many visualizations such as device, cabinet and floor plan (including 3D) are quite valuable to me. With the cabinet views, I can 'see' the best areas to place equipment within a cabinet without the need to be physically on site. Device views allows me to 'show' Installers where exactly the various device ports are located so they connect data cables correctly. The floor plan allows me to estimate distances so I can order cables of proper length. All of these views are invaluable to me since I support remote data centers.

Cons

That I still need to access Classic View to preform some functions. To be able to access data panel port information from the GUI is great and I cannot wait for functions like Lists and Connectors are moved there too.

Response from Sunbird

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to now offer a modern and elegant web based GUI. We even allow uses to select between light and dark mode.