33 reviews

Apricot Social Solutions

Case management software for nonprofits of any size

3,7 /5 (33 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
64%
recommended this app
33 reviews
Savannah G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Waste of time and money

Reviewed on 2020/10/06

We've had this software over a year now and it still feels like we're trying to get it in decent working order. If you're using it for very simple, non-complex data entry, this may work for your basic needs. But if you have a lot of moving parts, I can't recommend.

Pros

Finally got us digital so we could collect data more accurately and efficiently. Some of the straightforward data entry features aren't as difficult to navigate.

Cons

The ability to customize the software to our needs is seriously lacking. The interface and functionality are clunky and not at all intuitive. Reports that should be relatively simple to generate are overly complicated. We've had to rely on extended help from the programmers which means spending even more. We regularly experience glitches for no reason.

Jennifer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and easy to customize.

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

This helped us take our organization to the next level since we can now track and report data on our program.

Pros

My favorite thing about this product is the ability to customize and build your own system. We had to move from a dead Access database but needed something affordable that we could customize. We purchased this product to manage our program outcomes but since it is so easy to customize we have expanded the use of the product to other areas. Customer service is incredible, the best I have experienced with a software company. They respond promptly and help to explain and resolve your problem. The customer service cost is included in the cost of the software so you don't have to decide how bad your problem is...you can reach out for help to minimize any disruption to your business. Finally, they are constantly upgrading their system which is free for the user. They ask for improvement ideas and often times implement them after which everyone receives the upgrade. I highly recommend their product!

Cons

I really cannot think of anything I do not like about the software. Maybe that it works the best in Google Chrome and I prefer to use Firefox. The use of the software is accessible from any browser but the programmers prefer Chrome so that is where you get the best user experience.

Response from Social Solutions

Thank you for the great feedback! We are thrilled that you are happy and are committed to continuing to exceed your expectations. It's why we love what we do!

Kim T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Started strong with CTK Technology, but Social Solutions is all about the profits from...

Reviewed on 2019/07/12

Apricot should be able to track all client program activity, assessments, expenses, case management, and outcomes. We have only recently had our system re-designed after two years of not being able to do what we needed, so we haven't seen this level of performance yet. This is our first month online with the correctly re-designed system. Since we are having to manually migrate data, we will still not be able to pull more than monthly data for a while even though we signed contracts for Apricot almost four years.

Pros

It is customizable to your needs. It had a user-friendly design with CTK Technology. CTK was very knowledgeable about their product and focused on helping non-profits with their tracking needs.

Cons

Social Solutions bought out CTK right before we signed the contract. They didn't have knowledgeable staff and so our system was designed poorly and never functioned properly. We had to hire an outside contractor that had many years of experience with Apricot (under CTK Tech) to re-design our system this year. When we tried to get Social Solutions to migrate the last two years of data that wouldn't populate correctly, they wanted to charge us a permanent monthly fee to transfer the data from their Apricot design to our newly re-designed forms in Apricot. So we are having to manually transfer two years of data. They have also recently increased their annual fees significantly.

Nick L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Tool to track clients and students

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

Best tool we've found in the 4 years of running our school

Pros

Very thorough product with a great deal amount of functions. We have an online school and need to capture a lot of data for the students that enroll. The type of school we have demands we have constant interaction with them. This is tool has allowed us to create customized forms to enroll and track to our needs. We can also have online enrollments automatically create records we have embed into our website. Their library of information is extremely helpful and valuable. Also you can purchase an import tool to allow you to import from your present data into Apricot.

Cons

It's very robust and requires learning but not as difficult as Salesforce which is why we chose this. However, be prepared to take time to learn and take advantage of live chats with customer support.

Laura M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent tracking software

Reviewed on 2017/11/14

Overall great program!! Worth purchasing and using.

Pros

This software is an easy to understand and is a great help in order to track and input the individuals and groups you serve. It is easy to input individuals information and look up the information stored in the future.

Cons

Apricot is a software we have mainly used for tracking those we served and volunteers. We have not found the software to be an easy software to use for donors or tracking of finances.

Stacy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing Tool For Harnessing Data and Extracting Reports

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

I love that you essentially build every field to be accessible as a report parameter for future extraction.

Cons

It can be a little overwhelming if you do not know what you want from your data on the back end. With so much customization, you can get in over your head if you are not thinking ahead.

Glorous P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Apricot

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

It was so hard to work with had to kept repeating same information

Pros

Didn’t really like anything about this program

Cons

Everything had to repeat information to much

Eugene V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Apricot Business

Reviewed on 2015/02/26

Pros

The best customer service in the field and above the field.

Cons

None - because it is the best customer service in the field.

Angel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Apricot

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Pros

I use Apricot to collect people who called the helpline and participate in our support groups.

Cons

Sometimes, I have trouble going to the next page when I save someone's record, but I got help from a fellow volunteer.

Priscilla P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I am still getting use to the software. It is hard to go in and edit the form.

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

Overall, the software comes highly recommended and I will recommend it to other sister companies.

Pros

It gives reports of all services rendered to the population we service. It a convenient was to keep track of all of the files. We can go paperless.

Cons

Only the administrator is allowed to see everything beyond the page being worked on. More than one user should be allowed to see everything.

Michele P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Apricot User Review

Reviewed on 2018/07/20

Pros

This software is highly functional and affordable for the value it has to offer. You can select different software package depending on your non-profit needs. Very user friendly

Cons

When first getting this software there is a lot of setting up and creating forms which does request a lot of alternation and time commitment.

Monika M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Apricot Worke

Reviewed on 2020/04/25

I like how Apricot is a website for the front end and a data base for the back end. This is great for non profits who are starting off who need member management.

Pros

I like how apricot is a website but also has a data base on the back end.

Cons

This is an off the shelf product and it is not customizable in every aspect to what your business needs may be.

Lauren C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Some snags, but overall easy to use!

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

I enter data for my clients on a daily basis. This is pretty easy to use and understand!

Pros

New features: ability to sort services by date, type of service—so helpful! I’m very glad this was added.

Cons

Like most softwares, there are usually some hiccups when updates roll out. Sometimes it isn’t the most reliable.

John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Just Switched to Apricot. Love It So Far

Reviewed on 2018/09/12

Worked on another product for a long long time (which is also very good and powerful). Moved over to Apricot recently, and have been very pleased. It's not quite as powerful as the other product, but it's more user-friendly, and also a lot less expensive.

Pros

Simple-to-understand form structure. They use a "Folder" concept to help you understand how the data is organized. Easy to link data from one folder to another. The form builder has a lot of simple but powerful features (like automated "Other" fields). The report engine is simple enough for most modestly tech savvy folk. And probably my favorite is the security controls...you can build security sets that inherit from other security sets. Saves a lot of time.

Cons

There's a lot of whitespace that seems unnecessary. Means you might have to scroll a while. Reporting/exporting data is good, but not quite as powerful as some other products.

Christy H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellet Adaptable System

Reviewed on 2014/02/27

We utilize Apricot to collet data for the students, employers and partners from five states in our grant project. Over all Apricot has been very easy to roll out to staff, use day to day for staff, have student access from remote locations and build data reports. We are more limited by our thinking of the possible uses of the system, than the system itself.
Pros:
You do not need to be a programmer to set up data tracking forms or reports. You can easily make changes/ additions on your own.
The build/ roll out process worked quickly and efficiently we were up and running in about 3 months.
Online training for staff is beneficial.
Customer service is quick to respond when issues are submitted.
Having the capability to build graphics and bulletins on the fly is great for communicating importance/ sense of urgency with the data and goals.
CTK is very open to listening and responding to requests for enhancements to the product.
Trainings offered at CTK for all users is an effective way to realize additional uses for Apricot.
The ability to import and export massive amounts of data allows for ease of use when sharing data in federal reporting requirements.
Cons:
You cannot use your own branding colors in the graphs or on the site itself- you do have to export the data to use the colors you want in charts etc.
You do need Chrome/Firefox to use the system- several of our colleges have been internet explorer only users which has required instiutinal changes.

Gina T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All in one non-profit management/database software - highly recommend

Reviewed on 2018/09/25

Pros

Although I haven’t had the chance to try out all that many products focused on non-profits exlcusively, I would have to say this one is my favorite. It is customizable and includes so many different features that it can truly be your all in one non-profit management software.

Cons

The initial setup and learning process required in order to get into a good rythmn and efficiently use all features is pretty long and time consuming but worth it in the end.

Erin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Program- Poor Customer Service

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

Pros

Easy to use. The program allows you to measure outcomes easily, which is helpful to provide to donors.

Cons

It took a lot of time to set up out soft ware program, specifically for our organization. There is little customer support for this process.

Christopher S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very useful and responsive system and support

Reviewed on 2014/02/05

We have been using Apricot for perhaps 3 months now in some form. We switched from the old CTK ODM system, and the switch has been managed extremely well. The data forms and reports were done correctly, and the technical support is responsive and of very high quality. The new Apricot system is super easy to use, very flexible to individualize, and also easy to control in terms of access. We area large state and national system, and have data that includes clinical, educational, training, fiscal, and evaluation information. We have found it very easy to not only create very simple and easy forms, but very powerful and flexible reporting options. We have even used the system to promote funding through grants and contracts, being able to give funders assurances that real-time monitoring of program data is possible. We have staff using the system with little or no formal education/training in data to highly sophisticated Ph.D. folks who use data systems all of the time. This one is our favorite, and the most powerful opportunity for us is our future use of online connectivity to powerful statistical packages. Kudos to Apricot for designing a system that is flexible, powerful, and affordable.

Stacy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Apricot Essentials

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

It has been a pleasure working with Apricot. If you are a small organization moving from Access or Excel, this is an affordable good first step. No in house techie required! Basic database knowledge is very useful for implementation but not required.

Pros

Ease of Form Customization
Reporting
Look and Feel
Customer Service is amazing
Chat Help informative and available
Value for Cost

Cons

No Mass Emailing Capability
Data Upload Capability Charge is for the Duration of Contract. You cannot turn on and off
Training is all online / self taught unless you pay

Rick j. C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

I WAS A CUSTOMER - MY BAD

Reviewed on 2017/03/31

I am sure they will be in touch now - 40 days outreach through their process to get support to either cancel or postpone use of the account and nothing. Service was terrible on day one unless it was to "close the deal" so I should have known better. Now over a year later and $+ nothing has changed.

Pros

Not much.

Cons

Service is non-existent unless to get your donors hard earned money.

April W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Exception product for funding but not great for what we use it for.

Reviewed on 2016/07/06

Pros

Not much except for the funding aspect. I like the ease of creating reports.

Cons

Not knowing where we are with issues that are in development for fixing problems.

Mytch L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of Apricot

Reviewed on 2015/02/28

Pros

Quality products that are easy to use. Reliable also.

Cons

Expensive to purchase their products considering their costs.

Cary S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Apricot Reviewed by Staff Using for Re-Entry Ministry

Reviewed on 2019/04/21

Would definitely recommend for those in Re-Entry ministry. It has enabled us to serve our participants better. Just know that you will need another platform for CRM work.

Pros

It is a great tool for case management. It allows us to track many data points, keep updated records and next steps for participants.

Cons

It would be great if it also had CRM functions. The infrastructure is there under the hood, but not easily customizable to track various donor interactions, merge with mail chimp, etc.

Misty S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not very user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/12/27

Pros

It gets all of the details we need, filed into a pretty easy to access format

Cons

I hate that I have to type in most of the info at least twice because it doesn't save from one page to the other

Derrick M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Social Solutions' is Skyrocketing Apricot Pricing

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

In using Apricot (under its previous owner CTK) for years, we couldn't have said enough wonderful things about it. It was affordable, flexible, and robust in its capability. Furthermore, customer service was top notch and had quick response rates. Unfortunately since Social Solutions has bought out CTK, it has fallen apart in several ways. First, the system has never been this unstable. We've had about a dozen service interruptions in the past 2 months (records not being searchable, secure web forms crashed, system lag and/or downtime, etc.). Although frustrating, this was digestible and perhaps the transition would work itself out. We recently learned that this isn't the only problem. As it turns out, Social Solutions has now quadrupled its pricing model and so a system that used to cost about $6000 under CTK is now well over $20,000 under Social Solutions. The system hasn't really changed and so there hasn't been a tripling in the quality of service, which in fact quality of service has gone down since the transition. On top of all of this, existing subscribers prior to the transition will be hit with a 10% increase in their contracts year over year until it reaches their current pricing model. Needless to say, Social Solutions took a wonderful product and drove it into the ground!