11 reviews

xCatalyst

Association management solution for businesses of all sizes

4,6 /5 (11 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
11 reviews
Diane A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

LCA has been with ESX for a little over three years. I have worked very closely with ESX.

Reviewed on 2016/04/28

LCA has worked with ESX for over 3 years. When we signed the contract, we had about 6 weeks to be active and be ready to register for our conference online. The staff of ESX worked very hard and had us active on time. This alone was impressive.
I have been the contact between LCA and ESX. I have found the partnership with ESX very easy. To me this is an important word because I am not as computer literate as I could be ESX has worked with me each step of the way. This has been important for the success of the LCA website.

Kristin R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible, intuitive, and adaptable to any work flow.

Reviewed on 2016/02/08

xCatalyst is set up to empower users to quickly navigate the tool throughout their daily processes. While doing something "in the real world," like planning a new event for our membership, providing customer service via email or phone calls, or updating someone's communication preferences, the user can seamlessly move from one screen to another using intuitive quick links and connections between modules. And because there is more than one way to navigate the system, users are able to work comfortably in their own independent processes and flows.
The customer service provided by the ESX team, and their deep knowledge of the tool is beyond compare. Depending on urgency, timeliness and budget constraints, the ESX team is able to recommend multiple options for incorporating new requirements. The off-the-shelf tool is incredibly robust, and the flexibility and availability of custom developments empowers us to fashion the modules and fields to meet our specific business needs.
This tool has empowered us to realize significant efficiencies and has all-but eliminated redundancies in our workflow. Previously we had to move data from one disparate system to another, but because xCatalyst combines the membership management side with the content management side, we are able to control access to content, events, and tailor the members' experience with ease. In addition, the reporting capabilities are incredible. Now we have insight into our users' activity levels; which content is most popular on the member website; the status of account updates and sales trends.
Without xCatalyst and the ESX team, we would take twice as long to complete basic tasks in our everyday workflows, and we would have half as much visibility into our members' engagement with our association.

Patrick F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

WE LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT ESX

Reviewed on 2016/02/04

To whom it may concern:

I am writing to recommend ESX . I have had the pleasure of working directly with them for the past two years and it has been a tremendous experience.

Their customer service and adaptability to work with clients is one of the many reasons we enjoy using them every day. They are always there to help you and are persistent on making sure you're database is organized and working properly at all times. I have no complaints about ESX and plan on using them for many years to come! They work hard , long hours, keep everything organized and introduced us to creative ideas to help with our members.

It is a pleasure dealing with them every day and I strongly recommend trying them out!

Please call if you have any questions for me: 512-473-3773

Ric M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to work with and ESX support is always available.

Reviewed on 2016/04/24

We use this software for our business website. It's thorough yet easy to initiate and update, so the information contained can always be used. We highly recommend using Catalyst

Stacie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product, Great Company

Reviewed on 2016/07/14

We love having membership, events, donations, website, e-blasts, networking groups, and administration available through one platform. The system is fully customizable, and if it doesn't do what you want now, they can usually find a way to make it happen. ESX provides excellent support and is always ready to listen and provide suggestions as new needs or projects arise. They also do a great job keeping us informed on the latest web and technology trends.

We have used the system since 2011. We had a very smooth rollout and data conversion process. We have been able to add new web-related member services each year, including a career center, and internal functions, such as payment features that are on the cutting edge of PCI compliance standards.

I would highly recommend xCatalyst as a product and ESX as a company. Working with them has been a great experience, and we truly consider them partners in what we do.

Brianna S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Service Quickly Outgrown

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

After just three years, our 6-person staff outgrew the product and was frustrated with the limitations of the system, the never ending cost to upgrade the system, and the lack of good customer service we could trust. This felt like a one-way arrangement and not the partnership our organization was looking for.

The only way for us to learn about system updates or how to use different areas of the site was to personally speak with one of their team members. There was no user manual, update releases, or knowledge database for admins of the system to reference.

Pros

This software was budget friendly for our non-profit association. We were informed that all of our needs and wants for the system were doable.

The Committee module allowed for multiple committees and roles within them.

It was easy to see what members had paid their dues in a certain date range.

Cons

Unfortunately, the things we were promised turned out to be customized code that needed to be built (and paid for), that ultimately didn't work .

The user-interface is dense; it was common for it to take 5+ clicks to get to pretty easy information. This made finding information from the admin side frustrating and a lengthy process. Nothing ever felt "easy" to update, find, or add to the system.

The functionality of the software was frequently glitchy and filled with bugs. Our resource documents would duplicate without reason. Posts to our communities would look fine, but upon posting, random characters would fill the post which would then need to be manually edited and fixed. Even updates to our webpages would cause additional characters to appear. When we brought the issues to ESX we were informed they could not duplicate our issues and therefore could not/would not fix the issues.

When their payment portal was not working on the day we released our biggest conference registration, we were given a "it should be working now" response. Their CS team did not instill confidence in our team that our issues were taken seriously or that the problems were being addressed.

Response from ESX

Hello Brianna.

We are sorry to hear that IAIABC's experience with xCatalyst were less than satisfactory. At ESX, Inc. we pride ourselves in providing superior customer service, software solutions that exceeds our client's expectations, and transparency throughout the partnerships developed.

As a previous client of ESX for 5+ years we sincerely appreciate and will thoroughly review your feedback to help determine areas in which we can improve. Please know, given the opportunity we would have strived to work together with your team to solve any issues.

We wish IAIABC the best and hope that if we can be of service in the future there is no hesitation to contact us.

Sebastian Stavar, COO

Dori R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Reliable, Professional, and Prompt Service

Reviewed on 2016/07/12

Working with everyone at ESX has been a great experience. They are extremely prompt with answering questions and resolving issues. I wish I had chosen ESX when I initially started with an LMS program. I wasted valuable time and thousands of dollars with Evolve Learning, who proved they don't really care if the program works or not. Coming to ESX was a breath of fresh air - real professionals! They listen very closely to what you need and come up with different ways to address those needs within the software's framework. They also are very conscious of deadlines and really keep the project moving to launch. The ongoing support with Patty, Sebastian, and Jorge is always reliable, friendly, and skillful.

Pros

The end user's experience with the software is simple and clean.
Able to set up a rather complex process that is unique to my company.
The staff is helpful *whenever* needed - even when I ask the same question a couple times!

Cons

Learning all the fields during the setup was a bit much at times. Would like to see more detailed documentation. However, the staff is happy to help and will do so promptly. And once it is setup, it functions quite well.

Lance B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

One of the best companies I have ever worked with.

Reviewed on 2016/06/08

Highest recommendation so far for a website AMS.
Great team, very reliable, very smart, very helpful. Great to work with. System performs wonderfully. Customization of ANYTHING is possible. Really awesome for our non-profit organization.
Unlike our experience with Timberlake which was HORRIBLE, the folks from ESX Inc have been INCREDIBLE to work with.
The system performs very well and while there is a bit of a learning curve has performed very well for us.
The level of attention to detail by Sebastian Staver of Timberlake, who has helped us throughout our entire installation and integration, has been amazing. The guy is so smart and helps makes recommendations to us, great to talk to, really knowledgable.
No issue too small for him to get back to me ALMOST immediately.
My only note is that ESX Inc is a little heavy on the sales process. Like what originally moved us elsewhere was the higher cost / heavier sales process of the system. I wish I had gone with them from the get go because the extra cost was WELL worth it compared to the nightmare that was Timberlake. But you get what you pay for. They are AWESOME.
And make sure you are VERY specific with what you want because they will build exactly what you ask them too. But if you forgot something then its an assumption on both sides and that can lead to errors. But thats understandable.

Alexa H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Overall review

Reviewed on 2020/01/16

Pros

Was able to produce specific reports with no complications.

Cons

Wasn't able to produce name badges with a numbering system.

Response from ESX

Thank you for your review. As a technology partner to each and every client, ESX strives to meet all of our client's special needs not met via the "out-of-the-box" xCatalyst solution. ESX would be happy to provide the ability to produce name badges with a numbering system via customization.

Mary D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A great team supporting unique solutions!

Reviewed on 2016/04/25

Navigating the task of creating a new site requiring many different features is daunting, but Patty, Sebastian, Jorge, and everyone at ESX has worked tirelessly to support us through this process, meeting aggressive timelines, ensuring our understanding of the system, and keeping us happy. The software took some time for us to learn to navigate, and we still are learning every day, as there are so many options available to make the site better. In any project of this variety there are bumps in the road, but I consistently feel confident that this team will navigate us through the terrain smoothly.

James J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

TCA and ESX

Reviewed on 2011/03/11

Association Catalyst is a 5 star product and is the foundation of many of our business practices. We look forward to the future with ESX and all of the opportunities.

Pros

Customer Service is superior. The company will work with any idea or project we want to undertake to help make it happen.

Cons

Once a project is defined, developers can be busy and have other projects in que before they get to yours.