151 reviews

Amazon RDS

Relational database service software

4,8 /5 (151 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,5
99% recommended this app
151 reviews
Monish K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Cost Effective and Fully Cloud Managed Relational Database Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/20
Review Source: Capterra

Had A Really Great Experience with RDS, I have been evaluating Aurora with Native RDS so i will be talking more about Aurora in this Review

Pros

RDS provides support for verity of database systems like mysql, postgreSql, Maria DB, Oracle, Microsoft Sql and a hybrid Aurora (supports both mysql & psql)

Resizing, network management processes like subnet and security group are easily manageable.

Using Aurora it has become easy to transfer data from DB to S3 using "INTO OUTFILE S3" query

Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously when compared with its native RDS, it increases the over all through put

Aurora Server less is a extremely cost effective solution when used with proper configurations, it scales up and scales down as per its usage (pay per sec)

Supports Auto Backing up and scheduled snapshotting which stores the DB snapshot in S3, which helps in recovery at times of data deleted by mistake or data corruption by some failure in the application etc

Aurora provides Export Snapshot to S3 feature, its a additional feature towards data movement from RDS to S3, from this we can easily migrate data from RDS to Redshift or Athena via S3

Cons

Can't change subnet of a multi AZ RDS Database directly, to achieve this i had to first change my DB to single AZ

Aurora Server less dose not scale up when used with low CPU utilising application, user should have given the flexibility to change the autoscaling parameter for Aurora server less (CPU utilisation 70%)

Aurora the use of "INTO OUTFILE S3" query requires some additional setup steps at the s3 bucket end and IAM role which is well documented, but quite confusing,

Aurora dose not support newer mysql or psql versions which are supported by its native RDS's

Aurora when compared with its native RDS its slower for executing single queries,
officers Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously, but at the least we expect Aurora to perform as the same level as its native RDS when it comes to single queries

Aurora's Export Snapshot to S3 feature only supports Parquet file format, and on trigging Export it takes more time to start, it wold be better if the process starts instantaneously

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical know how

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup
ease of taking snapshots
no configurational drainers
very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database
debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI.
also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing.
replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Manas M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Database Management as a Service is well implemented, which is reliable, secure and efficient

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

RDS is a really good service, I haven't seen any Downtime, the communication between EC2 and RDS is really fast since they are in the same AWS network

Pros

This really reduces the operational time taken to set up a database on a cloud machine, the cost of setting up and managing is really cheep when compared to the native approach of installing mysql or psql on a EC2 and managing it,
it exposes us to a verity of options and versions which we wouldn't have been aware of , and setting them up in just clicks without even spending much time in researching on it and figuring out the way to setting it up ,
The security management is really good, we can set all types of security managements like, subnet, security group, VPC, IAM role etc, which will take a lot of effort if gone manually ,
Backup restore is really well managed , we can schedule the backup process which dumps the data into the S3, we can restore it when needed ,
it supports all type of CURD operations including cloning a DB setup,
it supports many type of databases, it has a new one called Aurora which is AWS specific which is in 2 flavours (mysql and psql) - can use it for high cost effectiveness, additional features and speed up your bulk query executions,
Upgrading DB version or any other edition are easy to make without any data losses,
it gives a DNS URL for the DB, we need not manually add its IP into a Rout53,
Now we can integrate RDS with AWS secret, using which the application can access the DB with a dynamic password, and this creds gets rotated every day, which really increases the security.
Query Execution history and resource utilisation monitoring .

Cons

I know AWS is in a process of developing new hybrid databases like Aurora, i have noticed some trivial issues in it, its slower then RDS for executing stand alone queries , but its faster than RDS while executing Bulk Queries, there may be a way to SSH into the RDS machine or accessing its DB terminal , it would be better it i can do it on the UI, instead of remembering all the commands to connect

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazon RDS is really simple and lightweight.

Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Amazon RDS is really simple and lightweight. It is easy to use and scale up in the cloud. Easy to setup.

Cons

I have not used Amazon Relational Database extensively, so I did not find any drawbacks forAmazon Relational Database.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sushank S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Amazon RDS : High uptime and faster processing in-cloud database management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Amazon RDS is very reliable and easy to use it support various types of databases including widely used MySQL and others like Postgres, aurora without worrying the infrastructure.
IT is very easy to migrate from existing or new database also it has helped us to avoid downtime with Multi-AZ setup.

Pros

1. RDS is very fast and feasible to fetch and manage the data.
2. Version are dynamic and can be chosen/changed through simple steps.
3. Restriction can be easily managed through subnets and security groups.
4. It has high uptime overcoming downtime and can be scaled easily.

Cons

1. Some time for the beginners it is not easy to setup or manage.
2. Pricing is bit high if you are creating a small instance DB.
3. Integrations with 3rd party is quite a bit complex.
4. No fully admin controls are given to manage the DB.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Muhammad arsalan N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

AWS RDS Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/10
Review Source: Capterra

My company need a simple and fast scalable solution for managing MySQL databases therefore we chose RDS. Prior to RDS we were managing DB clusters installed on VMs on Hyper Visors, and it was a cumbersome job. Though switching to RDS does make our life easy but RDS is not a cheap solution though.

Pros

Easily Scalable as per need.
AWS manage you infrastructure completely.
Fast Disaster recovery if planned the architecture correctly.
Multi AZ deployment and Read replica supported.
Supported various DB services like MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server and Postgres.
Backup procedure is very easy.

Cons

Cost on higher side.
Lack of control on your DB instance, though it's good but at times you need some tweaking todo.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A good fit

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

All our commercial products run on Aws Rds severs and overall we are happy with it. Server configuration is a breeze, performance is steady, but cost is not the lowest, for sure.

Pros

- the ease of setting up and getting ready with the first instance
- the multitude of options when getting to advanced level
- the performance of the Aurora engine

Cons

- could not get the fastest performance being connected from remote vs connect from another Aws instance. A minimum 60ms overhead is added to every query, which disappears running the client on an ec2

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Benjamin B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Works well

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

It's worked well for me.

Pros

Backed by AWS - corporate level product for an affordable price.

Cons

No support included. Need to figure out your issues on your own or pay (extensively) for support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Enterprise database without the hardware

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience with RDS has been a good one. It's great for a small business looking to scale in the future.

Pros

What I like about RDS is the variety of database options from both a hardware and software standpoint. In addition, it's easy to have a database stood up within 10 to 15 minutes.

Cons

The fact that the database will start from a stopped state after 7 days is particularly annoying. This could be remedied by using lambda to shut it down, but that's added work. A simple email reminding you that the database is still stopped would suffice. Even if the reasoning is to run updates, would it not make sense to start, update, and then shut it back down if it was down previously?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose f. G.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent, powerful but can be overwhelming

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

AWS RDS is very powerful and has served us well to complement the scalable infrastructure for our applications.

Pros

If you're looking for a database service that can scale up to infinity, look no further, this is it. AWS RDS is one of the most widely used and scalable solutions for database hosting. It's simple yet provides an overwhelmingly amount of options for scalability, management and automation.

Cons

It requieres deep knowledge of the AWS ecosystem to be able to automate and scale efficiently. Not to mention that if you're planning to use it for a simple project, it can be very daunting to setup just RDS for it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Esra K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best managed relational database service in the market!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Choosing RDS was the best strategic decision we made. We saved a lot of time to focus on our company's growth instead of dealing with operations.

Pros

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL since 2015. It is the best option we encountered in the market to set up, operate and scale a relational database in the cloud. Management Console is really easy to use. You can create, restore and scale any size of database in a matter of minutes. You should however be familiar with the technical term AWS uses. Be careful when you choose between General Purpose and Provisioned IOPS types.

Multi-AZ feature is a life saver if you have a database that cannot tolerate any downtime.

Point in time recovery saved us a lot. Also RDS takes automatic backups regularly.

You should also try Amazon Aurora which is an engine compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. AWS built Aurora for itself and the underlying technology is mind blowing.

Cons

You should be careful with the price of Amazon RDS and keep an eye on CloudWatch and Trusted Advisor. It gets expensive depending on usage but still it is worth not to struggle with operational problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Setting up a "serversless" database environment inminutes

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Since we start using RDS it saves us a lot of time. You can start with a small instance and very easily grow to a larger instance and a multi AZ (High available) setup. No need to worry about disk space anymore for backups or snapshots. Amazon doesn't run out of space. You can setup automated backup with a retention of 35 days max but if you need to keep backups longer you can create manual snapshots and keep them forever.

Pros

- Very easy to setup
- Creating database environments including HA in minutes
- Creating a HA environment without having to know anything about database replication
- Upgrading the DB engine with a click of a mouse
- Very ease to create backups (and setup automated snapshots)
- Easy to restore
- Can be managed via the weg GUI but also via the very powerful AWS CLI
- No need to manage an Operating system
- Changing instanced types if you need more or less CPU/memory.
- Dynamically change the storage
- Performance is very good

Cons

- On Aurora the disk spaces grows automatically when the database grows. But when deleting lots of data its not possible to shrink the file system.
- No root access to server (which we never missed since using RDS)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Trang N.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Manage database services solution for AWS Cloud

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/23
Review Source: Capterra

We use RDS with PostgreSQL and MySQL as our backend database for our Application hosted in AWS, they are located in a private VPC and only allow access from our backend subnet.

Pros

RDS allows us easy to create and manage a relational database for our Application hosted in AWS. It supports many different instance type, engine and scale option to select. RDS works well with VPC to keep our database private and only allow to access from specify sources. It has a lot of monitor metrics such as CPU utilization, free storage, freeable memory and read/write latency and well notification system to keep track of our database. Excellent backup, snapshot and restore support by AWS

Cons

Manage RDS's parameter is quite complex since it does not have good UI support. It lacks support tool to run SQL command directly from AWS console

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Julian X.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Database provisioning without maintenance efforts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/08
Review Source: Capterra

Personally I am very satisfied by this solution as it makes Database hosting totally painless. Also, Read-Replica and Multi-AZ features, makes it very hard to have a downtime on your side. If you're searching for an HA solution for your Database, consider Amazon RDS.

Pros

Amazon RDS is a very good product if you need a Database solution in your software architecture. Scaling and ensure performance without bottlenecks is definitely a plus value that Amazon RDS offers. Easier to integrate across other AWS products, but also on standalone software through DNS names and port, you can easily spawn a Database in a couple of clicks. Amazon RDS offers also Read-Replicas and Multi-AZ totally transparent to you, which makes it kind of unique in database hosting.

Cons

Price: everybody is well aware of how much AWS costs in the long run. Amazon RDS solution makes no difference, but if you are well aware of the costs, then this shouldn't stop you from trying and using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gurleen K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Amazon RDS - The Relational Database Service

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/03
Review Source: Capterra

Amazon Relational Database allows us to encrypt your data using the Amazon Web Key Management. We manage our databases on Amazon Virtual Private which isolate the service and keep running without trouble. Monitoring of AWS RDS with Amazon CloudWatch is easy and describes details in metrics with no extra cost. Amazon Aurora is one of the cost efficient RDS.

Pros

Amazon Relational Database Service is one of the best product of AWS. The best thing in it is easy to deploy,patch,backup,security and administrate . The distributed architecture provide render the high scalability feature in it. The hardware upgrade is also easy and less time consuming with AWS as it comes with the embed features of it. After switching to the AWS RDS there is a less administration activities needed on managing the databases. Best feature in it is, if you are new to the RDS it also provides the best practices and recommendations. Managing the database snapshot with the help of Amazon S3 is also very convenient.

Cons

Amazon Relational Databases management is easy but it's little tricky also as if you mess up the security group setting to vast, it's not an easy task to solve the puzzle. Best practices is to keep the security group setting simple and as per recommendation by AWS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Amazon RDS - Keeping it simple & easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very satisfied. It worked for our use case.

Pros

Easy to setup and running. All cloudwatch metrics made available like other AWS services. Ability to take snapshots, scale up horizontally and vertically across environments and depending upon load. We were able to automate our build and deployments using terraform scripts. Automated Backups are stored in S3 so you can retrieve backups when needed. Pay as you go like traditional EC2 metered cost model. You can predict your montly/yearly estimates before hand. It just works!

Supports a wide range of DB's - PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, etc.

Cons

Security setup may take time as its controlled by security groups. So it takes time to troubleshoot if you are not able to connect from local or any other remote instance.

Pricing may start to increase when you upgrade your instance types and add replication nodes etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Always up, 0 headache database option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/03
Review Source: Capterra

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living in a fully compliant datacenter.

Pros

We use Aurora, which gives us a lot of flexibility in scale and size. Not having to manage clusters or database consistency across a number of different machines is amazing.

Cons

RDS, and aurora, generally lags behind the current state of postgres, which comes with the territory.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ashish A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Amazon RDS is cheapest database service i have used so far

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

The benefit we got from using RDS is that we have full control of the RDS instance. Unlike heroku RDS allows me to create any number of databases i want plus it provides 20 GB of PostgresSQL instance in its free tier

Pros

Amazon RDS provides arelational database instance that you can use to create any number to databases. All data are stored in SSD that provides faster read and write compared to conventional magnetic disk. Data can be secured by applying a security group such that the database can get request from within AWS (EC2 servers). RDS provides variety of databases each with their free tier.

Cons

Prices to enable multi availability zones for an instance is just double to their singe availability zone. It is too costly. For beginner the set up of RDS is quite confusing. Sometimes It doesn't display the estimated price of while setting up resources of an instance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great managed database solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

Managing database servers is an expensive time sink. RDS lets you focus more on the business needs instead of managing servers.

Pros

It makes your life way easier by not having to manage a database server. Amazon RDS abstracts all the server stuff away so you just focus on managing the actual database content itself.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky and some of the parameterization options are a bit difficult to use. There used to be a couple of bugs as well but they were fixed thankfully. With the lack of control over the server it can be a bit annoying if something is broken and you can't fix it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ankit B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best Relational Database Service in the market til now

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides & we can focus on other issue leaving our database in amazon's strong hands.

Pros

He been using AWS RDS for like 4 years now, & its the best Database management tool we ever tried. Here its super easy to operate & scale your database. The console is easy to understand & somehow intuitive if you been working with databases in past. Multi-AZ feature gives you power if you cannot afford any downtime. RDS takes backup automatically so no worries of loosing any data.

Cons

Only dark side of AWS RDS is its pricing, do have a watch on what they billing you. Keep track of your usage on CloudWatch and Trusted Adviser. It may get expensive not not affordable if you use it without sincere approach.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Super simple managed database solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

Quick and repeatable deployments, wide range of DB flavors, fully managed and supported by AWS.

Pros

AWS provides a fully managed database solution covering a number of DB technologies, so most deployments can utilize this product. MySQL, Postgres, MSSQL, Oracle, MariaDB, are all there, as well as AWS's own Aurora high performance DB.
Automated backups, with 5 minute point in time recovery is provided out of the box at no additional cost, as is software patching. If you require high availability spanning multiple data centers, it's there too.

Cons

If there is a downside to AWS RDS, it would be that it does not cover every use case. In the MSSQL world, you cannot use SSRS or SSIS on RDS, so would need to look at MSSQL on EC2 instead .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Filip T.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Go-to solution for database hosting on AWS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We're using Amazon RDS PostgreSQL.

Our database use case is pretty trivial, so we're entirely satisfied with RDS experience.

Database is fast and efficient, very easy to scale by changing instance types, adding more disk I/O, or spinning up read replicas. Backups do not have significant performance penalty.

With some careful planning it is very easy to migrate between different software versions.

Reserved instances make it a very compelling offering.

Cons

It gets expensive, but if you consider the fact that you don't need to deal with many daily operational issue, it's well worth the price.

You can only add storage capacity (no storage downsizing possible without a complex migration process).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best "cloud" rDB implementation so far

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using AWS since 2015 and to be fair, it has only improved all this time. Being RDS one of the most commonly used services, I have plenty of experience with it (including the support team behind it) and I only have good things to say about it.

Pros

- Fully managed database
- Access to all the configuration options you would usually do when tweaking the configuration file(s)
- Top notch support
- High-availability is just a few mouse clicks away
- Incredible easy to setup master/slave scenarios
- Great backup (snapshot) service
- Great performance with basic monitoring included
- You get the database engine you already know without the hassle to have to set it up by yourself

Cons

- Price? AWS is still expensive
- Nothing else I can think of

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dan O.

Watch out for billing surprises

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Amazon has worked hard to democratises databases, it's easy to set up a variety of different type of databases: SQL, Oracle, MySQL etc and perform things that typically have been a little more complicated with just a few clicks for example snapshots and database mirrors for you analytical platform.

Choose the region in which you're seeking to operate with just a few clicks, and it's pretty easy to kick off auto-scaling etc.

Cons

You need to be careful with billing surprises, make sure that you're familiar with Cloudwatch before you start playing with RDS.

Keep an eye on how much it's costing you.

Amazon may be elastic, but your budget probably lacks the same amount of elasticity.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Forget about management!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

As most AWS services, it is super useful when your business is in a phase where you need more services and less time to manage them. If you can pay for the maintenance maybe you prefer to optimize your setup managing it by yourself.

Pros

You can set it up with a few clicks only, and you get a fully managed database instance: forget about backups, OS updates, etc. It even sets up High Availability for you if needed, creating multiple nodes. You can choose the resources of the system (CPU, Hard Disk, memory) and other configurations (DBMS parameters, extra read nodes…)

Cons

You can only scale resources by using a bigger instance type (it means more CPU and more RAM) or replica nodes. Eg. you cannot set up a Raid disk configuration to improve I/O.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10