32 reviews

Altium Designer

Cloud-based printed circuit board (PCB) design software

4,4 /5 (32 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
32 reviews
Thushara S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Altium Designer is advanced PCB designing tool.

Reviewed on 2019/09/21

Overall Altium is one of best PCB design software I've ever used.

Pros

Altium Designer has thousand of advanced features to design PCBs. I really like the ability to make files of the PCB to send online PCB manufacturing service . Altium supports 3D view and we can clearly see how to fit PCB on my CAD design. Altium has thousands of flexible design rules and auto routing options.

Cons

Altium has few bugs when exporting designs. instead of that default components library has only very few essential components. Even I find component footprints or library from internet I have to go through number of steps to add them to Altium every time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Altium Designed: Simply the best at this price point

Reviewed on 2018/12/27

Pros

The 3D CAD integration has been an absolutely killer feature for my company. Several projects literally could not have gone to market without it. The competitive edge that it gives my company to design clever, compact designs has effectively paid for the Altium license several times over.

As a product, Altium Designer is unbeatable without paying 3-10x as much. Possibly much more, I didn't explore that market extensively once it became clear the wealth of features that Altium Designer offered.

Cons

Altium, as a company makes me wonder about Altium Designer's long term prospects. The company has made several questionable market decisions in the past 5 years that makes me uncertain if their upper management really understands how their users use their product.

Ah, well. They're not the first company to have this problem.

Barry W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Altium Designer

Reviewed on 2018/10/21

Generally very positive, easy to use for mid level designs and good price.

Pros

Ease of use. Can get started with very little training. Good price for features available.

Cons

There are too many ways of completing the same task. Collaboration (multiple engineers on the same design) is poorly defined and prone to lost data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real tool

Reviewed on 2019/05/12

I have been using it since it was called Protel, and I used to it a lot. now when I prototype, and I need PCB I could not use anything else.

Pros

Fully fletched suite for electronic engineer, for schematics and printed circuit board developing

Cons

its expensive for hobbyist, and it takes a lot of space on drive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PCB layout made less difficult

Reviewed on 2019/01/22

I use Altium to layout (not simulate) PCB for both prototyping and production. The software does a great job simplifying line and via placement, including it's push features. The rule system is robust if often frustrating and can be very useful helping to catch various board requirements (think differential pair lengths). Overall I find Altium to be very useful and infinitely better than old school layout methods, but it can also be very frustrating with various features broken in updates.

Pros

Altium simplifies PCB layout with a very useful set of features and easy customization of icons and hotkeys.

Cons

Every update (and they come regularly) breaks something new. And once something you used to like finally gets fixed, something new will break. Also, how to add/change polygon pour vertices changes all the time and it drives me nuts.

Joseph B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I like it

Reviewed on 2020/10/22

Pros

I work as a librarian and this program is one of my favorite. It's easy to use and the 3d feature is very nice.

Cons

For a big design with the 3d model it can take a lot of computer power.

Akshay A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy way for PCB Designing

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I really most like this software because we get 3D view of PCB. It's provides prior idea about how PCB look after designed. We can easily find bugs also.

Pros

In ALTIUM we get the 3D view of PCB. It is very easy to use for new peoples also. We can create our own symbol also in ALTIUM and by using that we draw schematic.

Cons

ALTIUM is not used for simulation and synthesis purpose.

Edward A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Altium Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/09

Design a detailed electric component

Pros

How easy it is to import a design from a pcb into a format that you can use in a pcb cnc milling machine

Cons

Learning how to use this software correctly is a bit tricky

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Feature full PCB workhorse

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

I do not like using Altium, but I do believe it is a good program for profession schematic and PCB design. I would recommend it to somebody in a professional electronics environment at a large scale company.

Pros

Altium is a very powerful schematic and PCB layout software. It is full of features to help make your designs more professional and really, just better designs period.

Cons

I least like how non-intuitive it is to use. There are so many features that it is hard to do basic things. The parts library interface is difficult to understand.

Rafael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Altium Designer Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/09

Pros

How can you do your project with the smallest detail in a precise way

Cons

Is hard to learn how to use in a proper way this software

Abhishek S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

End Solution in Analytics

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

Pros

a) Without a computer-science background make it easy for Graphical user interface.
b) The workflows are more easily scheduled compare to informatica.
c) We need not to licenses and servers for calculations.
d) You can learn about it easily as more material is available on the internet.

Cons

a) Date time function should not be complex I have use the formulas for data date.
b) The desktop tool often get crashes and behaves in slow manner

Saad ahmed K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A complete Electronic design automation (EDA) software for professionals as well as for...

Reviewed on 2021/02/06

I used Altium designer as a professional as well as a student. I developed several research projects using this software, that includes the development of electronic power converter, ECG machine, Weather station, and Phasor Measurement Unit (PMU). Moreover, as a professional, I used this software for the development of UV sterilizer, Renewable energy converter, Robotic Arm, and IOT switchboard.

Pros

The best thing about this software is that it is a complete suite that includes Circuit simulator, Schematic Capture, PCB designer, MCAD for 3D modelling, and many more functions required for an electronics design process. The best thing about this software is that it is the oldest EDA suite therefore, it has the largest component library covering every electronic part and a lot of help is available for this software online.

Cons

It is the most expensive Electronic design automation (EDA) software, therefore, a small firm cannot afford it.

Stuart S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great all-round circuit and PCB design package

Reviewed on 2019/05/19

As part of an electronic design team, Altium is an invaluable tool for cooperatively developing our designs. The robust library and project management features mean it is easy to have multiple engineers working on a design, and have everyone contributing to the company's library of components and templates. We can easily export 3D models of the PCBs for the mechanical team to check against physical constraints and the wide range of design file export formats keeps board houses happy. The ability to import designs and libraries from almost any other PCB package has been very useful and is worth mentioning.

Pros

Creating and editing library components is straightforward and mostly works without error. The library and project management features are very powerful and suited to working in a corporate environment with large libraries.
PCB layout editor is excellent with intelligent and relatively intuitive controls and behaviour. The view of the PCB layers can easily be customised to provide the clearest image of the user's desired section of the design.
The 3D PCB view is great for easily visualising the board being worked on and can be used for basic fit-checking for enclosure and housings.
If the company regularly designs PCBs for a certain enclosure or package space, a custom project template can be created, meaning when a new design is started the board area and any keep-outs and other restrictions are already loaded, saving time and mistakes.

Cons

As a relatively heavyweight piece of software, startup times are slow and file access can be sluggish, especially if working on a network.
Many of the default settings are not helpful, for example the connection matrix which determines which combinations of IC pin types on a net will cause an error. The default settings generate dozens of spurious warnings for a moderate-size schematic.
The Bill of Materials feature, while useful, can be painful to use as it takes several minutes to generate the component table for a moderately complex design. This must be repeated if a mistake is found and a change must be made to the schematic.

Terran G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great High end software for PCB design

Reviewed on 2019/05/02

I think it is the best software package available for PCB design. Highly recommend if it's within budget.

Pros

The amount of features packed into Altium Designer is almost more than imaginable. The software is great for people who know what they are doing.

Cons

The learning curve that comes with Altium is a bit steep. Because of how many features and advanced options in Altium, it would take months, if not years to feel like a master at Altium.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Top ECAD tool for PCB design

Reviewed on 2018/07/27

Pros

Works well with Solidworks suites and now with Solidworks PCB and Connector. General purpose ECAD tool for single and multi-layer board design.

Cons

While there is a vault system available, the cost is prohibitively high for a small group. Integrations are available to other PLM applications as well as a basic CSV or SVN system.

M saeid G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Altium Designer

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

Pros

The graphical view is very functional and easy to use.

Cons

some function such as cut out polygon should be user friendly more than now.

Rob F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A long term users review

Reviewed on 2019/01/27

I've use Altium to successfully create hundred of boards, and it generally works well.

Pros

Altium has a great but not perfect 3D rendering tool. The ability to import correctly scaled and detailed component parts allows the user to visualised a highly realistic image of the completed PCB.

Cons

The Autorouter is utter rubbish and I can't believe they haven't made any notable improvements to it over years. New features are implemented half baked and often full of bugs.
The new 'Draftsman' tool is supposed to allow you to create better technical drawings of the board, but it really doesn't fulfil its promise. It's cumbersome, does not allow component values to be annotated to the drawing - instead only component Idents are drawn.
The library system is messy and it's easy to get parts and footprints messed up. they tried to fix this with integrated libraries, but left the original library system in place so there's no consistent way to work.

Dave S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to Learn Electrical Design Application

Reviewed on 2020/02/27

Was able to become quickly proficient with the tool and produced complex designs within the first month of use.

Pros

I support electrical designs created on most of the major ECAD platforms and have found Altium among the easiest to become quickly proficient in. Specifically Altium's PCB Design tool is very intuitive and powerful.

Cons

Unlike other vendors Altium sells pre-defined "bundles" of tools rather than allowing users to configure their design environment through selecting individual licenses of available applications. Further, some of the bundled Altium applications are not on par with other vendor's offerings specifically in the areas of simulation, schematic capture, and cam. Product support is poor in comparison to major competitors.

Janith G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Almost Perfect Tool for Industrial PCB Design

Reviewed on 2020/03/07

As an Electronics Engineering undergraduate, overall design experience with Altium Designer is great. I have used this software to develop many PCBs throughout my academic carrer. Also, it provides more flexible tools for PCB design which helps beginners to learn the software quickly. I recommend Altium designer for anyone who is interested in electronic circuit design.

Pros

Altium designer is the best PCB designer for beginners as the learning process of this software is pretty much straightforward. Both schematic and PCB design interfaces are easy to handle. Component selection and library management are very well organized. PCB routing is simplified with auto routing feature. Different colors are efficiently used to differentiate layers. Double sided designs can be easily developed very quickly. Overall this software is a great tool for PCB designs.

Cons

Altium designer is not at the best level for the designs of multi layer PCBs because multi-layer management is bit tricky in Altium. Also I prefer a better UI design with ribbon style menu than current list style menu UI. More support for 3d preview is also necessary. Other than these overall experience is good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Altium Designer, top 3 pcb design tools

Reviewed on 2019/02/17

Altium Designer continues improving year after year. Still behind of representative on the pcb design end but far more beyond on the schematich side. Altium is by far easier to use and more intuitive that representative and I would recommend Altium to Engineers that want to design an schematic and do a layout without having to interact with different tools.

Pros

How the menus look and how easy is to set up the rules for design.The shapes and keepouts definitions are year after year better and better.

Cons

Still can find some bugs, and it crashes more than its competitors. Not being able to add the drill table on the ODB++ except you exported into another mechanical layer.

Ali H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Altium Designer

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

Good and it helps me more compare similar software however it can be more user-friendly

Pros

It gives a good opportunity to design the schematic and PCB for desired circuit at one software which linked together good enough.

Cons

Some tools does not have proper document to guide user to use them. If you did not learn some tricks and skills from another expert person, you will not learn anyway from document.

Benoit D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need a PCB and have time ? Get Altium

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

I needed to develop a board to connect sensors to a microprocessor ; Not familiar with everything else, I tried and loved it !

Pros

Altium is a very good tool to develop PCB or PCA ; It takes time to get used to it, but once you get pass that, you can defined every little parameters to have the PCA/PCB you want/need for your application

Cons

It is pricey and need to pay every year ; it is not a license where you buy it once, you have it ; As you can parameters everything, it is overwhelming sometime

Nicholas D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Usefulness for small companies

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

Overall it has been possible to get designs completed but has taken much more time because of the massive user interface and poor documentation of the program.

Pros

Altium DXP is a sophisticated program which would work for larger organizations where there are many people working on a product.

Cons

Altium Designer is a complex program really intended for large enterprises with many collaborators working on projects. Also integrating all areas of manufacturing from sourcing components to mechanical integration. Much of this is not useful for a small company and even a hindrance. The cost of a subscription is high so if you don't subscribe and update every few years you may end up with a version which has bugs or only partly implemented new features. Also using their database is partly dependent on having a subscription so you may be cut off from this at any time in the future since they are moving to a cloud based setup. So safer to copy the components to your own local component library. Also there are many newer components (eg. microcontrollers) which are not in the database and also not necessarily available from manufacturers and setting up new components correctly along with 3D models takes time and skill. Also for example if you wanted a 3 pin right angle header with 3D model you would need CAD software to take say a 10pin header and cut down. Not so simple. Overall it is a very capable piece of software but probably not the best choice if you are designing a few PCB's per year. Also for two sided mixed analog digital boards the autorouting isn't capable of routing. Probably works fine for complex digital multilayer boards but the constraints of two sided are beyond its capabilities.

Shamal J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Altium Designer for an Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering Undergraduate

Reviewed on 2019/06/14

Pros

As an engineering undergraduate we have to design lots of printed circuit boards. When I am using Altium designer I could easily design foot print according to the component I chose to use. In altium designer we can easily import the changes we made on the schematic . If we did any changes on the PCB design layout which are not on the schematic those changes also can be export to the schematic. We can customize the design rules such as track width, pad sizes, clearance and etc as we needed. That will help us to have the perfect PCB. When its comes to routing, auto-routing option in the altium is perfect. We only need to adjust routing rules according to our work then altium will do the routing part. We can easily generate files that are need to print PCB for an example if need to generate gerber files we only need to go the option that let us create gerber files and select the required layers and formats.

Cons

If you are new to PCB designing it will be little bit difficult to learn altium at the first place with the time we will get familiar to the altium designer. If you looking for footprint for free in online sources it will little bit difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Altium - defacto standard, pricing inflation

Reviewed on 2020/09/23

Overall, Altium has helped push the industry forward. At it's core, it's a tool that does the job. However, as they've become more prevalent, the actual value they provide relative to competitors has leveled off.

Pros

Altium has become a defacto standard in embedded electronics design. Every vendor, customer, and partner of ours has Altium Designer in their toolset. The product functions well enough for most required ee cad tasks.

Cons

the suite of products that you can buy beyond the standard schematic capture, layout, and routing, creates ala carte options that nickel and dime you to an annoying degree.