30 reviews

Altium Designer

Cloud-based printed circuit board (PCB) design software

4,4 /5 (30 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,1
90% recommended this app
30 reviews
Shamal J.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Altium Designer for an Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering Undergraduate

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As an engineering undergraduate we have to design lots of printed circuit boards. When I am using Altium designer I could easily design foot print according to the component I chose to use. In altium designer we can easily import the changes we made on the schematic . If we did any changes on the PCB design layout which are not on the schematic those changes also can be export to the schematic. We can customize the design rules such as track width, pad sizes, clearance and etc as we needed. That will help us to have the perfect PCB. When its comes to routing, auto-routing option in the altium is perfect. We only need to adjust routing rules according to our work then altium will do the routing part. We can easily generate files that are need to print PCB for an example if need to generate gerber files we only need to go the option that let us create gerber files and select the required layers and formats.

Cons

If you are new to PCB designing it will be little bit difficult to learn altium at the first place with the time we will get familiar to the altium designer. If you looking for footprint for free in online sources it will little bit difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stuart S.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great all-round circuit and PCB design package

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

As part of an electronic design team, Altium is an invaluable tool for cooperatively developing our designs. The robust library and project management features mean it is easy to have multiple engineers working on a design, and have everyone contributing to the company's library of components and templates. We can easily export 3D models of the PCBs for the mechanical team to check against physical constraints and the wide range of design file export formats keeps board houses happy. The ability to import designs and libraries from almost any other PCB package has been very useful and is worth mentioning.

Pros

Creating and editing library components is straightforward and mostly works without error. The library and project management features are very powerful and suited to working in a corporate environment with large libraries.
PCB layout editor is excellent with intelligent and relatively intuitive controls and behaviour. The view of the PCB layers can easily be customised to provide the clearest image of the user's desired section of the design.
The 3D PCB view is great for easily visualising the board being worked on and can be used for basic fit-checking for enclosure and housings.
If the company regularly designs PCBs for a certain enclosure or package space, a custom project template can be created, meaning when a new design is started the board area and any keep-outs and other restrictions are already loaded, saving time and mistakes.

Cons

As a relatively heavyweight piece of software, startup times are slow and file access can be sluggish, especially if working on a network.
Many of the default settings are not helpful, for example the connection matrix which determines which combinations of IC pin types on a net will cause an error. The default settings generate dozens of spurious warnings for a moderate-size schematic.
The Bill of Materials feature, while useful, can be painful to use as it takes several minutes to generate the component table for a moderately complex design. This must be repeated if a mistake is found and a change must be made to the schematic.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Joseph B.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I like it

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I work as a librarian and this program is one of my favorite. It's easy to use and the 3d feature is very nice.

Cons

For a big design with the 3d model it can take a lot of computer power.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Thushara S.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Altium Designer is advanced PCB designing tool.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/21
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Altium is one of best PCB design software I've ever used.

Pros

Altium Designer has thousand of advanced features to design PCBs. I really like the ability to make files of the PCB to send online PCB manufacturing service . Altium supports 3D view and we can clearly see how to fit PCB on my CAD design. Altium has thousands of flexible design rules and auto routing options.

Cons

Altium has few bugs when exporting designs. instead of that default components library has only very few essential components. Even I find component footprints or library from internet I have to go through number of steps to add them to Altium every time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Altium - defacto standard, pricing inflation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Altium has helped push the industry forward. At it's core, it's a tool that does the job. However, as they've become more prevalent, the actual value they provide relative to competitors has leveled off.

Pros

Altium has become a defacto standard in embedded electronics design. Every vendor, customer, and partner of ours has Altium Designer in their toolset. The product functions well enough for most required ee cad tasks.

Cons

the suite of products that you can buy beyond the standard schematic capture, layout, and routing, creates ala carte options that nickel and dime you to an annoying degree.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dave S.
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to Learn Electrical Design Application

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Was able to become quickly proficient with the tool and produced complex designs within the first month of use.

Pros

I support electrical designs created on most of the major ECAD platforms and have found Altium among the easiest to become quickly proficient in. Specifically Altium's PCB Design tool is very intuitive and powerful.

Cons

Unlike other vendors Altium sells pre-defined "bundles" of tools rather than allowing users to configure their design environment through selecting individual licenses of available applications. Further, some of the bundled Altium applications are not on par with other vendor's offerings specifically in the areas of simulation, schematic capture, and cam. Product support is poor in comparison to major competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Aruna J.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Professional PCB designing tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Have lot of features. Since most of the companies use Altium as their main PCB development tool finding footprints for more recent components is very easy. Support industrial standards. Supports cad files and generated cad files are compatible with Solidworks Cad tool.

Pros

Great PCB designing tool with lot of features. Supports custom cad files and foot prints. Online and offline tools available for library conversions for PCB component. Support simulations and complex designs. The best thing is it can generate 3D cad file of the final PCB where it can be used to make the enclosures. More professional and customisable.

Cons

It takes longer time for first start of the application, and consumes lot of processing power. Therefore it discourages simple edits in PCB.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Janith G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: Self Employed

Almost Perfect Tool for Industrial PCB Design

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

As an Electronics Engineering undergraduate, overall design experience with Altium Designer is great. I have used this software to develop many PCBs throughout my academic carrer. Also, it provides more flexible tools for PCB design which helps beginners to learn the software quickly. I recommend Altium designer for anyone who is interested in electronic circuit design.

Pros

Altium designer is the best PCB designer for beginners as the learning process of this software is pretty much straightforward. Both schematic and PCB design interfaces are easy to handle. Component selection and library management are very well organized. PCB routing is simplified with auto routing feature. Different colors are efficiently used to differentiate layers. Double sided designs can be easily developed very quickly. Overall this software is a great tool for PCB designs.

Cons

Altium designer is not at the best level for the designs of multi layer PCBs because multi-layer management is bit tricky in Altium. Also I prefer a better UI design with ribbon style menu than current list style menu UI. More support for 3d preview is also necessary. Other than these overall experience is good.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Terran G.
Industry: Research
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great High end software for PCB design

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

I think it is the best software package available for PCB design. Highly recommend if it's within budget.

Pros

The amount of features packed into Altium Designer is almost more than imaginable. The software is great for people who know what they are doing.

Cons

The learning curve that comes with Altium is a bit steep. Because of how many features and advanced options in Altium, it would take months, if not years to feel like a master at Altium.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Andrew B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Altium Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Altium Designer is a great way to design circuit boards. It generates Gerber files, Pick and Place and Test Points for you. Great software!

Cons

The only downside is disconnecting with the server a couple of times a week in the middle of projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Altium Designed: Simply the best at this price point

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The 3D CAD integration has been an absolutely killer feature for my company. Several projects literally could not have gone to market without it. The competitive edge that it gives my company to design clever, compact designs has effectively paid for the Altium license several times over.

As a product, Altium Designer is unbeatable without paying 3-10x as much. Possibly much more, I didn't explore that market extensively once it became clear the wealth of features that Altium Designer offered.

Cons

Altium, as a company makes me wonder about Altium Designer's long term prospects. The company has made several questionable market decisions in the past 5 years that makes me uncertain if their upper management really understands how their users use their product.

Ah, well. They're not the first company to have this problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

PCB layout made less difficult

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

I use Altium to layout (not simulate) PCB for both prototyping and production. The software does a great job simplifying line and via placement, including it's push features. The rule system is robust if often frustrating and can be very useful helping to catch various board requirements (think differential pair lengths). Overall I find Altium to be very useful and infinitely better than old school layout methods, but it can also be very frustrating with various features broken in updates.

Pros

Altium simplifies PCB layout with a very useful set of features and easy customization of icons and hotkeys.

Cons

Every update (and they come regularly) breaks something new. And once something you used to like finally gets fixed, something new will break. Also, how to add/change polygon pour vertices changes all the time and it drives me nuts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rob F.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: Self Employed

A long term users review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/27
Review Source: Capterra

I've use Altium to successfully create hundred of boards, and it generally works well.

Pros

Altium has a great but not perfect 3D rendering tool. The ability to import correctly scaled and detailed component parts allows the user to visualised a highly realistic image of the completed PCB.

Cons

The Autorouter is utter rubbish and I can't believe they haven't made any notable improvements to it over years. New features are implemented half baked and often full of bugs.
The new 'Draftsman' tool is supposed to allow you to create better technical drawings of the board, but it really doesn't fulfil its promise. It's cumbersome, does not allow component values to be annotated to the drawing - instead only component Idents are drawn.
The library system is messy and it's easy to get parts and footprints messed up. they tried to fix this with integrated libraries, but left the original library system in place so there's no consistent way to work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Altium Designer, top 3 pcb design tools

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/17
Review Source: Capterra

Altium Designer continues improving year after year. Still behind of representative on the pcb design end but far more beyond on the schematich side. Altium is by far easier to use and more intuitive that representative and I would recommend Altium to Engineers that want to design an schematic and do a layout without having to interact with different tools.

Pros

How the menus look and how easy is to set up the rules for design.The shapes and keepouts definitions are year after year better and better.

Cons

Still can find some bugs, and it crashes more than its competitors. Not being able to add the drill table on the ODB++ except you exported into another mechanical layer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Awesome software, missing a key feature

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Altium is fully integrated and allows a user to go from schematic capture to PCB design quickly, without changing software suites.

Cons

I hate that dimensions in Altium dont drive, like they do in solidworks

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

improvement in my designs, a good 3D view and personal growth

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

prophecy in my designs. a continuous improvement in electronic design

Pros

For me, the best when it comes to designing electronic cards.
has the ability to work in several layers is very complete and integrates the 3D view so you can place any 3D object in your design and make your presentation as real as possible.
really powerful and very complete

Cons

At first a little difficult to handle since it has many functions.
When you have a very large circuit the auto routing does not work very well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Blows the competition away

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/25
Review Source: Capterra

I went through University learning Altium, as it was the software that had been licensed by our department for Electronics Engineers. It's a feature rich, fully fledged EDA that makes difficult tasks easier. Although I've since moved away as I can't justify the cost against the small output we have, its certainly worth the money.

Pros

Has more features than any other EDA out there, and is continuing to push the boundaries with every yearly release

Cons

The price, its incredibly expensive. However when compared to other EDA you can understand why this is the case.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Barry W.
Industry: Design
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Altium Designer

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/21
Review Source: Capterra

Generally very positive, easy to use for mid level designs and good price.

Pros

Ease of use. Can get started with very little training. Good price for features available.

Cons

There are too many ways of completing the same task. Collaboration (multiple engineers on the same design) is poorly defined and prone to lost data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Oil & Energy

Top ECAD tool for PCB design

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Works well with Solidworks suites and now with Solidworks PCB and Connector. General purpose ECAD tool for single and multi-layer board design.

Cons

While there is a vault system available, the cost is prohibitively high for a small group. Integrations are available to other PLM applications as well as a basic CSV or SVN system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mohammad F.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Altium is best PCB designing platform I ever known

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

I was a new designer while I started designing PCBs. Though it took sometime to understand it, I found it much useful and it helped in widening my knowledge in this field. I use this so frequently now.

Pros

I like its wide range of features. Everything that you need like importing BOM, creating footprints from it, working on various layers, 3D view, etc. are some features which I couldn't find in the software I used before. I think this is different and useful for me.

Cons

It took little bit of time to know full features and capabilities since there are many features. But in the begining I was expecting some more inbuilt libraries. Later on I became used to it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Akshay A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Easy way for PCB Designing

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

I really most like this software because we get 3D view of PCB. It's provides prior idea about how PCB look after designed. We can easily find bugs also.

Pros

In ALTIUM we get the 3D view of PCB. It is very easy to use for new peoples also. We can create our own symbol also in ALTIUM and by using that we draw schematic.

Cons

ALTIUM is not used for simulation and synthesis purpose.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Altium PCB design

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/01
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I have been satisfied but I think Altium's old model Protel was much better. I used to use that in 2003 and that was better than today's version.

Pros

Altium has got a huge collection of libraries for PCBs. Almost all the parts which you can buy from Digikey or Mouser, their footprints are present in Altium. I have also been able to customize the footprints to my own needs. Infact, I have made some footprints all from scratch. That is a very powerful feature. Similarly when making the schematic, the 3D model of all the parts is also visible which helps alot in visualizing the part I am gonna use.

Cons

The autorouting in Altium is completely broken. It takes multiple sessions to get completed and most of the time it stop at 90% with tens of vias. Sometimes even with a wire width of 200um and isolation distance of 150um, the autorouter finds it difficult to make a track for SMDs. Therefore, for a PCB with parts more than 200, it becomes almost impossible to make single sided PCB. Though it works OK for double sided PCB.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ali H.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Altium Designer

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/26
Review Source: Capterra

Good and it helps me more compare similar software however it can be more user-friendly

Pros

It gives a good opportunity to design the schematic and PCB for desired circuit at one software which linked together good enough.

Cons

Some tools does not have proper document to guide user to use them. If you did not learn some tricks and skills from another expert person, you will not learn anyway from document.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Real tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/12
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using it since it was called Protel, and I used to it a lot. now when I prototype, and I need PCB I could not use anything else.

Pros

Fully fletched suite for electronic engineer, for schematics and printed circuit board developing

Cons

its expensive for hobbyist, and it takes a lot of space on drive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Edward A.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Altium Review

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

Design a detailed electric component

Pros

How easy it is to import a design from a pcb into a format that you can use in a pcb cnc milling machine

Cons

Learning how to use this software correctly is a bit tricky

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10