311 reviews

MongoDB

Database management and application development software

4,6 /5 (311 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
311 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great data storage solution with space for improvement

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

Using MongoDB for years, mostly as local storage in docker containers. Latest project is based on cloud solution.

Pros

I like the Atlas Cloud solution. It enables various tricks and cross-integrations of single database between multiple apps (containers) with simple user management - for a reasonable price.

Cons

I cannot get over this Atlas Compass UX issue - I want to open at least two "tabs" with collections at the same time. This is not possible and even worse, when you switch between collections, thee state is completely reset.

So I'm compiling the search query carefully with all the commas, brackets and identifiers, I often need to search for ID from another collection or maybe from the same collection. When i change collection scope -> BAM! The whole query is gone :( The input should retain its actual value...

Second "issue": When it comes to schema changes in living DB, sometimes it behaves unexpectedly (no error, no data). Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I would like to know it...

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mongo DB

Reviewed on 2019/06/12

According to my experience with MongoDB it is good NoSQL database. It has good query capacity, Also when we going to solve some business problems some requirements are change when we build the system. At that time we have to change same database collections. MongoDB support it.

Pros

Mongo DB is non relational database (NoSQL). It is a document database. it has good query capacity. Very easy to install and setup Mongo DB. Also Mongo DB is schema-free, there fore our software (code) defines the schema. It support BSON data format, there fore no complex to write code with mongo db (most of programming languages support BSON data format. We can index the mongo collections and increase the query performance

Cons

When we need to query using two mongo collections (join two collection), we can use lookup feature. but the problem is Mongo DB lookup feature is slow. Also we have no option to run query among two or three collections like as Elastic Search. When we using Elastic Search we can run query among two or three indexes(collections). There for in Elastic Search we can move historical data to separate collections and improve query performance. if we need query with historical, Elastic Search support it. But using Mongo DB we have to handle it in programming side.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A tool that fits very certain needs

Reviewed on 2018/10/22

Pros

Certain common operations are very very easy to spin up a one-off query for and utilize the data right then and there. In that sense, there is a very lightweight feel to developing with MongoDB at the start of most projects.

Cons

The design paradigms around MongoDB make it so that you will eventually want to add some sort of schema-type check somewhere in your stack. This will make development much simpler over time as the data begins to evolve. In general, there's a lot of other scaffolding you will want to do in order to sane-ly use a NoSQL as most people seem to want to (a quick start data store for a project that would otherwise benefit from a relational database). Not saying this is the "correct way" to use MongoDB, but just our experience within a system/framework like Meteor for example.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Database Schema

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

I am a javascript developer and I always prefer to use MongoDB because it is very compatible with javascript world , I have setup many relations among the collections and it is very easy for overall web and mobile development.

Pros

1. MongoDB is very compatible with javascript based technologies such as Node.js , Angularjs and Angular2+.
2. Import and Export Database is very easy.
3. MongoDB also IDE to manage Database collections.
4. Executing Database Schema is really easy.
5. Setting up relations in MongoDB is very easy as compared to traditional SQL based Databases.

Cons

You need to have a little bit knowledge of SQL and Database queries to understand the MongoDB concepts for managing DB and running its functions.

Anubhav M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MongoDB Review

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

The experience is very good in working with MongoDB.

Pros

MongoDB supports range queries and regular expression searches which is very helpful for the user. It provides high availability with replica sets.

Cons

The security features of the software can be enhanced as the default security configuration provides full access to any user.

Mike H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A terrific, free, scalable nosql database

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

Pros

MongoDB makes it easy to write data to an instance. Commands are very user-friendly. Setting up replicasets is also easy following a guide. Dump/restore (export/import) functions are also easy to use.

Cons

Mongo instances can be cursed with read/write locking but can be overcome when installed and scaled correctly.

Priyansh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Store JSON objects Directly in Database

Reviewed on 2018/09/11

Pros

MongoDB is a highly efficient, fast and reliable NoSQL Database System. It has advantage of using Flexible JSON Schema for a highly flexible application. It works on JSON documents stores in a non-relational form. Its Query speed is very fast by using Indexes.

Cons

For a large and complex application factors like Sharding and replicas play a very important role in database performance and requires you to have some prior experience in the same field.

Jordi T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best noSQL outhere

Reviewed on 2019/12/11

I found MongoDB the most mature in terms of technology and community, and also easy to set up and start on. I wouldn't switch to any other right now.

Pros

- perfect in order of managing large amounts of data
- schemaless tables
- Powerful CLI
- ease import/exporta data
- mature and huge community

Cons

- need to transform to BSON format
- as all the other noSQL , Mongo has a "query" languaje, but even though getting performance on queries and indexes is tricky

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Super fast

Reviewed on 2018/10/19

Good for Very rapidly increasing data. Best for Data Visualization.
Very less space compare to RDBM servers.

Pros

Super fast - in all CRUD and filtering and sorting
Clustering and replicas make much available to customers.

Cons

Data Model Creation shold need full business requirements.
Data Design phase is a bit difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent new way to manage data through objects!

Reviewed on 2019/02/19

Pros

MongoDB is quite different from normal database management that people are used to through SQL. It is great because you don't need to deal with something as stiff and structured as SQL and can just store objects.

Cons

It takes up a lot more space and memory than SQL

Ariel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Seriously consider just using SQL

Reviewed on 2019/04/30

Pros

It's fast, very fast, and it's capable of storing large amounts of data. It's very simple to pick up and use since you can just stick documents in a new collection.

Cons

No joins. Atomic modifiers only work on single objects, so you can't do multi collection transactions on a single database. While MongoDB's nature lets you be very loose with how you design your database, you will need to plan out the schema carefully and strictly to account for these or have massive regrets later. Cleaning up records that become out of sync is a pain in the ass. Was not ACID compliant until recently.

Austin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MongoDB - a modern approach to databases

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Overall, my experience with MongoDB has been positive and it has helped my company build databases fast and intuitively. It's easy to scale and works great.

Pros

Something that's really neat that MongoDB does that other database software doesn't do is database analytics. With data visualizations, I can build quick models to showcase my data in a meaningful way. I think that's just awesome.

Cons

I do have to say the data sizes on MongoDB is higher than what I've seen from other database software. There is also some lack of flexibility with querying because there are no JOINS.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Great database alternative to RDBMS

Reviewed on 2018/06/10

Pros

Very simple to set up and nosql is awesome for easily setting up collections to be saved. Very powerful as it is used as part of the MEAN stack. Using it as a basic db to learn spring mvc. Provides official tools for connecting and editing documents and collections.

Cons

Not much to complain about. Very excellent tool for me to quickly learn spring rest without any hassle for setting up tables and structured data.

Hung V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent No-SQL Database support complex query and all data type

Reviewed on 2019/12/20

We use MongoDB as our main No-SQL database in our application which needs to ingest JSON and XML files from input source then use it in our business and make the call to other systems via Rest API and receive a response which uses XML and JSON format

Pros

MongoDB has a powerful query language which has almost complex command as the relational database such as join, subquery, aggregate and indexing, it allows to filter, sort or calculate any field which located inside a document and support the full ACID transaction. MongoDB supports JSON, XML, document type allow us to store whole Rest API response or a ingest document into the database and still support full search and filter instead of parsing it to fields before storing. MongoDB is easy to configure as a cluster for high availability, horizontal scaling

Cons

MongoDB consumes a lot of HDD when we add many indexes and the query which involve lookup command is quite slow and its document is quite confusing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Advance way to save data

Reviewed on 2018/03/13

Earlier we were using sql server but now we have started work through mongo db as it provide massive speed with larger amount of data.

Pros

It provide greate performace even we have large amount of data. It also support various tools like apache's and terrastore. It store the complex data in simpler format so we do not worry about advance concept like RDBMS. It automatically manage your data and return the result through simpler query.

Cons

As it support various types of tool which increased its sized and lead to slow speed of system. It does not support to relational queries we have to do it manually.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It is the best NoSQL database

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Get knowledge about NoSQL, learn the new syntax to build querys and professional experience. And the most important thing is to provide solutions to customers for the management of a lot of data.

Pros

I like the features about NoSQL database: scalability and flexibility in querys. I like the new concepts in this software: Collections have documents.

Cons

I would like to have a database manager that allows making a backup and restore easier with just a click

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2020/08/18

Solving the slowness and strictness of relational databases (such as MySQL).

Pros

It's extremely easy to pick up on as it's basically just JSON documents. It's fun and exciting when compared with common relational databases.

Cons

It can be easy to get carried away with objects and arrays and store your entire database in a single collection. You will need to sit back and move some data out to another collection to keep it optimized.

Damian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good NoSQL Database

Reviewed on 2020/03/30

Pros

MongoDB is one of the most powerful NoSQL databases there, it's fast and quite easy to use. Being a NoSQL, it allows to mold the and extra data when need without the need of alterming the schema.

Cons

As powerful as MongoDB is, it's not the right choice for all the use cases. Lack of consistency, or concurrency problems are main disadvantages of MongoDB in my view.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best NoSQL Database for Developers

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

Easy to setup and use is a huge benefit in MongoDB as well as free clusters available in MongoDB Atals is always helpful in small projects.

Pros

MongDB is one of the best NoSQL, doucment databases available right now. It has plugins developed for almost all the languages, frameworks as well as a big community that is using MongoDB is very helpful since they are people to help you to overcome any problem. In general I prefer working with MongoDB rather than SQL databases due to the felxibility and the less restrictions. However, it will depend on the requirement.

Cons

Generally I do not have anything I do not like about MongoDB, except the UI provide by MongoDB Atlas which is moved from mLab.

Doug S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Basic stable database solution

Reviewed on 2019/07/22

Pros

We never have to do any maintenance for MongoDB to run

Cons

Its different from SQL Server or MY-SQL - so you have to know how to manage it.

Alafia V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I used it for the first time for an application developed in java I already knew how JSON

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Learn non-relational structure

Pros

It is a very light and flexible database accepts any type of data is very scalable the response time is very fast

Cons

There is not enough documentation at the moment of having errors when using arrays within the arrangements, the functions of the CRUD are a little complicated to the database

Zach L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MongoDB is a wonderful breath of fresh air

Reviewed on 2018/01/24

I can store data that doesn't have to conform to a SQL database and that is huge for me. I can also store data horizontally and not vertically.

Pros

When I need to store data that isn't relational, Mongo is where I turn. It makes my life so much easier, and I can do all the things I want and don't have to worry about conforming to a SQL db.

Shivakant D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great DB

Reviewed on 2018/02/11

Pros

The few best part of this DB are - Ease of use

- Easy to become productive

- Easy indexing

- Easy to install

- Query language

- Easy to scale

Cons

As using it I did not find any major drawbacks but Initial write issues in an early version and even though Concurrency limitations are major concern

Ricardo M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The experience is wonderful, handling large amounts of data in seconds, in a simple way.

Reviewed on 2018/03/09

It has allowed me to be able to store and handle large volumes of data, this is wonderful to perform data analysis; In addition, to be able to save codes in JSON that will be used in the website, it is very good!

Pros

Loading data to MONGODB in JSON format is the maximum, since it allows to integrate JavaScritp with the data base in a more efficient way. It is very flexible, having unstructured data, allows us to perform updates without major complications. In addition, the high speed in data recovery is extraordinary for managing large volumes of data, one million records in a few minutes!. It is great!

Cons

It is not efficient with the available storage space; In addition, you can not validate the fields that are saved, so there may be inconsistency in the data. It is not very clear to use the "use" command to access the database and collections.

Wechuli P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Go-to Non Relational DB

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Decent alternative to SQL database. Works super well if your model doesn't depend heavily on relations.

Pros

- Easy to use and get started with
- Good documentation of the API
- Official client libraries exist for popular programming languages
- Large community and availability of tutorials to get up to speed

Cons

- Doesn't work so well once you start having relationships in your model
- The aggregation framework could be better
- The free text search could also be better