34 reviews

HackerRank

Skills assessment and interview management platform

4,5 /5 (34 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
34 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Straight forward interviews with minimal setup

Reviewed on 2019/07/19

Pros

Provided a straight forward way to set up interviews without much hassle

Cons

The play back feature was not as refined as some of the other interview administering software's I have used + this is a feature I use very often.

Greg G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great way to learn coding basics and improve your reputability

Reviewed on 2018/06/11

Coding reputability, practice, and a great coding community.

Pros

- Free, fun way to learn a lot of different important coding concepts.
- A great next step from Codeacademy. The challenges appeal to people of all skill levels, the lessons help beginners, and the forums are a great place to learn more.
- Online code processing is fast, allows for own user input
- To be honest, the design is also quite good. A lot of how a "challenge" goes is dependent on how the author writes it, but I find a lot of them to be designed well.

Cons

- There is definitely a learning curve if you've never read from stdin. That isn't a big deal, but is definitely a weird concept to grasp if you've only done Codeacademy tutorials.
- Certain algorithms are hard to figure out to the point that I stop learning and would prefer to view the answer (as to actually learn how it works). This is difficult at times - which is not always bad, but definitely has its downsides

Corine T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for Practicing and Interview Prep

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

I think that overall I've had a really good experience with HackerRank. Preparing for interviews is extremely important for me. I like that HackerRank aims to do exactly that, and also helps when you don't know the answer to a question. HackerRank lets you see other people's solutions so that you can compare your own to see if you answered the question correctly.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it really puts in the effort to prepare users for the coding tests given at job interviews. There are so many questions from easy to hard so there's always something new to learn. I also like that companies use the software rather than make the interview tests themselves.

Cons

What I least like about this software is that sometimes it will recognize small things as errors even though they are not really errors. Sometimes I felt like I was answering the question correctly, but the software was not acknowledging that because of a small detail that the software uses, whereas regular IDEs do not notice it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Hackerrank review from a Recruiter POV

Reviewed on 2018/12/13

It has been plesant and they have a great support team.

Pros

I like how it is easy to use and navigate as well as to make edits.

Cons

It is a bit on the pricey side and does not have the ability to make an app test inside of hackerrank.

Arbaaz M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HackerRank Review

Reviewed on 2019/08/25

Pros

Practice for coding interviews.
Take coding challenges on HackerRank.
Competitions available.
Simple to use interface.

Cons

Doesn't have as many problems available as Leetcode for practicing for software interviews.
Seems more geared towards competitive programming.

Christopher G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Inaccurate coding exercises and unstable connection during interviews

Reviewed on 2019/05/01

Using HR was a struggle although the layout and content are well curated the execution of the technology missed the mark.

Pros

Layout and UI are slick and make using the site intuitive

Cons

Inaccurate coding exercises, code not compiling correctly in IDE, Audio loss during interviews

Somnath R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best site to learn about data structures and algorithms

Reviewed on 2017/10/12

Pros

Questions are present for all level of candidates. They are also sorted according to various categories for easy access. Also, the competitions are good way to get to know one's current skill level with respect to coders all over the world.

Cons

Sometimes, the editorials are not easy to understand. Other than that, the site is amazing and is of great help to students and job seekers, particularly.

Neeraj B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best platform to prepare and test your coding skills

Reviewed on 2018/09/29

It's good and always fun to practise on HackerRank.

Pros

It has different sections, each section has many problems to solve which categorize according to the difficulty level.

Rank and badge progress, it really encourages to open this platform and start coding.

Each and every problem makes you read a concept (DS, Algo or core maths), but you are not solving a single problem, actually each roblem makes you read a single concept.

Cons

Opportunities, the platform makes you able to compete for any hiring challenge but lacks to provide any. However one's profile page with good badges is able to tell any techie how good you are in coding and concepts.

Mohammed M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It really helped me evolve as a programmer.

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Pros

The best user interface among all its competitors there is. Good set of questions properly seperated by tags.

Cons

The questions in the graph theory section are a little vague. I will struggle to find any other faults in this site as it is so much perfect.

Gareth N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A good tool to gauge your skill set

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

My experience has been good. It serves multiple purposes and with some minor tweaks it could be even better.

Pros

I liked the UI/UX of HackerRank. It's quite simple to use and it also has a wide variety of exercises. It's a good tool to use to practice for interviews as well as to test your knowledge and rehash topics that you struggle with.

Cons

The only downside to HackerRank is when it's used in the interview processes of companies. It tends to be like a badly setup exam, erratic in nature. It's also not that useful if used incorrectly. I'm not sure if they provide guides to companies that want to use it for interview related purposes but it would definitely provide a better experience if used correctly.

Aleksandr T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very useful tool for training programmers skills

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

I train my programming skills in free time, because my current work is about management not coding.

Pros

1. Hard but interesting challenges for training skills. 2. Contests, where you can see your real level of knowledge. 3. Good gamification - scoring,ranking and leaderbords. And, sure, opportunity to find a job of your dreams!

Cons

As for me, there are too low pushing level. I'm very busy man, but sometimes have a lot of free time which I can spend for training my skills. But often I forget about this. So more agressive pushing would not be superfluous

Sabhya K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Kudos to the Developers!

Reviewed on 2015/07/02

I have been a user of the developer edition of the HackerRank product for about a couple of months now, and I have to say that there is something about this platform which sets it apart from its major market competitors.

Keep up the good work, and if I had to point towards one con, which is not a con per se, it would be this:

The progress graph of a developer should be updated after every challenge she/ he completes, not just after she/ he participates in a competition.

Regards,
Sabhya Kaushal

Ilay E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Helped alot preparing to interviews

Reviewed on 2018/06/25

Pros

Large amount of exercises and code feedbacks.
Gamification environment, earning points and leveling up.

Cons

Too many notifications regarding every single update and new challenge uploaded.
The review after submitting a challenge lacks information and assistance.

Jenna K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Evocative coding challenges

Reviewed on 2018/09/30

Pros

The coding challenges provided on hackerrank test a broad range of skills out of the candidates you are interviewing.

Cons

No major cons to report; sometimes though, the Codepair software can be a bit glitchy.

Jake K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

HackerRank Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/27

Pros

HackerRank is very easy to familiarize yourself with and use efficiently. Easy to understand the ide layout and proceed with coding test.

Cons

I would have liked an auto suggest for when you are using libraries so you don't have to keep looking at references online.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beginner friendly for new programmers

Reviewed on 2021/01/29

Overall, it is a great platform for students starting to learn different programming languages or to become proficient in them.

Pros

I have been using HackerRank for the past 1 year. I like the different paths it offers for different programming languages. And it also offers free certification on many skills like algorithms and data structures.

Cons

The number of certification tests can be increased apart from this there are no issues I have faced while solving problems on the website.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

HackerRank Review from a Small Start Up

Reviewed on 2019/06/05

Pros

We used HackerRank as a first step screening process for all the candidates that applied. As a small startup, we don't have the resources and bandwidth to give everyone a technical interview so we built unique tests on HackerRank that help test candidates on skills they would need to know to work here. When we get the results, it's easy to filter out the candidates we want to pursue. HackerRank has helped us narrow down 400 applicants to 30 qualified candidates.

Cons

HackerRank is a bit on the pricey side. The only have two plans so the range between features in the two plans is very vast.

Artem V.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

If you wish to learn a new skill then "HackerRank"

Reviewed on 2018/03/17

As a software engineer I have to keep my self updated with new programming language with trend and I can simply learn it from HackerRank also it's coding challenge is useful as well.

Pros

HackerRank has large number of tutorials available for different languages and technologies. Also it has a good number of challenging questions set to test our skill. I have learnt many things from HackerRank.

Cons

The only thing I dislike about HackerRank is it's online compiler for some languages it is outdated because during one competition I wasted some time to learn that the compiler has no library file which I was trying to use. Though I got support and resolved my problem.

Anthony A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great site to keep your skills up

Reviewed on 2019/04/18

I really enjoy HackerRank. I like how it's a go at your own pace learning tool with down negative side effects to use. I suggest you use it if you are looking to learn, get new ideas, or just keep up skills in languages you don't often use.

Pros

I like that it is free of course, but also that you are able to keep your skills up on languages you do not use regularly, or give yourself new challenges and ideas. Also, in terms of ease of use, the site works great. It's easy to use, and easy to learn how to program in. Sometimes they'll even email you a challenge. Such a great site!

Cons

I don't really see cons in this software. I haven't had anything go wrong with the site.

Ishant R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best platform to code on. Helped me take my skills to the next level.

Reviewed on 2018/01/19

Pros

The coding tracks are of very high quality. The UI of the website is very nice and keeps me interested for long hours.

Cons

Please add more language tracks like java c# etc. Also server crashes when conducting private contests.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A platform for identifying skilled programmers

Reviewed on 2019/08/18

Pros

This website makes beginners to enhance coding and problem solving skills. A good platform for employers to identify skilled rather than looking for people on resumes and interviews

Cons

Some of the challesges are imperfect and test cases are not always completely well organised

Sanchit A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for coding practice

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

Pros

I found hackerrank quite useful for my interview preparations and liked the difficulty of the problems on the website. It helped me clear some fundamentals and brush up my skills.

Cons

It's sometime hard to find best solutions or if i wish to only do a short course on a particular area instead of problem solving.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A platform to enhance programming skills

Reviewed on 2019/10/11

Pros

The questions are categorized in such a way that any level of student can participate and improve himself/herself.

Cons

The test cases can be improved better since some questions fail to test a few exceptional cases

Yashasvi K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Thanks for such a great product.

Reviewed on 2015/07/08

I just learned about your tool. It is miraculous and transparent.
It really solves the problem.
Thanks for such innovation.

Lorena S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good way to test engineering skills

Reviewed on 2017/02/14

This tool is pretty simple to use and works great for remote interviews as well as prescreening engineers.