AnyLogic

Simulation software with 2D and 3D modeling

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(424)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

424 Reviews

Lucky Griffin
Lucky Griffin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Anylogic Simulation Software Review

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

Anylogic got introduced to me by my lecturer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (Industrial Engineering,...

Anylogic got introduced to me by my lecturer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (Industrial Engineering, University of Pretoria). I naturally saw it from the lens of an entrepreneur, which showed great potential. So I decided to learn the software well enough to start a freelance simulation modeling gig. I however ran into a wall with the licensing as Anylogic is, at the moment, too expensive for me. Aside from that Anylogic is a software I would recommend to anyone wishing to get into simulation modeling either professionally or as a hobby. I am still in talks with Anylogics South Africa partener Blue Stallion Technologies for a possible patnership.

Pros

The software is easy to learn, especially for someone with an engineering or statistics background. This is so because of a large amount of learning materials made available for free by the Anylogic team, such as the Anylogic in 3 days pdf copies and youtube video clips.
The software is also easy to use in solving real-world complex problems. I to some extent feel Anylogic is too simple for how powerful it is, but I guess that is one of the things that justify its cost.
Anylogic functions seamlessly with other programs such as excel and maps. A big plus.
Besides that the process of learning to use the software introduces the user to Java in a controlled unintimidating setting, hence adding one more skill for those who are excited by such.

Cons

I like everything in the software except the pricing. But thats more of a "me problem"...

Qamar
Qamar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AnyLogic to Simulate Business process, Technical process

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

Designed network of sales i.e. warehousing, DCs, and fleets in accordance to meet the optimum level...

Designed network of sales i.e. warehousing, DCs, and fleets in accordance to meet the optimum level by fulfilling a demand from a specific DCs,warehouse by lower cost, Which plants to be operational to meet the specific regions demand to minimize the transport cost, in manufacturing designed capacity planning model with many machines made and handmade process, by inputting the cycle time, throughput time and their capacity, to address the man, machine are enough and address bottle necks in manufacturing.

Pros

Tool to simulate the business processes including finances, supply chain and even technical like manufacturing or mechanical movements, it gives you clear direction of business process on your screen where it will goes, or what will be happen in a specific controlled business procedure, statistics process controlled logics can be defined and configured in accordance to meet que management, distributions. Predictions, forecasting of data can be obtained visually same like something going to be happen physically, Checks, statistics, data and controls are available to know the physical condition, data at the specific point, step or even a section.

Cons

Not easy to use, expert in technical relevant field is not enough, you have to adopt and learn the basic or terms of Anylogic which it is using, data graphs and visuals are not available fo big data, same there is no any option to work on it with live data or existing erp to simulate the scenarios based on actual data.

ivan
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

For a simulation software you can achieve almost any system modeled.

Reviewed on 2018/03/29

Multiparadigm support

Multiparadigm support

Pros

Multi paradigm approach. Large database of objects for specific systems (like pedestrian, roads, trains). Ability to draw logic structures (actionchart)

Cons

Compared to other discrete events simulation softwares, not easy to obtain statistical metrics (confidence intervals) of usual simulation indicators. NO MONTECARLO IN PLE (it's absolute useless to take a decision with only one datum in a stochastic process) Nor capability of significant statistical parameters of long run simulations. Or warm-up configuration.
Very long learning curve

Conor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software for Game research simulation

Reviewed on 2023/11/20

Very happy, looking forward to maintaining our simulations and further research in the future

Very happy, looking forward to maintaining our simulations and further research in the future

Pros

Great diversity of tools allowed different game design applications for multiplayer games to be simulated

Cons

Tricky learning curve and not sure how to best progress and implement simulations

Tinozivashe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for Discrete Event Simulation

Reviewed on 2023/08/14

Overall, I managed to setup a variety of simulations for manufacturing and healthcare which was...

Overall, I managed to setup a variety of simulations for manufacturing and healthcare which was pretty pleasant to use and to perform my analysis.

Pros

I found the interface easy to use to setup up my models

Cons

On a macOS, the interface was not as polished as I expected.

Sungju
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AnyLogic Review

Reviewed on 2023/05/22

Pros

AnyLogic has a nice GUI interface and easy-to-use visualization tools. One can intuitively approach modeling and if one really wants to handle things manually, it is available through inputting Java codes into various places.

Cons

AnyLogic seems to be limited in terms of computing capacity (number of agents, for example) compared to similar products; that said, there is not a single product that does all the things that AnyLogic does in a single suite. Models built using AnyLogic tend to be quite difficult to retrace the step (lots of clicking involved) and the Java input system is kind of finicky (not as streamlined). The linux version also has the issue with input space (one always needs to the enter key first to see the value they inputted).

Eun Suk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Anylogic Review

Reviewed on 2023/11/13

I had a good experience with the Anylogic over the years and am using this to teach course at the...

I had a good experience with the Anylogic over the years and am using this to teach course at the school

Pros

Agent based modeling feature on Anylogic and the capability to use it with DES and System Dynamics simuntaneously is good

Cons

I wish the price of the annual licence maintenance and the initial purchase price for the education version was lower.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful product and easy to learn

Reviewed on 2023/06/06

Easy to learn, easy to use, lots of capability.

Easy to learn, easy to use, lots of capability.

Pros

It is a powerful modeling tool with many advanced features. Free training is available from AnyLogic web site that will get you familiar with the product quickly. Very flexible and full featured for many use cases. Software is very stable.

Cons

There really isn't much that I need that it can't do. It is slow on a low powered machine, but that is understandable given the complexity. It runs in 12GB RAM, but 16 or more is better.

Stela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

AnyLogic review

Reviewed on 2023/07/05

Positive, but could be improved.

Positive, but could be improved.

Pros

Very well integrated mathematical modeling and agent-based modeling. Abundance of learning materials and tutorials offered for beginners.

Cons

The inability to import CAD drawings in educational and especially in research editions of the software.

Brendan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simulation Learning Tool

Reviewed on 2023/10/17

Once I better understood the software I was able to employ my designs within it to create useful...

Once I better understood the software I was able to employ my designs within it to create useful outputs.

Pros

AnyLogic was used on my Simulation education course, and it proved to be a great learning tool.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve to start with.

Aanand
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Versatile and Effective Modelling Tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/16

Pros

HSSMI has used AnyLogic to build proof of concept models for multiple automotive sector companies (including JLR, Ford and Bentley). We have used the extant libraries extensively, as well as developing custom blocks and libraries for specific manufacturing cells such as gantry cranes. Anylogic has been easy to use and the outputs have been exceptional both in terms of statistical accuracy and visualisation. We have also been used OptQuest within our exported simulations and bench marked the optimisation speed against other standard simulation tools - Anylogic has prevailed every time! We couldn't be happier with the tools features and also AnyLogic's support, I would like to specifically mention the new materials handling library and AnyLogic cloud, which have helped us to deliver our models more effectively with 'out of the box' 3D visualisations of production systems and faster optimisations respectively. Thank you AnyLogic for really innovating and building a simulation and predictive analytics tool that is at the bleeding edge of technology.

Cons

There is underlying Java learning curve that is required for modellers to build custom blocks and libraries. However, anyone with objective orientated programming background should be able to pick this up with ease. Even myself coming from a functional programming background was able to learn how to use the tool relatively quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Anylogic Anytime!

Reviewed on 2019/02/17

Pros

I have been using Anylogic for the past 6 months now everyday and I can say that once you open it up, it is such a great and useful program. Working in the engineering / simulation department, being able to use Anylogic makes work so much easier and dare I even say it, "fun". It can be used for such a variety of things and so many different ways to program it to make it useful in many multi-functional capacities. Once the basic learning curve is established, it is a breeze to use and there are so many layers to it that it makes simulation great! Very clean layout, always new updates and bug fixes. I recommend to all!

Cons

The cost can be a varying weight factor in the decision to use anylogic versus other softwares but given the multitude of functionalities, it really is a no brainer. There have been a few bugs in the latest update, but the customer service has been great to help me through these issues.

Mansur
Mansur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AnyLogic Review

Reviewed on 2022/11/25

Overall, it is a good product that I can recommend.

Overall, it is a good product that I can recommend.

Pros

A simulation software. It allows combining different simulation methodologies (system dynamics, discrete event, agent based) in the same model. Although the action chart has been enough for me so far, it may be critical for those in need.

Cons

It does not have any problems, except that it has a complex interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good product but need more free resources to learn from

Reviewed on 2022/12/13

Pros

Anylogic is an incredibly useful tool for modeling and simulation. It provides a comprehensive platform for creating and analyzing complex systems, allowing users to visualize and understand the dynamics of their models. With its intuitive graphical user interface, Anylogic makes it easy to create and edit models, and its powerful simulation engine allows users to run simulations quickly and accurately. It also provides a wide range of analysis tools, allowing users to gain valuable insights into their models and make informed decisions. All in all, Anylogic is a very useful tool for anyone looking to create and analyze complex systems.

Cons

however, there is a lack of resources available to learn how to use it. There are some tutorials and guides available, but they are limited and do not provide comprehensive coverage of the software. This can make it difficult for those who are new to Anylogic to get up and running quickly. Fortunately, there are a few online communities and forums that can provide assistance and guidance to those who are just starting out.

Dylan
Dylan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hybrid modeling at its finest

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

We're solving health and social policy problems. Because AnyLogic is built for hybrid modelling, it...

We're solving health and social policy problems. Because AnyLogic is built for hybrid modelling, it makes these huge, messy problems tractable and extraordinarily easy to reason about and construct. I can't imagine doing my work with any other piece of software. Worth every dollar.

Pros

AnyLogic allows you to solve problems in any modelling paradigm you could want. It makes it possible to use the best tool for the job in every part of your model.

Cons

Compiling time could be faster for larger models.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

As a simulation analyst I am using AnyLogic on a daily basis to solve complex questions.

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

Pros

What I like most in AnyLogic is the fact, that everything in the simulation model is easily configurable using Java code. The wide range of simulation experiments and also the database (and connectivity in general) enable a very flexible and efficient use of the software.

Cons

It would be great if there was an online community to ask questions and allow discussions. Simply googleing things (like you can do for VBA, Java and such) is not really possible. However, the support team of AnyLogic is really quick and provides very helpful answers.

Mahmoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AnyLogic Review

Reviewed on 2023/03/25

Pros

Integration with python, easily scalable models, and technical support.

Cons

Visualizaton capapbilietis and unvaialabe support for python as a scripting language.

Hans-Günter
Hans-Günter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy multi-model Simulation Platform

Reviewed on 2019/01/14

I model human agents in shopping and healthcare environments for better decision making. I use all...

I model human agents in shopping and healthcare environments for better decision making. I use all modelling techniques. I all parts of my research and education I use AnyLogic starting from easy business processes up to healthcare village simulations.

Pros

1. Easy to use: I trained several hundred of business administration bachelor student in process modelling and 3D simulation. It works for them after 45 minutes.
2. Combining agent models with system dynamics, state charts, pedestrian flows and business processes gives a unique power on normal PCs or Macs.

Cons

The development environment needs GPU acceleration for larger environments

Kieran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using AnyLogic for a student research project

Reviewed on 2021/03/29

I am solving a research project question posed about pedestrianisation in Bristol and have found...

I am solving a research project question posed about pedestrianisation in Bristol and have found the software a great entry point to doing higher level traffic modelling.

Pros

The user interface of the software was the first thing that drew me to it, along with the ease of use and lack of strong java programmaing requirements. It stood above the competition as it was the software that presented the information in the best way. I am impressed by the vast libraries the software has for different functionalities and the applications these have between themselves. Using the software for my research project has been a pleasure.

Cons

I dislike the slow zoom function in the model window, when the model is running it can be laborious to locate the zoom in the control panel - especially when working with a larger scale model.

Sirang
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect simulation software

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

I used the Anylogic in the various types of case studies, for examples, airline routing, transportat...

I used the Anylogic in the various types of case studies, for examples, airline routing, transportation scheduling, logistics management

Pros

Various types of applications can be modeled with the AnyLogic.

Cons

Tutorials should be more basic and simple.
The simple and basic examples of using the palettes should be added into the Help menu.

Alvaro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great software, bad customer service

Reviewed on 2023/05/02

The possibility of combining the three main methods for modelling systems. The customer service,...

The possibility of combining the three main methods for modelling systems. The customer service, the way AnyLogic forces you to go trough various calls just to get a price for the license is horrendous. Just for that, I would be willing to recommend the software, please modofy your sales plan.

Pros

The possibility of combining the three main methods for modelling systems.

Cons

The customer service, the way AnyLogic forces you to go trough various calls just to get a price for the license is horrendous. Just for that, I would be willing to recommend the software, please modofy your sales plan.

Shaharyar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, needs more users and tutorials

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Overall experience has been very positive barring the few times when I got stuck and wasted entire...

Overall experience has been very positive barring the few times when I got stuck and wasted entire weeks trying to find an example of how a particular feature was implemented

Pros

Ability to combine discrete event based, agent based and system dynamics logic in the same model. Ability to run simulations and experiments in the cloud. Nice clean, layout.

Cons

The biggest issue is that there is not enough help available for this software. If you get stuck, it can take you days to resolve a simple issue. Need better tutorials to exhibit the vast potential of this simulation software

Riccardo
Riccardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AnyLogic Review

Reviewed on 2018/11/26

I usually use AnyLogic for solving Manufacturing and Logistics issues, but now I'm entering in the...

I usually use AnyLogic for solving Manufacturing and Logistics issues, but now I'm entering in the world of supply chains. I highly recommend this software because some of its features are unique and also because the development is going really fast adding new features and industry 4.0 libraries.

Pros

The GUI is pleasant and easy-to-use. The fact that it permits multi-method modelling represents one of the biggest key features of this software. The graphic representations of the model is also another strenght considering that most of the stuff presented in the model are associable with a graphic 2D/3D representation.

Cons

Some features are really difficult to implement. The output analysis of multi-replications run is not executed automatically, and I consider this one of the basics for a simulation software.

Dania
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

(Mostly) Intuitive for New Users

Reviewed on 2019/03/11

Word of mouth interactions for social network analysis and educational identity development.

Word of mouth interactions for social network analysis and educational identity development.

Pros

The clear example models and help guidelines are valuable for introducing new users to the system and even serve as functional training tools for organized learning. Menus are clear and easy to follow and system functionalities are well explained (including mouse-over text, which is often overlooked in a system UI).

Cons

Some basic features are randomly buried in the software, including time unit interval settings and similar basic things that might not be changed often by base users but do become more important for complex models. Also task panes and windows pop up randomly and do not always behave properly, necessitating a reboot on (admittedly) rare occasions.

Tugce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Personal review for AnyLogic

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

Pros

Whenever you have a prolem with your code, it directly shows where is the error. It was definitively time-saving.

Cons

Statistical tools were kind of confusing at the first time. I just had to run several statistical tests to make sure mean really shows the mean value, not the mean of the means.