52 reviews

Skillsoft

Cloud-based learning management and training software

4,1 /5 (52 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
75%
recommended this app
52 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

20+ years of data packed into a robust reporting system

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

The ability to track completion of required courses to a global employee population.

Pros

The reports we pull out of Skillport are amazing. You can dive down to the deepest level of information and extract exactly what you are looking for.

The organization of courses and users was spot on. We have over 15,000 users and are able to track their progress in the system accurately.

Cons

The system seems a bit cumbersome at times - uploading new content, pulling data that has been archived. We can't remove particular courses as they will delete the history that goes with them. The history needs to stay. The class information needs to stay, but the course needs to go away.

The occasional users have a hard time finding a particular course to take. We require each employee to take 6 courses upon hire. At times we have to register them for the courses because they cannot find the one they are looking for.

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I provide access to SkillPort training for my candidates in order to improve their technical...

Reviewed on 2018/05/07

Pros

SkillPort has a wealth of industry-approved training that allows my candidates to learn new technologies and increase their odds of securing a new work opportunity.

Cons

I have had only positive experiences with SkillPort so far - my candidates have appreciated having SkillPort as a resource and have only had positive feedback.

Tércio Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Could be better

Reviewed on 2020/03/13

It is an okay platform, but it could be way better, especially when it comes to supporting newer browsers.
The courses I have watched were all using flash, so if your device does not support it, that could be a challenge.

Pros

It has an easy to follow catalog. It has a learning path, so if you're looking for a large topic to learn, the path is quite useful.

Cons

I have had lots of issues with different browsers, there are courses that I cannot launch in any other browser than Internet Explorer. The fact that it uses flash, makes it very heavy to load, and probably the issues I had with the different browsers is due to that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple to use, high customization, and allows testing from anywhere on tablet, online, etc...

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

It's nice to have our own workplace assessments, it allows us full customization to be part of the hiring process.

Cons

Sometimes the results of testing are very slow to update in our CRM, not sure what end this is on; however, sometimes 30 minutes is required to retrieve results.

Rama K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect for Corporate training

Reviewed on 2018/09/24

Pros

Easy to use
Very informative sessions with video and interactive courses

Cons

Some of the web features do not work in the mobile application

Arthur D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

A enterprise LMS for serious courseware.

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

The system has a very good tracking system and most of the courses over there are eligible for PMP score.

Cons

As for the technician side, the course deployment to this tool takes a long way before courses are fully deployed.

Alicia P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skillport Review

Reviewed on 2015/04/13

Skillport Review

Pros

I like how easy the product is to use and how easy the screens are to follow.

Cons

At the moment I don't have anything that I dislike about the product or vendor.

Aaron K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Spent more time trying to get programs to function than actual training

Reviewed on 2017/06/20

Pros

My reviews are generally positive, but I cannot think of a single positive thing to say. It was not better than any of the other programs I have used in the past for online training.

Cons

Compatibility is almost impossible for someone to figure out without some technical experience. Of the 3 computers I have, only works on 1 (the oldest) and only if I have the exact right settings. At the moment I have finally been able to boot the program but it continues to load into infinity.

Patience M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Online learning

Reviewed on 2019/08/08

It's so helpful as you get to learn more about a certain task and helps to improve

Pros

A lot topics that can assist in development of ones career.
Learning online and you get results instantly

Cons

Expensive and is not a certified course.

Billie O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skillsoft-Percipio

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Compliance Training is so easy with this Percipio. All new hires that are set up automatically get the required compliance training that is crucial in this day and age.

Pros

This product has so many options to offer as it relates to training, compliance. A great LMS tool and the customer service is outstanding.

Cons

In the beginning it was a little intimidating learning how to navigate and set up employees. As time has passed, it has definitely gotten much easier to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best self-paced learning platforms I've used. Great for quick sessions or...

Reviewed on 2018/05/15

This software helped prepare me for some essential business certifications that helped me land a job soon after.

Pros

This platform is great for improving your business and technology skills. its has a wide variety of courses from the basic such as Time Management to more specialized topics such as CompTIA industry certifications. The courses are structured in a logical progression which does not require new users to need a lot of 'hand holding' to master the concepts.

The content delivery system is simple and easy so that users don't need to be tech savvy to start learning. Content is delivered in a mix of formats including video, text, and interactive simulations for some courses. Unlike other some other platforms, the content is broken down down into small time portions so that you can learn one concept when you have a few minutes to spare. This make it easier for persons who can't commit to hours at a time to get started.

The platform is accessible on Windows and Mac systems and even mobile devices using Android and iOS. The makes for great anytime/anywhere learning as long as you have an internet connection. Companies can have their own branded home page and customise what content they want available to team members. There is also a set of Skillport apps that allow for offline viewing of courses. Team members can share recommendations and motivate each other to learn through the Skillport community.

Cons

For a platform so well established the app could be better. While it does allow you to log into your account and search for courses, it doesn't have the other bells and whistles that make the web learning platform so advanced. For example you can pick up where you left off in a course you started on the web but you have to search for the course from the full set. The app doesn't seem to sync history with the web version. There's also no sign of the transcript section in the app which shows you all the courses you did before.

Hopefully there are planned improvements.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good platform for technical eLearning, not the best admin functionality

Reviewed on 2020/04/12

Pros

Skillsoft has certainly come a long way since the days of Skillport. Percipio is no doubt a sleeker user experience, and their content has received a much needed refresh. As an admin for eLearning now in several different organizations, I've always leaned more towards Skillsoft as a vendor when it comes to technical content (programming, IT, cert prep, etc.), although their soft skills catalog is also pretty decent.

Cons

As a platform, my main gripes are with the admin side. I've used other eLearning platforms in previous roles, and Skillsoft's admin interface is always the clunkiest. Terminology used is not always intuitive, and user and content management requires too many clicks.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Decent Content

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

Customer service was always very helpful and attentive when an issue arose. The system reporting was a little clunky and required a lot of v-look-ups of separate reports to get all the information we wanted in one, comprehensive report for our business units. Ended up going elsewhere where we could get more course selection and content for our money with more language options already existing.

Pros

If you purchase their content you receive their host platform for free which was nice, however we switched content providers that had some newer content, and more content for the price.

Cons

Not a lot of language options currently although they're working on adding more. Most of the courses are pretty outdated but they've been working to upgrade them. Not a lot of content for the amount of money you pay.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent LMS

Reviewed on 2020/02/26

Pros

Very easy to find content and constantly updated.

Cons

The audible books doesn't saved where you left them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning and development

Reviewed on 2020/06/14

I love using skillsoft and am happy to continue working with them.

Pros

I love using skillsoft videos for learning and development of our employees. The trainings are easy to follow and very diverse.

Cons

I have no problems with this software, it is organized in an easy to navigate way, and includes so many different types of trainings.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have utilized Skillport and Skillsoft eLearning content for years and it has never let me...

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Pros

The software is easy to use, understand and consistently quality checked. Their eLearning courses help us check a lot of regulatory boxes.

Cons

Pricing structure for the content itself is a bit robust with different courses falling under different categories and it often gets confusing but the support teams and account managers do a decent job of assisting.

Sulakshana M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent learning software

Reviewed on 2017/07/20

Pros

I have used this while working with Ericsson and I found it to be an encyclopaedia for learning programs. It's got everything. From the most basic to the most complicated. A must try

Cons

The software takes time to load. It's kind of heavy and plus the UI could be much better. Some of the learning programs take a lot of time to load.

Isaac K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great way of upskilling from the comfort of your desk

Reviewed on 2019/05/24

An excellent way to study

Pros

With skillsoft learning and development for staff is made very convenient and easy, quality education from over the 10 million courses available on the eLearning platform.

Cons

It does not have an offline learning option so requires a strong internet connection.

Sabrina P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Training

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

Overall, it is a great software. A feature I like the most is being able to resume a training/video where you left off even with days in between.

Pros

This software is easy to use with all the capabilities you need as a user. I have used this as a platform watching training videos. The compatibility with various types of tablets/desktops is great to continue your training with a reliable resource. Also, it rarely crashes.

Cons

I do not have any complaints at the moment. With so many featured options, it is great for users uploading on an admin side as well as for users.

Christian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The perfect one stop shop resource with thousands of courses to continue professional...

Reviewed on 2018/06/07

To be able to brush up on a set of skills has never been easier or within reach. Not having to leave the office in order to improve in certain areas is a professional freedom that benefits everyone.

Pros

The variety of courses and support is great for professionals from all areas. In-depth additional training on specific tools is the greatest benefit.

Cons

There will be limitations on certain topics, but they are always adding and expanding courses to cover more platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I have been using Skillport for my company training over the last few weeks

Reviewed on 2018/06/04

Pros

Skillport is great for onboarding as all lessons and material can be found in one place and it can be recorded and tracked in the same place as well. It is very easy to use and navigate

Cons

The thing I like least about this is that the user interface is pretty outdated, but still manageable. The video lessons definitely need updating

Sandeep K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Skillsoft

Reviewed on 2020/03/04

Overall Skillsoft is very good. Must be used by every professional.

Pros

Skillsoft is very useful in providing the various training programmes especially on ethical values, professional requirements etc.

Cons

More online training programmes like stress management, work life balance must be included.

Angel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Skillport Review

Reviewed on 2015/04/14

Skillport Review

Pros

The product versatility. Easy to use and the excellent features that offers in the online education page.

Cons

At this moment, I have no concerns or complains with this product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Legacy LMS that was really a Content Portal turned LMS

Reviewed on 2018/04/03

If you have purchased the Skillsoft catalog, and you are getting SkillPort as an addon for no additional cost, then it is fine to use and perhaps less problematic than asking Skillsoft to make their catalog available to another LMS.

Otherwise, avoid. There are many other LMS and learning portal options that are better. Many of them for free.

Pros

Surpringly, the one feature I can vouch for in the system was the ability to update eLearning content without de-registering users or causing them to lose progress in their courseware. I have seen several systems where this is not the case.

Cons

Skillsport seems to be an LMS that was built around the fact Skillsoft offered a large content catalog, and needed to offer tracking, and also had to allow companies to upload their content into that portal because customers wouldn't want an LMS for just Skillsoft and the expense of a second system for their own content.

As an admin of the system converting over from an LMS (which they acquired), it was a very clunky system to user as an Admin as well as a user. The UI on the Admin side looked like a Windows 3.1 application (the user side was a bit better, but still dated). The basic setup of any course was overly complex, taking more steps than was truly required. The reporting was extremely weak. There was raw score and pass/fail, but no question-level analytics.

Loyce N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best e-learning platforms

Reviewed on 2019/06/25

Necessary skills are being learnt and these are being used by my staff for personal development.

Pros

User friendly. One can log in using any smart device.
Can store passwords and can also easily re-set user details just in case one has forgotten.
I love the variety of courses offered, but also that you can pause an ongoing course then resume later.
The sound and images are usually clear,like one is watching a movie. Illustrations are very catchy that you can't easily get bored.
I love the fact that certificates are generated after course completion, these can easily be downloaded in color and added to ones education qualifications.

Cons

This platform works very well for me, i have never experienced any negatives in my environment.