51 reviews

Skillsoft

Cloud-based learning management and training software

4,1 /5 (51 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
3,7
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,1
75% recommended this app
51 reviews
Carlos H.
Industry: Public Safety
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Product for Extra Trainings

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

It has solved the issue of having all employees having access to extra training so that they can improve their skills or build new skills. It is also cost efficient since it is not possible to send every employee to outside training's. It also has allowed my employees feel that I am here for them and wanting them to succeed which I do.

Pros

Skillsoft is a great product with a variety of topics one can learn on. It allows you to build up your skills and resume with the variety of courses one can take. It also has test one must pass to make sure that the material was learned from the course. Upon passing you are given a certificate of completion which is great to store and have on file in case ever asked. Its great that it shows all courses in your profile that you have completed and it allows you to save courses to do at a later date. this allows me to construct my own path of courses I want to take. It also has topics you would have never thought about which is great to learn off of and improve your skills whether you are already in s supervisors/managers position or striving to achieve a new position.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about skillsoft it is a pretty awesome tool for an organization.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Billie O.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Skillsoft-Percipio

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

Compliance Training is so easy with this Percipio. All new hires that are set up automatically get the required compliance training that is crucial in this day and age.

Pros

This product has so many options to offer as it relates to training, compliance. A great LMS tool and the customer service is outstanding.

Cons

In the beginning it was a little intimidating learning how to navigate and set up employees. As time has passed, it has definitely gotten much easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vasantha raghavan N.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Skillsoft LMS for your learning needs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/06
Review Source: Capterra

It was good with best-in-class case study content making learning much reinforced.
Avenue to improve your soft skills to all-new levels.

Pros

Existing wide variety of courses in all most all competencies right from Strategic orientation, team building to the entrepreneurial spirit. Bit size content and case study based videos make content much curated and precise for the audience. Easier addition of course content and customization of the testing mechanism is possible.

Cons

Lack of a stable mobile application a huge drawback, the app has its own flaws. Web application though its best at sometimes it's very much heavy on the browser.
Gamification can be made better
Sharing to social media of credentials and certificates can be enabled.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Legacy LMS that was really a Content Portal turned LMS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

If you have purchased the Skillsoft catalog, and you are getting SkillPort as an addon for no additional cost, then it is fine to use and perhaps less problematic than asking Skillsoft to make their catalog available to another LMS.

Otherwise, avoid. There are many other LMS and learning portal options that are better. Many of them for free.

Pros

Surpringly, the one feature I can vouch for in the system was the ability to update eLearning content without de-registering users or causing them to lose progress in their courseware. I have seen several systems where this is not the case.

Cons

Skillsport seems to be an LMS that was built around the fact Skillsoft offered a large content catalog, and needed to offer tracking, and also had to allow companies to upload their content into that portal because customers wouldn't want an LMS for just Skillsoft and the expense of a second system for their own content.

As an admin of the system converting over from an LMS (which they acquired), it was a very clunky system to user as an Admin as well as a user. The UI on the Admin side looked like a Windows 3.1 application (the user side was a bit better, but still dated). The basic setup of any course was overly complex, taking more steps than was truly required. The reporting was extremely weak. There was raw score and pass/fail, but no question-level analytics.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

One of the best self-paced learning platforms I've used. Great for quick sessions or certifications.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

This software helped prepare me for some essential business certifications that helped me land a job soon after.

Pros

This platform is great for improving your business and technology skills. its has a wide variety of courses from the basic such as Time Management to more specialized topics such as CompTIA industry certifications. The courses are structured in a logical progression which does not require new users to need a lot of 'hand holding' to master the concepts.

The content delivery system is simple and easy so that users don't need to be tech savvy to start learning. Content is delivered in a mix of formats including video, text, and interactive simulations for some courses. Unlike other some other platforms, the content is broken down down into small time portions so that you can learn one concept when you have a few minutes to spare. This make it easier for persons who can't commit to hours at a time to get started.

The platform is accessible on Windows and Mac systems and even mobile devices using Android and iOS. The makes for great anytime/anywhere learning as long as you have an internet connection. Companies can have their own branded home page and customise what content they want available to team members. There is also a set of Skillport apps that allow for offline viewing of courses. Team members can share recommendations and motivate each other to learn through the Skillport community.

Cons

For a platform so well established the app could be better. While it does allow you to log into your account and search for courses, it doesn't have the other bells and whistles that make the web learning platform so advanced. For example you can pick up where you left off in a course you started on the web but you have to search for the course from the full set. The app doesn't seem to sync history with the web version. There's also no sign of the transcript section in the app which shows you all the courses you did before.

Hopefully there are planned improvements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

20+ years of data packed into a robust reporting system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to track completion of required courses to a global employee population.

Pros

The reports we pull out of Skillport are amazing. You can dive down to the deepest level of information and extract exactly what you are looking for.

The organization of courses and users was spot on. We have over 15,000 users and are able to track their progress in the system accurately.

Cons

The system seems a bit cumbersome at times - uploading new content, pulling data that has been archived. We can't remove particular courses as they will delete the history that goes with them. The history needs to stay. The class information needs to stay, but the course needs to go away.

The occasional users have a hard time finding a particular course to take. We require each employee to take 6 courses upon hire. At times we have to register them for the courses because they cannot find the one they are looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Good platform for technical eLearning, not the best admin functionality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Skillsoft has certainly come a long way since the days of Skillport. Percipio is no doubt a sleeker user experience, and their content has received a much needed refresh. As an admin for eLearning now in several different organizations, I've always leaned more towards Skillsoft as a vendor when it comes to technical content (programming, IT, cert prep, etc.), although their soft skills catalog is also pretty decent.

Cons

As a platform, my main gripes are with the admin side. I've used other eLearning platforms in previous roles, and Skillsoft's admin interface is always the clunkiest. Terminology used is not always intuitive, and user and content management requires too many clicks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Decent Content

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Customer service was always very helpful and attentive when an issue arose. The system reporting was a little clunky and required a lot of v-look-ups of separate reports to get all the information we wanted in one, comprehensive report for our business units. Ended up going elsewhere where we could get more course selection and content for our money with more language options already existing.

Pros

If you purchase their content you receive their host platform for free which was nice, however we switched content providers that had some newer content, and more content for the price.

Cons

Not a lot of language options currently although they're working on adding more. Most of the courses are pretty outdated but they've been working to upgrade them. Not a lot of content for the amount of money you pay.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent LMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to find content and constantly updated.

Cons

The audible books doesn't saved where you left them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Learning and development

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/14
Review Source: Capterra

I love using skillsoft and am happy to continue working with them.

Pros

I love using skillsoft videos for learning and development of our employees. The trainings are easy to follow and very diverse.

Cons

I have no problems with this software, it is organized in an easy to navigate way, and includes so many different types of trainings.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Loyce N.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

One of the best e-learning platforms

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Necessary skills are being learnt and these are being used by my staff for personal development.

Pros

User friendly. One can log in using any smart device.
Can store passwords and can also easily re-set user details just in case one has forgotten.
I love the variety of courses offered, but also that you can pause an ongoing course then resume later.
The sound and images are usually clear,like one is watching a movie. Illustrations are very catchy that you can't easily get bored.
I love the fact that certificates are generated after course completion, these can easily be downloaded in color and added to ones education qualifications.

Cons

This platform works very well for me, i have never experienced any negatives in my environment.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 201-500 Employees

I have utilized Skillport and Skillsoft eLearning content for years and it has never let me down.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is easy to use, understand and consistently quality checked. Their eLearning courses help us check a lot of regulatory boxes.

Cons

Pricing structure for the content itself is a bit robust with different courses falling under different categories and it often gets confusing but the support teams and account managers do a decent job of assisting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sulakshana M.

Excellent learning software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have used this while working with Ericsson and I found it to be an encyclopaedia for learning programs. It's got everything. From the most basic to the most complicated. A must try

Cons

The software takes time to load. It's kind of heavy and plus the UI could be much better. Some of the learning programs take a lot of time to load.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Aidah M.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Skills soft software review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Attained several online diplomas

Pros

The availability of the different courses.

The ability to have both voice and word typed documents

Cons

They are fast sometimes yet you need to move slowly sometimes especially the audio part

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

The Skillsoft support staff and account managers are excellent.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Skillsoft by Skillsoft is easily integrated with existing HRIS sysrems. The number of available resources observations the Skillsoft library is unbelievable.

Cons

There are a few missing critical features in the basic Skillport LMS. The primary missing feature is the lack of manager tracking dashboards outside of the reporting tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Peter S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

We have used Skillport for many years at my company in conjuction with Skillsoft online training.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/20
Review Source: Capterra

The main benefit was using it in conjuction with Skillsoft for online training , and able to do it in many different languages.

Pros

Offers a huge variety of training courses and a very easy platform to operate from. It also has foreign languages so could be used around the world.

Cons

A little too expensive but worth because of the huge benefits of saving time and travel and able to communicate around the world.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Semiconductors

SkillPort by SkillSoft is an excellent tool for training

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Great library to select from!

Pros

SkillPort by Skillsoft is a wonderful third-party vendor that offers a wide selection of training to complement our in-house built eLearning training.

Cons

Some courses need to be updated, although the use of video upgrade to replace several courses in the catalog has gone a long way to update the courses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael L.

I provide access to SkillPort training for my candidates in order to improve their technical skills.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SkillPort has a wealth of industry-approved training that allows my candidates to learn new technologies and increase their odds of securing a new work opportunity.

Cons

I have had only positive experiences with SkillPort so far - my candidates have appreciated having SkillPort as a resource and have only had positive feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Debra H.

Great library available & able to learn anywhere/anytime you can access the internet is convenient.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

Great opportunity to learn in or out of the office at no additional cost to the employee.

Pros

Good variety of training opportunities that companies can tailor to their business needs and employee demographics. Focus on specific topics for your skill path and office product training for improving your computer skills. The platform is easy to use and modules are very well-described

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael Y.

Very informative learning portal. one of the best on current market.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexibility, ability to track your progress, create relevant learning path and nice hands on exercises. Very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

CPE courses not available. Not running on all browsers. Print interface can be better if you need print out some materials (like to learn from paper source)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Elysia K.
Industry: Gambling & Casinos
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Skillport - Needs updating

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service is good. Everyone is super friendly and responsive. Overall experience is..have to work with it because this is what we have now so better make the most of it. If i was making the decision i would not recommend - I would suggest a newer product.

Pros

I like the user interface for this software. For employees, it is relatively easy to use and follow all of the required and optional training they need to complete.

Cons

The admin side of the software is extremely convoluted and dated. It is hard to keep the back end organised based on how the system is set up - this makes it very challenging to manage a large employee base.
The reporting functionality is very limited. Often the same report will produce different results and it is challenging to pull accurate data. I would go with one of Skillsoft's updated softwares

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Isaac K.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great way of upskilling from the comfort of your desk

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

An excellent way to study

Pros

With skillsoft learning and development for staff is made very convenient and easy, quality education from over the 10 million courses available on the eLearning platform.

Cons

It does not have an offline learning option so requires a strong internet connection.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sabrina P.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great for Training

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it is a great software. A feature I like the most is being able to resume a training/video where you left off even with days in between.

Pros

This software is easy to use with all the capabilities you need as a user. I have used this as a platform watching training videos. The compatibility with various types of tablets/desktops is great to continue your training with a reliable resource. Also, it rarely crashes.

Cons

I do not have any complaints at the moment. With so many featured options, it is great for users uploading on an admin side as well as for users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Emma Z.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great learning tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Great soft to use in preparation new job as a student very relevant in my first years as a customer service officer as I used what I learnt to handle different situations in handling or dealing with customers

Pros

You can select from a vast option courses that are specifically relevant for your department
Audio-visual is extremely excellent and eligible easy fun to follow
Can be used on device so you can conduct the course from anywhere

Cons

I had no problems with this software I was allways excited about learning new information and tracking the different customer services case scenarios very relevant to my job

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Manuel R.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Skillsoft

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Using for personal development material with great resources and a multitude of ways to access the content. Great to work with!

Pros

Variety of content
Cross platform access
Ease of use

Cons

Plain user interface
Load times for web content

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10