CATIA

4,6 (155)
3D product design, visualization, and collaboration software

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(155)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

97%
recommended this app

155 Reviews

Mert S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best friend of a design engineer

Reviewed on 2019/09/24

In summary, Catia is the best software in CAD world for me. It allows user to design a part from basic level to upper advanced. That's why it's preferred in industry.

Pros

There a lot of things to emphasize. However to be more precise, I'm using for metal and plastic part design and it serves great. Generative sheet metal tool is very helpful and tools under this tab half the time while designing a metal part. In addition user stamping is a great way to design brackets amd evaluate producing process.

Cons

There are lots of tools I didn't feel so comfortable in the beginning about ease of use. But got used to it.

Omkar B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for Designing

Reviewed on 2019/11/24

It is a great software and very easy to use and teach interns on

Pros

The User interface is very easy and has many customization options. Can be used easily by new people.

Cons

It is a little expensive and given too many toolbars even if you dont need it

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Catia Enovia V6 review

Reviewed on 2019/04/08

I create large motor boats with large assemblies and i use Catia and NX on a daily basis. I have no problem managing the boat and the parts but when it comes to modelling in Catia i find incredibly tedious and very time consuming. Some days are very frustrating using this software as it is still very buggy. And when i contact helpdesk, they just reply 'oh yes, we know about that. This will be fixed in the next version!*

Pros

Managing large assemblies is particularly good with Enovia V6. I frequently open large assys containing up to 3-4000 parts (some of these individual parts are even 500MB each) and i have no problem with rotating the model with too much lag. The perspective view and general rendering of the parts is very good and quite impressive compared to other top CAD engineering packages.

Cons

Catia is not an easy package to learn. The UX is very over complicated and you really have to be shown by another user how to grasp the endless mouse clicking menus as they are not straight forward. After using Siemens NX for 10 years and then having to learn Catia was a nightmare. Catia takes far longer to model compared to other CAD packages. After 1 year with NX i didnt have a problem with creating anything, it was very reliable and I knew i could have a solution within a certain period of time. With Catia i never know how long something will take. It is far more unstable and it crashes very frequently.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best software for CAD/CAM/CAE.

Reviewed on 2021/03/05

I used this software for two to three years and it best for advanced machining, easily provide modeling simulation and develops it's NC codes in just some seconds.

Pros

Catia is an excellent and very powerful software for designing a model and for displaying it's 2D drawing and isometric views easily. It is also best to see machining simulation, provide all the details about it like manufacturing time and all process details. Product tree is also very useful as it gives different options in a simple way.

Cons

Catia is best software for CAD,CAM and CAE but it takes alot of time to become a pro in this. It is not user friendly like solidworks. If you are new user of it you will face some troubles in finding out different options.

Manuel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CAD software for a certain industry

Reviewed on 2021/05/26

In my overall experience CATIA is great CAD software because from the way you draw to the way you make assemblies or renderings, it is a software that does not have a great learning difficulty. You may take longer in design for the above, but it's a great advantage that you can use to your advantage.

Pros

CATIA is a very complete software but with its areas of improvement. Unlike other softwares it is very complete, its functions are very extensive and offers us what are step-by-step design process and in this if we come to have a mistake we can see in which step exactly we make mistakes this I see it as a great advantage. The renders even though it takes time but quality like any good product that takes your time. The interface is very simple to use and does not take much complexity of learning.

Cons

As I mentioned in the advantages is a software that is handled step by step compared to other CAD software there are functions that takes you 1 step what CATIA does in 5 steps that I see as a great disadvantage in that you take more time with the jobs. When it comes to rendering jobs or making assemblies if it takes time and resources from your computer so if you don't have a good computer with resources this is going to cost you a little bit.

Rodrigo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CATIA BEST FOR THE INDUSTRY

Reviewed on 2021/05/06

My experience with CATIA was a whole journey, the beginning was hard and confusing, but after passing the learning curve it becomes way clearer.

Pros

The software is just the standard for the industry, big car companies use it and that is the reason I learnt to use it in college. The software is the most complete there is out there, once you pass the learning curve then it becomes less intimidating to use and master.

Cons

The learning curve is way too steep for beginners, you need a full capacitation or classes on the software to learn since there is close to none information or a community out there willing to help, since it is mostly used by big companies and not regular users. The pricing is high for a single user to pay, but since its not meant for casual users its understanable and can't really consider it a con.

Caner Ç.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good designing program for mechanical products.

Reviewed on 2020/01/12

By working with CATIA V5, i can design and analysis my mechanical parts at the same time.

Pros

Being able to work on product tree is crucial. Parametric design tools and analysis tools are working together and it is awesome.

Cons

It is not super user-friendly program as Solidworks but it works anyway. Sometimes, when i'm working on the big products, update can take lots of time.

Travis B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best CAD known to man

Reviewed on 2021/06/03

Overall I would recommend CATIA to any CAD designer

Pros

This is a wonderful CAD designing program and pretty much the standard for most manufacturers in the automotive industry.

Cons

The Graphics utilization and RAM allocation of this applications is probably the heaviest i have seen on any program.

Issac P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An easy to use 3D modelling software

Reviewed on 2021/03/28

A beautiful software that can fulfill all your modelling requirement in one package

Pros

High speed 3 d modelling application with rendering support.
Supports wide variety of file types
Easy to convert 2d to 3 d easily
Supports access through the internet

Cons

Should introduce a higher cloud storage option
Should implement radx support in 3 d rendi as it shows improved details while creating an animation

Daniel D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accurate 3D design

Reviewed on 2021/12/08

CATIA has been very useful to me when designing parts and structures, the way of designing the drawings is very complete.

Pros

CATIA is a very good software that facilitates the design of parts and structures in 3D, allows the design, assembly and drawings in a very simple way. The software is very complete and has different types of tools that serve for different functions. The different updates have been getting progressively better, they change the interface a little bit but the way of use is the same.

Cons

The software is a bit complex, and when it comes to making a mistake, the interface is not so precise to find a solution to the problem.

Özgür E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Probably the best software for product design and surface modelling

Reviewed on 2019/05/27

If you're in automotive industry and not have your own design tool; then Catia is your must to use design software. It is the most complex and capable design tool and perfect for surface modelling. Yes it is not much user friendly and hard to become an expert user; but these doesn't enough to drop Catia V5 from number one seat...

Pros

I'm working with Catia V5 for a long time. I've used other programs such as Solidworks as well; but Catia is the best by far due to it's features. Catia is the most complex tool for part design and assembly management. For instance creating complex large surfaces with Catia (which is a must for automotive industry) is really easy thing to do. Variety of manipulating tools (turn, pan, rotate, etc.) makes you to easily view or manage the designed part. There are several modules which you can add many features to your part when managing the design. There are several material libraries to use for your product. Product tree is detailed and let you to manage the design steps e.g. to make parametric design. Catia is very powerful and fast; but sure you do need a good hardware as well. Creating 2D drawing is a bit complicated; but can be managed easier when you got used to it.

Cons

Probably biggest drawback for Catia is that you really need to spend years to become an expert user (not designer). It's a bit complicated compared to some other design tools. Mouse function is a bit hard to control - for example you need multiple buttons to rotate. Also interface is a bit old fashioned. V5 had many upgrades so far; but I assume it's time for V6 now for a better outlook. 2D generation module is really poor; therefore we mostly use other tools to create 2D's. License fee can be an issue for personal or small company usages.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CATIA a most for automotive design.

Reviewed on 2020/05/08

For a new user, this software can be frustrating at the beginning however once you understand the basics it is pretty easy. I've been using this software every day and I keep learning new options.

Pros

This software has everything an engineer could dream of.
Analysis and Design tool.

Cons

The software is hard to master. It has too many options which means you need to learn a lot of options.

Emel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Comprehensive software for CAD modelling

Reviewed on 2019/07/19

If you want to deal with complex designs, extended surfaces; e.g automobile body structures, this is the software to use. However for less complex part or tool/mold designs you may prefer Solidworks due to its cost advantages.

Pros

The best thing for Catia V5 is for sure the high capability for surface modelling. Complex surfaces can be designed easily with the extensive library and the functions Catia provide. That's why this is the #1 software used in Automotive for creating the designs. There are lots of features to shape your design product. Creating assemblies and defining movement for the assembly structures also possible and can be managed easily after some experience. If you know parametric design principles, Catia can work wery well with this principle. There is also a broad material library available for your selection, you can even add new material or properties.

Cons

Probably the first and the only thing to mention about Catia V5 is the interface. Although I like to use Catia due to its extensive features; I do not like the somehow retro interface, ribbon and menu designs. Therefore main screen makes you feel little bit uncomfortable. More than this, I think Catia has does not have cons to mention.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Catia, you feel free to make design everything.

Reviewed on 2019/05/30

I am Design Engineer at Ford Motor Company.
I am using Catia everyday.
If I making design, if I need to update my 3D model I need this software for using.
Because, our Automotive Industry using it commonly.
I can manage my product tree without any forces in catia.
I can create updateable design and share my collleagues.

Pros

If you create a new product in Aviation or Automobile Industry you should start with Catia. Because that, it is most common software in these industries and it makes you using same language while designing something together your partner.
Catia has more capabilities to update your models if required. It is stronger software to use product assemblies into assembly.

Cons

First time if you learn Catia, you can be forced into doing something, than you to continue doing something.
thus, you will understand strategy of Catia.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NOT EASY TO USE BUT EFFICIENT

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

Designing power transmission system.

Pros

1. Common usage
2. Easy to find engineer / technical specialist who has experience on it
3. Price
4. Effcient 2D feature

Cons

1. Always Crash like as 'click ok to terminate'
2. Not easy to use' UI is not friendly.
3. Disconnected links
4. Lack of "3D tolerance stack up" feature

James W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

CATIA software has provided me best ways for development and it is easy to model complex...

Reviewed on 2018/07/18

Pros

CATIA is an excellent software that has make our job work too easier. CATIA software offers large number of functionalities that is linked with other CAD softwares.With best manufacturing tool opportunity,it enables us to design complex parts. CATIA provides the fantastic space for user.It has unique fuctions for designing products. Moreover one can simulate the production.

Cons

Learning curve of CATIA software is quite higher and it is indeed most intuitive software.In the beginning it's layout seems to be quite difficult but when we have good command on basic functions then CATIA becomes easier for us within a few days and it can be done quite efficiently. Sometimes CATIA software takes a lot of time in downloading files but it is a minor issue.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CATIA

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

Pros

pros:

Professionals

"It makes new clients pulled in to it and there are a lot of instructional exercises accessible to learn.
Its ability over a wide range of portfolios makes it an extraordinary item."

"The parametrization ability is one of the significant experts. Since you can undoubtedly control it to make
plans by streamlining programming projects like ModeFrontier."

"I have been utilizing this product for right around 2 years and I preferred it. In any case, they should improved
and rework the toolbars to locate the required instrument for the circumstance."

"In spite of the fact that it actually has a few cons, Catia is best particularly in Aviation and Automotive businesses
due to having complex parts and congregations. It is consistently a bit of leeway to realize how to function with Catia."

Cons

Cons :

"Particular franticness, they charge you for everything."

"CATIA has helped my organization push ahead. We were stuck in the stone age with AutoCAD however
now we produce 3D models and related drawings better/quicker/less expensive than previously."

"In this way primary screen causes you to feel smidgen awkward. More than this, I think Catia has doesn't
have cons to specify."

"2D age module is truly poor; hence we generally utilize different apparatuses to make 2D's. Permit charge
can be an issue for individual or little organization uses."

Stéfano B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome solution fitted for your part and assembly design needs

Reviewed on 2020/02/17

CATIA works well for modeling complex designs and dealing with assemblies, and also helping with analysis for production line assembly and manufacturing through stamping, molding, injection, and others. CATIA also integrates very well with Teamcenter, the PLM software which we use in our company, making it easy to upload files and dealing with approval processes for new designs - although the time it takes for loading parts and saving could be reduced to improve productivity.

Pros

Easy modeling with production steps in mind; Surface modeling is pretty intuitive and makes possible to design complex geometries faster; Model edit is practical, making possible to edit a geometry parameter and rerun the program to have the new parameters ready; CATIA works very well for assemblies too, it makes possible to easily attach parts and bind specific parameters, also to hide parts that are not desirable for the analysis.

Cons

The software is pretty heavy, even with computers designed for heavy-duty loads, resulting in long wait times to load files and make changes, reducing productivity; User Interface is not that friendly, too many features which can get confusing.

Thomas F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best designing softwear in my opinion

Reviewed on 2020/11/30

I had the chance to learn how to use Catia during my training in Mechanical and Production Engineering in Nantes, France. First on the v5 version then on the v6 (3D experience). I had the opportunity to test different modules for CAD, CAM, etc...
I had the opportunity to work in depth on a digital twins project that I think could be a very important technique in the future and it works well with Catia v6.

Pros

One of the points that I find most interesting about Catia is the variety of these modules (Part design, Assembly design, etc.). Indeed, Catia’s strong point, in my opinion, is the link that can be made between modules; we will be able to create parts, assemblies, test them in a virtual model, do computer-assisted manufacturing, etc.
Moreover, he was able to test the new 3D Experience software which works thanks to a database and thus allows collaborative work. The future of CAD software in my opinion, all simply.

Cons

The handling is a bit complex at the beginning, especially compared to what is done in the competition, however this can be relativized by the fact that the modules offered are very consistent between them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best ever Designing Software used by most of the Mechanical engineers

Reviewed on 2020/09/19

Being a Mechanical engineer and a Design engineer at a Company we use Catia daily to provide solutions to the client by providing Designs and also drawings. I have been using catia from more than 2 years and now I can work in all the catia workbenches. Mostly Harness has become a boom now a days

Pros

Catia provides different work benches where we can work on different activities like 2D modelling, 3D creation, Drafting, Sheet Metal, Surface Modeling, Assembling and lot more.

Cons

For new user the Catia is not user friendly and they require some trainings to understand the tool quickly and also to get some hands on experience.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love CATIA

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

I love CATIA. I have worked with it for several years.

Pros

Sketching and drawings are amazing
I have used CATIA for almost ten years. Its functionality is really great. You can model any 2D or 3D part using CATIA.
Drawings are among the most important features of a company. Using CATIA, high-quality drawings can be modeled.

Cons

At the beginning of working with CATIA, it seems that it is really hard to work with.
Information about some of the features is lacking in the CATIA website. So whenever we want to know how to model a specific 3D part, we should search a lot and talk to many people to understand.

Brett C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Catia - The powerhouse of Cad Softwares

Reviewed on 2021/08/24

Pros

In our case, we really have no other option. All of the top manufacturers we do business with use Catia, in return we must. There is no question it's extremely powerful. I love that once a design is constrained to features of a part, changes can be made very simple with all the history that follows.

Cons

I've contacted support and got little to no help. I think they are reserved for bigger companies like Boeing, Lockheed, etc. I find that sometimes when you have a software that is so powerful it can become overwhelming as well.

Devarapalli R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to learn

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

Excellent application developed by Dassault Systemes. It is very easy to learn. The main advantage in this software is we can switch between modules to have better design features.

Pros

We can design any type of product using this software with high rendering effects and colors. We can easily edit the designed part in this software.

Cons

The least i like in this software is that while designing any BAJA Vehicles, it will be very difficult to design them due to the weldment design between the pipe joints. It takes more time to design when compared to solidworks software.

Can A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Designer

Reviewed on 2020/09/20

I have designed many sheet metal parts. Plastic and casting parts for vehicle design..

Pros

Part Design, Assy module, Generate Shape design and Generate sheet metal User friend modules. Abacus for catia, Icemsurf program supporting under the catia. Catia machining tool is very usefull.

Cons

Some commands emmeded into the Tools.
Generate Sheet metal module could be improve.
Specific macros can be added into the design module,
For example part number, logo ext standard title Block revision title Block could be add into the part design module.

Harun U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best for Engineering and Design

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

Pros

I've heard of the program before, but when I first started work I started to use it. I was using Solidworks and AutoCAD. At first, I noticed that mouse clicks are more ergonomic over time, though they are reversed by these programs.

In addition, a very advanced level with parametric design can be easily intervened design.

3D to 2D image transfer feature is great.

Cons

I had no negative experience with the program. Although I started with other programs, I started to adapt to catia program very quickly and started to use it actively.