134 reviews

CATIA

3D product design, visualization, and collaboration software

4,6 /5 (134 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
4,3
98% recommended this app
134 reviews
Mert S.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best friend of a design engineer

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/24
Review Source: Capterra

In summary, Catia is the best software in CAD world for me. It allows user to design a part from basic level to upper advanced. That's why it's preferred in industry.

Pros

There a lot of things to emphasize. However to be more precise, I'm using for metal and plastic part design and it serves great. Generative sheet metal tool is very helpful and tools under this tab half the time while designing a metal part. In addition user stamping is a great way to design brackets amd evaluate producing process.

Cons

There are lots of tools I didn't feel so comfortable in the beginning about ease of use. But got used to it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Devarapalli R.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent Software for people who do 3D designs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

The overall experience is excellent. I have been using catia since 2 years where it is easy to develop and convert designs from any format.

Pros

we can easily model 3D components. It is very easy to understand and design.

Cons

If we are doing larger assemblies that is more than 100+ components, then it will stuck.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Catia Enovia V6 review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/08
Review Source: Capterra

I create large motor boats with large assemblies and i use Catia and NX on a daily basis. I have no problem managing the boat and the parts but when it comes to modelling in Catia i find incredibly tedious and very time consuming. Some days are very frustrating using this software as it is still very buggy. And when i contact helpdesk, they just reply 'oh yes, we know about that. This will be fixed in the next version!*

Pros

Managing large assemblies is particularly good with Enovia V6. I frequently open large assys containing up to 3-4000 parts (some of these individual parts are even 500MB each) and i have no problem with rotating the model with too much lag. The perspective view and general rendering of the parts is very good and quite impressive compared to other top CAD engineering packages.

Cons

Catia is not an easy package to learn. The UX is very over complicated and you really have to be shown by another user how to grasp the endless mouse clicking menus as they are not straight forward. After using Siemens NX for 10 years and then having to learn Catia was a nightmare. Catia takes far longer to model compared to other CAD packages. After 1 year with NX i didnt have a problem with creating anything, it was very reliable and I knew i could have a solution within a certain period of time. With Catia i never know how long something will take. It is far more unstable and it crashes very frequently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

The best ever Designing Software used by most of the Mechanical engineers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

Being a Mechanical engineer and a Design engineer at a Company we use Catia daily to provide solutions to the client by providing Designs and also drawings. I have been using catia from more than 2 years and now I can work in all the catia workbenches. Mostly Harness has become a boom now a days

Pros

Catia provides different work benches where we can work on different activities like 2D modelling, 3D creation, Drafting, Sheet Metal, Surface Modeling, Assembling and lot more.

Cons

For new user the Catia is not user friendly and they require some trainings to understand the tool quickly and also to get some hands on experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Omkar B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Perfect for Designing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/24
Review Source: Capterra

It is a great software and very easy to use and teach interns on

Pros

The User interface is very easy and has many customization options. Can be used easily by new people.

Cons

It is a little expensive and given too many toolbars even if you dont need it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stéfano B.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Awesome solution fitted for your part and assembly design needs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/17
Review Source: Capterra

CATIA works well for modeling complex designs and dealing with assemblies, and also helping with analysis for production line assembly and manufacturing through stamping, molding, injection, and others. CATIA also integrates very well with Teamcenter, the PLM software which we use in our company, making it easy to upload files and dealing with approval processes for new designs - although the time it takes for loading parts and saving could be reduced to improve productivity.

Pros

Easy modeling with production steps in mind; Surface modeling is pretty intuitive and makes possible to design complex geometries faster; Model edit is practical, making possible to edit a geometry parameter and rerun the program to have the new parameters ready; CATIA works very well for assemblies too, it makes possible to easily attach parts and bind specific parameters, also to hide parts that are not desirable for the analysis.

Cons

The software is pretty heavy, even with computers designed for heavy-duty loads, resulting in long wait times to load files and make changes, reducing productivity; User Interface is not that friendly, too many features which can get confusing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Can A.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Designer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

I have designed many sheet metal parts. Plastic and casting parts for vehicle design..

Pros

Part Design, Assy module, Generate Shape design and Generate sheet metal User friend modules. Abacus for catia, Icemsurf program supporting under the catia. Catia machining tool is very usefull.

Cons

Some commands emmeded into the Tools.
Generate Sheet metal module could be improve.
Specific macros can be added into the design module,
For example part number, logo ext standard title Block revision title Block could be add into the part design module.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Manideep K.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Features and ease of use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/17
Review Source: Capterra

We do chassis components design with CATIA we made more design concepts with few steps.

Pros

Easy to understand the tools and achieve more things on design concepts.Part design assembly design concepts are good to learn to achieve complete design

Cons

Starting up the software is very slow.please try to improve ASAP.
Parametric modeling should be improved

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Felix L.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Versatile Design software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a good tool to perform various CAD and CAM activities for designers especially in the mechanical, automotive field

Pros

Best for various types of design and modelling software like solid surface and sheet modeling. This is a very capable software for modeling. It has good export options when you want to do analysis in different software

Cons

You need high end machine to work on Catia. Especially if you want to do analysis using Catia.

Catia analysis is not very easy as other softwares like Ansys

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Carlos R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: Self Employed

Catia

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for almost 2 years and I liked it. However, they should improved and rearrange the toolbars to find the needed tool for the situation.

Pros

This software has a lot of features that no other design program has. With this program you can create 3d models as well as analyzing them to know the resistance of the materiales and applied forces.

Cons

I liked this software, however, I do not like the way it is designed. It has a lot of features but in most of the cases, they are really difficult to find. You have to drag and drop the tool bars to find them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Özgür E.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Probably the best software for product design and surface modelling

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

If you're in automotive industry and not have your own design tool; then Catia is your must to use design software. It is the most complex and capable design tool and perfect for surface modelling. Yes it is not much user friendly and hard to become an expert user; but these doesn't enough to drop Catia V5 from number one seat...

Pros

I'm working with Catia V5 for a long time. I've used other programs such as Solidworks as well; but Catia is the best by far due to it's features. Catia is the most complex tool for part design and assembly management. For instance creating complex large surfaces with Catia (which is a must for automotive industry) is really easy thing to do. Variety of manipulating tools (turn, pan, rotate, etc.) makes you to easily view or manage the designed part. There are several modules which you can add many features to your part when managing the design. There are several material libraries to use for your product. Product tree is detailed and let you to manage the design steps e.g. to make parametric design. Catia is very powerful and fast; but sure you do need a good hardware as well. Creating 2D drawing is a bit complicated; but can be managed easier when you got used to it.

Cons

Probably biggest drawback for Catia is that you really need to spend years to become an expert user (not designer). It's a bit complicated compared to some other design tools. Mouse function is a bit hard to control - for example you need multiple buttons to rotate. Also interface is a bit old fashioned. V5 had many upgrades so far; but I assume it's time for V6 now for a better outlook. 2D generation module is really poor; therefore we mostly use other tools to create 2D's. License fee can be an issue for personal or small company usages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

CATIA a most for automotive design.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

For a new user, this software can be frustrating at the beginning however once you understand the basics it is pretty easy. I've been using this software every day and I keep learning new options.

Pros

This software has everything an engineer could dream of.
Analysis and Design tool.

Cons

The software is hard to master. It has too many options which means you need to learn a lot of options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emel K.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Comprehensive software for CAD modelling

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

If you want to deal with complex designs, extended surfaces; e.g automobile body structures, this is the software to use. However for less complex part or tool/mold designs you may prefer Solidworks due to its cost advantages.

Pros

The best thing for Catia V5 is for sure the high capability for surface modelling. Complex surfaces can be designed easily with the extensive library and the functions Catia provide. That's why this is the #1 software used in Automotive for creating the designs. There are lots of features to shape your design product. Creating assemblies and defining movement for the assembly structures also possible and can be managed easily after some experience. If you know parametric design principles, Catia can work wery well with this principle. There is also a broad material library available for your selection, you can even add new material or properties.

Cons

Probably the first and the only thing to mention about Catia V5 is the interface. Although I like to use Catia due to its extensive features; I do not like the somehow retro interface, ribbon and menu designs. Therefore main screen makes you feel little bit uncomfortable. More than this, I think Catia has does not have cons to mention.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Catia, you feel free to make design everything.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/30
Review Source: Capterra

I am Design Engineer at Ford Motor Company.
I am using Catia everyday.
If I making design, if I need to update my 3D model I need this software for using.
Because, our Automotive Industry using it commonly.
I can manage my product tree without any forces in catia.
I can create updateable design and share my collleagues.

Pros

If you create a new product in Aviation or Automobile Industry you should start with Catia. Because that, it is most common software in these industries and it makes you using same language while designing something together your partner.
Catia has more capabilities to update your models if required. It is stronger software to use product assemblies into assembly.

Cons

First time if you learn Catia, you can be forced into doing something, than you to continue doing something.
thus, you will understand strategy of Catia.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

NOT EASY TO USE BUT EFFICIENT

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/26
Review Source: Capterra

Designing power transmission system.

Pros

1. Common usage
2. Easy to find engineer / technical specialist who has experience on it
3. Price
4. Effcient 2D feature

Cons

1. Always Crash like as 'click ok to terminate'
2. Not easy to use' UI is not friendly.
3. Disconnected links
4. Lack of "3D tolerance stack up" feature

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

James W.

CATIA software has provided me best ways for development and it is easy to model complex designs.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

CATIA is an excellent software that has make our job work too easier. CATIA software offers large number of functionalities that is linked with other CAD softwares.With best manufacturing tool opportunity,it enables us to design complex parts. CATIA provides the fantastic space for user.It has unique fuctions for designing products. Moreover one can simulate the production.

Cons

Learning curve of CATIA software is quite higher and it is indeed most intuitive software.In the beginning it's layout seems to be quite difficult but when we have good command on basic functions then CATIA becomes easier for us within a few days and it can be done quite efficiently. Sometimes CATIA software takes a lot of time in downloading files but it is a minor issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Thomas F.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

Best designing softwear in my opinion

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

I had the chance to learn how to use Catia during my training in Mechanical and Production Engineering in Nantes, France. First on the v5 version then on the v6 (3D experience). I had the opportunity to test different modules for CAD, CAM, etc...
I had the opportunity to work in depth on a digital twins project that I think could be a very important technique in the future and it works well with Catia v6.

Pros

One of the points that I find most interesting about Catia is the variety of these modules (Part design, Assembly design, etc.). Indeed, Catia’s strong point, in my opinion, is the link that can be made between modules; we will be able to create parts, assemblies, test them in a virtual model, do computer-assisted manufacturing, etc.
Moreover, he was able to test the new 3D Experience software which works thanks to a database and thus allows collaborative work. The future of CAD software in my opinion, all simply.

Cons

The handling is a bit complex at the beginning, especially compared to what is done in the competition, however this can be relativized by the fact that the modules offered are very consistent between them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

I love CATIA

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

I love CATIA. I have worked with it for several years.

Pros

Sketching and drawings are amazing
I have used CATIA for almost ten years. Its functionality is really great. You can model any 2D or 3D part using CATIA.
Drawings are among the most important features of a company. Using CATIA, high-quality drawings can be modeled.

Cons

At the beginning of working with CATIA, it seems that it is really hard to work with.
Information about some of the features is lacking in the CATIA website. So whenever we want to know how to model a specific 3D part, we should search a lot and talk to many people to understand.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Harun U.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best for Engineering and Design

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've heard of the program before, but when I first started work I started to use it. I was using Solidworks and AutoCAD. At first, I noticed that mouse clicks are more ergonomic over time, though they are reversed by these programs.

In addition, a very advanced level with parametric design can be easily intervened design.

3D to 2D image transfer feature is great.

Cons

I had no negative experience with the program. Although I started with other programs, I started to adapt to catia program very quickly and started to use it actively.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Common Software for Automotive Industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I generally use Catia for Step & STL data exporting for creating CAE models and 3D data viewing. Catia has a user friendly GUI. Measurement tools are quiet easy to use. Product tree management is so effective. I like so much the visuality of the welcome screen. It has many special modules for automotive and aerospace industry. 3D Surface modelling and skecthing capabilities are awesome and industry leader.

Cons

Sometimes it could work slower. Your computer need much more RAM. CAE software implementation is open to development.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rodrigo G.
Industry: Research
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

The industry standard CAD/CAM software used for complex products

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

At first I didn't want to migrate from Pro/Engineer to CATIA, but now I will never go back.

Pros

After years of using competing software (Autodesk Mechanical Desktop, ProEngineer and SolidEdge) I started working in the car design and manufacturing industry (500,000 cars per year) which designed most of the parts or received designs from its suppliers. I think that CATIA is fast, responsible, simple and very well structured for handling from simple to complex parts. The finite element analysis is very good and making dynamic assemblies works like a charm. I honestly believe that stands out from his competitors by being fast responsive and relatively simple to use.
Disclaimer: I no longer work in Volkswagen, because I moved to research.

Cons

The graphic design of the software (at least v5) looks outdated (menus and toolbars) which is a minor issue when compared to the speed of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Serkan Y.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Fundamantal CAD program for designers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

It's a functional design tool, but users are not happy for the interface.

Pros

You can work on any design on Catia. It has several modules which you can customize for your needs, such as mechanical, electrical, manufacturing tools. You can also work with parametric for any dimentions that can be connected with a formula and variables. It is well integrated with PLMs.

Cons

User interface has not been changed for years which feels it's old. You should be trained well to use all functions. It may take some time to open/import data from different types.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Pierre S.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I use Catia to design aeronautic parts for customers as Airbus & other major companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

It helped me and my colleagues to design very complex parts and the tools to manufacture them, for more than 10 years now.

Pros

I really enjoy the very large choice of functionnalities offered by Catia regarding with other CAD softwares. In addition, the graphism is really fluid and pleasant. I understand why it is one of the most used softwares for 3D design.

Cons

It takes sometimes a long time for me to find the most appropriate functionnality among the large choice when I don't know yet it. Hopefully, the provided help is well documented. With experience, it is always easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

An advanced surfacing tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I've had no problems with CATIA.

Pros

Used Part/Surface/Kinematics feature

Surface generation capabilities of Catia is really powerful. There are a lot of options and modification within each tool that can be used for desired output.
The interface may seem a little hard to grasp but after getting used to it and studying tools capabilities lets you take full advantage.

Cons

The interface needs a little getting used to.

Part design or solid design may seem a little harder or less intuitive compared to Solidworks or Unigraphics.

Kinematics animation setup is a little difficult compared to Solidworks but isn't that bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Catia is extremely powerful design software, but not the easiest to learn

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Catia is an extremely powerful design software and it is great to use once you are fully trained.

Pros

Catia can do basically anything you want from a graphical design standpoint. My company designs very complicated 2D and 3D models of tires and Catia can do it with ease.

Cons

Learning to use the software is very time-consuming. Because of the thousands of functions and tools at your disposal, the learning curve is steep. However once you're a pro, it's great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10