99 reviews

Elasticsearch

Distributed search and analytics solution

4,6 /5 (99 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
99 reviews
Sanchit A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Highly recommended for search platforms

Reviewed on 2020/06/10

Setting up a search platform using Elasticsearch was super fun and easy. I was able to get some great search query response times and development efforts were minimal compared to dealing with Lucene directly.

Pros

It's a great tool to setup a search platform almost of any size in a company. I have worked with Apache Lucene and Elasticsearch just saves all that trouble of dealing with the indices all the time in Lucene and rather provides seamless integration through APIs for search queries. It was really easy to setup the cluster and shards and manage the stack. The APIs offer a wide range of search features and saves a lot of effort coding hundreds of line for every small advanced search filtering function.

Cons

The documentation of the APIs could be improved. It was a bit overwhelming at times to lookup the correct functionality we wanted to actually implement. The tutorials and courses are quite expensive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Distributed Search and analytics engine available in cloud

Reviewed on 2020/06/30

Best search and analytics software available in cloud, flexible to use and available free trial to evaluate it.

Pros

This is best search software for data searching and analytics on stream data in cloud. It is so flexible complex keyword searches and very efficient. Great tool for analyzing logs very powerful. 24/7 customer support.

Cons

Not really a negative side but if you have low bandwidth web interface will become very slow.And think learning manual still needs some improvement.

Sam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elasticsearch Review

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

We really enjoy using Elasticsearch (ELK Stack) in our Kubernetes environment. the ease of deployment is unmatchable compared to other solutions.

Pros

I loved how easy this was to spin up and get going in our environment with minimal research, trial, and error.

Cons

I think to cluster Elasticsearch was my least favorite part about the implementation. there were a lot of "nitty gritty" config details to be ironed out

Aditya S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Searching made easy when you need it the most.

Reviewed on 2019/03/18

and look for log files and then find the issue. ELK sovles this problem efficiently.During troubleshooting, it is biggest pain to open servers

Pros

A consolidated UI to search and find the patterns in log file. Speed of search return is also very good. The way this product manages the files at the backend, it does conserve a lot of space considering the amound of data it stores.

Cons

Search pattern bar could be more user friendly. When the load increases, serach bar is the first to show impact and starts to deviate from an efficient behaviour. Cursor keeps going away during such times making it difficult to tweak the attern.

Ken L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well for document storage and searching

Reviewed on 2020/04/28

Good experience, excellent open source search product.

Pros

We were looking for a solution to help us store and sort documents. We have a large dataset that needs to be organized and quickly sortable by end-users. Confidentiality is also a key requirement. Elasticsearch fit the bill, it's very easy to setup and also quite scalable. We are working with the 6.8 version of Elasticsearch and find it to be robust and resilient. There are a LOT of features that we haven't even tapped yet. The UI is fast and performant, we integrated Grafana for its dashboarding capabilities.

Cons

Filtering and searching does require some ramp time to understand the syntax. ES comes with a lot of features so it can be overwhelming at first. Hit a UI glitch with 7.x which is why we rolled down to 6.x. Support is community unless you want to pay.

Keren K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Managing big databases

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Pros

The product is very popular among many companies, therefore there is a big community who can share their knowledge, the search is very fast and the installation process and integration are very easy.

Cons

I leas like the Elasticsearch itself does not provide much except just storing the information, the additional tools (Kibana and Logstash) are required.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really fast

Reviewed on 2018/11/30

Pros

Its a really good solution for people looking to process large volumes of data, it allows to filter, make aggregations and other operations really fast even when you need to rely on text search.

Cons

Its really easy to make your performance really low, you have to be really careful with your cluster setup, mapping and queries.

Gabriel m. M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Significant upgrade to our search capabilities

Reviewed on 2018/08/31

We refactored our search engine and used ElasticSearch as a back-end.

Pros

The flexibility, it's free, large community and plenty of tools

Cons

You have to use 3rd party tools in order to make the best of it (management mainly).
It's JAVA, so GC could be an issue.

Michele P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You know, for search!

Reviewed on 2019/08/18

Pros

It's simply the industry standard for search. The extensive functionalities make complex problems look easy.

Cons

Documentation could be a bit more helpful, especially in dealing with breaking changes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Super powerful search engine for your Business.

Reviewed on 2018/12/21

A bit hard at first, specially tweaking the queries & indexes to get just what we needed from it. But after that, it has been a very reliable tool that we use everyday.

Pros

ElasticSearch provides some of the mos accurate & fast search results of the market. We moved from a Sphinx installation into ES and have never looked back. Multiple indexes, lots of querying options & great support from tooling.

Cons

Can be a bit hard to get into at first. However, the product is very well documented, so you just need to invest some time in their docs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Elasticsearch is a real-time distributed and document based search and analytics engine

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

This is one of the favorites in Streaming Analytics.

Pros

Mainly it an open source.
Improved Scalability with full-text search, sharding & Aggregations.

Cons

When it comes to querying, it's less flexible comparing to PostresSQL.
Not much recommended as a "Data Store" when comparing to Hadoop or MongoDB.

Kyle B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly scalable search functionality

Reviewed on 2018/07/19

Pros

If you worked in a big online store on the analytics side you can really understand the hard work that this software is doing, and the value that it adds to your conversion rate.
It has great potential and used in combination with Kibana it proves a very good choice for fast and great search results.

Cons

Depending on your users conversion rate and volume it can become a high cost operation, if you have low margins.

Thomas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best tool for your logs

Reviewed on 2019/12/31

We are using Elasticsearch along with Logstash and Kibana. This setup provides great tool for parsing and searching through a tons of logs which are centralized in Elasticsearch.

Pros

*Very big community base
*Elasticsearch is open-source
*Very powerful REST API
*Well documented
*Easy to install, just a few commands
*You do not need knowledge of databases
*Elasticsearch can be integrated to 3rd-Party software.

Cons

*For some of premium features (included in X-pack) you must buy subscription, which cost too much money.
*If you want subscription, least number of licensed nodes must be more than 3.
*

Abhinav S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in the market search support database.

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Pros

The flexibility provided for the configuration of the indexes and the searching criteria makes it suitable any kind of data and search needs. The query building flow is also easy to understand.

Cons

A server crash could result in a total
loss of data, so it can’t be used to store important data.

Danilo N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great option for in-memory database

Reviewed on 2020/02/10

A great option for an in-memory database. The documentation is very complete and concise.

Pros

A great option for an in-memory database. The documentation is very complete and concise, making even some hard topics very easy to work with. It has SaaS/PaaS options if you have to migrate or don't want to grow up your development team.

Cons

Sometimes the documentation is a little bit confusing, because they give you every version option, and you have to look carefully to not read other versions syntax and DSL.

Kumara G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for searching and analytics

Reviewed on 2017/08/24

Pros

Best storage for searching, very quick in response
Documentation is good
Highly scalable
Good command line interface for administration

Cons

NoSQL help is not much clear with samples.
Not suitable for transactions.
Every NoSQL db has different standardization that makes little irritating
Not suitable for single pc installation

Ramesh K.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Gives good performance when handling with large number of data/record

Reviewed on 2017/08/23

Pros

Indexing is Fast
Replacing the RDBMS is good
Retrieval of records are fast
Easy to install and configure

Cons

Term is very confusing (i.e. should, must)
Query Structure is very complicated.
Built-in GUI Component should be there

Ashish A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best full text search engine

Reviewed on 2018/12/25

Pros

It is very easy to integrate with javascript projects because it stores data in json format. Querying is easy with lot of selectors and modifiers available.

Cons

Reindexing is very time taking due to which there is data mismatch sometimes.

Josmar J.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best tool for smart text

Reviewed on 2018/05/09

Pros

Excellent to use smart text, to management number of impression on search, distribution of data, autosuggest, soundex search. So more efficiently and quickly than search on a data base.

Cons

It has not a table of error, errors are so much generic. Documentation is very ambiguous and so short.

Thamara D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect way to have search engine.

Reviewed on 2019/08/06

When considering the Elasticsearch platform, it a most efficient and effective platform which we have ever used to have powerful search engine.

Pros

Elasticsearch is a open source platform which we can use for multiple kind of projects.We have used the platform to have centralized log managing ability and as a replacement of our OLAP databases.We can have in-detailed analytics with the aid of Elasticsearch platform. Also, we can have highly performed powerful search engine with fast indexing ability.

Cons

It would be great if we have more detailed documentations and learning materials to learn this kind of valuable technology.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for large content repositories

Reviewed on 2018/10/15

It's better than a big name solution we previously used for support content search. And a LOT less expensive.

Pros

It's an inexpensive solution that's easy to configure for searching of complex content like major support portals.

Cons

There is quite a lot of initial setup, as you'd probably expect, although the results we got made it worth the effort.

Stephanie miles
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Sidestep the most common challenges associated with implementing internal search engines

Reviewed on 2014/01/22

Using Qbox.io for hosted Elasticsearch allows developers to sidestep a number of the most common challenges associated with implementing internal search engines. In particular, Qbox.io users avoid having to monitor nodes themselves and wrestle with JVM heap size capacity planning. Because Qbox.io is provided as a service, developers who use the product do not have to worry about complicated topics like setup on AWS and RackSpace.

Pros

Qbox.io supports AWS and RackSpace

Cons

Qbox.io doesn't offer enough support for automatic scaling

Danoosh D.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

experimenting with this as substitution for Apache solr

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Pros

Very easy to set up and lean working with its interface. Tones of plug-ins for displaying data/graph analytics. It performance seems to be faster than solr on the same data. AND its opensource

Cons

Querying is not that simple and you will need to spend some time to get the hang of it for advanced use.

Jim N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scale, Features, Functionality.

Reviewed on 2019/09/13

Excellent. The ELK stack is the foundation of our audit process, and it's held up really well. The installation can be automated, and archiving in the AWS environment works quite well. We have not yet had a problem in scaling resources to match our resource needs. The integrations with logstash, beats and kibana have been excellent, and used to great effect.

Pros

Scale: You can run this from a single server or even co-installed on a database or file server. I wouldn't recommend it, but let's just say it will run in a small box. On the top side, Elasticsearch will run in clusters managing multiple Terabytes of data.
Features: Excellent flexibility to absorb multiple types of data sources, and great integration with Logstash and Kibana.

Cons

The upgrades in terms of archived data. This platform changes significantly on an annual basis. If you do a ton of customization, automation, or work with a lot of data, this can be an issue as you will need to update ALL of your data for every upgrade.

Filip T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Essential tool for all my devops needs

Reviewed on 2018/09/05

Pros

I've been using Elasticsearch since early days, with very different things in mind.

I started with simple text search - with some additional tweaks, stemming and other cool features it helped us drive enormous traffic to our website. I can't imaging pulling it off so easily with any other tool.

Every day I use it for web server log analytics. Search and great visualizations make it an absolute essential in work my toolset.

We also run a lot of algorithm analytics on top of our Elasticsearch cluster.

If you're looking for managed options check AWS Elasticsearch Service, or the recently introduced Elastic Cloud.

Cons

My only concern with Elasticsearch is that it might get expensive to run pretty quickly. But with a certain amount of effort put into optimization it's gonna be worth it.