117 reviews

ACS

Cloud-based church management and accounting software

3,9 /5 (117 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
68%
recommended this app
117 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Product Overall with World-Class Customer Service

Reviewed on 2018/09/25

ACS is a church software product with several different suites to choose from. I found the People Suite, then Realm, extremely helpful in keeping member records, and the Financial Suite gives the church the reports and information needed for making budget decisions.

Pros

ACS Realm is a simpler version of ACS People Suite, and much more intuitive. The implementation was smooth and the transition fully backed by their wonderful customer service. I also love getting a live, knowledgeable person on the phone within a few seconds of calling.
Payroll is also very easy in ACS Financial Suite.

Cons

The Financial Suite is not intuitive, but mistakes have gotten easier to fix due to upgrades. The church is still waiting to switch to ACS Realm Financials, as payroll cannot be done there, despite well over a year of promises that it is happening soon. It would be helpful for Realm input of donations to flow to the Financial Suite.
Also, ACS People Suite gave options for certain reports that cannot be run in ACS Realm.

Sheri S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Church Software - REALM

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

Great company and very helpful. They want us to succeed.

Pros

The ease of use. The versatility. They update and upgrade every week to stay relevant. Very helpful to make sure we are happy especially during Covid.

Cons

The ability to get a photo attached to your profile for an older person. That our church database is everyone - not just a database for members and one for donors/visitors.

Amy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Used ACS for 7 years

Reviewed on 2020/11/17

When we had talks of switching the software to a new company ACS was so far behind that we wouldnt have even been able to transfer our database into a new system

Pros

I worked as a pastoral assisant for 7 years at my church and we used this software. I found the system to be very outdated and difficult to use, the only thing I liked about it was the customer service when you had a question.

Cons

Honeslty the software is stuck in the 90s, I am shocked how far behind the programing is, it was not user friendly at all/

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ACS for First Church

Reviewed on 2018/10/03

Pledgers who are not attending.

Pros

Reports, tracking a stewardship campaign over several years, customer service is tops.

Cons

Uses a software that doesn't convert excel spreadsheets into a functional spreadsheet. The columns do not keep the formulas. Therefore you have to make the formulas in a new column. Multiply steps for reports. Should have more reports that are already set up in the software.

Denise L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Secretary/ Teacher

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

Having to wait on hold for extensive periods of time was very inconvenient.

Pros

The database was very useful and made my job much easier.

Cons

It was not easy to correct mistakes. Waiting for help was a lengthy process.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Legacy ACS Suite is Not Your Beat Option

Reviewed on 2020/01/08

Excellent customer service. Realm product is am improvement. Financials package is still an industry leader.

Pros

Robust, lots of functions, built with churches in mind

Cons

Clunky, slow, old interface, can't adapt to ongoing demands of changing churches

Jai R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Solid, but not exciting

Reviewed on 2015/09/25

Pros

ACS has a lot of features, and customizable fields, etc. Great customer service for problems (for additional fee per month).

Cons

Updates come out very slowly, and the product feels at least 5-10 years out of date. Reports are not very customizable unless you purchase additional module. Not very responsive to requested features. Not Mac-compatible (unless you use cloud version which is more expensive). Have trouble getting staff to use the software - they tend to just want to access it on their phone app. Online Giving is not easy for first-time users. Lots of small group leaders have had trouble using the online attendance tracking.

Drew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Lots of options and power, but the interface is severely outdated and clunky

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

We have used some form of ACS since 2005. It handles finances, child check-in, event scheduling, volunteer scheduling, attendance, groups, contact information, and much more. It even has an online arm.

Pros

ACS has just about everything you could ask for, and then some. Their pricing is more competitive than other major companies.

Cons

Although there is an online arm of this product, all the information must be kept locally (although some would think this a pro). The controls are non-intuitive and clunky. Even the online version of this has the look and feel of something just above MS Dos.

Sarah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 2019/11/05

We love ACS and will continue doing business with them.

Pros

Love the support team and their vast knowledge of the product. It is easy to use.

Cons

Needs more reporting/queerying options for accounting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ACS is overall okay.

Reviewed on 2018/09/16

Pros

I like how it stores a lot of information and that the customer service is always very prompt.

Cons

I do not like the ​interface, it is outdated and can be confusing.

Phyllis P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love this program

Reviewed on 2016/06/16

I use mainly the People side of ACS and it is so helpful with keeping all of my groups together. Love this software.

Nicholas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Look elsewhere for a ministry database

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

There are several desirable features with this software. A primary one is the high amount of customization. However, this customization is only available to administrators and people with understanding of coding.

Cons

Immensely outdated and not functional. While using this software, I felt I put more work into using the software than actual results it gave. I would steer clear of this software if you're looking for a simple, user-friendly and intuitive experience.

Bob L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Church Software Management

Reviewed on 2018/01/24

Pros

I like the way this software allows you to access other church members along with photographs to recognize individuals within the church. I currently am assigned the process of checking roll in our Sunday School class which I do on this software and submit without the need for paperwork.

Cons

I really haven't discovered anything negative with this software yet. However, having only used it for a about a year, I am still learning it.

Francine S.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ACS Technologies

Reviewed on 2016/06/15

Have been using ACS for 1 year now. Still learning how to best utilize the software. Especially enjoy the ability to track and communicate with the church family.

Pros

Able to easily track our members.

Cons

Freezes up and/or kicks me off the system randomly.

Rp E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Like All Things, It's Getting Better

Reviewed on 2016/06/07

I've been using ACS OnDemand products for a year now, and wasn't all that happy with what I've seen. Going to the conference helped, and learning more about the programs directly made some improvements. I don't like the user interface, and how separate all the components seem to be. It often feels like the various parts aren't 'talking' to each other and the user has to be a guru to make it all work.

It's very capable software, once you know what you're doing. I don't like that the training tutorials are a separate annual fee (some instructions are available at no cost, but they aren't terribly comprehensive). It doesn't make the learning easier.

Overall, it's solid, but not user friendly. I've heard some of their newer items are going to be much better, but they aren't developed to the point where it would be effective for my organization to move to them. Choose your products wisely.

Jennifer D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is like working on Windows 15 years ago.

Reviewed on 2017/10/02

Pros

It does do everything you need for church accounting. The support is very good. The training materials are extensive. The trainers and very good and usually very helpful.

Cons

It is cumbersome, very slow to use (with many extra steps for every task), not intuitive and and very outdated. Some of the training material goes back to 2003, and looks exactly the same. There are extensive training materials, but they are most often so basic they do not answer anything besides basic questions.

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Support!

Reviewed on 2016/06/20

We are using Realm, and there has been a learning curve, and some bumps as they role out new features, but they have great support which is always ready to help.

Pros

Using Realm has freed us from the office and are able to use it on the go.

Cons

Learning it.

Terri S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Service, Great Product

Reviewed on 2016/06/07

ACS has outstanding customer service. The online knowledge base is deep and thorough, but calls to customer support are answered quickly, professionally, and thoroughly.

The software is easy to use, but requires thought to make your own database standards.

I've worked in churches for over 20 years using different software packages but this is by fare my favorite.

Laura B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Outdated software

Reviewed on 2018/12/15

There is no way to extract the data or do most functions without assistance from the company.

Pros

It provides a database to keep the members and accounting. It also provided the financial accounting required.

Cons

There is no way for the congregation to interface to the database to maintain their own information. this package puts a huge burden on the administratoe to keep it all up to date.

Italo P.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good tool to manage churches even small

Reviewed on 2018/04/03

Good application for the administrative management of churches

Pros

The customer service is very friendly and efficient. The application is quite robust for the administrative management of churches.

Cons

It is not a very intuitive application, which is compensated with the efficient support it has. Also the interface is a bit simple

Teresa C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ACS on-demand

Reviewed on 2016/06/06

Love everything about these products in the customer service.

Andrew H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

It's reliable yet dated church management software

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

We have been ACS users for probably close to 10 years and it works, it does work. However, we are in the process of switching to The Rock and, although it's much more powerful, The Rock also requires a greater size management team with technical programming proficiencies. When choosing your management software, you'll pay for it one way or another. In my opinion, ACS is a great solution for small to medium size churches...say up to 2000 people.

Pros

ACS is a fairly reliable and robust church management software useful for, among other things, managing your general ledger, giving, kids check-in, and people database. If you're a musician, I could tell you that it's like a Shure SM58 vocal microphone...you can drop it 100 times and it still works great...but other mics sound better...and may cost more.

Cons

It is very much out of date according to today's standards. It seems to prefer a large amount of bandwidth for our kids checkin machines running ACS for checkin...it technically isn't a ton of data, but ACS really seems to prefer having a big pipe for it, network wise. ACS is fairly limited in who can and should have access to different parts of it. My biggest complain, though, would be that ACS just hasn't kept up with the development side of their platform to match the technology that everyone is used to using in 2019.

Brian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ACS - great value for churches and small nonprofits

Reviewed on 2016/03/25

Pros

As a small nonprofit, we have used ACS General Ledger, People, and Contributions for over 15 years. What I like best is that it is an affordable, integrated, double-entry accounting system designed specifically for churches and small non-profit organizations. The People and Contributions modules allow us to easily monitor pledges, acknowledge donations, summarize gifts by fund, and report on subsets of our donor base using criteria we choose. The General Ledger offers the custom budget-actual reports and statement of financial position (non-profit balance sheet), as well as the summary of restricted accounts that is not found in typical for-profit packages. ACS also allows your administrator to set specific user permissions customization, so you can limit each user to only the functions that he or she needs.

Vendor support is key, and we have found the vendor support behind ACS to be very solid. The software does not do everything, but what it does it does well. When we have had problems or questions, ACS technical support has pro-actively worked them out. In most support sessions, the ACS rep is temporarily granted remote control of our local computers and works directly with our data and reports. Support reps are readily available when we call, and they are very knowledgeable of the product.

Cons

Overall, we like ACS. I don't have a lot of criticism. The addition of a functional expense statement would be very helpful, since this is the format used by the IRS on Form 990 (required of most 403(b) organizations but not for most churches). Direct delivery of GL reports by email would also be helpful, but printing to pdf and emailing is not terribly difficult. As our number of donor records and years of data have grown, I have found the software to slow down somewhat, particularly when running custom extracts of donor data.

Suzanne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exploring software for your church - consider ACS.

Reviewed on 2019/07/26

My experience with ACS has been very good. I started with them when we all had DOS computers and moved up to the windows platform. Now, we are able to have versions of the software on our phone. The system has the capability of being backed up to the cloud and does not need to be kept on your church's server. There is also an alternative for more contemporary churches called "Realm."

Pros

ACS gives you the total package in church software. It helps you efficiently mange both the "people" side of the job and the "accounting" and numbers side and will allow them to communicate with each other. There are several modules that will allow you to track different aspects of the member or prospect in the life of the church and this system does it very effectively. It has been around for a long time and they have perfected the software.

Cons

Because the software does so many functions and can be tailored to almost any church of any size or situation, it can be a little confusing. Therefore, training is vital. They excel in offering wonderful training through their company and through local trainers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Functionality Needs Upgrade

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

We used ACS for everything for several years, but now only use them for financials. We moved to a more user friendly platform for our users. This is a give and take situation the new system is more user friendly, but not as feature rich as ACS.

Pros

This software will do most anything you want with great support especially with Megachurch support. It is built for all kinds of churches and includes all the modules you would need. ACS is one of the only church management systems that include a financial module that will manage GL accounts as well as POs.

Cons

Software needs to be upgraded from the backend. Speed is an issue when running large reports and I think SQL would help this. This software is feature rich so it makes it not so user friendly sometimes and it kinda has a 90s look in several areas. NO API ACCESS.