127 reviews

Splunk Enterprise

Machine data management and analytics

4,6 /5 (127 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
127 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk is a great solution for SIEM and also for monitoring your infrastructure

Reviewed on 2020/03/03

We needed a way to monitor our internal environment and start to be more proactive with issues, so we started sending all of our logs to Splunk and we we able to get insights we did not know we needed. It is a great solution and they are constantly innovating.

Pros

Splunk makes it easy to search through various data including logs. In the past I have had to pour through logs in order to find the one lines among the 100 of thousands of lines. Splunk allows me to search through those logs in a matter of seconds vs the hours it used to take.

Cons

Most of enterprise setup is done through the command line. It would be nice to have cluster configuration (index creation) as part of the UI.

Frank M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Doing setup redundant servers without Splunk

Reviewed on 2020/12/20

Saved my a$$ many times. In a multi-server environment, if you don't have Splunk or something like it, it will be a nightmare to try and coordinate the various log files involved.

Pros

Several of our applications are distributed across multiple systems. It is the same software running on each server but doing the same job for different users. Each server would generate its own log files. When things went wrong, we used Splunk to be able to see what was going on on each server. Click a few buttons and you get two logs from two different servers listed together coordinated by time. But that leads you to discover that the issue came from a separate upstream or downstream server, then bring in those logs too . . . all coordinated by time. Don't get me wrong, the IT guys love these tools for their own enterprise reasons, but as a server stack developer, this was a resource I used OFTEN.

Cons

I never fully grokked their SQL like language. I could do basic things daily without issue. However, I often had to hit the documentation to do anything more than a simple "find this" query.

Yaniv V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great logging software

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

The software itself is great for querying logs. They just need to improve their product's stability

Pros

Splunk has excellent abilities to search and data-mine your logs.
In addition, you can build dashboards on top of aggregated data in order to save precious time each time you want to have a look at your system's performance without querying from scratch.

Cons

There are times in which the service experienced performance issues. Sometimes they were so severe which meant you're "blind" since you can't access your logs.

Irfan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best place where it store massive logs for quick view and helps us in troubleshoot...

Reviewed on 2017/10/04

A lot of the manual work.got reduced it helped a lot in getting the data from.server

Pros

The best part of it is its UI which has very responsive page and can drag couple of days logs. Best in its performance and versions are being upgraded at regular intervals and its best in delivering the outcomes as required

Christian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Log Manager To Have Fireproof Applications!

Reviewed on 2019/03/29

With Splunk your platform should be safe and easy to maintain, specially if your are constantly adding features into it thanks to its error alerts.

Pros

User friendly and an awesome dashboard to manage your logs and analyze your apps.

Cons

It can be a little expensive but it's worth.

Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Powerful and easy to administer

Reviewed on 2015/06/01

Pros

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.

Srinivas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

Splunk as a whole was a really good solution for log ingestion and search. Query language was quite simply which made it extremely easy to learn.

Pros

Splunk makes log aggregation and log search extremely easy for micro service model architecture. UI feels easy to navigate and the query language is quite simply to learn

Cons

Sometimes log ingestion takes a lot of time , depending upon the method we use to ingest the data. Enterprise version vs on site is also an interesting choice

Ajinkya K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good tool for log mining

Reviewed on 2015/03/18

Pros

Building a query is very easy. It's easy to understand the interface, graphs are good and can be easily exported. The dashboards are very useful.

Cons

I am not sure if I am using the latest version, but the version I use sometimes would expand the text area where the query is written hard to tell if the search is still on or done. Also, sometimes it takes very long for a query to finish execution. I understand it depends on the query itself and also the amount of data, but the tool aims at getting quicker result for a high volume of data.

Rakesh M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good log monitoring and reporting tool

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

Pros

The charts and visualizations that you can create in general have a good look and it has the minimum functionalities expected as a user (export, filtering, search, etc), I spent some time trying to understand the interface and functionalities but once I started to load some data and use the search I was able to see the capabilities of the product.

Cons

Splunk is easy to start going but difficult to master with so many features. The query language has many analytical features that requires some learning curve

Faraan Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for tracking performance and other stats

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Splunk is our go to when it comes to setting up alerts for our applications and getting to any deficiencies or problems before they become major

Pros

Love the ease of being able to log various performance statistics for our applications whether it’s documenting response times or any failures

Cons

Some things like figuring out the ways plunk structures it’s queries for search is difficult. Seems like documentation is not very straightforward

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk

Reviewed on 2019/02/07

The log logs if you will are very compact and the cataloging is very well done.

Pros

We use Splunk to parse and catalog our system and audit logs for propiertary software we use in house. The file sizes are compact and the search is very thorough.

Cons

The interface is somewhat clunky and a little hard to navigate.

Anuruddha R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great software to extract data from huge data set

Reviewed on 2018/12/10

Pros

Splunk can handle huge data set and grab specific information from a data set.

Cons

It is costly but it provides great value for the money.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Once You've Mastered, Hard to Get the Hang Of

Reviewed on 2019/07/09

I enjoyed it, but as a person with no coding/technology experience going into using it, I had a hard time figuring everything out.

Pros

It can do a lot once you figure things out-- you can run a really professional software on this platform and make it look nice as well.

Cons

Super hard to get the hang of for a beginner. Don't use this if you've had no experience with computer software or coding before. Also, some of the products on the "free trial version" aren't available on Splunk Enterprise, which doesn't make sense, because Splunk Enterprise is more expensive?

Jeffrey M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A good solution for monitoring and alerts.

Reviewed on 2018/09/06

The ease of use for splunk has increased productivity and reduced investigation time. Splunk is a devops and team lead life saver.!

Pros

Theres a certification path to using Splunk. Extremently easy to set up reports within minutes which add good value to the company. Reviewing data has been beneficial at both network and server level. Its made Devops lives easy in such a way that all teams can pull relevant information beneficial to them.

Cons

There are alternatives available which make Splunk a hard sell for organizations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great for aggregating systems information

Reviewed on 2017/11/16

Easily identifying trends between systems
Helps identifying problems

Pros

Makes it easy to identify trends within your environment. Once everything is aggregated it makes it easy for example, to see the knock on events of a network outage throughout the environment.

Cons

Web user interface is a bit clunky. Its very polished interface, but in many cases it's style over substance. When I'm debugging an issue I want to be able to drill down into the problem fast, and the shiny interface can be sluggish and slow you down.h

Gargi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great place to see all my data

Reviewed on 2018/09/15

Pros

It allows me to seamlessly collect and visualize all my data. Provides a greater level of insights which were not visible in custom solutions before using Splunk

Cons

Sometimes it can be overwhelming to understand all the feature sets, it is not so clearly defined, it might help to have the documentation handy before using.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simple log collection and correlation

Reviewed on 2018/06/10

Pros

Great application for log collection and correlation of the logs, easy for searching and working with. Support is more user based and support is helpful for issues.

Cons

Not the full product, due to being free. Can be confusing if you don't use the free training offered from Splunk.

Manish M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for data analysis!

Reviewed on 2015/07/01

Pros

It's a very good tool to analyze real-time data. It also generates graphs, reports, visualizations based on the data. Product is easy to use and understand. Installation is also not that difficult.

Cons

As a student I think price is high, but I think value for money is good.

Sujeet S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good tool for biddata analysis

Reviewed on 2018/12/11

We have started using Splunk for our log analysis. It has been really helpful to understand user behavior using traffic logs.

Pros

Its ability to process large chunks of data and transform the data to information of interest.

Cons

Its regex builder for field extraction needs improvement.

Gobinath G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk Monitoring

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

It is used to monitor the application and alert us for any issues. We can track security rated issue's

Pros

Splunk gives data analytics on the application usage. And it is great tool to monitor software applications

Cons

Users need to learn SPL search processing language

Stephanie N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Wonderful, but complex

Reviewed on 2017/04/19

This has been a very valuable tool for my company. It's well thought out from security to usability. I feel I'm not getting full use due to the lack of support and training resources/references available.

Pros

Beautiful design, that makes event logs fun. Intuitive design.

Cons

Repetitive adjustments, I wish you could save a default time format. Resources.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Log, everything!

Reviewed on 2018/09/06

Splunk is amazing, but you need to have : the use case, the platform, the logs and a team to use it

Pros

With Splunk, sky is the limit, this is also a disadvantage, you have too many possibilities

Cons

Very hard and complex to configure, be ready to have sleepless nights !

Nakul S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good but very expensive

Reviewed on 2017/02/01

We used Splunk as a 'google for our app logs'. It worked very well, the only problem was that our budget could afford only so much GBs of logs and every now and then we had to flush the logs.

Pros

simple and easy

Cons

costly

Tanuvir S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to learn and start working in no time

Reviewed on 2015/06/25

Pros

The product is neat and simple to use with a great customer support

Cons

Nothing much, maybe the pricing model. Other than that, I think it's a great product

Parag M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good but can be improved

Reviewed on 2015/04/01

Pros

Nice analytics UI. Nice support system. Healthy user community.

Cons

The amount of time it takes to load, performance-wise could be better