50 reviews

Automox

Cloud-based platform for patch management

4,7 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
50 reviews
Abhilash R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for mixed environments

Reviewed on 2020/03/18

I wish I had signed up for Automox earlier. It has reduced my department's overhead regarding maintaining updates quite a bit.

Pros

Where to start --
> Easy deployment
> Can be used as a basic inventory management system
> Integrates with Crowdstrike Falcon
> Windows computers no longer need to be in the network to receive updates from the server
> Can be used to replace Jamf for Macs since this handles Mac updates as well
> Other than OS updates, Automox updates many apps like Adobe, Zoom, Webex as well
> Excellent admin interface and dashboard

Cons

Not necessarily a con, but I would like a note/remark option under each computer so that I can add notes or encryption keys

Mark S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automox - Easy to implement and maintain.

Reviewed on 2021/03/24

The ease of use is what brought us to Automox. They haven't disappointed.

Pros

Very easy to implement and maintain. Automox is customizable with Grouping of devices and different types of policies. The types of policies include the standard types of patches, plus things like required software , and more detailed scripting via Worklets to do just about anything.

Cons

Not really any dislikes. They continually rollout features and improvements. These can tracked by viewing the product roadmap.

David T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cloud based patch management ideal for multi-site and remote users

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

I have seen a big improvement in patching remote systems and laptops over the last two years. The cost involved with Automox is offset by the time that would have been wasted on WSUS and the non-profit discount is a great help.

Pros

The software is simple to deploy and requires little attention once installed, but ensures excellent endpoint visibility. If you consider patching to have the same importance as endpoint security, you need a tool like this to see the patch status of your endpoints and servers.

Cons

You need to remember to delete retired endpoints from the console.

Response from Automox

Well stated, David! Thanks for your input and we agree the retired endpoints reminder is a great idea. We will add that to some other discussions around our roadmap.

Daniel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and Stable Patching Solution

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Great, zero complaints. Support has been excelent, the one time I needed to contact them (which was due to my lack on knowledge rather than an actual issue.)

Pros

Easy UI to Learn, Easy to setup Patching Policies, Easy Install Process, Fast and Knowledgeable Support, Fast UI Load Times.

Cons

Possibly too simple for companies that want more hands-on control with patching.

Response from Automox

Thank you for the great feedback, Daniel! We're happy to hear you're having a great experience and see the value of the hands-off approach. As for more hands-on control, we have some features on our roadmap to address this!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automox - SaaS Patch Management for IT teams

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

Due the fact that we have globally multiple locations and are workforce is also remote, Automox solve many issues which we had before to keep our computers up to date and patch against the latest security threats. We had tried few products and none of them was so simple to use, deploy and get to business ion very short period of time for our IT team.

Pros

Simplicity of deployment, not requirement of long training to get use to it, cross support for Windows/Max and Linux. Ability to patch system that are remote and not physically in the office.

Cons

In beginning there were not many features and no SSO support -- this has been quickly added into the product in very short period of time.

Response from Automox

Thanks for noticing our new features, we appreciate it! We have more coming, stay tuned!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in market OS agnostic cloud native patch/vulnerability remediation solution.

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Fully solved our need for patching/vulnerability management. Full stop.

Pros

Automox's laser focus on patching/vulnerability remediation makes beats multifunction competitors who try to do too much and fail in multiple areas. If you're looking for patching stop and try Automox now.

Cons

Reporting has made huge improvements in the last year but still has room for improvement. They're also adding 3rd party software but currently don't have wide coverage.

Darrell Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy cloud management for updates and patches for OS and software

Reviewed on 2017/09/27

Gives us an overview of computer updates and problem computers

Pros

Easy to deploy with group policy and has an easy to read dashboard that makes it simple to spot problem computers. Supports multiple organizations without having to use different logins

Cons

Takes time to learn the new interface after major updates, does not have an obvious alert when you run out of endpoint licences

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rocks

Reviewed on 2019/06/21

Windows has been horrible this year with their patches, automox has been wonderful.

Pros

Ease of set up, dashboard is simple and shows what I want to see.

Cons

Problems with Windows updates, there is more manual restarts than I care for.

Response from Automox

We are happy to hear you had an easy setup and can get the information you need efficiently! Yes, Windows updates can be challenging but know that we are working diligently to optimize how our system manages those updates.

Josh W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect patching solution for our mixed environment

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Without Automox I would have no way of knowing for sure that our devices are patched. We do not have a Mac management tool or local Active Directory. Automox has been the perfect solution for our needs.

Pros

The ease of use. I love the ability to see everything at a glance in the portal, and it is so easy to apply policies and settings.

Cons

I would prefer to have the ability to search on additional properties of the connected devices. Currently the search is limited to built-in filters.

Response from Automox

Thank you for the feedback, Josh! We're so happy you're loving Automox. We'll keep your idea about searching in mind as we continue to make enhancements this year.

Mike S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Product

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

I was in search of something cloud based to replace WSUS. Its worked really great so far

Pros

Cloud Based, browser based, the reporting function

Cons

I have not come across something I dont like so far

Response from Automox

Thank you, Mike!

Matthias K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Expensive, but cheaper than remediating a zero day

Reviewed on 2020/02/05

We were having issues with our existing patch management software, the jump to automox was easy and only took a few hours to deploy and setup policies. It is basically set it and forget it, just pay attention to your failures and remediate as needed (very few require more than a "retry")

Pros

It just works!
Policy management is super easy
Patching is hardly a thought anymore
Additional scripting is a neat "lite rmm"

Cons

Lacks true multi-tenancy
UI can get a little buggy with lots of groups
Email alerts are not super detailed

Response from Automox

Glad to hear you're liking Automox. We do have plans to improve functionality for MSPs around multi-tenancy. You can check out our roadmap here: https://portal.productboard.com/automox/1-automox-product-portal/tabs/2-under-consideration

Brent B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Patch Management Application

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Pros

The software is simple to configure and use. It just works without intervention.

Cons

Inability to tell if a user is logged in to a target machine.

Response from Automox

Thanks for the feedback, Brent! We have flagged your idea for improvement internally.

Tudor R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product

Reviewed on 2021/03/30

This software makes patching and deployment of software so easy. Before we were relying on GPOs and WSUS, which became difficult to manage with the sudden change to working remotely. With Automox, we can update remote workstations, deploy software, and scripts with no headaches. I'm also impressed at how fast it is. And it's saved us a lot of time.

Pros

Great UI, easy setup, very fast deployment

Cons

I do not have any complaints as of yet.

Derek S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product for maintaining software updates on all of your managed endpoints.

Reviewed on 2017/09/27

Pros

I like that this platform allows you to easily see which systems are not in compliance and remedy them.

Cons

The only feature I would like to see added is the ability to instantly initiate the updates installation on a specific endpoint, or either have the updates queued for the installation as soon as the endpoint becomes connected to Automox. For example, laptops that are not usually online during the scheduled update window.

Laurence C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product, with some exciting new features in the pipeline

Reviewed on 2017/09/27

Better automation of patching

Pros

Clean UI, good value for money, prompt technical support. Windows support is very good. Easy to set up and get agents reporting and patches deploying.

Cons

There seem to be some issues with Ubuntu security patches, around the severity of them and whether they are applied or not

Mike M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automox

Reviewed on 2020/05/03

Outstanding. Product has done exactly what is advertised (patch management) at a fair price. Support has also been great for the few times I had needed to reach out. They stayed on top of the ticket until it was resolved.

Pros

As a very small department with hundreds of computers with various software packages installed, I needed a way to top-down see the patch cadence. Automox was quick to deploy and quick to start getting results that I could take action on.

Cons

The core patch anagement features are great, but since there's an agent there may be some additional capability that could be added: Send message to user, shutdown computer, uninstall software, etc.

Response from Automox

Thanks for the review Mike! We do actually have the ability to do the things you listed in the Cons section using the Worklets feature. Check out the Worklets category on our community where we have Worklets to send messages, shut down computers and remove unwanted software. If you need help getting a Worklet written to accomplish a task, please reach out to us and we're happy to help.

Courtney K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Tickets will go unanswered

Reviewed on 2021/01/11

The tool was great at first but when we tried to patch devices we kept having errors. The help desk takes weeks to respond and they can't seem to get issues resolved. There's too much back and forth and issues not getting fixed.

Pros

The dashboard is nice and allows a user to see what devices need to be patched.

Cons

The Help desk is hard to get in touch with. The help desk takes a long time to respond to issues. They need to manage a better help desk. Tickets go unresolved for weeks or months and devices can't be patched.

Manoj M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple software that continues to get better

Reviewed on 2018/09/23

The software is simple and rollout is seamless, the console ensures we know whats going on for updates on our inhouse and cloud servers, this relieves a lot of manual work which we used to do on the boxs to keep them upto speed with windows updates.

Pros

Constant upgrades, good service and clear communication.

Cons

Lack of formal inventory planning, they are getting there but I dont think its a priority yet, however at the print point automox is a great value.

George T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product. Easy to use and deploy. Phenomenal Customer Service.

Reviewed on 2018/01/25

Automated patch management for my end-users. Peace of mind for my team and I knowing that we do not need to manual patch systems.

Pros

Organization deployment is quick and painless. Current UI is lightyears ahead of the previous version which makes navigation easy and logical.

Cons

Small UI quirks here and there. Scheduling is not as exact as I would like. All of which is on their road map.

Jeff T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automox Rocks!

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

Pros

Like everything...easy to use, deploy and budget friendly. GREAT customer service!

Cons

Nothing so far :) I've enjoyed using it and hove referred others who were looking for a solid patching solution.

Response from Automox

Thanks for the referrals, Jeff! We're always glad to hear your experience with our Support team is excellent.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great cloud based Patch Management solution for local and remote user devices.

Reviewed on 2018/03/06

Pros

I run an IT department that has multiple US and International locations, patch and update management is always a chore across multiple OS platforms.
AutoMox solves this issue for us and gives us great reporting for security, compliance and support needs.

AutoMox has also helped us greatly with new MAC OS X deployments and software compatibility issues that require updates.

Ease of use. Very easy to get up and running in minutes.

I am very grateful for the stability and lack of bugs within the system.

Cons

Lack of SSO, SAML and MFA adoption. With this application having the ability to touch all systems from your company that are added, a better security model for account access is required. A login password only does not cut it these days.

3rd party software list needs growth.

Norman D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automox WSUS

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

Ease of use , reporting on the spot patch updates and management

Pros

This software really automates a function that can be very task oriented.

Cons

Automox not only automates Microsoft patches but other software and helps keep a very good track of my inventory

Response from Automox

Thank you, Norman. We are happy to hear your experience is going very well!

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Could be waaaaay better

Reviewed on 2019/06/08

Pros

It's easy to setup. Relatively affordable to other options. The UI is great! But that might be it's downfall as well..

Cons

I wish there was an ability to get more optional info on the Dashboard. The ability to do mass actions is very hidden and not straight forward. Also, I dislike that fact that I have to create a policy to make mass computers perform an action. There is no "select and execute" feature.

Response from Automox

Thank you for the feedback, David!

Yash S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool!!!

Reviewed on 2019/06/19

Pros

Just one click and patching for updates is done.

Cons

so far so good and nothing to dislike about it.

Response from Automox

Thank you for your feedback, Yash! It's great to hear your experience is going very well!

Alan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Set it and forget it!

Reviewed on 2021/04/13

10/10 would roll this product out everytime someone needs to do automated patch management for small/medium businesses.

Pros

Worklets feature is extreme useful for running scripts against your assets. This saved me big time with rolling out upgrades of AV software that were not exactly Big Sur ready. Automox is still rapidly building and evolving their product to meet the needs of the community and progress is very transparent. If they decided to go into the MDM space for mac management, that would double their value proposition.

Cons

The scheduling is still relatively naive, it will reboot your computer during a zoom because there's no "benefit of the doubt" if you miss their pop-up notifications. There's no way to do bandwidth capping for downloads. There doesn't seem to be any uninstall prevention.