Showing 82 reviews of 54

Reprise License Manager

License management system for software publishers & admins

4,9 /5 (54 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 82 reviews of 54
Paul A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Licensing Management

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Integration was relatively straight forward and on the whole definitely less effort than rolling your own solution. Costs overall put it slightly in favour on the build vs buy decision. It is not inexpensive but in most cases will cost less than your own solution unless you need something extremely basic.

Pros

Hosted activation option is great for avoiding the pain of setting up your own activation service and managing uptime and other issues.

Lots of available options for local licensing, license servers, activation and other configurations.

Documentation is extensive, though so extensive that it can be a little tricky to find your way around it, usually the information is there though.

Top notch support team, extremely responsive to questions and issues.

Cons

No true usage based licensing system (e.g., for billing users by the hour). Possible in a way with various work around techniques but complex.

Interface in web tools is somewhat "old world" at this stage, however perfectly functional. There have been some recent updates improving this however.

Tim H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy with Reprise

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

I got up and running on Reprise very quickly. Once it has been implemented in my software, I rarely need to do any coding with Reprise. It just works.

Pros

Reprise is easy to configure and deploy. It is widely used in the industry. All of my customers have existing installations of Reprise on their license servers, so using Reprise is easy for them.

Cons

My code is a python code. I have to write my own C++ / DLL extensions to access Reprise. It's not hard to do. I would just like this functionality out of the box.

I would like Reprise to provide workshops on how to use the basic and advanced features. Ideally these would be free, but I would be willing to pay a moderate price for this.

Ken V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Value For The Money

Reviewed on 2020/11/06

Pros

RLM was fairly easy to setup and deploy in a relatively short time-frame.

Cons

It possessed limited reporting capabilities when we first deployed it, but they have enhanced them over time.

Suresh J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Customer support

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Great

Pros

RLM has really a great support team. The product is good too and very easy to use.

Cons

Two separate databases for Activation Pro and RLM Cloud. If a customer wants node locked and RLM cloud, you need to enter customer details in two places.

James C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reprise RLM Suits our Needs

Reviewed on 2019/10/16

Pros

Very flexible licensing model.
Easy to use API.
Very responsive technical support.

Cons

. .

Keith P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Code level license integration made easy

Reviewed on 2016/02/18

RLM is an effective tool which programmers and sales groups can use to eliminate proprietary product licensing and license management. Building a product is challenging enough without having to factor in the cost of sustaining custom licensing code and license generation software.

RLM does all that and more. Need support for network licensing? RML does it. Need support for licensing renewal and expiration? Look to RLM.

Cons? You have to spend a bit of time understanding licensing to realize the complexity of the task required to turn you own licensing solution. The same is true when you want to integrate RLM. You have to decide what features you need and then later branch out to use many of their more advanced offerings. The learning curve on concepts like license sharing, or detached licenses can be high at first. Once the concepts are understood the value is readily apparent.

Great product, solid well thought offering, responsive support group.

Andrew P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product

Reviewed on 2016/02/18

We use RLM in our desktop products and have been very happy with it. It didn't take us long to get it up and running (though we went a step or two further and built a nice C++ wrapper on it -- you certainly don't need to do that if you don't want to) and whenever we need support, Reprise is quick & prompt with the help (usually situations involving odd customer networking setups when they're trying to use a floating license server).

Perhaps most important, we've found RLM to be of the category of 'fire and forget'. We implemented it in our software, verified it, and have had to do almost nothing since to keep it up & running. Every so often we'll upgrade to a newer version, which means compiling some binaries and putting them in the proper place so our in-house licensing system (which sits on top of RLM) can do its thing, but that's basically a couple of hours of work We upgrade to the latest version every couple of years, so this is pretty minimal.

Jim R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent, flexible licensing solution backed by exceptional customer support

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

We have been a customer of Reprise's for many years and have found their solution to be technically excellent. As a new company, they delivered a robust product from the onset and have incrementally continued to improve.

Some of the pros are:
- supports many licensing models--trials, stand alone, network and mixtures.
- flexible binding to various host/system ids
- a fare pricing model to fit smaller businesses
- very quick to respond to technical support and provide solutions
- easy to use management and troubleshooting tools

Cons are minimal:
- not as plug-and-play as some solutions (e.g., requires compilation and more coding to integrate)
- .NET wrappers are fairly basic and non-object oriented

I would recommend RLM without hesitation.

Douglas C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible Software for Multiple Licensing Needs

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

The RLM software can handle numerous licensing needs, including locking a product to a specific machine, limiting the amount of time a product can be used, and if desired setting up a license server.

Keep in mind that this is software intended to be used by other software engineers. So it's not a product like Microsoft Word or Quicken where you just install it and it's ready to be used. It takes a little work, including changing your own code to use it, but once all of that's done, it's pretty robust.

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Strongly Recommend RLM

Reviewed on 2016/02/18

We switch to RLM several years ago and have been quite happy. The evaluation, conversion of our licensing models (to the RLM paradigm) and code was quite straightforward. Representing all licensing policy in the customer's license file is a powerful advantage over other licensing packages We have found the RLM software (both standalone and networked license server) to be very reliable and capable of meeting our needs. Reprise support is a real bonus: very responsive, detailed and professional.

Elizabeth H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reprise License Manager (RLM) combined with Activation Pro is our software license tool of...

Reviewed on 2016/02/18

We find RLM to be everything that we require in an enterprise-class license management technology. Implementing RLM in our products allows Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure to deliver an intuitive customer experience and the flexibility to fit our changing licensing models and business needs.

Santosh P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Licensing FluidNexus with RLM

Reviewed on 2016/02/20

We are using RLM for licensing our flagship CFD automation product "FluidNexus" for around 3+ years. For a small company like us, it helps a lot due to it's pretty simple integration with the code. Very important is our end users have not submitted any issues with RLM for last 3 years.
Santosh

Jeff I.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

RLM with Fortran

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

I was initially skeptical of RLM because their examples for use with Fortran were described as "unsupported." However, their customer support personnel were very effective in helping me integrate RLM with my company's product, and RLM does exactly what we need a license manager to do.

Christian S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use license module, fantastic support.

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

The team at reprise are very responsive and helpful - their customer service and support are fantastic. We were up and running very quickly with RLM - It just worked as advertised with no fuss. Highly recommend.

Dr. hussein A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Just what I needed

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

RLM licensing system provided just the license management capabilities I need, at a reasonable price. Linking it with my C++ application was easy and did not consume lots of time.

Indrajit J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent

Reviewed on 2016/02/19

We are using RLM for more than 2 years now. We are very happy with the features, ease of use, integration and last but not the least, the support.

Jeremy H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible Licensing Solution

Reviewed on 2016/02/22

We have been using RLM since 2008 and are very happy with this product and the support from Reprise Software.

Michelle S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Implementing RLM Start to Finish for multiple Software packages

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Once we got everything setup, implemented and tested within our software solutions, the licensing manager is now very easy to use, manage and maintain. Setup was the hard part. Better documentation might make it easier for new clients. Now that we are there, Reprise License Manager pretty much runs effortlessly in the background. Our next steps are to implement our own hosted activation site so that we can unplug from the hosted activation server, when time comes available.

Pros

Allowed us to quickly implement a licensing and activation solution by leveraging activation pro for the interim until our team could invest in implementing our own activation server to host locally.

Cons

My role was to write the license activation, revoke, validation code in order to integrate RLM into our multiple software solutions. Additionally, I designed the product and licensing models for the client support team (who would then generate and deliver activation keys to clients).
Though documentation and sample code does exist, I found that I had to constantly switch between different documentation sets in order to find valid answers. Even in doing that, I still found it difficult to get the answers I needed, in order to determine what configuration settings we really needed to override for our company specific rlm server. Additionally, we struggled with understanding how to deal with proxy servers and what types of licensing models we really needed.
I will say that that the support team has been wonderful with answering all of our questions and helping us to get up and running quickly.

Peter S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing software licensing solution

Reviewed on 2020/11/09

Pros

Simple C API that is easy to integrate in any software product on any (RLM supported) platform.
Things just work on our clients side.
Well documented.
Great support.

Cons

Cannot think of anything negative to say about RLM and the people we interfaced with in their support team.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RLM Does what we want without any bloat and at reasonable cost

Reviewed on 2020/11/06

Very good experience throughout.

Pros

Easy integration, all the features we want.

Cons

There was nothing in particular that we didn't like.

Francois D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Licensing made comfortable

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Pros

Easy to setup, administer and integrate within our software suites.

Cons

For the use we have, we don't see any Cons.

Lonnie C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible, adaptable and transparent

Reviewed on 2016/02/18

We've been using Reprise for our products' licensing for more than 6 years now. Their solution client-side is in the form of a library, and it is very transparent what it does and how it works. It is in a form that is highly flexible, so that when we have requirements or processes that are unique for us, it is possible to adapt. The transparency has also allowed us to develop much of our own back-office processes and automation, from license generation to activation, to salesforce integration, around the Reprise toolset. They have a diverse set of licensing options, only a subset of which we make use of, but we are able to offer our customers floating (site) licenses as well as individual licenses.
I've interacted with Bob many times, from advice on how to approach issues or client-specific problems, to addressing bugs, to implementation problems on my end. He's the expert, and I like being able to get right to the deep technical details immediately.
Because the client-side is essentially a library, much of the onus for the customer experience falls on us -- how our product's UI presents licensing interactions to the user. This is less turn-key than some other options, but as I said, it gives us total flexibility. I often feel that we could do a better job on our end. Where there are areas where ERs on their end can help, I know I have a receptive ear, and have seen several of my requests implemented over the years.

Erwin D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Software licensing for the Photonics Design Automation Software

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

Pros

Flexible company - good technical support

Cons

It is difficult to read and understand the documentation