66 reviews

DNSFilter

Cloud-based cybersecurity and network monitoring platform

4,8 /5 (66 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
66 reviews
Gregg B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great filter for MSPs to offer

Reviewed on 2021/03/30

We have been using the service since day one and it has been great to see how far it has come over the years. Truly a great service.

Pros

With one panel we can admin all of our clients and protect the users from many different threats.

Cons

With the addition of the client on the workstations giving detailed reporting, there is not much else we could want other than maybe even more detailed reporting.

Alexander R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As straightforward as it gets when it comes to HTTPS filtering and haven't had any complaints...

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

It is far far simpler than private HTTPS decryption firewalls hosted on site.

Pros

Fast to setup
Fast to update rule sets
Filtering is comprehensive
Pricing is very fair
Dns Servers are reliable
Instructions are clear and simple

Cons

Not as much a con as an suggestion but if it could detect/exclude your ddns provider from the rule set it would sure help deployment speed especially in smaller environments where you find equipment which do not always allow ddns to be setup in the device itself or static IP's . I know its not really meant for that type of environment but it is an potential market I am exploring and the product is well suited to it. If you could release something like the small DUC client from No-IP that would be great.

Response from DNSFilter

Hi Alexander,

Thanks for your feedback! We so already support/exclude a large list of dynamic DNS providers, which you can find here: https://help.dnsfilter.com/article/9-dynamic-dns-setup

If you use one not on the list, please open a support ticket and we'll see what we can do!

Christopher W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The product has been solid and works perfect for our needs so far.

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Malware protection, end user surfing auditing, and general organization protection.

Pros

Ease of use and the fact that there is an agent that allows me to create filters per user. This is very useful.

Cons

There is no way to submit requests to a "wish list" in the panel or in general. If possible I would like a button in the panel where I could submit ideas for improvements. I would also like to be able to add my own RBL servers to the filtering.

Response from DNSFilter

Hey Christopher -- Thanks for your feedback! Actually we have always had a feedback function on the site where you can suggest, and upvote features. If you click your image in the upper right, there's a 'Feature Request' dropdown. You can also visit it directly here: https://app.dnsfilter.com/feature-request

Christopher W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall software is great. It allows for easy management over multiple sites and groups within...

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Pros

Ease of setup and configuration. I was able to get sites up and running in no time and with the templating option it makes it that much quicker.

Cons

If anything, web interface is a little clunky when trying to manage from a tablet or phone. There are times I'm not near a workstation to make minor quick adjustments and using a phone would be great.

Dustin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exactly the content filtering system we've wanted for a long time!

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

A solution to our content filtering woes. All other solutions were convoluted or expensive. This comes from a guy that held frequent video calls with OpenDNS engineers helping them design and beta test their early content filtering system even before it was re-branded Umbrella..

Pros

Ease of use. Reliability. Performance. Cost. Stellar support team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

AD integration is still a need. Would also like to see a master view map that shows stats from all locations with the bubbles.

Mark P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good function for good value

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up, easy to monitor. Very simple to use in multiple locations. Good support. Minimal performance impact.

Cons

The online reporting sometimes has issues when switching between time periods. It appears to get confused on the time period.

Ike C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great service and affordable

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

url filtering

Pros

It helps us block websites by name or classification which is great. It also allows us to setup multiple locations.

Cons

The reporting is a little light. Would like to see detailed reporting especially for those trying to circumvent the filter.

William H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A DNS solution worth paying for.

Reviewed on 2019/03/02

So far I have enjoyed DNS filter to the fullest. They offer everything that I have been looking for as a company.

Pros

This DNS Solutions is diffrent then other old school providers.
With their AI technology they can instantly calagorize website. Which is what others lack. They offer the option to enable safe search and they are a very transparent company that is willing to adapt and work with their customers.

Cons

I would not be telling the truth if I would claim there is something is company is doing wrong. Simply no cons.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Collabera

Reviewed on 2019/03/11

Excellent and quick solution with granual report and also protect both on premise and off premise.

Pros

complete solution good for quick security solution

Cons

need little more granurality with site integration, its very less perview

Nate B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

The pros of this service is the price for what you get.

Cons

No cons so far... No content filtering system is perfect but something is better than nothing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple & Easy

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

Pros

Found the DNSFilter was easy to configure for our client base.

Cons

Support Knowledge base could do with improvement.

Paul L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

Pros

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites.
Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure. You can filter by categories, or create black/white lists individual sites. More importantly, unlike with a local appliance, by installing a DNSFilter client, users remain protected when they are roaming.
Unlike a lot of companies DNSFilter has not lost their customer focus as they have grown. They constantly reach out to users with webinars to explain new features, and actively solicit (and act on) customer feedback. Billing is straightforward, and customer service (the very few times I needed to contact them) has been excellent and fast.

Cons

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Anthony J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Went from usage to user pricing... Not impressed

Reviewed on 2019/10/09

Pros

It's easy to use. Cloud DNS filtering that was cheaper than an appliance? Great!

Cons

They changed the pricing model from usage based (Which they were so proud of) to user based. We have lots of users and many volunteers with little usage. This pricing strategy invalidates any reason to use this company over the competition.

Levon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Layers of Security

Reviewed on 2019/02/18

We use DNSFilter at our clients sites as part of a standard "Border" security set. It is used along side Hardware Web Filtering, Malware/AV scanning, etc. It is great to add as an additional layer, as well as having the client software on roaming laptops help us protect these devices when they are on the go!

Pros

Ease of integrating into customer sites.

Cons

At this point, there is nothing I do not like.

John P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DNSFilter Review

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

As well as my comment in the Cons section, it is likely to early to actually tell the full business benefits however it's pretty obvious that by reducing the ability to waste time browsing the likes of Facebook and streaming media the benefits will be reflected in bandwidth consumption and work output.

Pros

1. Simplicity to configure.
2. Ability to monitor individual use through agents rather than Active Directory.
3. Ability to set schedules for policies including free time for surfing during lunch which appeases the staff somewhat from the shock of having filtering introduced.
4. Attractive GUI.
5. Superb value for money.
6. The additional features such as crypto mining protection, bot protection, etc are very welcome.

Cons

I really don't have any criticisms for this product. It does so much more than other cloud based DNS products on the market, and that I tested, that within a day of installing it for a 14 day trial I had already decided to buy this for my company.

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great, awesome service, does what it describes

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Security and reporting

Pros

Its quite easy to use and the dev team has a great plan for the future. They are actively listening to their customers and I personally hope to increase my 'Features and Functionality' rating to 5 in the near future!

Cons

Some of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult. Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).

Nicolas F.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Alternative To "Package Selling" Cisco Umbrella :)!

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

The fact that i can protect users connecting to our free wifi system at a short price is a real benefit !

Pros

Adding Networks is easy ! Dashboard is responsive ! A lot of informations ! Great pricing ! And Whitelabelling Options making it as yours ! Glad i found them !

Cons

Look like More and more features will come and dnsfilter will be even better in the future !
DNS over https is here ! but DNSSEC Please !

Carlos C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DNSFilter is a great service!

Reviewed on 2018/09/20

Our Agency was up for renewal with our Barracuda WCF, and decided to take a look at other options. Signed up for the free trial and tested out the service at our main office. It was great and very ease to deploy even with creating additional firewall rules to ensure our users could not cheat the system. In addition we were able to protect all of our location (We have over 20 small remote locations) at a fraction of the price, and don't have to worry about hardware failure.

Pros

The service was very easy and quick to setup. No issues with deployment.

Cons

I have not run into any issues as of yet. I really like service so far.

Andy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective, affordable, and easy to setup

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Pros

The best thing about this software is the value. The same service as other big name providers, but at a fraction of the cost. The pricing based on usage is fair and beats the per user model. We've been very happy with it.

Cons

I haven't noticed any issues with this service. It works well and the billing is very straightforward.

Kevin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DNSFilter a great option to OpenDNS

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

Pros

How easy it is to setup and use. The portal is easy to use, straight forward, and it has the flexibility I need for my environment.

Cons

At this time I do not see any cons. So far the support has been very helpful and very knowledgeable about the product when I contacted them.

Dennis S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

free trial and great success

Reviewed on 2019/02/25

Pros

easy to load, run and config, really easy

Cons

noting so far, works great, blocks bot and more

Josh L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent alternative to openDNS

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Pros

The price is extremely fair and the "interstitial filtering" is something that nobody else is offering.

Cons

Web interface is still in development, but they are growing quickly. Some of the integrations with active directory are not yet finished.

Timothy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent value. Love the extra security and content filtering for our business.

Reviewed on 2019/04/05

Pros

Love the extra level of security by blocking malware and threats. Content filtering was easy to configure.

Cons

Nothing of any real significance or impact.

Jax W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Whitelabling

Reviewed on 2019/08/24

We got going very quickly and the filter works very well. I'm surprised at a lot of the extra features we got over our previous filter service.

Pros

It was incredibly easy to set up from scratch, setting up the account, getting the technical side going, and branding for our first client.

Cons

There are a couple places to log in which have separate accounts, but that's a minor issue.

Shaun A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Some companies make being a tech easy - this is one of them!

Reviewed on 2019/02/08

Additional layer of security for my clients.

Pros

Soooo easy to setup and use.
Quick to develop and release new features.
The price!

Cons

I have not found anything to dislike....