29 reviews
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,7
100% recommended this app
29 reviews
Yuri M.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Unitrends its a enterprise feature backup solution with ease of use and quick implementation

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

We love the product because it give us less time to restore in case of the emergency and also the learning curve is quick. The reports are also very informative so we can know exactly what is happening with the backups and make sure we can restore in case we needed.

Pros

I like the fact that it integrates very easy with a vmware virtual enviroment. Before Unitrends we had other backup solution but it did not give us the flexibility that we needed. With Unitrends we can stablish different policies base on the criticallity of the application or important to the business. We have different enviroments and we don't have to use other products. The restore is fast and if you have a secondary site, you can have disaster recovery scenarios were within minutes you will have the service up and running.

Cons

Well, I think that there is not a but thing about the Unitrends software. Maybe when you are scaling the solution, you will have to keep growing with more appliance and I think it is not that good for a small company size

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lee F.
Industry: Law Enforcement
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A Good Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

It is a solid offering at a much better price than some rather well-known alternatives. Service is superb.

Pros

I like the tie to my storage, and how easy it backs up and restores medium to small size vm's. Support has been great.

Cons

Oracle appears to be the red headed stepchild. No Oracle RAC support. It can struggle with large(7+TB) data sets, but then what doesn't?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

David M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Descent backup software, nothing exceptional

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Unitrends for about a year now. It does what it is supposed and handles everything I need it to but it doesn't really shine at anything. The interface is not very intuitive.

Pros

All necessary features. Cost effective

Cons

Interface and tools are not intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

simple to configure and get started

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Very good experience as the vendor staff go overboard to ensure that we are comfortable operating the product and are just a phone call away. They call you almost once every day to follow up with you if there are any issues.

Pros

The simplicity involved in configuring the product and getting started is the best part. Backing up and restoring can't be simpler than this and has been really easy for us with this product. If one is looking for a simple back up solution at a very affordable price, this product is the one to go for.

Cons

Although, the solution is simple per-se, it takes a little bit of time to get used to the desktop interfaces in the product - there is a little bit of learning as with other similar products in terms of getting used to the steps. Also, at times, machines with bigger CPU's took much longer to back up than normal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kevin K.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Very reliable for our Backups

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Consistent with our servers getting backed up and very reliable.

Pros

We used to have a different system and it seemed like it worked only half the time but now with the Unitrends Backup System I don't have to worry about losing data at our locations across the globe.

Cons

Going from the old legacy GUI to the new one it is definitely taking time to get used to it. They renamed a lot of things. Wouldn't have been so bad if I originally started with the new interface.

Response from Unitrends

Thanks Kevin. Glad the new UI is working for you. We put LOTS of time into making it as easy to use as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great software to backup your company data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/10
Review Source: Capterra

Saved business from a ransomware and prevented a major disaster

Pros

Used with VmWare vcenter. Schedule, deploy, backup and protect systems every 15 minutes or however long you like.

Cons

Has to be used on licensed VMware. Cannot be used on free licensed. There have been some issues where unitrends cannot fix and have to call vmware to fix

Response from Unitrends

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Unitrends Backup was able to save your business from ransomware and prevent a major disaster. If you ever had a question or suggestions you could reach me at [email protected]

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Review of Unitrends Backup Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, the product has been reliable. The one concern I have is, as we grow larger, will this product still fit our needs.

Pros

The product is easy to use and, backs up our vm environment as planned.

Cons

There are items lacking that would be nice to have. For instance, with vm's that are using the agent, there is not an easy way to restore it without creating a "bare metal" vm first.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew M.

The best backup solution we have had.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

A dependable, feature rich, cost effective backup solution.

Pros

Unitrends does an excellent job of backing up our servers. We are virtualized and only use Windows Server so I can't speak to it's function with Linux or other OS. Our school district is small and we currently have 8 virtual servers on the back of 3 physical servers. We have the Recovery-604. The deduplication works extremely well and we are able to retain backups for many months! We started using this new appliance after upgrading 4 months ago and we still are under 30% of its capacity. We have 4TB backup capacity and backup 650GB uncompressed data. It has a range of features and allows you to schedule backups and backup types. It also allows for restoration down to the file level. It backs up reliably and restores quickly. I have never had an issue with a restore in the last 4 years I have used Unitrends. The new device also allows for external archiving.

Cons

The price is a little high but the service and support is great so that more than makes up for it!!!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best backup I ever managed

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use, fast to set up and great customer support. Easy to manage, all you need is to check your email and make sure everything is green.

Cons

Expensive solution that needs to be properly sized, otherwise you will see yourself running out of space and looking for an upgrade. Make sure you know your environment and your data growth rate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Julia N.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great easy to manage product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Great support when needed and easy to navigate through. Love that we can also backup to a cold copy on external hard drives.

Pros

We love that it's very user friendly and easy to navigate the interfaces.

Cons

The ability to have two appliances but one interface would be beneficial. Annoying to have to pop between the two we have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Greg L.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Reliable, functional and easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Needed to replace two old backup solutions, one that handled virtual, the other handled physical servers. Unitrends allowed us to consolidate our backups to one solution that has been supremely reliable

Pros

The reliability of the backups and how easy any issues have been to resolve. I also appreciate that the appliances are self-contained. No extra servers or overhead to worry about

Cons

Some issues do require contacting Unitrends support. Good part is that their support is the best I've experienced. Prompt responses and quick and easy resolutions

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris C.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Love this backup product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

Had to recover VM's to a certain point. Full system restore. Saved alot of lost data.

Pros

If you need your data backed up and retained, this product is great!
Fully backs up VM with a full and incremental. Need to restore a VM back to a date in time, its flawless. Their support is great at helping regarding issues. If you just need a file recovered from 30 days ago, this product will get it!

Cons

VM backups only work on Vcenter. If you have the free version of VMware... they may or may not be able to run. I do not back up windows environment but it looked a bit .... tricky.

Response from Unitrends

thx Chris. We're glad you're happy with Unitrends Enterprise Backup.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Eric T.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 51-200 Employees

We have used Unitrends for the past 3 years as our primary backup solution. It has been top notch.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

The biggest benefit was a true all-in-one backup solution for our entire environment and the ability to archive backups as well.

Pros

Ease of administration is a huge advantage to using unitrends. It has ran with very few hiccups for the past three years and when there has been an issue their support was right on it to help us.

Cons

Would like to have a better option to restore exchange data besides kroll ontrack. Beyond that very little would be considered a con.

Response from Unitrends

Glad your happy Eric. I'll pass along your idea.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alejandro P.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great for virtual Environment

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation is very easy, the solution work out of the box without problem. To schedule a backup is very easy and you can do it with a couple of click, and also the restoration.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use you can find every option in a simple screen. You don't have to go to different places to set up a backup

Cons

Work great for our virtual machines, but if you plan to use it a central backup solution maybe you have to find other solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Steven S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Backup Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a solution for backing up our environment consisting of both physical and virtual assets. Unitrends has allowed us to manage both through a single management interface.

Pros

Flexibility of licensing models, ability to protect both physical and virtual systems.

Cons

I've had some intermittent issues with the agent software on physical machines.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shaun N.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great product, but...

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

So far this product has completed two thirds of our disaster recovery plan (backup appliance and cloud), at an amazing low cost.

Pros

Fantastic product for the money. What you get (appliance and cloud option) for the money is outstanding. We couldn't believe it when we were first reaching out to get quotes from various vendors.
Including Cloud storage with unlimited upload and downloads - unheard of. The only time we would have to pay (from my understanding) is if we had to have the data mounted by them in the cloud in order to over come a catastrophe.

Cons

Using the product is a little cumbersome - especially for restores.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Blake G.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Don’t even know it’s there

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

The company and it service is their one. Responsive and effortless.

Pros

Unitrends does a great job managing and automating our processes. Users in the office don’t even know it is there, the disruption to daily work is zero.

Cons

The cost is high but the reward for such a great product that enables your staff to continue to work without disruption leaves for a healthy bottom line after.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great BAckup Solution

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

My company was in need of a new backup solution between our two sites and Unitrends was an easy transition to get everything backed up.

Pros

Managing my backups is super easy. From backing up new assets to doing a recovery it is very simple.

Cons

Some servers took a bit of configuring to get setup but the support at Unitrends was a great help to get it done right.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rik T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Unitrends Enterprise Backup

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

Backup and archiving of data and machines.

Pros

Consistent performance and very responsive customer support.

Cons

The easy interface went away when they went to v10.0.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Modern, Easy to Use Tools with Knowledgeable Vendor

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We moved from an on-premise tape-based backup service to Unitrends cloud-based service and it has been awesome.

Cons

It took quite a while to get all of the data backed up from our datacenter to their cloud. We looked at having them deliver a device to ship to them, but it was priced high.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marc L.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

UEB is great backup solution

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is the great Unitrends backup solution, but it's just the software piece, which is a good thing. You can bring your own hardware and deploy it as a virtual machine in your datacenter. It can backup practically anything and has good support.

Cons

The only bad part really is the cost. Priced out of reach for a lot of the SMB market. Other than that it is a very good product.

Response from Unitrends

HI Marc. Glad you're happy working with UEB. We have a new product for SMBs called VM Backup Essentials (vBE) that would be a great fit for small businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lisa W.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Unitrends Enterprise Backup - A good solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The reliability of backups once configured.

Cons

Can be challenging to troubleshoot problems when backups fail.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Unitrends Backup Appliance 640

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use the product in two locations and what I like the most is that it has very good reporting on what backups have been completed and the state of the backup. In addition, I love the seamless ability it gives to backup virtual machines. Moreover other features I love the most is the replica of VMs to be on standby if the primary VM target is offline or not available.

Cons

The least I like about the product is the lack of visibility as to when disk space is low. It should have an alert sent by email of a report of some kind as to the disk storage use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kelly H.
Industry: Design
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Unitrends Backup

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Seamless background backup to device and to cloud. Excellent support.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to set up jobs without assistance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Vince B.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Software interface is simple to read and is very responsive.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The interface on the software looks like it was well thought out. The software integrates with vsphere easily and backups/restores are easy to manage.

Cons

The main issue I can think of for the software is that the errors are not always informative. You have to contact support because the errors are sometimes ambiguous

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10