Unitrends Backup Reviews

Unitrends Backup

Data backup, recovery and protection solution

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(35)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
4,6/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

35 Reviews

Yuri
Yuri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Unitrends its a enterprise feature backup solution with ease of use and quick implementation

Reviewed on 2020/01/15

We love the product because it give us less time to restore in case of the emergency and also the...

We love the product because it give us less time to restore in case of the emergency and also the learning curve is quick. The reports are also very informative so we can know exactly what is happening with the backups and make sure we can restore in case we needed.

Pros

I like the fact that it integrates very easy with a vmware virtual enviroment. Before Unitrends we had other backup solution but it did not give us the flexibility that we needed. With Unitrends we can stablish different policies base on the criticallity of the application or important to the business. We have different enviroments and we don't have to use other products. The restore is fast and if you have a secondary site, you can have disaster recovery scenarios were within minutes you will have the service up and running.

Cons

Well, I think that there is not a but thing about the Unitrends software. Maybe when you are scaling the solution, you will have to keep growing with more appliance and I think it is not that good for a small company size

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Unitrends Backup is your safe solution to keep data safe.

Reviewed on 2023/03/09

One of the great ways to keep data safe in a place or a cloud location with no limitation.

One of the great ways to keep data safe in a place or a cloud location with no limitation.

Pros

People at customer care know exactly how to help you. They are very talented, they know what is this about, you feel they are smiling while they are performing support and they save you a lot of time.

Cons

The interface needs a little improvement in relation to colors, design of objects; therefore it can be more user friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

We faced issues with customer support therefore we decided to switch.

Switched From

Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

It does not have all the features that we are looking for. The price is a bit higher as well.
Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Very slow and very poor compression

Reviewed on 2021/11/10

As we only have a relatively small setup I used the free edition available through Spiceworks (now...

As we only have a relatively small setup I used the free edition available through Spiceworks (now withdrawn). I had a problem initially getting it configured to use a NAS as the backup destination but despite it being a free edition their support resolved the issue and I was then able to use it reasonably reliably for several years.

Occasionally it would simply stop backing up for no apparent reason but never emailed to say the backup failed; it just stopped working altogether so sometimes it took several days before we realised the daily backup emails had stopped and we could then go in and reset the Unitrends VM which brought it back to life.

The upgrades were generally easy to do, just click an upgrade link and wait until it finished, however the last time I did this it completely corrupted the VM making it unbootable. We then installed the latest version from scratch but again hit the prblem of it not backing up to the NAS. Unfortunately this time their support were very unhelpful refusing to give any support or advice unless I paid for a ridiculously expensive annual support contract.

That caused us to look at competing products and we settled on Nakivo which is MUCH faster to do the full and incremental backups as well as having vastly superior compression so we can keep more backup history. I've not found anything that I used on Unitrends that's not easier and quicker to do with Nakivo and I paid less than the annual support cost for Unitrends! No brainer :-)

Pros

I used Unitrends for several years and found it reasonably reliable after an initial problem with configuration that was solved by their helpdesk. It was quite easy to restore whole VMs or individual files using the virtual mount option.

Cons

An overly complicated interface that was not at all intuitive.
It does not like backing up to NAS systems.
Very poor support.

Lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Good Solution

Reviewed on 2020/01/10

It is a solid offering at a much better price than some rather well-known alternatives. Service is...

It is a solid offering at a much better price than some rather well-known alternatives. Service is superb.

Pros

I like the tie to my storage, and how easy it backs up and restores medium to small size vm's. Support has been great.

Cons

Oracle appears to be the red headed stepchild. No Oracle RAC support. It can struggle with large(7+TB) data sets, but then what doesn't?

Alternatives Considered

CrashPlan and Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

Cost was huge, but Commvault support had also fallen off of the map.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Cost was our largest concern followed by features/capabilities.
Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable, functional and easy

Reviewed on 2020/01/10

Needed to replace two old backup solutions, one that handled virtual, the other handled physical...

Needed to replace two old backup solutions, one that handled virtual, the other handled physical servers. Unitrends allowed us to consolidate our backups to one solution that has been supremely reliable

Pros

The reliability of the backups and how easy any issues have been to resolve. I also appreciate that the appliances are self-contained. No extra servers or overhead to worry about

Cons

Some issues do require contacting Unitrends support. Good part is that their support is the best I've experienced. Prompt responses and quick and easy resolutions

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

simple to configure and get started

Reviewed on 2019/03/08

Very good experience as the vendor staff go overboard to ensure that we are comfortable operating...

Very good experience as the vendor staff go overboard to ensure that we are comfortable operating the product and are just a phone call away. They call you almost once every day to follow up with you if there are any issues.

Pros

The simplicity involved in configuring the product and getting started is the best part. Backing up and restoring can't be simpler than this and has been really easy for us with this product. If one is looking for a simple back up solution at a very affordable price, this product is the one to go for.

Cons

Although, the solution is simple per-se, it takes a little bit of time to get used to the desktop interfaces in the product - there is a little bit of learning as with other similar products in terms of getting used to the steps. Also, at times, machines with bigger CPU's took much longer to back up than normal.

Kevin
Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very reliable for our Backups

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Consistent with our servers getting backed up and very reliable.

Consistent with our servers getting backed up and very reliable.

Pros

We used to have a different system and it seemed like it worked only half the time but now with the Unitrends Backup System I don't have to worry about losing data at our locations across the globe.

Cons

Going from the old legacy GUI to the new one it is definitely taking time to get used to it. They renamed a lot of things. Wouldn't have been so bad if I originally started with the new interface.

Response from Kaseya

Thanks Kevin. Glad the new UI is working for you. We put LOTS of time into making it as easy to use as possible.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to backup your company data

Reviewed on 2018/03/10

Saved business from a ransomware and prevented a major disaster

Saved business from a ransomware and prevented a major disaster

Pros

Used with VmWare vcenter. Schedule, deploy, backup and protect systems every 15 minutes or however long you like.

Cons

Has to be used on licensed VMware. Cannot be used on free licensed. There have been some issues where unitrends cannot fix and have to call vmware to fix

Response from Kaseya

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Unitrends Backup was able to save your business from ransomware and prevent a major disaster. If you ever had a question or suggestions you could reach me at [email protected]

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best backup solution we have had.

Reviewed on 2017/11/15

A dependable, feature rich, cost effective backup solution.

A dependable, feature rich, cost effective backup solution.

Pros

Unitrends does an excellent job of backing up our servers. We are virtualized and only use Windows Server so I can't speak to it's function with Linux or other OS. Our school district is small and we currently have 8 virtual servers on the back of 3 physical servers. We have the Recovery-604. The deduplication works extremely well and we are able to retain backups for many months! We started using this new appliance after upgrading 4 months ago and we still are under 30% of its capacity. We have 4TB backup capacity and backup 650GB uncompressed data. It has a range of features and allows you to schedule backups and backup types. It also allows for restoration down to the file level. It backs up reliably and restores quickly. I have never had an issue with a restore in the last 4 years I have used Unitrends. The new device also allows for external archiving.

Cons

The price is a little high but the service and support is great so that more than makes up for it!!!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best backup I ever managed

Reviewed on 2018/01/20

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use, fast to set up and great customer support. Easy to manage, all you need is to check your email and make sure everything is green.

Cons

Expensive solution that needs to be properly sized, otherwise you will see yourself running out of space and looking for an upgrade. Make sure you know your environment and your data growth rate.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love this backup product

Reviewed on 2017/09/07

Had to recover VM's to a certain point. Full system restore. Saved alot of lost data.

Had to recover VM's to a certain point. Full system restore. Saved alot of lost data.

Pros

If you need your data backed up and retained, this product is great!
Fully backs up VM with a full and incremental. Need to restore a VM back to a date in time, its flawless. Their support is great at helping regarding issues. If you just need a file recovered from 30 days ago, this product will get it!

Cons

VM backups only work on Vcenter. If you have the free version of VMware... they may or may not be able to run. I do not back up windows environment but it looked a bit .... tricky.

Response from Kaseya

thx Chris. We're glad you're happy with Unitrends Enterprise Backup.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We have used Unitrends for the past 3 years as our primary backup solution. It has been top...

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

The biggest benefit was a true all-in-one backup solution for our entire environment and the...

The biggest benefit was a true all-in-one backup solution for our entire environment and the ability to archive backups as well.

Pros

Ease of administration is a huge advantage to using unitrends. It has ran with very few hiccups for the past three years and when there has been an issue their support was right on it to help us.

Cons

Would like to have a better option to restore exchange data besides kroll ontrack. Beyond that very little would be considered a con.

Response from Kaseya

Glad your happy Eric. I'll pass along your idea.

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Unitrends Backup Product

Reviewed on 2020/01/10

Overall, the product has been reliable. The one concern I have is, as we grow larger, will this...

Overall, the product has been reliable. The one concern I have is, as we grow larger, will this product still fit our needs.

Pros

The product is easy to use and, backs up our vm environment as planned.

Cons

There are items lacking that would be nice to have. For instance, with vm's that are using the agent, there is not an easy way to restore it without creating a "bare metal" vm first.

Mayur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best data backup software

Reviewed on 2022/11/07

Pros

It help me in preventing data loss and precise data backup of my firm.

Cons

Till now I am not found any disadvantages.

Julia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great easy to manage product

Reviewed on 2020/04/16

Great support when needed and easy to navigate through. Love that we can also backup to a cold copy...

Great support when needed and easy to navigate through. Love that we can also backup to a cold copy on external hard drives.

Pros

We love that it's very user friendly and easy to navigate the interfaces.

Cons

The ability to have two appliances but one interface would be beneficial. Annoying to have to pop between the two we have.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Backup Product

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

We needed a solution for backing up our environment consisting of both physical and virtual assets....

We needed a solution for backing up our environment consisting of both physical and virtual assets. Unitrends has allowed us to manage both through a single management interface.

Pros

Flexibility of licensing models, ability to protect both physical and virtual systems.

Cons

I've had some intermittent issues with the agent software on physical machines.

Shaun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product, but...

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

So far this product has completed two thirds of our disaster recovery plan (backup appliance and...

So far this product has completed two thirds of our disaster recovery plan (backup appliance and cloud), at an amazing low cost.

Pros

Fantastic product for the money. What you get (appliance and cloud option) for the money is outstanding. We couldn't believe it when we were first reaching out to get quotes from various vendors.
Including Cloud storage with unlimited upload and downloads - unheard of. The only time we would have to pay (from my understanding) is if we had to have the data mounted by them in the cloud in order to over come a catastrophe.

Cons

Using the product is a little cumbersome - especially for restores.

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for virtual Environment

Reviewed on 2020/01/10

The implementation is very easy, the solution work out of the box without problem. To schedule a...

The implementation is very easy, the solution work out of the box without problem. To schedule a backup is very easy and you can do it with a couple of click, and also the restoration.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use you can find every option in a simple screen. You don't have to go to different places to set up a backup

Cons

Work great for our virtual machines, but if you plan to use it a central backup solution maybe you have to find other solution.

Blake
Blake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Don’t even know it’s there

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

The company and it service is their one. Responsive and effortless.

The company and it service is their one. Responsive and effortless.

Pros

Unitrends does a great job managing and automating our processes. Users in the office don’t even know it is there, the disruption to daily work is zero.

Cons

The cost is high but the reward for such a great product that enables your staff to continue to work without disruption leaves for a healthy bottom line after.

Bernard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unitrends Backup

Reviewed on 2023/10/16

Pros

Disaster recovery and business continuity

Cons

Pricing would the only negative I would have.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great BAckup Solution

Reviewed on 2019/02/15

My company was in need of a new backup solution between our two sites and Unitrends was an easy...

My company was in need of a new backup solution between our two sites and Unitrends was an easy transition to get everything backed up.

Pros

Managing my backups is super easy. From backing up new assets to doing a recovery it is very simple.

Cons

Some servers took a bit of configuring to get setup but the support at Unitrends was a great help to get it done right.

Rik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Unitrends Enterprise Backup

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

Backup and archiving of data and machines.

Backup and archiving of data and machines.

Pros

Consistent performance and very responsive customer support.

Cons

The easy interface went away when they went to v10.0.

Arjun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effortless Backup and Secure Data Storage software.

Reviewed on 2022/11/11

Pros

I loved the backup scheduling and recovery about this software. It also provides secure data storage and encryption facility. Unitrends Backup also has backup log feature and alerts facility.

Cons

Still now I have not come accross any type of disadvantages of the software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Modern, Easy to Use Tools with Knowledgeable Vendor

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

We moved from an on-premise tape-based backup service to Unitrends cloud-based service and it has been awesome.

Cons

It took quite a while to get all of the data backed up from our datacenter to their cloud. We looked at having them deliver a device to ship to them, but it was priced high.

Marc
Marc
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

UEB is great backup solution

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Pros

This is the great Unitrends backup solution, but it's just the software piece, which is a good thing. You can bring your own hardware and deploy it as a virtual machine in your datacenter. It can backup practically anything and has good support.

Cons

The only bad part really is the cost. Priced out of reach for a lot of the SMB market. Other than that it is a very good product.

Response from Kaseya

HI Marc. Glad you're happy working with UEB. We have a new product for SMBs called VM Backup Essentials (vBE) that would be a great fit for small businesses.