Showing 125 reviews of 103

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops

Virtual desktop infrastructure for application delivery

4,3 /5 (103 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
Showing 125 reviews of 103
Stefanos E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Citrix VAD review

Reviewed on 2020/09/03

Has been a very productive and good learning experience to work with Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops. I have deployed various versions and editions of the product since XenApp 6+ both in lab/POC as well as in production environments.

Pros

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops is the leader is user desktop virtualization and desktop as a service (daas) services. It provides the ability for true hybrid architectures when combing on-prem with Citrix Cloud (cloud.com).

Cons

Installation is not supported on the Linux operating system. Would love to see Citrix expand their architecture to Linux as a host operating system for Citrix VAD.

Kaleb G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing software for your business needs.

Reviewed on 2018/11/05

This software is great for my line of work and allows all employees to access the our network on our own computer with individual logins. I really enjoy the functions and the capabilities of this software and I believe you will as well. The customer support is amazing and it's definitely worth the money.

Pros

Citrix has quite a few benefits to it. I use this system daily and it provides a wide range of access to computers in your office but also remotely. You can add it to one device and then utilize it on multiple devices. It also allows for you to have controlled user access depending who you have on your staff. Each user has a unique ID and password and they can also set up their own layout that displays once you login.

Cons

Depending on your size of your company you may experience the network going down, freezing up or sometimes it just quits.

Sezgin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall good, needs some improvement

Reviewed on 2019/05/15

Pros

It is an easy application to use.
It has a good interface.
You can reach your workstation/hyper computer from your laptop wherever you are.
Lastly, sign-in is quite quick.

Cons

If you are using 2 screens switching moving the Citrix from one screen to the other one can be a problem.
The resolution may change to very low. What you need to do is to first reduce the Citrix from full screen and then move it to the other screen.

Joseph G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

XenDesktop gets it done

Reviewed on 2018/11/23

Issues with our previous virtualization software often crashed sessions. This was a big issue when working in our hospital/clinical setting. Often times sessions locked or crashed when a provider was attempting to provide care. Since we already were utilizing other Citrix products, it made sense for us to roll out XenDesktop as our VDI resource. Once we made the switch to XenDesktop, issues with our VDI environment dropped tremendously.

Pros

Really easy to launch/troubleshoot Virtual Desktop Session via XenDesktop. We were using another virtualization software that often locked or crashed virtual desktop sessions. Once we made the switch to XenDesktop, the calls to our support center dropped regarding locked or disconnected sessions

Cons

For our environment, Citrix has to be downloaded and utilized in order to launch a virtual session. Our Citrix client host tons of other company applications, which is not needed just for a virtual desktop.

Mauricio A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing performance, allows virtualizing OS and Apps. Top for VDI deployments.

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

-Reduce TCO for IT department.
-App virtualization helps my company to track weekly or monthly sales results and cash flow.

Pros

-It's perfect for business and educations environments, when hardware requirements change every day you can add more memory or space with a few clicks.
-Access anywhere anytime, Citrix Receiver app works on almost every mobile device (tablets, cellphones, etc)
-Companies with remote employees can protect his data using VDI environments. Lawyer's buffet uses this product against government threats to illegally obtain clients data.
-Logs and Reports help IT departments to track issues fast and efficient.
-IT departments support for different hypervisors environments, such as XenServer, Hyper-V, and VMware ESXi.

Cons

-Not available for MAC OS, because of apple restrictions.
-Salesperson sometimes forgets hardware, software and services requirements. Need an experienced partner to develop VDI projects and then deploy it.
-Security products it´s a must-have, sometimes users forget that the cloud it is also vulnerable.

Cynthia R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Citrix

Reviewed on 2019/02/03

Pros

I've utilized several of the Citrix platforms and I have to say I enjoy this platform most of all. Citrix allows for the use of Windows in a virtual environment. It is a must have for our agents daily work and it provides security and cohesiveness within the organization that spans across different locations and scopes of expertise. That, perhaps for me, is the best feature of Citrix. Having the ability for each member of the team to use the same software, access the same programs regardless of their personal OS or location is why we use it. Having another level of security and "control" for lack of a better word is also key in using a virtual environment that is essential to our company.

Cons

There is not alot of cons to be said about Citrix. Of all the various platforms and programs that our company use, Citrix is the most used, most reliable and most stable. My review of Citrix remains positive.

James N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

XenDesktop is an amazing time saver

Reviewed on 2017/10/12

XenDesktop is a huge time saver and can make you look like a hero to the executive staff.
We saved money overall by saving massive amounts of time involved with provisioning users.

Pros

This product will increase your productivity, it allows you to have the same desktop experience on whatever device you choose to use. Executives love this product as they always seem to have new technology whether actually increases their productivity or not. If your going to use VDI there is only one clear choice.

Cons

some users may experience bad animation, powerpoint and video when resources are not properly allocated.

Krissy G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for hosting, remote access, etc.!

Reviewed on 2017/08/08

We can easily host our client application and allow them access remotely on a large scale. It allows all of our users (internal and external) to log in and use their system.

Pros

We use Xendesktop for our hosting platform for our clients. It allows us to run multiple servers/applications from one central location and allow multiple users access to it at once. It is easy to use, quick, great connection, and best of all makes our client lives easier

Cons

There are intermittent connection issues and duplicate account sessions that need to be monitored. Nothing awful

Daniel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good solution in large environments.

Reviewed on 2018/01/22

Works well for deploying hole desktop sessions or specific applications.

Pros

Citrix Xendesktop is a very reliable and feature rich software solution for medium to large environments.
Very compatible with different hardware and environments.
Can produce desktop sessions with very good performance.

Cons

This solution is not really suited for small deployments.
Needs lots of administration.
Needs specific training or skill set to administer.

Michael P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Citrix Xendesktop is good

Reviewed on 2019/06/14

XenDesktop is used for a variety of things in the workplace. It is very simple to use. There are a few crashes here and there, but I'm sure they're working that out. Overall, it's a good program that could be implemented in a variety of business situations.

Pros

Easy to use
No gimmicks, gets to the point
Runs on any windows device

Cons

Doesn't look the prettiest, but does what it needs to
A few crashes, especially with a label print queue

Jose S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

allows you to increase the flexibility of your servers by the way they deliver virtualized...

Reviewed on 2018/05/27

better response time to platform failures and applications.

Pros

It is a very intuitive tool, since it fulfills the standard of virtualization, which is to allow an application to be executed from a device that is not installed. It allows controlling the applications and virtual machines installed in the datacenter. It allows controlling the applications and virtual machines installed in the datacenter.

Virtualization is done by sessions. the virtualization of sessions through XenApp allows any user of any operating system to access any application delivered by IT

Cons

It requires a high infrastructure cost to start large projects, you must acquire servers that support the load to which they will be exposed.
You must have a clear idea from the beginning of the administration of technological resources that are going to be spent at the moment.
There is not enough documentation in forums to solve problems.

Kevin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Another piece of quality software from Citrix

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

As a whole, it's great stuff. It runs flawlessly for most users on most days.

Pros

It's very smooth, and runs cleanly when you are using just applications or full virtual desktops on multiple monitors.

Cons

Local devices don't always register correctly within the virtual environment, which can become frustrating for users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Work From Anywhere

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

Pros

I like the flexability of devices that connect to the Citrix Reciever. I love having my desktop accessable from anywhere. It's a real standard of work that doen't change if I'm at work, on the road, or at home.

Cons

I have not had some of the issues others report with the Xen Desktop application. I think it comes down to who did your installation and how well the enviorment is maintained.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

I think XenDesktop is great software, very compatible with any environment

Pros

XenDesktop is supported on multiple devices and OS

Cons

Unfortunately, Citrix Workspace App is not supporting naturally SAML.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Remote Work

Reviewed on 2018/12/01

Pros

I frequently work remotely and Citrix makes it very easy for me to connect back to the network and get my work done.

Cons

It can take a little getting used to if you didn't have a good training session.

Lovesh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful software

Reviewed on 2018/11/02

Pros

Very helpful in business requirements.
Can access important files from distance.
Must have for offshoring work.

Cons

Causes system slow.
Not easily available.
Need good internet bandwidth.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Companies are paying Citrix to debug their software

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Fortunately my setup is not as complex so my issues are minimal but my peers in the industry have no shortage of horror stories for me to endure.

Pros

There’s not much to like about this software. It’s a nightmare to troubleshoot since there is no error handling. The product’s documentation is always behind. Citrix rebranded all of their products in hopes that perception would change. It’s just the same crap with a new name.

Cons

Insanely expensive (look at Ericom instead. Best bang for your buck and better designed product overall). Support is not so good. Everything Citrix tries to sell you, the NetScaler will be shoved down your throat.

Emre Ö.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Handy tool to access network computers

Reviewed on 2019/06/12

I use this product to access a Workstation when my laptop is not strong enough to open a cad file. It is a fast and easy interface. Through this product I don't need to carry a heavy computer on my backpack.

Pros

It makes it possible to use a strong computer by only carrying a small laptop.

Cons

I mostly use Vismockup and my setting are always resetted when I log out and log in again.

Britt T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mostly Good Days

Reviewed on 2018/03/21

Pros

We use this every day in my office, they do updates frequently requiring everyone to sign out, but they are quick to fix things when needed.

Cons

Because the updates are so frequent, it can interrupt our days and throw us off track a bit, but as mentioned, they are quick to fix the issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Citrix Usage For Virtual Machine Connection

Reviewed on 2019/05/27

We are using Citrix to connect on virtual machine to use CATIA. Slow in speed during connection process. Only provide to connect related PC. Not very usable.

Pros

Provides distant connection between computers.

Cons

Very slow while working on the virtual machine.

Douaa G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

Pros

It has very good end user experience, secure and fast connection

Cons

it can freeze when using heavy softwares.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Never had much luck with this desktop application. Always functioned slowly and had a lot of...

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Pros

In concept, the product is a great idea. Give end users virtual workspace not tied to a physical desktop.

Cons

In actuality, it doesn't work all that well. We had performance issues and had to open many tickets.

Kyle J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Citrix Review

Reviewed on 2018/09/14

Pros

I like how easy it is to sign in and download this software

Cons

I do not understand why i have to down load it and it cant be a web app

Josh J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Citrix created the concept of published applications

Reviewed on 2020/12/04

Very effective in delivering results to our clients.

Pros

Citrix is the gold standard for centralized application and desktop delivery to clients, regardless of client platform or deployment configuration.

Cons

Very high cost, requires a large infrastructure investment. High learning curve if you want to be a citrix engineer.