Showing 91 reviews of 78

VNC Connect

Simple, secure, ready-to-use remote access software

4,5 /5 (78 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
Showing 91 reviews of 78
Sebastian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better than Teamviewer

Reviewed on 2019/05/02

We're a cosmetical company with some of our sales team is on the road, they need to print their documents locally. We considered that the easiest way is to use VNC connect because it makes the printing possible for a very low price. The customer support is excellent, very fast replying times.

Pros

We use it to access our local PCs and occasionally print documents. We used Teamviewer before but the subscription rates are high compared with RealVNC which officer for about 1/10th of the price the same services. Our non IT pro employee is connecting and using his PC easily. The printing works

Cons

There are no cons that I can imagine regarding of RealVNC, it does it job.

Fernando D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very handy!

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

It improves my ability to help customers when I'm working at my company's helpdesk because sometimes the user cannot explain exactly what is happening, so when you connect to their computer and see what they are doing, you can get the whole picture. It is also handy when I need help from the IT team, to activate a product or solve any computer problem without the need to go in site. Now that we are living in this pandemic hard time, any remote task is even more valuable.

Pros

I like it because it is very easy to use, you don't need much configuration to get it working. It is easy to install and get it running. You can use it to help your customers when they need to share their screens and show you a problem which is hard to explain, but easy to show.

Cons

Sometimes a firewall rule or a VPN is blocking your customer to share a connection with you, making it harder to get in touch and solve any problem. Maybe a wizard to help the user understand in plain english what is happening and then tell you could be better.

Milenko M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

VNC Connect review

Reviewed on 2020/12/03

It was good until at some point I had to start using another Software, which proved to be better in every way back in the beginning of my career.

Pros

I used to check Customers PC's with this Software and it was good and reliable, I used to run it via custom made bat file ( by my organization ), which proved especially good when I had to stabilize new replacement unit, which had only pre requisites installed on it, after Windows was installed.

Cons

VNC lacks some handy possibilities and reliability in remote connection, in comparison to the other remote connection Software's, which are available for free on their respective official sites ( full versions ).

Shawn c. R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest way to manage multiple PCs on a network

Reviewed on 2018/12/28

Pros

Free for home use and super easy to set up. Allows me to control all of my computers from one place without having to move from room to room for troubleshooting, installing applications, etc.

Cons

It can sometimes be difficult to get the software set up to work remotely (through a firewall/router).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An Computer Support Technician's Best Friend

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

Having used VNC for over 10 years, I don't know how we'd do our job without it.

Pros

Our help desk manages a large campus with many buildings. VNC allows us to easily connect to our users' desktop and address their issues remotely. We also often support users that are travelling, and are outside of our corporate network. VNC Connect does not require that the user has a VPN connection before we can gain access. We also appreciate the viewer apps available for mobile devices.

Cons

The drop-down toolbar is anchored to the top-center of the screen. There are times when it would be helpful to be able to move it to an alternate location, like you can in RDP sessions.

Fernando ulises G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

daily used to conect with a Pc located on different area on my work for a simple detail avoid...

Reviewed on 2018/03/28

to help o real time to a users, also avoid to walk to the station and the program can be used with 1 o more windows at same time ..

Pros

its easy to set up, and the history of made conections appear listed below making more easy work with it ..

Cons

i dont have some bad found on it yet, i think is a perfect tool on local areas network to make some help to an user ..

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real VNC is a rock solid VNC tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

Pros

Real VNC is easy to setup and configure for doing secure VNC connections. This program is updated often so you know it is staying secure.

Cons

I don't really have any complaints about this program. It works as intended.

Vishwas V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mandatory software if you are a using multiple VMs

Reviewed on 2019/09/24

Pros

This software enables you to interact with your Linux machines with a friendly UI.
Features I like the most:
* it is very is easy to do resolution setting in VNC.
* it is very is easy to start VNC on your Linux machine (just type "vncserver" in your cmd).

Cons

The only thing I hate about it is suddenly crashing and sometimes mouse/keyboard stop responding in the VNC.

Cassandra B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease of use.

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

Pros

VNC has been fantastic for remotely resolving issues for our users. It has an easy setup process. It is also very easy to use and maneuver.

Cons

Sometimes swapping between screens when we remote into a machine with dual screens is tedious.

Anthony N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Remote software that just works

Reviewed on 2019/08/11

Pros

Unlike some remote helpdesk solutions which charge for the endpoints, VNC charges for the admin accounts in a tiered approach which means that you can have as many admin accounts as you need. i.e. 5 admins and 25 endpoints.

It works from both Mac and PC.

Cons

It doesn't integrate with any password management software

Damon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well for static screens

Reviewed on 2020/11/20

The tool ultimately was not a good solution for remote testing audio/video applications.

Pros

I evaluated VNC Connect as a remote access tool for my engineering organization. I like the ease of configuration, and it works well with computers on the same network. I find it most useful for demonstrations or to share a screen for debugging.

Cons

The connection is encrypted and performance suffers as a result. The tool is not useful for remote testing video or audio applications, as the performance is not fast enough to be viewable.

Gabriel G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Operate remotely easily and easily

Reviewed on 2018/05/29

I have been able to support other computers from the comfort of my workplace.

Pros

It allows you to access from one computer to another using the internet connection, to solve
any inconvenience that your co-workers have on your computer.

Cons

I have not had problems with the application but the only thing that is essential to be connected to an internet network, I fully recommend this application.

Brian D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great remote software

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

If you got a really small business the cost by year it's just perfect !It's support a lot of platform, this software it's a no brainer if you want something to take control of device.

Cons

I wish it's support file transfer in the free version, some of the best feature are only in the entreprise version

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful for remote desktop use.

Reviewed on 2019/07/19

Pros

Used to help less technology-inclined friends and employees. When a particular coworker living in another country was having issues with freeing up space on their Hard Drive I got them to install this software. I was then able to solve the problem for them by using selective sync on Dropbox to delete a bunch of folders.

Cons

It’s not really a con - but now when you connect there is a big “This user has connected to VNC” alert - so it’s not discrete.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great simple software for PC viewing/sharing computer workspaces

Reviewed on 2018/08/27

Pros

How easy it is to setup computer sharing. Everything is very simple which really helps with this kind of software. The mobile feature can be a little cumbersome but it's very useful on the go.

Cons

The organization of the workspaces you create can be hard to sort through. If there was the ability to have folders and such it would be very useful.

John R.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Free remote support tool

Reviewed on 2018/05/02

Pros

great for connecting to local users computers for remote support
Easy to connect and image quality adjustment to prioritize connection stability

Cons

Do not see an option to allow file transfers between computers. Could be that is does not have the feature

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product

Reviewed on 2018/09/08

Pros

The instructions to setup a VNC connection is clear and lucid

Cons

Sometimes even when the bandwidth is set lower the connection tends to be slow.

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's Good, but not that Good

Reviewed on 2020/02/12

Pros

That it was cross platform, you could use it from both PC and Mac.

Cons

Too many options. We primarily used the tool as a remote interface to check on our machines. Connectivity was intermittent, unreliable.

Rodrigo T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for intranet

Reviewed on 2020/05/07

We stopped actively using Real VNC for years, due to cloud limitations, but about 1-2 year ago we started using it again from the Raspberry PI and some Virtual Mac OS services. For use on the intranet it remains as good as ever: you access the remote computer, manipulate data, screens and functions, quick and easy, which makes it unnecessary to have a monitor connected to the development boards. I currently use TeamViewer, but since I found RealVNC's cloud plans I am seriously considering switching to RealVNC cloud for the next renewal, next year.

Pros

The diversity of VNC servers, the fact that it comes integrated in equipment or operating systems, for example Raspberry PI OS. The fact that you can do many things virtually without spending, or spending zero, depending on what you want to do. The fact that you have a serious business-level tool for when you need it. This brings flexibility in use.

Cons

In general, VNC is not transparent to the firewall, requiring port release and NAT route configuration. In Real VNC you have the option of a cloud plan, which circumvents this limitation, but it is still a little expensive for a micro company with eventual use.

Mudssar A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Remote access for PCs Via VNC

Reviewed on 2020/05/31

Remotely access for PCs do save travelling and incoporate work from home, it saves costs as well for travelling and office expenditures.
We set a sperate system to boot a PC via mobile, it was not pre builtin in it.
it is good for IT users to support whereas we also used for our outdoor job peopls aswell from home support to avoid data sharing and other security matters.
Finally it is meeting our expectation with some our additional work.

Pros

VNC connects other computers to perform a task remotely, they can be connected on lan via a local server and also can be configured on internet using VNC's server, So viewer and service both are seprate.
Access between computers can be made with and with out passwors, so its a completely secured to prevent unauthorized access, using OS login crednetials security feature is also optional and secured.
File sharing,chatting, key stroke notification sounds good.
On viewer multi users can be accessed,moniotered and also can be worked on them accordingly.

Cons

High internet speed is required for smooothly work, as now a days dual security check is used in most softwares so it is not available in VNC.
In viewer devices shoud be saved by MAC or IP to access, which is currently not available in VNC, Configuration for boot over LAN is not available in VNC.

David O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid Alternative to TeamViewer

Reviewed on 2021/02/01

So far the experience has been good. Our employees have been able to work remotely during the pandemic.

Pros

VNC Connect is a reliable way to access your computer remotely. While the program is solid in it's own right, we were drawn to this product because of its affordability compared to TeamViewer.

Cons

If we had a criticism, I was that the program is slightly challenging for the the staff to use without receiving guidance from someone with experience.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gets the job done, better alternatives are around.

Reviewed on 2020/03/17

Pros

VNC is barebones but does the basics well. If all you're needing is a quick way to manage remote machines visually, you're good to go with VNC.
Having an iOS app is where VNC shines. Being able to remotely control machines all from an iPhone or iPad on the go is a life saver in so many areas.

Cons

The password/account system is clunky and frustrating. Too many passwords are needed when trying to access machines. If I'm logged into my VNC account, it should be assumed I'm authorised to access my Team machines.
The controls available to iPad when using remote machines appear robust but often get in the way, over complicate situations or flat out don't work (Constant sending of the Shift key being held down for instance).
VNC could use a fileviewer as Parallels Access employs if I just need to navigate files and deal with them, rather than going through the remote machine's OS/UI.