SketchUp

4,5 (1 016)
3D design tools for AEC professionals and interior designers

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(1 016)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,4/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

1016 Reviews

Fayeba
Fayeba
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It make 3D Arts simple and easy

Reviewed on 2021/11/24

As of now SketchUp is the best programming for 3D displaying which is furnished with heaps of...

As of now SketchUp is the best programming for 3D displaying which is furnished with heaps of highlights which are inaccessible in elective programming. Also, requiring low execution while working extremely smooth is extraordinary. A few entanglements will happen assuming you do complex plans yet for general purposes this is awesome. Can be utilized even by a novice without confronting issues.

Pros

I expected to plan a few structures and utilized SketchUp to make a 3D model. Before I utilized SketchUp I thought 3D demonstrating was hard however with SketchUp, model was done effectively and had the option to encounter how it would take care of development. What's more, with 3D stockroom include I had the option to make exceptionally sensible reproduction making the plan interaction very more straightforward. Indeed, even as a novice SketchUp was straightforward and powerful instrument. Got many devices to help clients in demonstrating. Best component is in SketchUp is stroll around choice which will give genuine reproduction how the last plan will be. Additionally SketchUp got extraordinary modules which will set aside both time and cash of an originator. With 3D stockroom and expansion distribution center a client can assemble any plan utilizing next to no work. What makes SketchUp the best 3D plan programming is not normal for any option is capacity to run as expected in any PC. Most CAD programming require a top of the line PCs with superior execution framework yet SketchUp turns out great in any average PC.

Cons

Utilizing SketchUp through program was slacking and extremely more slow contrasted and introduced rendition. Furthermore, I confronted issues with holes in dividers and floors in the event that you interfere with it multiple times. Likewise SketchUp need to move up to make complex plans on the grounds that as of now it's difficult to do as such.

Anees
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SketchUp - Unveil your imagination easily

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

Overall :
==========
If you are using SketchUp for 3d models and building plan it’s a great...

Overall :
==========
If you are using SketchUp for 3d models and building plan it’s a great software, and i find this too much user friendly and as easy as MS paint.
But if u want to use this software for drawing sectional details and working drawings, u need to be an expert in getting output.

Pros

1) The biggest pro i like is less hardware demand i.e. You don’t need a heavy machine to use this software, a general configuration laptop does the work quite effectively unlike other softwares. You can import the finalized design in lumion and get a realistic render in no time and.
2) One good advantage of using SketchUp is the u can easily pull push the walls and apply the desired changes instantly and things gets finalized very fast. Whatever you want to imagine, you can apply instantly from painting to cladding to railing designs and wallpapers.
3) Being a designer, the biggest hurdle is the changes client wants, but in SketchUp the visualization and applying changes is super easy, you can sort it out in a meeting or two. It made around 30-40 percent increase in client understanding and project approval.
4) Another plus point i realized is the real time working screen is no less than a simple render other softwares have. And if you have time and know how to use SketchUp, you don’t need an interior designer for some scale projects as the library itself suggest you some great ideas.

Cons

1) The rendering part and you need to install different plugins for different works.
2) The library is great but limited, if u want to attach a luxury couch in the drawing room you will not have many great options.
3) Attaching a component to a certain place is bit time consuming as it takes at least 2 angles to see whether the component is fixed accurately or still have some space left here or there.

Steph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

SketchUp used to be great

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

After 15 years, we are going with another product. I was willing to work with SketchUp to get my...

After 15 years, we are going with another product. I was willing to work with SketchUp to get my issues fixed but their lack of customer support and customer service has left me missing multiple deadlines and they do not care. That is a deal breaker.

Pros

It used to be my end all be all for project design and deliverables.

Cons

Zero customer service
Zero customer support
Program is no longer a good fit for Mac O/S - crashes, lags, freezes

Alternatives Considered

Revit, AutoCAD and ARCHICAD

Reasons for Switching to SketchUp

SketchUp is getting the boot.
Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Metaverse in a glance

Reviewed on 2023/12/11

Sketcup allow us to simplify and speed uòp the creation and realization of AR/VR solution within...

Sketcup allow us to simplify and speed uòp the creation and realization of AR/VR solution within the company thanks to the huge amount of 3D content and the simplicigy in the usage of the solution they provided.
We did not need to invest in training of legacy software solution or costly hardware. We did easily everything in the Sketchup platform

Pros

We started company journey on Augmented and Virtual Reality recently. The big obstacle was the contect creation, that even if it was not so complicated slow down significantly the speed to market of the solution. In fact it request a big knowledge skill on dedicated software not always simply to use.

Cons

Price of a single 3D object to import sometimes is too high

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The modeling software with the most complete library

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

Especially when I want to model architectural interiors, sketchup is the best option, because it...

Especially when I want to model architectural interiors, sketchup is the best option, because it allows me to detail each scene with the most usual and unusual objects that I would find in it.

Pros

SketchUp has the most complete library of modeled objects. From complete projects, to the smallest details useful to set a model.

Cons

Sometimes SketchUp closes unexpectedly without saving automatic changes, which causes you to lose hours of work.

Alternatives Considered

Revit

Reasons for Switching to SketchUp

I choose SketchUp for its wide and varied object library.
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp - The Best Architectural Program

Reviewed on 2022/06/03

Overall, for the price, reliability, and productivity that SketchUp delivers, it's completely...

Overall, for the price, reliability, and productivity that SketchUp delivers, it's completely unbeatable. It's an essential tool to keep in your toolbox and use long term. It's more efficient to use it to make houses, parts, or landscape plans than most other programs.

Pros

SketchUp has to be the best Architectural program our company uses. It's easy to learn, work with, and implement features into the design

Cons

One of the things that SketchUp is missing is a good built in rendering software. This would be ideal without going to 3rd party programs.

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD

Reasons for Switching to SketchUp

We chose SketchUp over alternative products due to ease of use and trainability, as well as integration over other platforms.
deden saepul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

sketchup

Reviewed on 2022/01/21

well overall this application it was very helpful for all design in the world

well overall this application it was very helpful for all design in the world

Pros

i really like this application for modeling my project, easy to understand the tools and

Cons

sometime i cant solve the problem of this application

Alternatives Considered

Revit

Reasons for Switching to SketchUp

because of sketchup more complete then the otherapplication
Edgar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and learn

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Great software for interior and product design, easy to use and understand, so intuitive and it...

Great software for interior and product design, easy to use and understand, so intuitive and it doesn't crash. Also the online sketchup tool it's really amazing, it has a cloud server you can save your files and projects.

Pros

Honestly, it took me like just a few videos tu understand how it works, the creativity and the design is your limit. The fact that you can just take a face or and edge and extrude it with the right tool, it's better than any other 3d software.

Cons

Some of the coolest plugins are kind of expensive and other plugins have too many functions when you just need one.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketchup Review

Reviewed on 2024/01/12

This is one of the best programs that I use, typically multiple times a week. It is a great tool...

This is one of the best programs that I use, typically multiple times a week. It is a great tool to communicate ideas typically displayed in 2d.

Pros

The ease of use when modeling... and all the extension that are available

Cons

I do like that sketchup used to be free, however, now it has an annual cost associated with it.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing for CAD work

Reviewed on 2024/01/05

Love it, easy to use, cost effective and presents your plans and ideas beautifully.

Love it, easy to use, cost effective and presents your plans and ideas beautifully.

Pros

Very intuitive platform with a fast learning curve. The extensive library of components makes it easy to create realistic environments and it was great for designing point of sale.

Cons

They recently moved the free version to web only which is glitchy unfortunately. Much more stable on desktop.

Quinn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fast, Easy Modeling With None of the Hassle

Reviewed on 2020/08/01

All in all, Sketchup’s purpose is for modeling subjects that pertain to architecture and structures,...

All in all, Sketchup’s purpose is for modeling subjects that pertain to architecture and structures, and to do so quickly. It can go into finer modeling subjects and it can do much, much more than just modeling, but not nearly as good as other programs can. If your needs are under a time constraint (such as most real-world job requirements) and you need to consistently model structures that don’t need a photo-realistic feel, Sketchup is the perfect tool for you.

Pros

Sketchup takes the complexity of modeling and design programs and delivers the power that you need but with none of the hassle. One of the best things about Sketchup is simply its ease of use. If you can think of a way to model something, you likely can within the program and if you can’t, there’s probably an extension built that you can download for that purpose. Additionally, Sketchup’s openness to new users is amazing. They have a free version which is still very powerful as well as numerous helpful training courses for users to explore. Finally, the programs inclusions of key tools makes it a game changer when compared to other programs. It has the ability to get specific and deep into the details of a model, should it be needed. But it really shines when your purpose is for fast modeling to give your audience that extra push. Sketchup provides tools that let you do just that, and do so quickly. Things like their Google Earth inclusion means that you can drop your model into a real world setting with very minimal working time.

Cons

It does, at times, feel like it has it has limitations, specifically when models get large and extremely detailed. It won’t matter how powerful your computer is, certain large models just won’t run well within the program. Also, features that are very important for my work either require separate programs or lots of extra work time to get right. Exporting into Adobe Illustrator is one of these workflow issues. You can export your Sketchup file into a 2D graphic, but there’s no easy way to do so if your model is dimensionally large as it won’t fit into your Illustrator file. Another pain point is finishing details. Sketchup allows you to play with lighting and textures, but sometimes their tools just are not enough. That’s required me to look further into other programs such as Blender.

Fabiana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A User-Friendly 3D Modeling Tool

Reviewed on 2023/03/27

As someone who has used Sketchup for several years, including as a student and professor teaching...

As someone who has used Sketchup for several years, including as a student and professor teaching it for landscape architecture and architecture, I can say that my experience with the software has been mostly positive. One of the things I appreciate most about Sketchup is its user-friendly interface, which makes it easy to learn and use even for those with little to no experience in 3D modeling. The software's tools are intuitive and allow users to create accurate and detailed models quickly. The Warehouse feature is also a great asset, as it provides access to a vast library of pre-made 3D models that can be used in designs, saving time and effort in the modeling process.However, I have found that Sketchup can be limited in its ability to handle large-scale projects or complex models, particularly when it comes to working with vegetation or other natural elements that can slow down the software or cause it to crash.

Pros

- Sketchup has a user-friendly interface that is intuitive and easy to learn, making it a great tool for beginners and professionals alike.- The Warehouse feature allows users to access a wide variety of 3D models, saving time and effort in the modeling process.- Sketchup is ideal for presenting design ideas to clients and stakeholders who may not understand technical drawings.- The software allows users to create floor plans, sections, elevations, and 3D models from a single drawing, streamlining the design process and saving time.

Cons

- Sketchup can be limited in its ability to handle large-scale projects, particularly when it comes to working with vegetation or other complex models that can slow down the software or cause it to crash.- The pricing of Sketchup can be expensive, especially for those who are just starting out or working on a limited budget.- The trial version of the software is only available for one month, which may not be enough time for users to fully explore all of its features.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful 3D Modeling and CAD Options at a Variety of Price Points

Reviewed on 2022/11/01

My overall experience with SketchUp has been a positive one. I've used it to translate my basic...

My overall experience with SketchUp has been a positive one. I've used it to translate my basic woodworking and house design concepts into quick mockups. Very useful for me for those purposes. What's more I can see the power and utility of the software (particularly the paid tiers) for those involved in even more complex and extensive modeling projects.

Pros

For me, the thing I like most about SketchUp is the ease of use and accessibility of the software (especially the free version) for people of all skill levels. I myself have had training in various pieces of CAD and 3D modeling software; however, most of these have such a high barrier to entry. Even with my knowledge and comfort in those systems, when I need to sketch something up quickly for a woodworking project or get a basic idea down on the page, SketchUp is often the quickest way to do it. It allows me to get an idea from my brain to the screen extremely rapidly so that I can test proof of concept and quickly work out any kinks in my initial conception. SketchUp Free has a great standard feature set (model library, shapes, fills, extrusions, etc.) that one would expect from any 3D modeling software. The paid tiers go even further by integrating powerful collaboration tools and cool features like weather/temperature modeling, etc. What's more, being able to export several different file types is useful if I want to take my ideas into another piece of software. All in all, SketchUp provides a powerful (and affordable) suite of options for all user types.

Cons

With all of SketchUp's benefits in mind, sometimes its streamlined nature can be a bit of an impediment to translating ideas to "paper." Some my difficulty in this regard is owing to my primary experience in AutoCAD--the interface is just different enough that some basics are counterintuitive (to me). That said, with time and experience in the software, I was able to overcome my initial stumbles. One other potential issue to keep in mind is the fact that SketchUp Free is limited in the types of export formats it provides. To gain access to some of the more universal or software-specific file types, it is necessary to upgrade to a paid tier.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ensure the design of what customers need with high quality

Reviewed on 2023/01/22

Sketchup helped us with more creativity, as the flexibility available in the system, the speed of...

Sketchup helped us with more creativity, as the flexibility available in the system, the speed of response, and the multiple options it provides, enable us to design what customers require with high quality, and we can show all the design details accurately.

Pros

SketchUp provides us with many great tools that help with creativity, and it is great that I use it in interior design, as it allows me to interact with clients, provide them with initial proposals, and discuss ideas with them, which helps me design what exactly suits their needs. SketchUp allows you to choose between different materials and experiment on several surfaces, as the library components help you choose between them easily. I appreciate that Sketchup provides a lot of plug-ins and features that enable us to create more complex graphics. It is also great to respond quickly to commands in Sketchup, where all operations are done quickly, in addition to the speed of importing and exporting files, and synchronization with other applications is seamless.

Cons

There are not many things that I do not like, but I am used to using shortcut keys during the design process, and unfortunately, I do not find many of them in Sketchup, and most of the commands I have to choose from the main menu, which I find annoying sometimes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Sketch up 2017

Reviewed on 2019/05/25

All round, it is a good and flexible software especially for beginners who'd like to just get...

All round, it is a good and flexible software especially for beginners who'd like to just get started with architecture modelling software.

Pros

I really like that the software is very flexible. You can literally use it to perform any function pertaining to architectural drawings such as drawing plans, and sections especially with plug-in with a variety of functions you can perform such as builing walls, doors and windows as components etc. I like that you can import and export files ranging from 2D DWG TO 3D COLLADA. I also like that it has a very active community that can assist with any problems you may be facing with the software. I especially like that it intermittently autosaves for you incase of any mishaps that may occur along the line. You can also simply just drag in components and materials without any hassle.

Cons

I don't love the unexpected bugsplats and the fact that if I change the setting of one scene it affects the outline profile of the work. I think the zooming options needs a little work because sometimes it can be difficult to orbit around work without expecting it to enter into a surface all the time. I feel the snapping to edges might need a little work as well because sometimes its difficult to close polylines unless you zoom in critically.

Ryan
Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great place to start with 3D modeling

Reviewed on 2021/06/08

As an amateur "maker" working with 3D printing and fabrication on a small scale, I've found...

As an amateur "maker" working with 3D printing and fabrication on a small scale, I've found SketchUp to be sufficient for my needs. I keep finding new and surprising things that I can do with it, and while certain functions remain a little mysterious, it is easy enough to use that almost anyone can make something useful right out of the box.

Pros

I was able to get started with SketchUp right out of the proverbial box even though I had literally no experience with, or knowledge of, CAD software or 3D modeling. I knew that SketchUp had originated as a Google product back in the day, and so I thought it would be a relatively simple place to start (I was looking specifically for a tool to design objects for 3D printing). Without much fuss, it is entirely possible for a newbie to design and export effective models and 3D files, and with continued tinkering, you can do some really impressive work with the software.

Cons

The software is very powerful, but there are some odd quirks that can take some time to resolve. For example, there is no built-in tool to draw a three-dimensional sphere, and you have to follow several steps to do this. It can also be frustrating (and, in some cases, impossible) to use the software as-is to do certain things (e.g., making sure an object is in fact "solid"), and you have to rely on third-party plugins that vary considerably in their quality and usefulness. I also don't like that SketchUp seems to have discontinued its "free" version/license altogether and replaced it with the buggy and ill-featured "SketchUp for Web" app--they've priced the license very ambitiously which I think will unfortunately put it out of reach for a lot of people.

Alternatives Considered

SolidWorks Premium

Reasons for Switching to SketchUp

Cheaper, more accessible, less intimidating
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp - my favourite CAD tool!

Reviewed on 2020/03/27

Fantastic tool. Perhaps it is because I've tinkered with it since its early days, but I find it my...

Fantastic tool. Perhaps it is because I've tinkered with it since its early days, but I find it my go-to tool for any CAD projects. Perhaps it is for this reason that I have had such success with it in the classroom over the years. However, it is a shame that Trimble have changed their policy on SketchUp Pro for Educators - this has limited access to it in certain areas of the world.

Pros

I have loved SketchUp's approachability since it was a Google product. I find that the ability to play around and create something really quickly is a real hook into getting students enthused and excited about using and learning the product. It can be used from Students to Hobbyists to Professionals: everyone can get benefit from the Platform - especially now that it has its online browser-based Free version that has Microsoft Office 365 SSO as well as Google (important if you are in a country that has banned Google!). There are GREAT Tutorials available for all skill levels; we are particularly impressed with the ones made available for Education at the K(4)-12 level.

Cons

Personally, it has really impacted me that SketchUp Pro is no longer made available to Educators for free. I have multiple projects that were designed on SU Pro and these are no longer easily accessed or worked on. (It IS possible through uploading and downloading through the 3D Warehouse, but this is a pain and does not work well in cases of bigger projects.)

Kushan
Kushan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best developments in designing

Reviewed on 2023/08/20

I use SketchUp personally for my freelancing work as well as in my profession as a planning civil...

I use SketchUp personally for my freelancing work as well as in my profession as a planning civil Engineer. It is important that there are paying categories in this software so that I could use shop pricing plan for my personal business and studio pricing plan for the company. So far it has not disappointed me in designing with SketchUp. It is a good experience.

Pros

It is a very much user-friendly product compared to other products in design. Every design software needs a time to learn but by using SketchUp I personally save lots of time. As a construction company, we use outputs of this software to make a clear picture for the clients about the project. Importing and exporting data is very much friendly since it allows to import of data in various formats.

Cons

When it comes to animation, It is time-consuming to learn.

Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for Architects.. Bad for Civil Engineers

Reviewed on 2020/03/12

I have been using this for at least 3 years. Why do I like this ? Because it the best for rendering...

I have been using this for at least 3 years. Why do I like this ? Because it the best for rendering and getting a visibly beautiful output of my design. I usually use AutoCAD and Revit for detailed modeling and construction detailing. But whenever I need to present my model to someone, I use rendered sketches and views to convey the idea.

Pros

This is the most flexible software for modeling. If you dream about it, you can model/design it. Its that simple. Architects love this software because it gives them the freedom to design whatever they think. It has fewer constraints. Its different render engines give us way too realistic output compared to other modeling software like AutoCAD.

Cons

I can say this is NOT a SMART software. why? Because-
1) It's not Building Information Modelling compatible- you cant use data in any BIM tool.
2) Components built in this does not have properties as other software as Revit has.- Its just good for 'looks'
3) Import/Export to other platforms is not available.- Interoperability is poor for data transfer

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp saved my life!!

Reviewed on 2020/04/11

Pros

I LOVE SketchUp!!! I have used so many 3D softwares but this one takes the cake. Not only is it easy to use, it also looks SO good when rendered with the correct software. I have used Revit in the past, and when it comes to design planning and space planning Sketchup just looks so much better every time, I think compared to others Sketchup has so many more options and the ability to add finishes is so much easier and importing furniture is also so easy. Another thing I love is how easy it is to build furniture, every time I do I am so happy with the result. SketchUp is the one!

Cons

The only thing that I wish sketch had was a 2D view of the floor plan and the ability to make elevations and things like that, but other than that I love it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp Pro

Reviewed on 2019/01/18

I use SketchUp on a daily basis as an exhibit designer, booth designer and interior designer. I...

I use SketchUp on a daily basis as an exhibit designer, booth designer and interior designer. I also do several home projects on a regular basis with it. I really love SketchUp Pro and the warehouse makes it incredibly easy to add and build models using pre-built geometry. You can even modify other peoples drawings to make them match your design. This is a great and simple to learn / use software.

Pros

I love that you can quickly build awesome models to scale and create beautiful renderings with many various plugins. This software wasn't always a big hitter but I think companies are starting to see it's potential. Sketchup Pro has some additional features that make it nicer than make such as being able to save and export to DWG. Overall it's a great software that I love using.

Cons

I wish there was a decent rendering engine built into this software. It is simply lacking in that area but other than that, with plugins like VRay, Keyshot Etc, you can create beautiful renderings quickly.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free, but it's gone downhill.

Reviewed on 2020/03/05

In general, I love SketchUp and will use it for most of my rendering needs. If you want to make...

In general, I love SketchUp and will use it for most of my rendering needs. If you want to make fast renders quickly and for free, and if you're not making working drawings, then SketchUp is enough. There is a reason you see it on HGTV when they design kitchens and are showing the clients their ideas, but you don't see it on the corners of their working drawings.

Pros

I love the price (free) and how easy it is to use SketchUp. I currently use it to explain 3D objects to my drafting students or to explain what something will look like when we're done. I sometimes use it for demonstrating geometry concepts, too.

Back when I was a draftsman for a small design-build firm, I exclusively used SketchUp for all drafting and document production (in conjunction with Microsoft Word).

I am a big fan of their warehouse of items for if you are trying to populate a house with furniture or a street with cars.

Cons

A few years ago, SketchUp switched to being mostly cloud and less of a downloadable program. While this is mostly good since I can access my files on any computer with the internet, its layout changed and it is much harder to find the tools you want to use.

It used to be that lines and edges were sharp and I could edit cleanly and easily in MSPaint, but the online version of SketchUp doesn't render the same way and it has made my freelancing as a draftman more difficult.

Also, SketchUp is not great at generating documents and printing to scale compared to Autodesk Inventor.

Lastly, they don't use true curves for cirlces and arcs which saves RAM but can be good or bad when rendering.

Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software for not just for professionals but everyone

Reviewed on 2018/02/23

Overall, it is a must learn software because of how easy is to learn it and the possibilities you...

Overall, it is a must learn software because of how easy is to learn it and the possibilities you have with it

Pros

It is not just a professionals tool as many bloggers and students use it in a daily basis for creating almost everything they can think of. For example, I just say last week a blog of a person who was doing a sketchup model for her desk so that she could build it, and it provided everything she needed.

Me as an architect, I use it a lot to do 3D modeling in order to visualize the buildings before construction. With the Pro version you have the opportunity to do section cuts and even set a "sheet set" for your drawings.

The pro of Sketchup is that as it is free of use (free version) there's also a library called "google warehouse" where you can upload/download models from anyone (who uploads theirs) and use it as if it was created by you, and all of this, for free.

Cons

I would love Sketchup to be more like a professional software and have more tools to help you design properly and detail things like a BIM software but because of the reasons I listed above, I think Sketchup should stay focusing as a "free" software and anyone can use it.

hanady
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User-friendly software

Reviewed on 2020/08/03

Its my first choice to create fast and easy 3d models since I first began working on 3d modeling at...

Its my first choice to create fast and easy 3d models since I first began working on 3d modeling at University.

Pros

Skecth up is a simple and quick software for modeling compared to other 3d modeling softwares especially for first time 3d modelers. The work area is not complex and easy to learn. It also provides a wide library of 3d components in the SketchUp Warehouse and very useful extensions in the SketchUp Extension Warehouse which make modeling tasks much easier. And once the work is done, it could be easily exported in other softwares.

Cons

It can be more difficult to create specified details for complex projects on Sketch up comparing to other similar softwares.
The files can sometimes be very heavy especially when adding multiple components that the software crashes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sketchup

Reviewed on 2019/08/06

Pros

Sketchup is how I started my career and I still use it almost every day. Its strong points are creating geometry on the fly and pulling from the extensive model warehouse that has almost everything you'd ever need. It's also so user-friendly, someone can easily pick up the program and start using it within a couple of weeks proficiently.

Cons

I don't like the way geometry can't be smoothed to the extent other software can do it. In other words, with bends and curves, it's sometimes hard to make them clean in Sketchup to where the textures and UV maps won't be messed up when I export to something like Unreal engine. If you're exporting from Sketchup, you have to be prepared to do a lot of cleanups if you want a high-quality mesh to visualize with photo-real textures and lighting.