701 reviews

SketchUp

3D design tools for AEC professionals and interior designers

4,5 /5 (701 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
701 reviews
Anees R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SketchUp - Unveil your imagination easily

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

Overall :
==========
If you are using SketchUp for 3d models and building plan it’s a great software, and i find this too much user friendly and as easy as MS paint.
But if u want to use this software for drawing sectional details and working drawings, u need to be an expert in getting output.

Pros

1) The biggest pro i like is less hardware demand i.e. You don’t need a heavy machine to use this software, a general configuration laptop does the work quite effectively unlike other softwares. You can import the finalized design in lumion and get a realistic render in no time and.
2) One good advantage of using SketchUp is the u can easily pull push the walls and apply the desired changes instantly and things gets finalized very fast. Whatever you want to imagine, you can apply instantly from painting to cladding to railing designs and wallpapers.
3) Being a designer, the biggest hurdle is the changes client wants, but in SketchUp the visualization and applying changes is super easy, you can sort it out in a meeting or two. It made around 30-40 percent increase in client understanding and project approval.
4) Another plus point i realized is the real time working screen is no less than a simple render other softwares have. And if you have time and know how to use SketchUp, you don’t need an interior designer for some scale projects as the library itself suggest you some great ideas.

Cons

1) The rendering part and you need to install different plugins for different works.
2) The library is great but limited, if u want to attach a luxury couch in the drawing room you will not have many great options.
3) Attaching a component to a certain place is bit time consuming as it takes at least 2 angles to see whether the component is fixed accurately or still have some space left here or there.

Sebastian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use 3D Design Software

Reviewed on 2021/02/06

Good experience overall

Pros

The Software is easy to use also for Beginners.
The Software UI is clean overall. It’s easy to Modell what you want in a Short time.

Cons

The Pro Version is really expensive. For Beginners or hobbyists which what’s more desktop software functionality it wouldn’t be the right choice.

Jeremy K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp is the Ultimate!

Reviewed on 2019/02/17

I absolutely love it! I use Sketchup Pro for small projects but just love the detail I can get with the program giving me a full blown idea of what my models will look like before anything has been physically constructed.

Pros

What can I say, the first time that I heard about Sketchup Pro was a few years back when I was developing a Haunted House attraction believe it or not. I needed a 3D modeling software that could help give me and idea of what it would be like to walk through and build it before anything was purchased. It allowed me to go through and find holes in the design plan that would have been very costly if I did not simulate it later down the road.

The ease of use is so easy, any one from absolute beginner to expert level CAD designer can plug and play into Sketchup Pro! I also want to mention that it is a FUN product to use as well and the amount of features is incredible! From the 3D wear house to being able to make 3D renderings turn into 2D schematics is such an amazing feature.

I have enjoyed using sketch pro so much that I have even taken a few online courses on how to become better and it makes the software my go-to for all my modeling needs. Anyone from small real estate firms, architectural and engineering businesses, down to the home haunter like myself, Sketch Up Pro is the one stop shop for all of your needs!

Cons

I really enjoy Sketchup Pro so there really is not a whole lot that I can say that is a problematic about it.
The one thing that does stick out (and may be its only flaw) is the price tag attached to it for one license is a little steep. Now, even though I say that, the value and ROI of Sketchup Pro far surpasses the initial price tag. It really comes down to what you want to use it for, but no matter the case, it really is worth every penny that you pay for it!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp - my favourite CAD tool!

Reviewed on 2020/03/27

Fantastic tool. Perhaps it is because I've tinkered with it since its early days, but I find it my go-to tool for any CAD projects. Perhaps it is for this reason that I have had such success with it in the classroom over the years. However, it is a shame that Trimble have changed their policy on SketchUp Pro for Educators - this has limited access to it in certain areas of the world.

Pros

I have loved SketchUp's approachability since it was a Google product. I find that the ability to play around and create something really quickly is a real hook into getting students enthused and excited about using and learning the product. It can be used from Students to Hobbyists to Professionals: everyone can get benefit from the Platform - especially now that it has its online browser-based Free version that has Microsoft Office 365 SSO as well as Google (important if you are in a country that has banned Google!). There are GREAT Tutorials available for all skill levels; we are particularly impressed with the ones made available for Education at the K(4)-12 level.

Cons

Personally, it has really impacted me that SketchUp Pro is no longer made available to Educators for free. I have multiple projects that were designed on SU Pro and these are no longer easily accessed or worked on. (It IS possible through uploading and downloading through the 3D Warehouse, but this is a pain and does not work well in cases of bigger projects.)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brings Imagination into better Reality!

Reviewed on 2021/01/01

I'm Civil Engineer and freelancer and I've worked with sketchup almost about 3 years now.This software is very easy to learn,use and teach.So what else do I need?

Pros

Best 3D modelling software ever.This software eases the designing of aesthetic structures and helps to customize the 3D worksapce.Very user friendly software and I highly recommend for all the beginners to use sketchup for 3D modelling and you will never regret.

Cons

Absolutely nothing!Sketchup fulfills my requirements other than any software I used and using for 3D modelling.

Muhammad I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Why Sketchup is easy to Learn?

Reviewed on 2020/05/13

From my academics to professional life I have mastered the software and done several interior projects, it is simple and you can learn it on your own. You can draw and create anything from the line in this software. I would highly recommend this for students and architects to use this instead of drawing something.

Pros

A great approach to create 3D design and sketches. The software which has both elements of design 2D and 3D at the same time, with an additional extension of getting the renders which are more real in the end. I have been using it for Interior design, Construction of Buildings with real material, landscape designs etc. One of the advantage ones can have with this software is the Google Sketchup warehouse which has almost everything from a needle to plane, readymade models but may size may vary.
I would recommend all the artists and architects to use the software in order to draw the sketch of the project or proposal.

Cons

The overall layout is yet simple but it should have rendering extension within the software, which can make it complete.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Decent if you have the time

Reviewed on 2020/08/06

SketchUp has endless possibilities for creators, but could be a bit more user friendly and faster. Takes too long to even open the add-ons, but is still a good program for aspiring designers.

Pros

I love that there are so many options and so many things you can create in SketchUp. Among other softwares, it has a smoother interface and is easier to learn, if you are dedicated to learning the program. They offer the program to students and educators for way cheaper than retail price, which is very nice for students to get in and learn how to operate SketchUp before having to pay the full price. Still a learning curve, but a good place to start for someone who has no experience in CAD.

Cons

You absolutely need a computer mouse to use the program, trying to navigate and create without one is near to impossible. Add- ons like the " Warehouse" , while very helpful and cool, can be extremely laggy. Takes forever to load in an item, and difficult to place.

Salma C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SKETCHUP IN THE EYES OF A DESIGN STUDENT

Reviewed on 2020/04/18

Pros

- Very simple to utilize contrasted with most other 3D displaying programs (It's simple to learn, understand, and use).
- Works with an immense library of free 3D components (3D Warehouse)
- Speedy displaying of straightforward shapes - You can rapidly get a thought outlined out.
- Rendering fundamental shapes to then fare and use in different projects - If I need a particular foundation to maneuver into a photoshop drawing.
- Easy perception of 3d spaces.

Cons

- Sometimes SketchUp consolidates or joins objects in ways you didn't mean and fixing that can be disappointing, particularly if the Undo command is not available anymore.
- it is exceptionally hard to move in and rotate objects - It can take ages to position them accurately.
- Built-in models and components are constrained in the free-version software to offer assistance in the PC supported design.

Chris W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SKP is Easiest 3D Modeler

Reviewed on 2020/03/12

Was my first introduction to 3D modeling software and continues to be heavily used in my day to day workflow.

Pros

SketchUp is remarkably easy to use. The design space is incredibly user friendly and does not overwhelm the user with so many tools and operations that they need to learn a lot. Great for quick modeling and 3D visualization. Also has access to a robust user create digital warehouse and integration with Google Maps.

Cons

The layer management does not allow sublayers. Nurbs are not able to be modeled, all curved geometry in SketchUp is faceted (although not visible)

Betre M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp Pro is a designer's life saver

Reviewed on 2019/02/28

SketchUp can help anyone in the design industry start from concept to a final 3D design for buildings or elements. It is very versatile and easy to use. It is definitely recommendation worthy to all architects.

Pros

This softwares allows you to design both in 2D and 3D with a free range of motion for building designs. It comes with a massive library updated by users across the world. It is also very light on your graphics card.

Cons

The render quality for 3D objects is not as good as other softwares, and for good quality other add-on rendering engines have to be purchased.

Abdelrahman B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sketchup Pros and Cons

Reviewed on 2020/03/01

Good.

Pros

It's the easiest 3D software I've used so far. It's easy to learn and use. You can get used to it in nearly 2-3 months. Many render softwares accept SketchUp files so, It won't bother you doing your 3D Buildings on this software.

Cons

It lacks so many advanced and detailed features. Only architectural, doesn't have many construction tools.

Gilbert S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketchup is a great Model building Tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/08

I mainly use SketchUp to brain storm relatively small projects (Tables, Dog houses, Carts, etc.)

Pros

The best thing about Sketchup is the learning curve needed to become proficient is relatively small compared to AutoCAD the industry standard. I watched about 20 hours of Training videos from a third party vendor and was proficient enough to hit the ground running. 20 hours of Training videos from the same third party vendor in AutoCAD and I felt completely overwhelmed. You need approximately 200 hours of Training in AutoCAD. Sketchup is a great tool when you just want to model a dog house or relatively small projects.

Cons

It's very hard to find thing I don't like about Sketchup. If I had to pick one thing I would say once your models get relatively large the computer really struggles. Maybe some more efficient optimization.

Randall J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This software has been a God send for building quick models of our classrooms.

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

We are able to build a room in sketch up and see how it is going to look before construction begins.

Pros

We use this on all of our room designs to show all faculty and staff a 3d view of how a new location will look before any construction has taken place. This is such a helpful tool for creating new rooms and design for work spaces.

Cons

The only remotely negative thing I can say about Sketch up would be they need more architectural features for detailed drawings.

Jessica J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketchup is awesome! Its so cool to see my designs come to life!

Reviewed on 2018/02/08

It is integral to my day-to-day job.

Pros

I love that I can make a realistic 3D model for my clients. If they have a specific photo, texture, or product that they want, I can put it into the model for a realistic view of what it would look like in the space. This has saved a lot of time in hand rendering.

Cons

I wish that it could handle larger files better. Whenever I try to import complicated CAD files or build a complex 3D model, it glitches more often.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and easy

Reviewed on 2019/02/11

It autosaves and talking about time saving- its easy to use you can push and pull squares or areas that meeded to be shaped. I am noob to this but it didn't take long for me to learn. You can create tiny objects in 3D and make is as your hardware where u can just pull them up and reuse again :)

Pros

Even a newbie like me can lern this software faster than you expected because all you have to do os to remember the basic.. push and pull. :) Is is good when you design houses amd buildings it has Geolocation and provide accurate measurements. There are units of measurements to choose from.
Can import files such as .dwg from autocad draftsight and convert to 3D. Simple amd easy.

Cons

Nothing in particular. I just suggets to use a bigger screen for this and good computer so that it will not hang.

Blake S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

One of the easiest and most efficient modeling software's on the market.

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Pros

I love that this program gives you the ability to make changes on the fly and allows pretty seamless transitions to almost any other rendering or modeling software, although you may have to try a few times due to glitches and missing faces.

Cons

Sketchup has this nasty habit of crashing when digging into complex projects with a ton of layered information and becomes a bit laggy. Save constantly, fellow modelers!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience

Reviewed on 2018/10/02

Overall I love the software, it helps to design quickly and I can then 3 print / Implement my ideas into game mods. From the basics it is very easy to pick up.

Pros

I love the customization and upgradability of it via plugins.

Cons

Compared to say Fusion 369 some tasks can be a bit finnicky to work around such as dealing with certain angles of faces on an object and how the extrude for example. SketchUp doesn't always do good with that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Eye Pleasing architectural design software

Reviewed on 2019/07/06

Sketup Pro is been used for architectural design works in my firm. Everybody likes the software because of it's simplicity. Presentations of the models are great.

Pros

Sketchup Pro is the best architectural software which helps to make 2D drawings into simply amazing 3D drawings. Sketchup has amazing tools and functions which helps to near reality 3D designs. Free software is available for any one to use with. For the Pro version you have to pay and it comes with some great additional features for customization. Very simple software. Anyone can easily master within few days.

Cons

System only runs in windows and Macs. Development for Android and ios would be a great revelation if they can make it happen.

Trang H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great software for any designer or architect.

Reviewed on 2018/10/07

Pros

I love this software so much, it's very fast, very easy to use. I have used it in 6 years and I love the extensions, they help me to save my time and work well with many kinds of projects from architecture to furniture. They also provide a huge 3d library from 3dwarehouse and we can use it for free. The Sketchup Pro give us more function than the free version, so I really recommend you guys should use it for your work.

Cons

I have some problems with Sketchup Pro version 2017, I don't know why. But when I use this version, the file seems too heavy, I even couldn't move my mouse. Some extensions even doesn't work with this version. I have to save it to version 2016 and use the version 2016, it's smoother and faster.

Ryan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2017/01/17

SketchUp is an excellent software to do anything from basic massing and visualization to completing and producing drawings. It's easy to learn and with only a few basic commands you can get a pretty good model going. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to try to learn how to take 2D drawings to 3D. Great Software.

Pros

Easy to learn and use
Quick
Accurate
Don't have to fight software
Easy to export to other software or to import into (plays well with others, which can't be said about a lot of other software out there)

Cons

Can get messy if you don't know what you are doing and have a large project (Online videos help a lot)

Fernandez J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the Best Industry Standards for Engineering and Architectural Planning!

Reviewed on 2019/03/21

I used it mostly for making gaming assets. I liked the way that I could just immediately draft on Sketchup anything that came into my mind. Your hands are more guided when you use Sketchup. It can readily mirror what's on your imagination.

Pros

It's free to use on the the browser while connected to the internet. It was originally developed by Google and it has come a long way in the industry. Professionals from Engineering, Architecture and even from the gaming industry have used Sketchup primarily because it's easy to use the greatly boosts productivity. The Pro version installs locally plus the added functionality of creating 2D layouts used by professionals.

Cons

There should be more additional licensing schemes besides the Classic License.

Amir S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of my favorite applications to design buildings with

Reviewed on 2018/02/15

Good home designs

Pros

As far as modeling software, this one takes the cake in terms of how simple it is to use. It is quick to pick up, and super powerful in creating very accurate (down to mm) designs. Excells at floorplans and building designs to scale. Import and export features are adequate, and even supports export for 3D printing.

Cons

It can be limiting if you want to be able to use this software for more than just modeling. There is no real rigging or animation capability, and the texturing features are highly limited (no UV mapping). The price is not too bad considering it is perpetual license, but still quite a mouthful to swallow in one bit.

Marib P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect software for learning to 3D modelling

Reviewed on 2017/02/02

I learned to use this software several years before entering the professional world. I originally used this software just as a creative outlet, however I was pleased to see that this was used in the professional setting. It is very easy to use, and has some great plugins for when you become more advanced. I wish some of the plugins were free, however this program is well worth the free and paid version.

Daniel B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SketchUp Pro is as simple and as robust as needed, but not more or less.

Reviewed on 2018/06/12

Anyone looking for a quick and easy way to create simple or intricate 3D models for visualization purposes.

Pros

The relative simplicity in comparison with any other 3D sketching and/or modeling tool is what sets SketchUp apart. To make it even simpler there are thousands of videos online that teach or explain the features and walk you through examples.

Even as simple as it is, it provides many capabilities, such as the ability to make animations, insert web images or objects. It's overall a great tool for producing simple but complex-looking renderings and visualizations.

Cons

To my knowledge, there is still not a way to embed information within the 3D model, like Revit would do for instance. For this reason, the software is mainly used independently and does not work in conjunction with others. Meaning, it would be useful to be able to import and export information so that the data could be transferred to other software dealing with schedules, constructability or structural analysis, among others.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SketchUp Pro

Reviewed on 2019/02/13

In my experience, It is most suitable for architectural modeling of building and other purposes as it not much complex.

Pros

It is one of the best modeling software used by architecture and Civil Engineers . As I am user of it , In my opinion it can be learn quickly ourselves and easy to use. There are some best tools like push/pull, follow me and etc, I have ever seen before in other modeling software. We can quickly finish the model using those special tools.
Using this animation can be made.

Cons

I am sorry to say that this software has less Precision in dimension (Circle), and available material is not sufficient to render the model.