Minitab

Visualize, analyze, and harness the power of your data.

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(308)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

308 Reviews

Josh
Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful to a Fault

Reviewed on 2018/09/11

Pros

MiniTab is incredible... it flattens a decade worth of Lean Six Sigma Black Belt practice into a one-stop-shop calculator tool. If you're like me, then you've built hundreds of Excel tools from first-principles... which means your transition into Minitab should be fairly easy.

As long as you take this product seriously, you'll be fine... but it's not meant for casual users.

Cons

Even understanding first principles of numerical management, this product can be a little disorienting at first. It's like a swiss army knife with a thousand tools... you're never quite sure where to find what you need.

While the product integrates well with Excel, it can be easy to make a mistake in the way your data is formatted before entering.

If you're working with someone who isn't at the LSSBB level, they literally won't understand anything about this product.

Lonnie
Lonnie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for statistical analysis and graphical representation of data.

Reviewed on 2018/06/25

Easy analysis, amazing graphing. The best tool for statistical analysis.

Easy analysis, amazing graphing. The best tool for statistical analysis.

Pros

The software is easy to use, but also provides plenty of support/help resources. Provides the widest array of statistical analysis tools. The graphical outputs are amazing. I am able to constantly wow executive leadership with Minitab's control charts and other diagrams.

Cons

Although many options are available for individual users that make costs effective, justifying the cost of the software to my organization has been challenging.

Ti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

New versions removed essential features and are not back ward compatible.

Reviewed on 2021/10/15

Pros

Many statistical tools available, good customer support

Cons

New version (ver 19) is not backward compatible with older versions. Report Pad feature was removed in ver 19, so users are not able to summarize and report results within Minitab. New versions require you to export Minitab data, charts, analysis to another program (ex Word) to create a report. Report Pad information from files created in older versions does not display - creating a risk for regulated industries.

Carmen
Carmen
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent program to manage databases

Reviewed on 2018/03/09

I was able to learn how to manage databases and analyze them statistically

I was able to learn how to manage databases and analyze them statistically

Pros

It is a program where basic statistics analysis and multivariate methods can be done, it has a wide range of options to analyze qualitative and quantitative variables

Cons

The versions of the program should be updated constantly to be on par with other programs and the function of exporting databases should be a little easier

Kadir
Kadir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Essential tool for 6-Sigma projects

Reviewed on 2019/07/02

We are using this tool as a statistical data solver. You can understand the problem's inputs and...

We are using this tool as a statistical data solver. You can understand the problem's inputs and effects. Weibull distrubition is the easy way to understand most cases behaviour.

Pros

I've been using this program since got the 6-Sigma green belt certificate. Best assistant to work through statistical study.

Cons

Program can be develop the some tools as an user friendly. Visual appearance is important for new-users.

Jenée
Jenée
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Not the best Statistical package out there

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Minitab is ok for use when you are a student, however as you progress you would want to look for...

Minitab is ok for use when you are a student, however as you progress you would want to look for more advanced statistical software.

Pros

Minitab is a user friendly statistical package that I used as a student studying development statistics. It was also required to use this software to complete research projects. It is definitely a software to use while you’re a student because of the ease of use of the statistical tests produced to complement your research papers.

Cons

I prefer other statistical software like SPSS when conducting research or analysis for research purposes. Minitab was no longer useful to me in the working world because other statistical packages were easier to obtain and carry out the same statistical tests plus more.

Margot
Margot
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Smart Data Analysis, REALLY.

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

Pros

Minitab 18 statistical software is a great tool that can be used by different companies, colleges and universities. I started using Minitab 18 when our team needed our data analyzed, we have tried different software but Minitab has come through. The Assistant feature of the software is of great help so far, especially when facing a dilemma between two choices, the feature assists in choosing the necessary step to complete your analytical dashboard or processing. It is very easy to learn as well, being that the assistant can walk you through your first task. User-friendly.

Cons

Minitab is a bit on the pricier range when it comes to tools of the caliber.

Swan - Xuan
Swan - Xuan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall, very good for Supply Chain Management

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

I used it in my Lean Six Sigma class and will use that in my daily routine working as a Supply...

I used it in my Lean Six Sigma class and will use that in my daily routine working as a Supply Chain Professional if the company has Minitab.

Pros

Its statistics functions are diversified, practical and logical. It is very easy to import data into Minitab. Another amazing point is the Minitab book which contains very detailed information about how to work with the software. Even you don't have the book, you can always find support information on their website. Just google it and you're good to go.

Cons

The design is a little boring. It looks quite old-fashion and low-tech even though the software itself has amazing statistics and visualization tools.

Brian
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great for many uses, and no coding.

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

I use this software to do basic statistical analysis. It's got a good graphical interface, and will handle most common tests. I got this primarily because it would do what I needed and I didn't have time to self-teach SAS or R.

Cons

It does lack the functionality of some more powerful statistical software packages. Guess that's a trade-off for the GUI.

Tauseef
Tauseef
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Minitab - Statistical Software

Reviewed on 2022/11/27

Pros

Minitab, is a complete package for statistical and data analysis. It is easy to use and the contends on the support page is well written to understand.

Cons

The data sheet does not have many function as excel worksheet such as sort, filter.

Hannah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sufficient functions for most of my statistical analysis

Reviewed on 2021/09/26

Minitab is easy to use since its user interface is not complex. My overall experience on Minitab is...

Minitab is easy to use since its user interface is not complex. My overall experience on Minitab is good and will renew my license in the future.

Pros

1. Minitab provides most of the functions in my daily work. For example, Design of Experiments, gauge R&R, ANOVA, distributions fitting, hypothesis tests, regression, Power and Sample Size, and Assistant.
2. I like the Assistant function the most because it can help me choose a proper approach to analyze a data set. The results from the Assistant reports are also easy to be understood and clear.
3. After each analysis, Minitab output results by text and figures. This can help me to understand the physical significance of the results and to report/visualize the data/results to my manager.

Cons

Although Minitab outputs statistical results in plots and figures, the formats, fonts, and designs of the figures and the plots can be improved to be more aesthetic. Maybe Minitab's developing team can try to use more AI to improve the outputs of the plots and figures.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very good for descriptive and inferential analysis

Reviewed on 2018/09/19

I use minitab 18 very often to analyze process variations of food production plant, also it is...

I use minitab 18 very often to analyze process variations of food production plant, also it is used to report the improvements on any process based on any change.

Pros

Minitab offers a very good end user experience for descriptive and inferential analysis. Also minitab product help tutorials are very good and well explained that cover most of the possible doubts.
The interpretation of results that minitab provides on integral analysis like Capability analysis or hypothesis testing is very useful for sharing with management.

Cons

*Developing scripts on minitab is not as intuitive as it should be so doing repetitive task can be a headache.
*Also querying data from an external data source could be easier, at this moment requires a well defined DSN file and adjusting filters on data to retrieve could be also easier.
*There are not enough modeling methods on minitab

Komala Raj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Comfortable if you have knowledge in the field.

Reviewed on 2019/09/02

Minitab is helping me to analyze my customer details specifically on each categories.
Name,...

Minitab is helping me to analyze my customer details specifically on each categories.
Name, district, etc.

Pros

Whatever the data, we can easily manage it and get the statical analyze through this minitab software.

Cons

If the project is closed, some time its confusing which is saved, Weather the project or worksheet on the default name. Its occurs only the system power goes unexpectedly.

uvindu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The Best statistical tool ever

Reviewed on 2020/06/18

I used Minitab for the analytical part of the research project. It has been very simple to use and...

I used Minitab for the analytical part of the research project. It has been very simple to use and has a range of tools and you can analyze your data, graph, and map with the Minitab easily.

Pros

For my last year, and also for my four years as a teacher, I used Minitab 19 for statistical analysis.

Minitab 19 is one of the most strong DOE, Regression, Hypothesis, Graphical, Process Capacities, and System Analysis measurement applications.

I saw no easy, productive program except Minitab. It must be accurate and optimistic for any type of data professionals and Minitab 19 is the resource that simplifies your work. You just need to provide the data in sheet form and pick the analytical type, provide control limits and limits, and in a couple of milliseconds, you can get more than you want.

Cons

Some concepts to perform regression and other analysis of the options make me confuse.

Efrain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Statistics Software

Reviewed on 2020/02/23

I've used several versions of Minitab for the past few years and I've noticed considerable...

I've used several versions of Minitab for the past few years and I've noticed considerable improvement. It offers a wide variety of tools that allow you to work with data and build charts and graphs for data analytics.

Pros

Even if you don't have too much knowledge in statistics, you can get started using it very quickly. First time users won't have a hard navigating the program since its menus are well organized and clear and they allow you to find what you're looking for very quickly. It has a lot of data visualization features, like scattered plots, histograms and probability density functions.

Cons

Although it is easy for first time users, it will take you a lot of time to actually take advantage of every feature in Minitab. Also, even tho it is a great software, it is not as complete as other programs like JMP and SAS

Riley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Powerful Tool

Reviewed on 2019/06/13

Overall, anyone who is employed performing statistical analysis on data sets should be familiar...

Overall, anyone who is employed performing statistical analysis on data sets should be familiar with Minitab. This is tool that holds the basis for all commonly applied statistical analysis techniques.

Pros

Minitab 19 is a major leap from previous versions. This tool has significantly improved the usability of more complex statistical analysis functions by improving the in-process teaching of correct application as well as background selection based off of data types. From simple to complex, Minitab is a powerful tool to gain accurate and rapid stochastic interpretation of your data.

Cons

Minitab is still stuck on this tabular Excel-type format. They need a UI overhaul of the data input screen vs the data analysis screen and should treat the two separately. The analysis tool is undersold in the current format.

Pawel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Minitab for six sigma

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

I'm using minitab for virtual DOE in six sigma projects and also in improve phase in optimalization

I'm using minitab for virtual DOE in six sigma projects and also in improve phase in optimalization

Pros

The most I like in the Minitab software is the assistant and a lot of blog and help files.
I use it for six sigma projects including DMAIC or DFSS.

Cons

In old revision help files were difficult

Nanditha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MiniTab is good

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

I used MiniTab for statistical analysis of my experiments during my MS and PhD. It was very easy to...

I used MiniTab for statistical analysis of my experiments during my MS and PhD. It was very easy to use and got my job done!

Pros

MiniTab 19 is very easy to use and does not require an experienced user (unlike JMP and SAS). As a first time user, I found it very helpful in doing all the statistical analyses that I needed.

Cons

Although it is really really easy to use, it is not as extensive as JMP and SAS. Once I was adept with MiniTab, I found that JMP and SAS offered more options like design of experiments, not available in MiniTab

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What a wonderful data analytical tool

Reviewed on 2022/12/14

Pros

With the tool you are able to handle any statistical assignment from data entry to data analysis to data visualision. Its easy to use and does not need an expert handle any assignment.

Cons

The tool is exeptional and gives the value for money.

T Devi Prasad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent statistical analysis tool

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

I am using Minitab for my class work as well as research work. It possesses a wide range of...

I am using Minitab for my class work as well as research work. It possesses a wide range of operations which are beneficial for everyone from beginner to advanced level statistician.

Pros

It is pretty easy to use, and the customer support is also good.

Cons

The software is bit heavy which can make the system slow.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Student Engineering Projects

Reviewed on 2019/03/04

I have used this product multiple times for student projects. The process to analyze data in the...

I have used this product multiple times for student projects. The process to analyze data in the software is simple, and ready for presentation. Would highly recommend for use as a primary statistical analysis software!

Pros

Minitab has incredible ease of use! Any project that incorporates charts is a simple 2 minute process in Minitab. It also has simple means of exporting the charts to whatever presentation or report vehicle utilized for a project.

Cons

If you have not had ample statistical analysis experience, or statistical basics, this program could definitely seem overwhelming for all it has to offer and what you can customize on an analysis.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solid statistical software with a large amount of useful features.

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

Pros

Ease of use. Wide range of statistic tools to help portray the data that I want, in the way I want to do it.

Cons

A lot of the learning of how to use the software is trial by fire. Not all the features are perfectly lined out in the beginning.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

review Minitab

Reviewed on 2019/02/09

Pros

It is a really good software to do some statistical and exploratory data analysis for beginners. It get the basic job done like creating a normal distribution, box plots and also finding the P values.

Cons

It does not have a lot of features like the new softwares in the market today like R, Python etc. It should get a revamp to stay in this market.

Sunil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best statistical analysis tool

Reviewed on 2020/07/08

Pros

Easy to use and details support on easy topics and tool

Cons

New update not be automatic. Some advance statistical tool need to add( Neural networking)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best way to represent data

Reviewed on 2019/07/20

Exceptional in giving accurate results

Exceptional in giving accurate results

Pros

Results can be interpreted quickly since the software gives results in no time

Cons

For some reason it is not supported in some of my devices