545 reviews

VirtualBox

Open-source cross-platform virtualization application

4,5 /5 (545 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,1
94% recommended this app
545 reviews
Hung V.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

VirtualBox for quickly initial new environment for testing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

I use VirtualBox to initial my testing environment for my shell script function which needs to run in Centos, RedHat, Debian and Ubuntu, I download the virtual OS and add into VirtualBox which alow me quickly verify my script and when I work with Kubernetes, it already support installation environment as Virtual OS and we use VirtualBox to host it.

Pros

With VirtualBox, I easily create a test and dev environment for different OS, it supports all type of OS from Window, Ubuntu, Centos. VirtualBox Guest system is quickly created and start and I could share data between Host OS and Guest OS including copy/paste, disk sharing and drag-drop. VirtualBox consume very little resource and is able to host multiple Guest OS at same time, it is an excellent feature when we want to test our script in different OS

Cons

Using VirtualBox is quite complex to setup Guest OS, special to enable access to Host OS hardware such as Printer, switch between Host OS and Guest OS have delayed time

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Harshit B.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

VirtualBox, The little brother to the Workstation.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to spin up and test instances of our application and also new flavours is the primary business purpose and virtual box ticks all thos boxes is a great asset to have to meet the business goals.

Pros

Have been using VirtualBox to spam new distributions of linux and other open source operating systems and also use Virtual box to deploy our application as well and we use it as a benchmarking mechanism tool.

Cons

The least thing we like about this is the amount of compute it takes to run the application on the slight less specked machine and it does a take on the battery life, otherwise the application is good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Waqas S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

VB - The saviors of developers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I am using this software since 2008. It is light weight Virtualization Software available on market. It is easy to setup and works easily without any glitches. Using this Software to check the operating of website on different Operating Systems. Using this to works on developing cross platform applications.

Cons

Well it works great but unlike VMWare VSphere. It only works on one machine and not providing any remote access to operate virtual machines on network.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mo'men Y.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

VirtualBox Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

My personal experience with it could be both satisfactory and disappointing, honestly. On the personal side, I'd say almost flawless, but on the professional side, it's not what I'd rely on, but again, you get what you pay for!

Pros

VirtualBox is open-source, easy and super fast to install and start, and it's free as well. It helps you test any OS in a few steps and switch between the operating systems you're running easily and swiftly. It's not exclusive to only one operating system.

Cons

If you just want to test operating systems and not go in-depth, VM VirtualBox would be okay. However, if you'd like to use it more in-depth, you'd find a few issues. Some computers do not allow the installation of a Virtual Machine software without changing the BIOS, and this, of course, isn't something everyone can do. Some features aren't supported without installing add-ons. Also, sound drivers aren't available. It takes a while to come up and if your computer isn't good on the specs side, you might have a laggy and slow experience. Changing the size of disk storage could be an issue, but such issued were paid attention to with newer versions (5.2). If you use the virtual OS you're running as a main drive or you rely on it for professional purposes, this could be a total disaster as you'd face countless network issues that'd hold you back. However, again, to be fair, these issues would be faced only if you go deep, but if you just run virtual OS for fun, or for simple usage, you'd have nothing to worry about.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kevin H.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Free Virtualization with Tiny Quirks

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/08
Review Source: Capterra

The product works well when asking students or participants to spin up virtual machines in a quick and easy manner. If you do not already have VMWare technolgoies in your environment, the use of this software for desktop-based virtualization is pretty much a no-brainer. Even if you do have VMWare products, the ability to perform development, testing, or other work within a free product that is virtually equivalent to a paid product is a great thing to have.

Pros

This software does a pretty good job with virtualizing both Linux and Windows guest VMs inside of your desktop environment. It makes spinning up new systems and testing them out relatively easy, and the built-in network features make it straightforward when deciding what VLAN or network type you would like your VM to be running on.

Cons

Performance appears to be a bit slower than using VMWare Workstation Pro. Additionally, the documentation on Oracle's site is nowhere as comprehensive as that of VMWare or Microsoft. Finally, there is a longstanding issue with CredentialGuard and Windows 10 which requires that certain security precautions be disabled in order for VirtualBox to operate. While this has *finally* been solved in VMWare Workstation, this is still a rather significant issue in VirtualBox which is a detriment to its use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

André H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing and free virtualization software!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Virtualbox has been an amazing tool for us. We’ve never encountered any errors/problems and we were able to use their virtualization software just fine!

Pros

The simplicity, and ease of use caught my eye. I was looking for a great tool to run virtual machines, and Virtualbox was the one!

Cons

There aren’t alot of cons, because this software is so professional and efficient!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nicolas R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great choice for VMs in Mac

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/24
Review Source: Capterra

I use Virtualbox to setup environments. I'm Mac user and I use daily vm to configure and deploy mainly linux distributions.

Pros

When I started using Mac it was a problem for me, but when I started using VirtualBoxVM everything became easier. Easy Setup, Easy VM setup and administration, Easy everything. Runs fast. Even if I keep some VMs open.

Cons

I don't find any cons at all. Maybe the resource consumption, but that's really not on VirtualBoxVM, is cause of VMs assigned resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Virtualization is awesome.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/18
Review Source: Capterra

I use Virtual Box to provide multiple services while retaining a single server. For the classroom VirutalBox provides students with an environment where they can experiment while keeping the base operating system secure and locked.

The ability to preserve aging software is critical to many companies I deal with. Inability to upgrade or lack of migration options often means that they need to keep these programs running while replacing broken or old hardware. Snapshots help me to keep perfect copies of system content and provide 100% restores.

Pros

The ability to quick install and work inside a virtual operating system with having to build an entirely new system. No messing around with hard disks and bios. Its great when you want to test out Operating System alternatives or when testing current systems via hard disk imaging.

Cons

No "out of the box" compatibility with Apple IOS operating system. This is obviously no fault of its creators as Apple has made use of its Operating System near impossible with its hardware but from a teaching perspective its a wasted opportunity especially for those learning helpdesk skills.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best virtalization tool by oracle

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/14
Review Source: Capterra

Mainly we use it to test on all major Operating systems as its portable to any System structure form UNIX to Windows

Pros

Due to its open source nature and ease to use this is a best tool for any one from business to normal users allows use of any OS inside Windows (mainly) which makes testing easy on other OS like Linux (all flavors)

Cons

Not much any cons about this tool but it could be built more ease to use though its good but can be improved and all connections should be automatically detected inside virtual machine such though they work doesn't feel like real OS can adopt "NEW DESKTOP"like tech and improve it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rajshekhar S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Good software for virtually using multiple operating system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/13
Review Source: Capterra

If you have lack of resources and you want to work on multiple operating systems then this is the software you need.

Pros

virtual box provides a lot of features. this is a robust software which works very fine. this software also provide functionality to take snapshot. also you can export your OS anywhere.

Cons

There are some issues when you try to install Linux based OS, they do not acquire the full resolution of your of your system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Josué G.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The tool needed to virtualize and test software in secure environments

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/03
Review Source: Capterra

VirtualBox has allowed me to develop and test applications on different operating systems in a safe and controlled environment. It is really an excellent tool to develop all kinds of tests the idea of being able to virtualize any operating system and within being able to apply test settings verify its behavior and even more its compatibility with the system is fantastic. It is even ideal to test an operating system with some internal modification, as in my case a Linux distribution to which a modified kernel was implemented in which different types of tests were performed before placing it in production, It is definitely safe reliable and robust Therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend its use as a virtualization tool.

Pros

VirtualBox has the quality of virtualizing almost any operating system with excellent driver compatibility using VirtualBox from the versions where it was necessary to capture the mouse and keyboard to use it on the guest and then release them with the Ctrl key to use it on the host, and I can say that the development and constant updating by the community have made this a great virtualization software that has great driver support. and the most attractive point is that it is free and is backed by a great company such as Oracle, it is important to highlight that VirtualBox is an excellent tool for home virtualization because in the business field we have more specialized ones, an important extra is that once installed the host host, it is possible to obtain additional functionalities, such as clipboard sharing, drag & drop support and adaptation of the host screen to the size of the host even by resizing one of its excellent features lies in the possibility of customizing each machine to the required needs Hardware with CPU, Memory, storage among others. In the networks section, the configuration capacity that can be obtained due to its different network modes is excellent, such as: Bridge mode, NAT, Internal network, host-only and Not connected, this can be said to be a tool Very complete virtualization.

Cons

In some operating systems such as Linux, the configuration of the extras that allow us for example the auto resizing of the screen and the other features mentioned in the pro section can be complicated. Additionally there is a point that, although I would not consider it so much a negative aspect of the tool if it is necessary to mention, and it is the subject of the resources of the host team because of this the performance of the virtual machines will depend, and that is that the essence of virtualization, one needs many system resources to take full advantage of the host and virtual machine simultaneously and finally I can not fail to mention the inability to make changes to the hardware of the virtual machine running, otherwise it is a excellent tool that more than positive aspects prevail over negative ones.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sébastien L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Real Problems No Longer Feel Real Inside a Perfectly Replicated Virtual System with VirtualBox

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/22
Review Source: Capterra

Thanks to VirtualBox, I have been able to test different systems under controlled conditions. I was able to quickly test the minimum requirements of specific applications by simply changing the settings affecting the virtual machine before using it. It has also allowed me to get comfortable with other operating systems that I don't use regularly and to open native applications flawlessly as opposed to trying to emulate those with an incompatible system. It has saved me many times when deploying destructive scripts for testing purposes that would otherwise have wiped out my real hard drive or infected my machine directly. I feel this is a very well built software and I would be confident in recommending its use to anyone who is looking into virtualization.

Pros

The ability to install almost any operating system with great support for USB, ACPI and SMP without the risk of breaking the machine that is being used for virtualization is a strong advantage of VirtualBox. Apart from the fact that it is free and backed by a legendary company, one of its great features resides in the guest additions, which makes it possible to get better performance and communication with the host, such as adding drag & drop and copy/paste abilities. It also supports a wide range of hardware and has always worked very well for my testing purposes as long as enough memory and CPU can be allocated to the virtual machine without affecting the host. Because it is also possible to take snapshots of the virtual machine at any point, it is easy and convenient to test almost anything without having to reformat and waste many hours to set things up again: it suffices to go back in time to retrieve a working version of the instance. I use it mainly on Linux machines, but its great portability and cross-platform nature is an asset when it comes to deploying it on other systems.

Cons

When not used to the software, it is confusing why some functions might not be available without the guest additions. On some systems, using a desktop environment with fixed sized windows may distort the aspect ratio of the virtual machine. Instead of auto-scaling, it is then necessary to switch the window into "floating mode" to resize manually. Depending on the resources available, the virtual machine will certainly feel slower than the host, especially with no hardware acceleration. By the nature of virtualization, one needs a lot of system resources to take full advantage of both the host and the virtual machine at the same time. On the positive side, it is easy with VirtualBox to adjust the resources allocated to the virtual machine. It cannot be changed on the fly while using the virtual environment, but it is nevertheless indispensable to be able to do so otherwise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Francis carolina L.

Everything you need to do software testing in a single workstation

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

In the organization in which I worked some time ago, all platforms were migrating to free software. As a geographer, I had to make expedited deliveries of maps and that platform was not yet stable, with Virtualbox, I could use traditional software to respond to requests from my bosses. Currently I'm still using Virtualbox but outside the business scope. At home my family enjoys playing video games from the time of our childhood and they can only be executed in windows 98. It could not be possible to have this hobby without VirtualBox.

Pros

What I like most is that tool is free, easy to use and functional. These characteristics is what makes software distinguish from other similar ones. I also want to highlight its functions, such as: It allows installing virtually any operating system such as Linux, Android, Mac OS X, Windows, Chrome OS, etc; unlike others in the market.
It is extremely easy to create an environment for testing of all kinds. In this way we will easily obtain a test environment completely isolated from the rest of the systems.
Virtual machines and virtualization allow to use a single service per virtualized server easily and simply. In this way, even if one of the virtualized servers is dropped, the other will continue to work. Finally, the fact of virtualizing servers or operating systems can mean significant savings in maintenance and energy consumption.

Cons

Directly on the software, I could not say that there is something that I do not like, it is quite efficient. The issue is, we must have a computer or workstation that is powerful, since, if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. In addition, it is also possible that sometimes operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the less you will notice the loss of performance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dominic R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool for running additional environments on your workstation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Nice free virtual machine tool to keep my primary workstation from getting too "cluttered"

Pros

VB is a great little tool to spin up additional OS environments on my workstation. I use this for 2 reasons. First, to be able to spin up other operating systems to do cross-platform testing (Linux, Windows (multiple versions), ChromeOS, etc). Secondly, I use it to have separate environments for clients. We have a multitude of clients that each require different (or worse, sometimes the same) VPN tools, software, etc. When you try to install all these tools on your regular desktop, we were constantly running into conflicts (one client needed to be v5.1 to connect to the VPN and a different client needed v4.7). It just became too much clutter. So I started spinning up a different Windows (or Linux) environment for each client install their tools separately. It has worked wonders!

Cons

The only downside is related to the /way/ I use the software. Because I spin up different environments for each client, if I have to work with a couple clients simultaneously (not often, but it happens), it can be incredibly slow because my workstations resources now have to be split 2, 3 or 4 ways (each envirnment usually gets 1/3 of my RAM allocated). Running 1 at a time is perfectly fine. Running 2 is usually OK, but once I hit 3, I've pretty much maxed out my host and it can be slow. That being said, I could accommodate for that by simply installing more RAM or allocating less to each.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Zhao Z.
Industry: Research

As a graduate student majoring in Computer Science, I use VirtualBox a lot to set up Ubuntu.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

I pay nothing to gain all the functionalities that I need to implement my coursework and research experiment.

Although I am a Mac user, I can also install Windows on VirtualBox and use Office conveniently.

Pros

Firstly, VirtualBox is free. But it doesn't mean that it has bad quality. Its various features and functionalities are totally enough, especially for students to use for the academical purpose. I am using Ubuntu on VirtualBox to develop an Operating System kernel this semester. VirtualBox is the first recommendation by my professor.

My laptop is Mac OS and only has 4G memory. Since VirtualBox is lightweight and uses smaller memory than VMware, startup or shutdown of the virtual machine on my laptop is very fast, only a few seconds.

For students, VirtualBox initial settings are simpler than those on VMware. Most of the time, those settings have nothing to do with coursework or academic experiment. We usually use default values. Too many settings will distract our attention. So the simpleness of VirtualBox can help students focus on their coursework topic.

Cons

Compared to VMware, drag-and-drop functionality on VirtualBox is less convenient. Although we can do sequence settings on VirtualBox to make it support drag-and-drop functionality between host and virtual machine, it is time-consuming and easy to make mistakes to learn and implement these settings.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Libio L.

Excelente para probar programas nuevos y diferentes sistemas

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

To test operating systems.
To use software that is not available in our operating system.
Create and simulate a network of servers.

Pros

It allows me to test different programs without altering my operating system. I can create multiple servers to simulate different networks and test the operation of a server before putting it into operation. I can enter with different programs without altering my operating system. can be installed in any operating system and be able to use all programs, either private or free, since you have no restrictions for use.
VirtualBox supports the virtualization of the following operating systems: Microsoft Windows GNU / Linux Mac OS X OS / 2 Warp Solaris / OpenSolaris FreeBSD MS-DOS Android etc.

Cons

You need a powerful computer. We have to take into account that if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. Operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the loss of performance will be noticed.
If we have a problem with the computer hosting the host operating system, the service may fall on the entire virtual machine. Therefore the computer that runs the virtual machine is a critical part.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Krishna M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

No more spending money to buy computers just to use different operating systems

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Virtualbox has done wonders for me. Allowing me to try to learn new operating systems without having to spend a lot of money to buy a machine that has that operating system.

Pros

Virtualbox is open-source software that hosts just about any operating system as a file: Windows, macOS, Linux, Ubuntu, Android, etc. A ton of operating systems to choose from. Of course, to do that, you have to download the actual operating system file that can be several gigabytes. But once done, it's easy to import the OS into Virtualbox and start using out of the box.

As a Student Ambassador, one of the duties I have is to showcase my computer science projects in an open house event. I have showcased my projects using the Ubuntu operating system. I wasn't comfortable inserting Ubuntu into my main hard disk as a dual boot. If I need to switch the OS on the fly, having a dual boot setup doesn't let me do that, but VirtualBox does. I am asked to showcase Linux commands I learned in my class to prospective students and their families.

Cons

I cannot think of a single dislike. VirtualBox is quite simply, easy to use. No learning curve, and it works out of the box. Of course, the only valid gripe I can give is that you need to have a powerful computer with a good amount of RAM and hard drive space.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Virtualization in Minutes - Virtual Box

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Overall VirtualBox servers the total purpose. It can be installated on any operating system, so no matter if your Server is sitting on Windows or Linux box, VirtualBox can be installed and used flawlessly without any powerful configurations. So if you have a Server which in turn is connecting to multiple different servers sitting at different sites at your organization, you can use VirtualBox to bring all the Servers in one instance and make the process more efficient and streamlined.

Pros

VirtualBox is a really lightweight but powerful virtualiztion software. It allows us to build machines within machines and interconnect each machine in a personalised manner of networking. It is helps hugely on Servers for creating minor servers within one parent server which facilitates the basic functioning of any Server. Additionally we can create multiple machines and run all of them at once considering cores of your base machine and each virtual machine will work as a dedicated system serving the purpose.

Cons

Support can be a con for this software. We can get a lot of open source/ public communities supporting this software but there is not formal teaching lessons/ vedios from Oracle explainig the functioning of this software in detail. So learning the software can consist of alot of reaching which eventually becomes frustating at times but overall you learn more when you research. But Oracle can publish some offical videos exolaning the software which will be a lot more helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Caleb J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

VirtualBox - Free hypervisor for your computer

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

One of my personal favor feature of the application is the ability to create handy snapshots of different state of each VM you create. I use it mainly to test software and websites before launching them in production. with the snapshot feature, I can install all basic required software in the operating system of my choice and when I believe I have the perfect environment, I create a snapshot, in the event something goes wrong, I can easily revert to the snapshot create for this purpose. This allow me to have a clean slate to start from each time I want to run another test and have all I need.

Pros

VirtualBox - is a free open-source, cross-platform and a solid built hypervisor for your computer, which was development by Oracle Corporation. This software is perfect for software reviewers, software testers, software developers and software designers, just to name a few. VirtualBox makes it very easy and convenient to have multiple different operating systems running as guest on your single computer, which acts as the host, eliminating the need to dual boot your machine or the need to have more than one physical computer to run each operating system you might need to perform optimally.

Cons

The most recent version 6.0, has a cool and clean interface with minimal clutter. On the left-hand side of the application you can find global tools and all virtual machines and also virtual machine groups that you have created and available on you computer. You also have the handy import and create new VMs with related toolbar buttons for customizable options to suite your needs. Although the software is free, you can adjust just about any feature available, making it work in as you want and need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

John D.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use Workstation Virtualization!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Considering the product is open source and free, it is easy to install on windows or linux clients and spin up test virtual machines in a few minutes. It also, allows for rapid testing and ever setting up of small networks to simulate a prodution server environement of a desktop machine if needed. Would highly recommend for programmers, sysadmin, or even home hobbyists that have a need to run multiple machines but do not have the hardware available to do so.

Pros

This has been my go to cross platform virtualization software for testing and development. It is easy to acquire and install. Supports a wide breadth of hosts (Linux, Windows and Macs) and Guest OSs( even dating back to DOS and Windows 3.1!) . It can even he run headless with a simple web interface and does not require dedicated hardware like ESX. Also, Apps can be run seamlessly within the host operating system.

Cons

Even though it is easy to use, I do not think it runs as thin as VMware. Also, to autostart machines requires third party hacks rather than a intergrated service within the product. Undestanding that Virtualbox is meant to be more of a client based virtualized product, it would still be nice to see the autostart of the guest machines baked into the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jonathon T.

Simple and the best part... FREE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Cheap high quality operating system virtualization that hasn't let me down yet.

Pros

This is the easiest Virtualization software I've been able to find and the best part is that it's FREE. I use it for virtualizing several machines for our organization. We are a smaller business but still have a need for some things to be on a dedicated "server" (door locks and our older Church Management software). These 2 things could not be installed on a machine that was running other services as they use some of the same ports that the other ones did and it was causing conflicts. I used Virtual Box so they could run virtually on the same machine that they wouldn't work on previously. The feature set (network settings, display settings, and the KB/Mouse passthrough once the Virtual Box tools is installed) in Virtual Box is right up there with the "big dogs" but they do it for free which for a smaller organization such as ours is huge.

Cons

There have been a few Virtual Box software hiccups that require me to shutdown and reboot the 2 virtual servers but it's been fairly solid and only happened 3 times in the 2+ years that machine has been running.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David J.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

VirtualBox- Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Review Source: Capterra

With VirtualBox I am solving problems like tuff installing windows 10 on my computer which I don't know if its gonna turn well for me , I just simulate it and see how is my computer reacting on it , its like I am going around all hard and complicated installations and just installing it on easy way, that's also my main benefit.

Pros

What I like most about this software is his flexibility. You can choose it to simulate every computer software you like , from Windows (XP Vista, 7, 8, 10) to Linux and more. I would recommend it to every programmer or ethical hacker who is still learning about hacking, installation of all packages is really fast and easy. They are guiding you to every step and there is no chance you can make mistake. The simulations are very likely to original software which I found very amazing. Thank you VirtualBox!

Cons

What I least like about this software is that sometimes some simulations are very slow to install and use ,I don't know if its because of my computer or because VirtualBox system, its like I am having 25 FPS when I am on Linux Software, and internet can be very slow there, also In the beginning I couldn't find way to exit VirtualBox simulation, which I found very troubling.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jorge M.

is a very practical application that allows to install additional operating systems within another

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

You can install several operating systems on a desktop, Hosts and cross-platform guests, including Windows, Linux and Oracle Solaris, and Mac OS X as host, has Teletransport of virtual machines running between hosts without interruption, has a high performance, supports loads of Massive work of up to 32 virtual CPUs and compatibility with OVF format.

Pros

It is an open source software compatible with a large number of guest operating systems, its versatility makes it compatible with x86 / amd64 architectures, it is an application that allows to install additional operating systems, known as "guest systems", within another system operative "host", each with its own virtual environment. In terms of hardware emulation, the hard disks of the guest systems are stored in the host systems as individual files in a container called Virtual Disk Image, incompatible with the other virtualization softwares.

Cons

they add great complexity to the system at runtime. The main disadvantage of the virtual machine, is that in the application of some process will have the effect of the slowness of the computer, that is, the computer in which this process is running must have a quite remarkable capacity must be of great capacity or powerful. The languages based on virtual machine, have a disadvantage is that they are actually slower than fully compiled languages, due to the overload generated by having an intermediate software layer between the application and the computer hardware, however, This limitation does not it's too critical.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sumit K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Oracle Virtual Box Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

It’s a very good experience to work on Virtual Box

Pros

1) It allows to create virtual machine of any OS. 2) It allows to change settings for every single virtual machine. 3) We don’t need to create servers for testing purposes as the virtual machine provides the same functionality. 4) It does not limit the user for using it.

Cons

1) Installation process takes very time. 2) On some computers, one must allow virtualisation through bios to create Virtual Machine. 3) There is no copy and paste option in virtual machine. For that we need to open session in putty. 4) Sound Drivers are not present and even we do have full screen size for virtual machine.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Luis daniel R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best VMs around

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've been using Virtual Box for years now and for different OS. Recently last week I got even Mac OS X Mojave to work on a VM on a windows machine! It's always been really, really powerful and the snapshots feature it's a godsend. I'm a software engineer and we have to test different kind of apps and on different kind of systems and VMWare for me, again is a godsend because I can keep multiple systems running with different OS or different versions of the app and make them work with each other. The resource management is great and even on the free version! I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

Cons

There were some issues with Windows 10 lately and VMWare where some of the VM extensions wouldn't register properly and over the years, it feels that when using Linux Systems, the VMWare tools aren't too good and you have to resort to tutorials or scripts online to get them to work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10