34 reviews

Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

3,9 /5 (34 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,9
/
5
Value for Money
3,5
Features
3,8
Ease of Use
3,5
Customer Support
4,3
74% recommended this app
34 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Destiny One Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

We have a centralized system and database that is utilized by multiple campuses at various locations. A single repository for information that allows for online registration and integration of program information across multiple platforms is a something we did not have before.

Pros

The flexibility of the product to accommodate various use cases is important for a continuing education unit. Also, Destiny One has come a long way to provide vendor hosted users access to customization and configurations. This allows us to be agile and responsive to the customers needs.

Cons

Eastern time zone of the company headquarters can delay progress and response time. However, urgent issues are handled in a timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kathy M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great platform right out of the box

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Very satisfied!

Pros

Lively continual improvement process, good support communication, professional look and feel of eCatalog, corporate learning portals

Cons

I would like to streamline the required profile information, as an admin. It is too long to scroll through to the bottom of the page.
Pricey at first but have since moderated the pricing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Martin B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Potential, Good Customer Service (and you will need it!).

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

The previous iteration of our company had no overall plan to bring a cohesive, unified working experience to both the staff user and client experience. Destiny One has helped us bring all aspects of this in line with modern business practices and develop more realistic expectations plans to create a better experience for staff/customers. Although we experience pain integrating the software with our needs, we are hopeful that better communication and upgrades will result in an even better relationship between Destiny One and our department.

Pros

Once the software is properly configured, the DestinyOne software is very powerful. It handles the needs for daily use very well. The procedural flow of tasks are a joy to complete.

Strong links from all aspects of a clients' info in the staff view is really useful and the ability to keep annotated comments related to the client linked to the staff author is also useful.

The Destiny One software has a healthy update cycle that attempts to integrate repairs to user problems and requests with each update.

Help desk/support staff are quick to respond and attempt to help with unusual situations that arise. There is an active users forum that can help with real-world examples or shared expertise.

Integration of the staff view with the online customer view is fantastic. It presents a very professional and accurate web presence that can be modified to best represent the face of our company to the world.

Cons

There are many situations wherein the software feels like a work in progress. Upgrades can break procedures that were previously working.

The UI can be terribly counter-intuitive. Help files are a rabbit-hole that rarely gives satisfaction.

Initial progress through the setup for your institution (extremely crucial) could be so improved by a follow-along example of an end-result setup for a fictional or real organization.

In our experience, no real follow up was successfully communicated by the Destiny One team to bring us from a neophyte user into the big league team of advanced users.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Linda M.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Destiny One has given us control over our revenue and reporting.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny One has given our department control over our student registrations, reporting and marketing. We are learning new things everyday and love what the program has provided our department so far after launching is 14 months ago.

Pros

We are able to pull many types of reports that assist us in planning and budgets. Having a different system than the core programs in the college has given us an advantage to forecast and plan our department revenue and needs. We are also able to control our marketing messages and track students better.
Learning every day what D1 is able to do for us and the D1 support team has been amazing supporting our ongoing needs.

Cons

We were a little surprised that some of the default reports did not pull the data you would expect it too for things like instructor payroll and a room report. I think some of the default reports could be better designed to encompass more information for the user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jasmine B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Destiny One

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, working with Destiny One has been a great experience. We have been able to customize the solution based on our needs as the Continuing Education department has grown.

Pros

Easy set up and management of courses and certificates, notification automation, customization for approval workflows and permissions, reporting and robust dynamic help.

Cons

Lack of user-friendly front end development. Currently you need a developer to design and assist non-technical users. The solution for integration with an external CRM needs improvement. The current method has some issues and the core solution needs additional features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patricia S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Destiny One

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Destiny One helped us to be very successfuly in providing non traditional Tufts students with a streamlined check out process.

Pros

Destiny One is a great tool for managing a quick checkout process for courses not integrated in with your student information system. As a stand alone product, Destiny One is great. If you are looking to integrate with other applications on your campus, it is going to take some work.

Cons

Our institution tends to customize applications. What I like least about Destiny One is that we are not able to customize the application at all. It would be very helpful if we could add fields and control the content, paricularly in the student profile page.
The reporting tool is very limited in that ou cannot edit any reports. You have to buy the archive database.
The lack of CRM has forced us to push json notifications to a CRM platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Heidi P.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Expense review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

It's been a good program for others in our group, for receivable, for creating teaching contracts, for our instructors to enter grades, etc.
I do use Destiny and it currently works well for what I am using it for...extraction of the current quarter contracts, verification of data for contracts, etc.

Pros

Recently, we had a overview of Destiny and learned how to extract all the current quarter contracts to an excel format. For payroll this have been very valuable.
This program is very good for receivables.

Cons

When we purchased your software product it was supposed to be for expenses also but this side of the program is lacking greatly. There is no place to enter expenses easily and no reporting functions to extract this information. Even though we did spend money to create a place to enter expenses it never was functional and a lot of time was spent entering data that was not able to be extracted.
Another shadow program was needed for expenses.
I would like to see a mass update on the contract updates. Currently, we need to pick up each contract and recalculate, and save to find the total end contract compensation. It would be nice if we could update all the contracts at once.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Edgar Z.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Destiny Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

As of today I feel that Destiny just added a layer of headaches to my team and my students. I have spent so much time, energy, and funding trying to launch a very simple part of what Destiny is supposed to do, which is: registration and payment that I am thinking that probably this was a mistake for us to contract Destiny at this time.

Pros

The product is not easy to use. There is so much IT support needed to use this product that you end up wasting your own team time and your funding in paying for Destiny's IT support time. The integration with registration and TouchNet

Cons

Integration was not easy. Destiny runs on templates that are very hard to customized for my programs. We have to go around Destiny's templates to find a solution to what we want to do, instead of having Destiny what we want it to do. This takes us a long time to figure out. I am still waiting on destiny support to answer several of our questions after launching.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Kerwin S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Comme ci, comme ça

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Software is OK (have not used equivalent software so cannot compare with others). Customer service is generally good to very good. Documentation (particularly training videos and documentation for brand new users) is lacking. API documentation is inconsistent and contains errors.

Pros

Cloud-based; many customizable labels, PV marketing content, and system configurations; offers an API; supports some integrations.

Cons

Breaks the browser back button (the cardinal rule of web UX); cannot use in multiple tabs simultaneously; UI feels cluttered on longer forms.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

High-level, non-user feedback

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

significantly improved the enrollment/registration process for students

Cons

my teams (registrar, marketing, IT, academics) are constantly figuring out workarounds because Destiny does not have the features necessary to support their work.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Billie B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Destiny One Multi-Program Office Implementation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our experience has been positive. Destiny One Support is very responsive. Whether we have questions about how to perform a complex transaction, how to resolve a problem, or reporting a bug that needs to be fixed, we always receive a prompt response. If they can answer right away, the do so with explanations and screenshots. If they need to speak with a developer, they keep us posted on the status of our query.
We also have the thank Destiny for providing the GROW site where we can offer suggestions for product improvements

Pros

Destiny One is the first Registration Software I've administered and supported. I found it relatively easy to learn and use. It was named OneCE when I started working with it and the help files weren't easy to understand. The help files have improved exponentially, and there is very little we can't find out for ourselves without having to turn to the Destiny One support team for assistance.

Cons

When we began to implement Multi-Program Office for other departments in the University the functionality seemed to be being created on the fly while we were preparing to implement. This meant that we had no experience with the new functionality, nor enough opportunity to test it in our test instance prior to implementation to production.

One big flaw with Multi-Program use is that we aren't able to lock down functionality to Program Office for users which means administration personnel need to perform the manual entry for department heads by request to ensure they don't accidentally make changes to other Program Offices settings. For example: Workflow assignments, Enrolment Restrictions, Tuition profiles, etc.

Setting up Workflow assignments and making changes is a long and arduous process as with each change, you're taken to the top of the screen and must scroll back down to where you were to add or remove an additional person. I estimate approximately 30 minutes of work for each Costing Unit. We have approximately 200 Costing Units and more to come as more faculties come on board.

We also do not have the ability to print out or view the entire Configuration Map of our existing Configuration settings.

Where reporting is concerned, we feel the developers don't really have a handle on what the requirements are to run programs or conferences. Perhaps to gather requirements, they should interview the faculties who are running these types of programs to ascertain needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew C.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Destiny One Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our experience has been positive with Destiny One. The software platform replaces our aging systems and databases, and it provided much better stability versus old. The professional services team was easy to work with and enabled us to launch within a short time-frame. Their support is responsive, and was able to provide response promptly. However, I'd like to point out that extra features/modules is costly and it is challenging to commit to purchasing an optional license when we were unable to obtain trial license to complete business process modeling and feasibility testing.

Pros

With Destiny One we are able to consolidate multiple systems and databases into one centralized repository. Enabled simplified payment processing and reporting that meets our need. Good library of resources for end users. Automated workflows and tasks allows staff to stay on top of day to day operations.

Cons

The learning curve is steep for non-technical users. It requires lots of training and follow-up in order for staff to be comfortable using the software. The software doesn't fit our business out of the box and requires various costly customization to meet our business requirements and needs. The turn around for changes could take months to complete, which includes labels and minor configuration changes. Hot fixes for minor changes are not possible, and requires school to come up with a temporary solutions to mitigate impact. The administration of the software is challenging, particularly when there is no documentation on the configurable configurations, as well as, the mechanism for assigning workflows is time consuming and not user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chris M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Destiny OneCE Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny One has significantly increased our on-line enrollment, we had 737 people register via Destiny One in August 2019 for non-credit courses, that is a 25% increase from last August 2018 when we had 589, which was at that time in it's first Fall registration cycle and was a 96% increase from the previous year when we were still using the Flex Registration software. Amazing!!!!

Pros

Destiny One has provided a user friendly on-line student experience for our non-credit, non- traditional students at Cuyahoga Community College. It is easy for our student demographics to navigate the registration process and has decreased the number of phone registration for our non credit courses.

Cons

Implementation of the software was time consuming and sometimes difficult based on the information provided by Destiny One. A dedicated project team has to be established in order to successfully launch the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Destiny One supporter

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

The customer and system support is great, the team running the destiny one system is knowledgable and approachable, and the product is consistently going in a direction that improves the impact and bang for buck we get for this SAAS product. I'm very happy with it!

Pros

This software was flexible enough to work for an incredibly varied array of courses/sections and conferences run by our institution. No other product I know of on the market today works for this array of use cases.

My favorite thing about the product as a system administrator is the self-service customization, the system support we get from the vendor, and the integration packages.

Cons

Currently, we just get upgrades once every 3 or 4 months. In the agile/devops standards for SAAS providers, this isn't as competitive as other vendors on the market that provide more frequent updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Traci M.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Excellent Support Services

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

In the year I have been in my position, we have seen a significant increase in programs we are offering through Destiny One. This has been revenue generating for our extension units, but has also provided various benefits to our course managers. This program provides an easy way to market programs, email registrants, print mailing labels, and provide name tags & attendance sheets. It also has a wealth of reporting, which makes data-based decision making a reality for us. We have also recently delved into the option to do custom reporting using the Archive Database option.

Pros

The best thing about Destiny One is their extremely responsive support staff. I have only been using the product for a little over a year, but have had a great experience with their support staff. The are always willing and able to help me whenever I have a question. The product provides a good volume of help documentation, and their associated Grow! community is a very valuable resource when learning the product.

Cons

Since I am using this product to support Virginia Cooperative Extension public educational programs, and not continuing education, some applications have to be modified to fit my needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tiago H.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

DestinyOne from an analytics perspective

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

Having all of our enrollment, application, and financial data consolidated into a single data source is very helpful.

Pros

From an analytics perspective, this software makes it simple to extract and evaluate the needed information. There's a robust support structure that provides very thorough documentation in the form of help files, ERD diagrams, and timely responses to requests/tickets. Having a Tableau platform (server) in place is also extremely helpful.

Cons

Integration with our financial system has been a challenge due to how the reports were initially exported (pre-formatted spreadsheets with headers and merged cells), but this has been addressed in current versions, though most of our reporting is still custom. Visualizing student payment details is also difficult due to how the transaction pages are laid out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lynn M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

One Step at a Time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once we better understood the many features and possibilities we were able to adapt the Destiny software to support most of our requirements. We were able to start off small and over time offer additional products within the software and make adjustments along the way. It was a slow start, but we are now able to get products to market relatively quickly.

Cons

We are unique in our operations and are not structured as a tradition brick and mortar university. As such, it took us a little longer on adapt and modify many of the features for our needs. We needed a lot of guidance on which features could be used for our unique needs and had to adjust much of the terminology to fit our requirements. The learning curve was a little steep but once you understand how it works, the product has worked out great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lucy S.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Review from a finance perspective

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

I find the destiny help desk helpful. The system is relatively easy to use.

Pros

Ability to pull reports on financial information, such as enrollment and revenue, registrations.

Cons

Wish there was reports on instructor pay, or instructor pay compared to enrollment revenue. Also wish there were more reports related to groups, specifically the ability to pull invoices related to certain courses (based on start date). Wish each course generated a unique invoice #. We've run into issues because the invoice contains courses that haven't started and ones that have and we only need them to pay for the ones that have started.
Need something to track gift cards being issued. We all have issues as the refund options don't always apply, wish there was more options than 4.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Michelle G.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Robust solution for non-credit program registrations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny allows us to manage registration and student records in one place. We use Destiny reports to track enrollment and revenue trends and patterns.

Pros

Destiny is a robust registration system with ample features for tracking registration, budget, and student data. The workflows are not difficult to follow but in some cases would benefit from being streamlined. The reporting features allow us to track, analyze, and compare data with great detail.

Cons

Of the registration systems we researched, Destiny was the most expensive. On top of the licensing fees, there are significant charges for additional services such as integration with other software platforms and customized reports. We have not been able to adapt Destiny to fully meet our needs due to budget constraints.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Paolo G.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Quickly evolving niche product with great potential and support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Destiny One has come a long way, from a semi-custom solution for small campuses and Continuing Education units to a more flexible and comprehensive platform that includes event management and more. Customer service speed and efficiency have greatly increased recently, and it's a lot better than most other products I used. The software can be reasonably customized, used to keep track enrollment and finance in the background or to run the whole website.

Cons

Some modules are old and clunky, and almost useless (Marketing, for instance). Destiny is now pointing at integration with better software (like CRM) to go way beyond the basic functions, but integrations come at a cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Carolyn Y.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Continuing Education Software for the 21st Century

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny One had a significant impact on our department's efficiency and growth. The team that supported our project was outstanding.

Pros

Using Destiny One for student registration, records and reporting has improved the student experience for enrolling in our programs. The self-serve functionality, especially tracking a student's progress, is one example of the benefits. I use the reporting tools extensively for presenting data to senior leaders.

Cons

We offer credit programming and needed customizations to make it work for one of our program areas.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa E.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Destiny One review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We find Destiny to be fairly user friendly and overall, a good system for our non-credit professional education programs, It's not difficult to train people how to use as everything is well organized. We also really like being able to make real-time changes; something we weren't able to do before In addition, with the last major update in 2018 (?), the public view now looks much better.

Cons

We wish there was a way to delete files... in the rare instance the wrong file is uploaded, you're unable to delete (unless this has changed). In addition, it's unfortunate that once a section is final approved, you're unable to change the term if needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brandon G.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Strong software product for continuing education

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Fairly easy student information system for continuing education units. Makes payment processing, reporting and tracking easy. Destiny Solutions is constantly making improvements and does a great job listening to customers.

Cons

This software requires quite a bit of technical, particularly to get a quality front-end website presence. Also, the product update cycle for fixes and major changes takes quite a long time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cheryl B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Better over time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it works for me. I am a daily user and like to learn. However, for the not so computer savvy user, it is very complicated.

Pros

The ease of use for staff user compared to our last database system.

Cons

additional features cost more. Out of the box package was very limited and not customizable with out a fee.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Danielle R.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we have a small team which makes it harder to use because there are a lot of steps to do anything.

Pros

The customer support is great and it allows an amazon checkout process for students.

Cons

It has limitations on mobile and in the student portal. We had to customize a lot to get it where we wanted it to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10