Microsoft Lens Reviews

Microsoft Lens

4.5 (266)
Write a Review!
OCR solution for businesses of all sizes

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(266)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

266 Reviews

Jim Paul
Jim Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scanning Made Easy with Office Lens

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum...

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum quality. On top of all these perks, it's just a click away from your smartphone. I use it during meetings when I don't have with me my laptop, or at moments when I need to take a super clear shot on any document such as memos, announcements, or even receipts at supermarkets or hardware stores which I could use as a proof of purchase or for reimbursements.

Thanks, Microsoft!

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens solves the day whenever a need for crystal-clear scanning of photos or documents arises. It's the go-to application when you're out and suddenly feel the need for a handy mobile scanner, realizing that it's an application in your smartphone.

The tool is easy-to-use although the walk-through tutorial upon installing it is of great help too. The buttons' functions are simple yet so powerful. I use it a lot in scanning documents and taking snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

It's also a recommended software for taking random shots whose quality are at par with those of other top applications out in the market, or maybe better.

Cons

The scanning feature is one of the best and it's so reliable when used. If I may suggest though, the focusing task is sometimes a little annoying especially if the correct shape or outline is not easily met. But overall, it's best at what it does which is performing like an actual scanning machine.

Manohar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: A tool for capturing and converting

Reviewed on 2023/08/21

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be...

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be challenging to manage a lot of scanning papers.

Pros

Any form of file, including images, a board, a company card  is able to be quickly scanned. The documents can be converted to PDF, PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, etc. or saved in OneNote . The interface is easy to use. The ability to instinctively identify the file's page during scanning and edit is its strongest feature.

Cons

I really like the majority of this application, though I hope it was capable of converting more types of documents than simply images. Then it would serve as a one-stop shop.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Confusing Set-Up

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer...

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer service reps not being able to assist with set-up or integration. Very frustrating experience.

Pros

Microsoft is one of the world's leading software's, so it integrates with most other products nicely.

Cons

The customer service for set-up was awful, took weeks to get everything properly set up and the customer service reps don't seem to know what they are talking about.

Alejandro
Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A completely free sw to store images of important data like blackboards, documents and pictures

Reviewed on 2019/09/24

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Pros

Absolutely free, no need for Office 365 to use it. You just have to have a normal outlook or live account. Or a Microsoft account. Great alternative to AdobeScan and CamScanner.
Automatic recognizance of documents, blackboard, pictures and business cards to store it to the optimum quality.
Automatically fix the document angle in the picture to make it look like
Cut or fix the picture to the size you want. It uses snaps to easily and faster image cutting.
For business cards, the infomation is extracted and can be shared as .vcf or store it in your phone.
All the pictures can be store in OneDrive as .docx (as OCR document), jpeg/png (in your phone gallery), .pdf, pptx, or in OneNote.
When saving to a document, the original and if it applied, the layers of the picture are saved.
For blackboards, the images are saved as picture and as drawings /stencils, so they can be copied and pasted to other documents or emails.
View the images saved in your phone and share.
Take pictures in bulk.
Change the resolution of the picture to take. By default it uses a medium resolution. Around 5mpx.

Cons

Sometimes slow but I can accept it because it is recognizing a lot of information in the picture, figuring out what is.
No document can be saved locally, only the pictures.

Sai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens : An effective tool for document creation and editing.

Reviewed on 2023/08/18

Microsoft Office Lens is a trusted tool offering free and excellent scanning capabilities.

Microsoft Office Lens is a trusted tool offering free and excellent scanning capabilities.

Pros

Microsoft Lens works quickly to identify the text that has to be scanned. Additionally, it offers the right solutions for editing images. There are very obvious choices for sharing and storing in different formats. The absence of a watermark on PDF documents is also a plus.

Cons

Often it fails to exactly crop the pictures, thus I need to adjust it manually, but it does not take much time and it's easy to fix.

Esad
Esad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamline your workflow with the power of OCR in Microsoft Lens

Reviewed on 2022/12/22

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents,...

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents, and the platform's integration with other Microsoft apps, such as OneNote and Word, makes it easy to organize and share scanned documents and images. Microsoft Lens is a valuable tool for anyone looking to digitize and manage physical documents and images.

Pros

OCR allows Microsoft Lens to accurately extract text from images and documents, even in cases where the text is partially obscured or has unusual formatting. This makes it an invaluable tool for digitizing physical documents and converting them into digital formats, such as PDFs and Eod documents. The accuracy and reliability of the OCR technology are what make Microsoft Lens a standout tool in my opinion.

Cons

Microsoft Lens allows users to extract and analyze data from images and documents, but the visualization options may be somewhat limited. Adding more advanced charting and graphing capabilities could make it easier for users to communicate insights and trends derived from the extracted data.

akshay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: A Scanner App That Can Do It All

Reviewed on 2023/08/29

Optimal application for scanning physical documents with OCR capabilities, creating PDFs, and...

Optimal application for scanning physical documents with OCR capabilities, creating PDFs, and converting documents into PPT format.

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a fast and efficient way to scan text, edit images, and share or store them in different formats. It also does not add a watermark to PDF documents.

Cons

Microsoft Lens may not be the best option for scanning large documents or images on older devices, as it can be slow to load and process the images.

Vivek
Vivek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy Scan with Smartphone

Reviewed on 2022/07/09

I love this application, it is free to use, easy to use. Scanning documents is very easy with this...

I love this application, it is free to use, easy to use. Scanning documents is very easy with this application. It is very useful application in all ways for scanning. Scanning made easy by this application

Pros

First of all it from Microsoft, the most trusted software company in the world. Microsoft Lens is very useful application in scanning division. I am using this application from last 2 years and I like it very much. It does not show watermark in scanned docs or photos. You can choose filters for the scanned docs, Image clarity is adjusted according to the smartphone. scanning get adjusted as per the size of page, photo or anything that you want to scan.

Cons

All about this application is loveable, no one can say this application is not useful.

Abhijeet
Abhijeet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scanner on your phone.

Reviewed on 2021/06/29

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

Pros

Easy to use,
Auto selects the document area using AI
Colors are correct
Documents get almost zero glare even when using flash

Cons

It forces you to login into Onedrive every now and then.
Pdf can't be created offline.
A bit slow at times.

Marco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

One of a kind PDF converter

Reviewed on 2023/11/28

I have a lot of handwritten paper documents and being able to convert them to pdf is really useful

I have a lot of handwritten paper documents and being able to convert them to pdf is really useful

Pros

The ability to convert pictures of paper documents into PDF files. This is truly great!

Cons

Scanning is not always optimal, it depends a lot on the quality of the contents of the image to be acquired

Pavel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A removable scanner that is very practical to use and transport

Reviewed on 2020/12/24

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or...

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or on the road.

The application is very well managed despite some bugs that are still quite rare. I therefore recommend Microsoft Office Lens at 90% to scan all your documents in emergency or not as well as to scan business cards, flyers and other documents.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that offers free but high quality scanning services.
In addition to all these advantages, it is available on your smartphone.
Microsoft Office Lens solves the problem whenever you need to scan photos or documents in a very clear and precise way.
When you are on the move and suddenly feel the need for a scanner thanks to Microsoft Office Lens you can scan everything you need.
The functions of the buttons are simple yet so powerful.
I use it a lot to scan documents and take snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

Cons

Despite all these advantages, Microsoft Office Lens also has some drawbacks such as a loading time that is sometimes too long.
Or the difficulty to scan the entire document even if it works well most of the time.

Ouattara
Ouattara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A really great digitizing app

Reviewed on 2023/02/19

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can...

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can scan documents in high quality, convert handwritten text into digital text, and edit it in Word, PowerPoint, or Onenote. I highly recommend it

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a really great app. With Microsoft Lens, it is very easy to convert a physical, visual medium into a digital file. With a single click of your smartphone photo, you transform your visual support into an editable digital file. I like its scanning accuracy and its sharing and integration features with Microsoft Office applications. It integrates very easily with other Microsoft Office tools such as Word, Onenote, Powerpoint, etc. Or, with its scanning accuracy, you can simply keep the rendered file or share it. Also, it is possible to process a file already in its gallery to make it editable. Microsoft Office Lens is an application to try at least once

Cons

I have not had any particular problems with this product. I don't have any recommendations to make at this time

Modise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Software Review

Reviewed on 2020/12/25

A sure time saver, where I have to gather and communicate a client's ideas input without affecting...

A sure time saver, where I have to gather and communicate a client's ideas input without affecting their time line. In general I believe to the office worker, it should be thanked for destroying permanently the office scan machine queues and bringing a communicable scan to hand. It definately saves the none collateral presence, where you can just quickly scan and submit especially for mitigation purposes without being there physically.

Pros

An instance where binary actually steals work from a machine. One piece of software that completely and in a new way replaces the physical scanner. Without much aligning instructions, as machine scanner would require: lens without much ado grabs your document in to the digital and gives you the whole right to toy and toggle it to you desired shape without without infringing the actual content. Having shot/taken that image, even if you are a bad aim, when you have managed to take the image you can without any level of skill or technicality set it to your desired appearance. One last catch is you do not have to fiddle with much formating to produce a generally consumable jpeg scan and in hand where you can share, send or save with the touch of a button. In this generation of on point funneling, it is important to deliver before you say I can, which lens does so vividly.

Cons

As a camera dependent software, your make of camera or phone can hamper output as it depends on your pixels and ambient light.

Andre Luiz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

versatility and everything

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

Pros

One of the best ways to digitize files using a smartphone. Compatible with several OS. It allows instant edits to the caputures and eliminates the need for large scanner equipment. With it you can scan files wherever you are using just a smartphone. Allows the user to choose the output format of the jpg jpg file among others.

Cons

I've never had any problems. However, it has a limitation that is the user's own, depending on the hardware of the equipment, it may be that a smartphone as a simpler camera cannot achieve an image quality.

Marko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It can solve 90% of your scanning needs for documents

Reviewed on 2021/10/28

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into...

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into the electronic archive in minutes wherever you are since your smarthphone is always near. With a couple of tweaks in settings you get the document automatically in your one drive folder.

Pros

The interface provides a great way to turn the photo of a document into a pdf document which really looks like it was scanned on a scanner. Having tried a couple of alternative mobile apps, I think this one does a better work of transforming the photo image you take (you can fine-tune the borders of the document) into scanner like output. Furthermore, it is connected with one-drive you it goes straight to your folder on the computer.

Cons

Of course, when the light conditions are not so good, it can take a couple of takes of the same document to not have the shadows on the document, but this is expected. At least, the interface is nice so you can easily discard just one page and re-do it.

Nihilkumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MS Lens Review

Reviewed on 2023/02/28

Pros

One of the best scanning app that I have used. Once you login with your onedrive all the files that you scan will get synchronized and will be available in your onedrive which can be accessed any device with onedrive logged in.

Cons

It perfectly works for all my needs, I mainly use this for scanning the documents as PDF.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: Easy File Recognition

Reviewed on 2023/09/24

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

Pros

Anyway, I enjoy how quickly files are recognized while I used it, how easily a compact book can be created, and how easily photographs can be converted into files in PDF format.

Cons

It frequently can't precisely trim the images, so I must make the necessary adjustments myself. Fortunately, this requires not much time and is simple to accomplish.

Rajnish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best app for scanning and compiling documents

Reviewed on 2022/11/24

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

Pros

The thing that I liked the most about Microsoft Lens is that it can automatically detect the edges of a page in a photo, due to which it is extremely easy to crop out certain photos. This feature is unique and is not found in other scanner apps. Another thing that I liked is that there a many filters that can be implemented to images. Adjustments can be made easily even if photos were captured in a dark environment. Another good thing is that the files can be converted to a few forms such as jpeg and pdf in just 2 steps. Also, Microsoft Lens is compatible with other apps, due to which I can directly add the scanned files to cloud storage. Also previously scanned files can be modified easily.

Cons

I did not find any issues with this app.

Inzie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Document scanner

Reviewed on 2023/10/18

Microsoft lens is compatible and available for use in document in data input

Microsoft lens is compatible and available for use in document in data input

Pros

All readable and text documents are scanned by Microsoft lens i.e Microsoft lens scan hardcopy documents to soft copy which can edited and shared.

Cons

Microsoft lens makes whiteboards pdt documents hence is only the reason for using Microsoft lens hence the goal is achieved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Converting documents to digital.

Reviewed on 2022/07/28

I scanned and saved all my physical documens like diplomas, IDs, bills with Microsoft Lens.

I scanned and saved all my physical documens like diplomas, IDs, bills with Microsoft Lens.

Pros

I like basic scanning and sharing feature. It works like physical scanner. With taking photo it's done to have bills as PDF. Documents can be shared as PDF or JPG or PNG.

Cons

It would be better if there is folder or labelling feature.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Capture unforgettable memories

Reviewed on 2023/05/09

Pros

It's inexpensive compared to other softwares

Cons

Sometimes images captured are not clear

hugo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great scanner at no charge

Reviewed on 2022/12/23

In terms of simple scanning of documents and photos the app is excellent and obviously free of...

In terms of simple scanning of documents and photos the app is excellent and obviously free of charge, however with more complex desires such as extracting, maybe invest in a better app.

Pros

The ease of the scanner and ability to convert to pdf or send off to emails straight away while afterwards a record is kept of the previously scanned. Its ability to group scanned items together to move them all in one go is also very convenient, and obviously the app is free of charge.

Cons

The long time and how fiddly the data and text attraction is, sometimes i would wait for ages watching the loading symbol go round and round to tell me that it had not worked.

Ayaz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scanner in a Pocket

Reviewed on 2022/06/24

So far I have been extremely pleased with the ease of use and user friendly aspects, not to mention...

So far I have been extremely pleased with the ease of use and user friendly aspects, not to mention the cost or no cost to be more accurate

Pros

The versatility of being able to scan all kind of documents, photos and even the handwritten notes is a plus. This can easily replaced your old fashioned Rolodex. It allows you to scan business cards and automatically drop it in your contacts (no more bulky wallets). Since Fax machines are so 2020, this allows you to create an attachment for your emails in an instant.

Cons

May take steady hands to get the corners lined up

Kaitlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scan Professional Documents without a Scanner!

Reviewed on 2021/06/03

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially...

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially working virtually to get sheet music to my students online. Overall, this has been a great product and a nice change to other apps I have used.

Pros

I love that I can use my phone to scan any document any time and have an incredible, clear picture as a result. I have tried other scanner apps for sheet music and they just aren’t able to capture the detail like this app is able to do. It’s free and many other scanning apps charge. I’ve been impressed with the way I’m able to arrange each page in a different order than it was scanned before I upload it as a PDF.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn’t accurately crop the images so I have to manually do it, but it doesn’t take much time and is fairly simple to do.

Konjengbam Mitindra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Tool for any professional who work with lots of image files.

Reviewed on 2023/02/08

Microsoft Lens have really helped me in my official work. This is one software that I intend to...

Microsoft Lens have really helped me in my official work. This is one software that I intend to always keep in my phone. This really helped me to do my office work more effectively and efficiently mainly with the OCR feature. The availability of this application on mobile phones is so comforting for the user.

Pros

I love the OCR feature of this software. It is really efficient and accurate. The auto cropping after loading or taking an image is simply outstanding as it automatically tries to compensate the error in angle of the image. It enables the images to be saved more clearly with correct angle. The OCR feature reading an image file was something amazing.

Cons

I love most parts of this software but I just wish that if it could also convert other files other than image file only, it would have been an all in one solution.