79 reviews

Microsoft Office Lens

OCR solution for businesses of all sizes

4,5 /5 (79 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
79 reviews
Kosara K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"Great document scanning app"

Reviewed on 2021/05/04

It is simple to use.I can simply save to my photo Gallery,so there's no requirements to use any Microsoft cloud services.

Pros

I can quickly scan my paper documents,and export them as multi-page PDF files.I have been utilizing Microsoft Office Lens focal point for a long time,and I am very satisfied.
It is truly useful and simple to utilize software.I use it also on my telephone.
My filtering commerce cards could be a idealize fit for this kind of app.

Cons

To be honest,there isn't anything in the app that I really miss.Almost every function is included in the kit.
The only drawback is that it takes a long time to load,otherwise it's fantastic.

Pavel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A removable scanner that is very practical to use and transport

Reviewed on 2020/12/24

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or on the road.

The application is very well managed despite some bugs that are still quite rare. I therefore recommend Microsoft Office Lens at 90% to scan all your documents in emergency or not as well as to scan business cards, flyers and other documents.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that offers free but high quality scanning services.
In addition to all these advantages, it is available on your smartphone.
Microsoft Office Lens solves the problem whenever you need to scan photos or documents in a very clear and precise way.
When you are on the move and suddenly feel the need for a scanner thanks to Microsoft Office Lens you can scan everything you need.
The functions of the buttons are simple yet so powerful.
I use it a lot to scan documents and take snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

Cons

Despite all these advantages, Microsoft Office Lens also has some drawbacks such as a loading time that is sometimes too long.
Or the difficulty to scan the entire document even if it works well most of the time.

Anitha B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review on Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 2021/04/19

Helps alot in scanning the file by keeping the orginal features which helps to read the files uploaded by the students clearly

Pros

Easyness to use.Helps to scan without loosing orginality.Easy to save in any form

Cons

Diffult to attach the file without copying to acrobat.Filters are not applying as previous.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most Well Known Word Processor Service: Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 2020/11/09

Microsoft Office Lens was a requirement to use in college as it has Word Processor ability abs it is the only Word Processor service in the college computer lab. I used this service multiple times to create book reports and to write college English papers.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens has a wide range of features to assist a writer. The word processor is very detailed and so much more easy than type writers, without delete buttons or cloud storage providers. The software lets you easily choose a template and format your creation. Within your creation you can choose font style, font size, font color and even change in mid paragraph within the same document or Word creation.

Cons

The cost of Microsoft Lens is the only negative aspect. It is only used if purchased usually within Microsoft Office Suite which contains multiple computer programs within.

Barış E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Life saver app!

Reviewed on 2019/09/23

Pros

As a worker in which paper works basically occupies half of the practical work you do, Microsoft Office Lens is a totally life saver app. It saves lots of time of your scanning stuff and never let you down. The quality of the PDF files it produces are always great. Lastly, it is such a good thing that the app is not forcing you to put watermarks on your scanned pictures in every mod like other similar apps in market.

Cons

First of all, the editing options are limited in this app. There should be more editing features on the pictures you scanned. Even the brightness is prefixed. Also, there should be saving option to google drive as well, not everyone is using the same cloud.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software for those with little time for scanning documents.

Reviewed on 2020/04/03

Just fantastic - I highly recommend this software to anyone trying to reduce their need for scanning hardware.

Pros

It is simply great - I have a whiteboard session in the boardroom, then snap the board, instantly the board is documented in my Onedrive forever.

Cons

It could be faster, but really this is not an issue. The pros absolutely make up for any lagging of the software.

Renea H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

So glad I switched to Google Docs

Reviewed on 2020/03/05

When I asked for help, I was met with hyper-tech speak and they were condescending.

Pros

At first it was a novel program. It was hard to figure out, but once I found my way I was able to use it in it's simplest form.

Cons

I had NO IDEA all the bells and whistles that were attached to this program because it was NOT intuitive at all.

Eddy L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good but could be better

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

Good but can improve

Pros

Easy to use and effective. Image filter to get a document look is great.

Cons

The upload section is hard to use and confusing. Also uploaded documents stay in the upload section for too long.

Steve B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A fantastically-simple tool for getting all of those receipts for business travelers for...

Reviewed on 2019/10/19

When traveling for work, I use Office Lens to take pictures of all of my receipts in near-real-time and then have them available in a "scanned" look that is acceptable for accounting when I submit my expense reports.

Pros

Auto-corrects pictures taken from a phone to look more like they were scanned and not taken with a phone camera

Cons

Office Lens is a fantastic tool if using Microsoft products or companies that align with Microsoft; if you're not using such a product, it becomes a fancy photo editor.

Bharti O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A useful mobile tool for scanning on the go

Reviewed on 2019/11/20

I use this app for keeping a soft copy of my work meeting notes.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of use and the tight integration with OneNote.

Cons

The mobile interface was sometimes a bit clunky, but its improved with time.

Sami M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great little tool

Reviewed on 2019/11/09

Makes life much easier when it comes to scanning documents on the go, and on urgent basis

Pros

Very straightforward and simple to use
Saves you the hassle of correcting and cropping pictured documents

Cons

None is there in my opinion, the tool is meant to do a job which is being done up to the needed standard

Guido W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A quick scanner action

Reviewed on 2020/01/09

I use this app to replace my scanner 90% of times. It's in my homescreen.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens provides you with a technology already known, but what is interesting is that you can upload it directly in you OneDrive/Office365 ecosystem.
It's fast, simple and never crashes.
The OCR processor is very good.

Cons

There's no way to save a scanned document to the gallery, and that is a little bit annoying.

Nicole D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful for Students

Reviewed on 2019/11/05

Pros

Sometimes the professors would go to fast during lectures for presentations, and a lot of times students would take pictures of the screen and copy notes from them. I did this for a while but it was hard to see, so learning how to use this made it things much easier because I could read my notes right from my laptop and just insert the picture.

Cons

It took me a little bit to figure out how to use it, but then again I did not have any help. I figured it all out on my own. Once I got the hang of it it was pretty simple

Jonathon N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quick and Easy Digital Document Creation from Hard-copy

Reviewed on 2020/01/16

This software allows you to snap a photo of a document, note, or whiteboard and save it as a photo or PDF document. This comes in handy when wanting to turn a hand-written note into a digital document. Instead of having to save a trapezoid-shaped picture of it, the software defines the edges of the document and alters the photo to correct the shape into a rectangle.

Pros

Ease of use, quick formatting of documents, integration with One Drive

Cons

Sometimes the image comes out shadowed or blurry around the edges

Oisín G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Nice addition

Reviewed on 2020/08/28

I only started using this recently because its installed on my work phone. But I find it useful.

Pros

This is a nice addition to the MS 365 suite. It very useful for just grabbing things like business cards or individual handouts etc.

Cons

It seems a bit unecessary given a lot of the functionality already exists in onenote, which i already use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens Review

Reviewed on 2019/12/08

It is a reasonable product that works as advertised. I find that I use it occasionally in the course of my everyday tasks.

Pros

I like that I can take pictures of whiteboards during our company meetings and then be able to convert to a PDF.

Cons

The interface can be a bit confusing to use. Sometimes, I feel as though I needed to search for the tool I was looking for for quite a bit of time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens Review

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

Great overall product

Pros

Easy to use to scanner to scan classroom documents and photos which are required to be uploaded. And its free as well

Cons

No cons about this product as it is intuitive to use

Christine G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

Overall experience was good for the entire office.

Pros

It has great features and was easy to use.

Cons

Nothing the office didn't like, great program

Sahan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good way to scan items through mobile

Reviewed on 2020/03/30

i have good experiance using this application. no need to have a scanner

Pros

No need any scanner you can scan any document with this application. supports any mobile operating system

Cons

sometimes app is crashing when we save as pdf. need to add more extensions

Sandipan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I have been using this app for a long time. The auto detection feature during clicking is...

Reviewed on 2020/11/14

Pros

I have been using Microsoft office lens for more than two years now. I find it is a great improvement to what I was previously using. The Best feature that I like about this app is that it auto detects and crops the subject during picture clicking and saves time, unlike other apps where auto cropping is done as a post processing part. Being a free tool, office lens offers OCR feature for exporting to text format in PDF and Word, which is often missing in the free versions of peer apps . Thirdly, It doesn't add a watermark to the output files.

Cons

The user should be allowed to tweak the parameters that control the picture quality. Some peer apps have the option of regulating the contrast, sharpness, details and brightness as soon as the pictures are clicked and cropped. Second, office lens should support more options than scanning from just documents, business cards, etc (for example, powerpoints and greeting cards offered in peer apps).

Chikadibia E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Scanner App

Reviewed on 2021/02/20

I have used and fell in love with this software that I find it difficult to pinpoint a thing I least like about it. Generally, the software has been wonderful and a time saver and stress reliever. I cannot remember the last time I went to computer shops for scanning.

Pros

Office Lens is the best scanner app I have used. It is worth 5 stars. The premium android version can copy out text from sheets, read text directly from scanning and save documents in pdf and other formats too.
This app is recommended for all students and office workers for best obtainable portable scanning without depending on traditional scanning machines.

Cons

It is difficult for me to find what I do not like about this software.

Dianne R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens user

Reviewed on 2020/08/20

Im now able to scan a document, or entire screen. I'm able to export into the Microsoft ecosystem.

Pros

The features i think are most impactful is being able to turn your computer of smartphone into a scanner that puts in business cards, documents and receipts into OneNote.

Cons

Only missing feature is not being able to save scanned documents into the gallery.

Ronit N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool to scan useful documents on the go

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Microsoft lens allows me to seamlessly scan all important data that I need to send to my clients and the image to text feature has helped me to scan numerous business card without a hassle.

Pros

Pros: Converts images into great scanned formats such as pdfs and jpegs.
Easy to use.
The filters can do magic on a document.
Sometimes produces better results than an average scanner.
Seamless integration with One Drive.

Cons

Cons:
Slightly difficult for first time users.
Bit of a learning curve when compared to the Google alternative.

Modise T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Software Review

Reviewed on 2020/12/25

A sure time saver, where I have to gather and communicate a client's ideas input without affecting their time line. In general I believe to the office worker, it should be thanked for destroying permanently the office scan machine queues and bringing a communicable scan to hand. It definately saves the none collateral presence, where you can just quickly scan and submit especially for mitigation purposes without being there physically.

Pros

An instance where binary actually steals work from a machine. One piece of software that completely and in a new way replaces the physical scanner. Without much aligning instructions, as machine scanner would require: lens without much ado grabs your document in to the digital and gives you the whole right to toy and toggle it to you desired shape without without infringing the actual content. Having shot/taken that image, even if you are a bad aim, when you have managed to take the image you can without any level of skill or technicality set it to your desired appearance. One last catch is you do not have to fiddle with much formating to produce a generally consumable jpeg scan and in hand where you can share, send or save with the touch of a button. In this generation of on point funneling, it is important to deliver before you say I can, which lens does so vividly.

Cons

As a camera dependent software, your make of camera or phone can hamper output as it depends on your pixels and ambient light.

Andre luiz L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

versatility and everything

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

Pros

One of the best ways to digitize files using a smartphone. Compatible with several OS. It allows instant edits to the caputures and eliminates the need for large scanner equipment. With it you can scan files wherever you are using just a smartphone. Allows the user to choose the output format of the jpg jpg file among others.

Cons

I've never had any problems. However, it has a limitation that is the user's own, depending on the hardware of the equipment, it may be that a smartphone as a simpler camera cannot achieve an image quality.