55 reviews

Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

4,3 /5 (55 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
3,6
Features
4
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
3,6
87% recommended this app
55 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Aloha is a very good software to use and recommend it to restaurants to use for their employers.

Pros

I use Aloha at the restaurant I work at; it is the computer system we use to send our orders to the kitchen. What I like most about this software is that it is very easy to use. The layout and color scheme is nice and not too outdated or overpowering.

Cons

There is one specific issue that comes to my mind from using Aloha that I liked least. When I was typing in an order one day and then sent it through to the kitchen, the kitchen was not able to receive the entire order of what I typed. It got cut off and I think that was due to typing in too much information. It may have also been because of the specific button I used. Regardless, this isn't a big issue and it's not like people are going to be typing in "novels" to send into the kitchen.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kelly M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

The easiest Point of Sale System of them all to learn and use.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/10
Review Source: Capterra

What is there not to like about software created for staff of all levels of experience. In previous places of employment, I had worked with the point of sale systems that were so intricate that it took me weeks to fully master all of the features to its operation, so I was a bit worried that Aloha would turn out to be another one of those. Little did I know that this would be the software that made me into the confident server I am today.

Pros

The Aloha POS System was by far the easiest software I have encountered throughout my work experience in the Food & Beverage Industry. The interface of the actual system itself that I used to enter customer orders into had everything right in front of your eyes on the main page of the screen, which allowed me to enter my orders quickly and accurately. This layout also helped me manage several customers tabs at once without having to jump through several hurdles to do so. Anytime an order needed a modification last minute, I was able to get the system to help in time.

Cons

There were honestly no features in this software that I came across and questioned its purpose or use. Everything has a place and where that place happens to be just makes sense for the establishment that it is attached to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Alexandra C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Hello Aloha!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you are in the resturant industry you need to use Aloha for your POS. It is easy to use, gives you the lay out of the resturant and is easy to add items or change information in the system. It does a great job keeping track of orders and tables.

Cons

It has shutdown before and caused panic, but if it's not as easy fix, someone is always out to fix the system super quick!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patience V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha for everyone

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/05
Review Source: Capterra

I would say it takes effort and time to learn. It’s great for a location that has a lot of items to place in the system. Not my favorite but manageable.

Pros

I like that this is a software that you can scale with. It’s durable and can be implemented if you have many locations.

Cons

If you have issues there is an aloha software man that will come out- you can’t troubleshoot yourself. Sometimes leaving you down a few computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Ben A.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/08
Review Source: Capterra

I had a good experience with aloha. Very user friendly and easy to use.

Pros

Very user friendly, very easy to train new staff. Support is easy and generally quick to fix any problems that arise.

Cons

I really didn’t have any major issues with the software. Nothing to complain about. All problems were fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chad H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use aloha daily. The formatting of the program is very easy to use without much of any instruction.

Cons

Should have a way to view even after the system starts a refresh. That would be my biggest complaint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cary W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Worth the money

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

Great, very few hiccups and great customer service when needed

Pros

Very easy to use and understand. Made everything so quick and the learning process was very short. Loved it.

Cons

What I liked least was having a PC as a main terminal. Would have been easier if we can change more on the fly using a terminal. Also interning tips separated by currency wasn’t the most efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

NCR Ruined Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Since NCR has taken control of Aloha, the customer service has taken a severe nosedive. They are constantly "escalating" the issues to teams that never seem to get back to you. Management and "local" support has zero support or care for your problems.

Pros

Ease with front-of-the-house interaction and training.

Cons

Old, antiquated technology and non-responsive customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Kelcie S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Unfortunately, I don't feel as though I have any nice things to say about Aloha at this time.

Cons

There is a non-existant customer support, nearly impossible to extract data or reports, not customer friendly and inconsistent. Service goes down a lot.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Leigh L.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A-NO-ha

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/26
Review Source: Capterra

You can not solve any problems with Aloha, you can only create them.

Pros

Aloha is dated so it makes it easier for senior citizens to use.

Cons

Everything. Aloha has next to no functions that a current POS system in the food service industry should have. It really is a waste of time trying to use it and I would tell anyone considering using it in their restaurant that they are making a MASSIVE mistake.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

STAY AWAY!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

There is nothing amazing about this software.

Cons

It requires a lot of configuration and doesn't give the owner/admin much flexibility - everything must go through the reseller and the charge A LOT of money to do the smallest change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Justyna K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Like the table layout on the screen

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/18
Review Source: Capterra

For managers great tool to keep track of all the comps voids labor and etc.

Pros

So much easier than micros. Dummy proof for new servers. Easy for servers to navigate.

Cons

Credits cards system from time to time goes down. Customer service hard to reach in the timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great features, Difficult Access

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

My restaurant first opened using the RPower POS system. It worked well for a while, but as we grew busier it became apparent that modifications, and edits to orders were taking much too long, and felt very clunky. I think that Aloha gives servers the ability to streamline their orders and as they become more comfortable with the system they can become quite speedy. Overall Aloha is the best POS system that I have used so far, but nothing is perfect.

Pros

I believe that Aloha gives the user more abilities in the front of the house than most POS systems I have used. The ability to highlight multiple items at once and duplicate/delete is a great feature not found in other systems. I also enjoy the overall lay out of the buttons, as far as having space between each button (which makes it easier for touch screen use), and the ability to add as many different sub menus at desired.

Cons

I wish that there was a way to customize the color of the buttons. When this system is implemented in busy restaurants (which is my experience with it) color coding different things such as ingredient/sauces/allergies could make the adjustment period for new servers much quicker, and cut down on the amount of time spent searching for certain things in the menus. I also feel like the strength of Aloha is in its day to day use. When using the master computer to try and revamp, or set up new menu items in the office the process is far from intuitive, and takes a long time to become proficient in. Maybe if there was a 'helpful hints' type feature for new user that would be a great addition.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Heather W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great POS!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

I would say that of the point of sale systems I have run across, this is definitely one of my favorites. I find it easy to teach, and rare to come across problems.

Pros

This point of sale system is popular for a reason its clearly one of the best. Their customer service is great (if you ever have to contact them anyway), and deployment is easy because it's very user friendly. It takes virtually no time at all to get used to, and it runs smoothly and easily.

Cons

There not much to dislike, it's been great to use. I think pricing is pretty standard for the system, and it's been easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cate L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha from Oklahoma!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/26
Review Source: Capterra

With a long history in the restaurant industry I have worked with my fair share of POS systems. Squirrel and Square being the most recent and relevant competitors. Aloha is by far the superior product in my opinion. The ease of use as far as setting up table and table numbers, server log-ins, adjusting orders, etc. The cross-platform functionality allows me to easily adjust menu items, their location within the system, and price from my computer without having to stand at a POS terminal. The ability to set and manage permissions such as voiding transactions or deleting entrees from tickets while somewhat tricky at first (shows a permission is in place but card or number fails to work at actual POS terminal until usually the next 24 hours) has helped to minimize loss by reducing the number of voided tickets or entrees.

Pros

Ease of use, functionality, cross-platform ability makes things simple.

Cons

Managing permissions can be somewhat tricky.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tyler B.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is a very reliable POS system. They've been a mainstay forever. It remains easy to use on the server/bartender side.

Cons

The difficulty of this system is on the manager/owner side. Because this system is not cloud based, there is a big lack of functionality, especially not being able to view the daily restaurant performance while away from the location. In order to change items in the system, the entire system has to be re-booted, which is not ideal during service. Reporting is hard to use and requires a time commitment to get the reports you need. At times, it can be "clunky".

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Cannot go without

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

Like anything, it was a little hard to get used to at first. But now that the staff knows the ins and outs of the program, everyone is on board and it's really helped our business move forward.

Pros

The layout is nice and organized. The customer service is amazing as well

Cons

It was a bit hard to integrate with our current business structure. But were were more than willing to work it out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Karli T.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Bartending Software Experience

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

Great. Would highly recommend for any business because of how easy it was to navigate and teach to others.

Pros

Easy to use and to access various categories of drinks and food. This software was also easy to input information and specific discounts into for the bar.

Cons

Sometimes it was difficult to go back on the menu. The order might have had to be restarted if you were looking to return to a different page.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Disa G.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I Love Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

shorter wait times and better table turnover

Pros

this was the easiest system i have ever used for ordering foods, payments, reservations, inventory etc

Cons

the customer service was a bit shotty in the beginning often taking hours to respond

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Glitchy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that the menu items are easy to modify before sending them back to the kitchen. I also like that you can see the exact layout of the tables from the screen rather than just a list of numbers.

Cons

The software freezes or goes down way too frequently.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy pos system

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

I love this pos system. I have used many others in the past and this by far was the easiest and fastest to figure out.

Pros

I like how everything is so easy to find and use. They have modifiers under each category and that makes it that the orders come to the kitchen correctly.

Cons

There honestly isn't one thing that I dislike about this program. It's easy to find and enter credit card tips.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anum P.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Aloha

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Aloha is a software which is used by one of our brands, for daily employee punches and recording their information. The best thing that I like about this software is every individual needs their finger print in order to have their login, which helps in preventing buddy punching.

Cons

The system needs to me more simplified for the hourly workers for learning purposes

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Zantrail B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

Aloha

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

when you clock in the system it prints it for you and also store it as well, and it runs auto right before I run my audit

Cons

sometimes it doesn't print out the aloha receipts. You can get them to re-print though

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kara G.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Does the job, but barely.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Aloha is pretty simple. The buttons are easy to find and once you familiarize yourself with where everything is, there's nothing hard about it.

Cons

Aloha is slow and crashed quite a bit. It was hard to go in and change anything on the screens for the employees and if you had to make a change, everything had to be restarted and took forever to come back up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Alessa L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

highly recommended!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

i personally have worked with aloha for years in the restaurant industry & it hasn't failed me yet. can easily switch through many settings very fast. multitasking made efficiently! splits checks and turns on and off whatever inventory can be used or not through custom settings. many more features once you get working with it !

Pros

straight forward interface, fast settings, fast action buttons and shortcuts. Making team member cards and adjusting features on a custom level is an amazing pro definitely.

Cons

glitches, unexpected reset, some screen freezing .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10