Showing 42 reviews of 31

Ripple

Patient recruitment and management for clinical trails

4,8 /5 (31 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 42 reviews of 31
Shailee W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

We use Ripple in my developmental psychology lab for recruiting and managing participants.

Reviewed on 2018/06/23

Pros

Keeps the whole lab on top of recruiting and running participants through our study. It's a great way to see what tasks are completed, what still needs to be done, and who is doing what.

Cons

It is not always the most intuitive to use. Specifically, the interface gets clunky as participants increase. The two-page system (when extra participants roll over onto the next page) is very confusing. I'd prefer to scroll down a single page than click through different pages of the status headings. Furthermore, the calendar would be much more useful if the event were clickable. Then, users would be taken to the page with the participant information when the event is clicked. Adding export functionality would also greatly improve the usefulness of the Ripple calendar.

Charis W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ripple is a must for human research!

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

Ripple has been a game changer. When the alternative to tracking participant contacts is an excel spreadsheet, there really is no comparison. Not only is it easy to use, it is easy to teach. Especially during this transition to working remotely during the pandemic, Ripple has allowed our team to get a study up and off the ground.

Pros

Ripple makes it easy and convenient to create participant databases, keep track of enrollment stats for regulatory and grant writing purposes, and get new studies off the ground from existing ones. One of my favorite features is the web link to the screening form. This allows you to share a link through social media, advertising websites, e-mail, text, etc where participants can then input their own information and automatically pop up in your database. Ripple is also extremely useful in longitudinal studies because it gives suggested dates for next appointments based on your settings. Ripple essentially serves as a screening and enrollment log and gives you fun graphs describing the demographics of your sample and the effectiveness of various recruitment tactics.

Cons

Most of the things I would like to see out of Ripple are already in the works (i.e. integration with outlook calendar). However, Ripple is not great about notifying team members for new events. For example it would be great if team members would get a notification when a new task is assigned to them or when a new participant is added from a screening form. Our team was initially curious about the benefit of Ripple of REDcap since we primarily use the latter for data collection and there is some overlap. Personally, I think the two work in tandem and should not replace each other. While REDCap has minimal scheduling features, they are not nearly as sophisticated as Ripple.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Charis,

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that Ripple has been so valuable to you during the switch to remote work. Hopefully you have had a chance to take advantage of our recent updates to flexible event scheduling.

We appreciate the feedback regarding notifications. We are working on updates to the personal user homepage and hope to incorporate some better visibility into personal tasks as part of that. Also, be on the lookout very soon for the release of the Outlook Calendar integration.

Thank you!

Janine L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for research!

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

My team and I have had a great experience with Ripple! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been and continues to be extremely helpful. She responds and meets with me via zoom right away, for that I am very appreciative!

Pros

My research team has been utilizing Ripple since 2018 and we are extremely in awe of all the features it provides. We are able to safely and privately access participant information using our work computers instead of carrying around paper documents. I believe being able to organize and keep track of participants' confidential information remotely has been extremely important, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cons

I think I would prefer the calendar to remain the same even when tasks and visits get completed. Whenever we complete participant visits, their name and appointments get deleted from the calendar since they are completed. I would personally prefer for their names to remain on the calendar as a way to keep track of when those visits were instead of looking into their charts/pages.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Janine,

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear Ripple has been beneficial during the pandemic upheaval. We know that safe and secure access to your data is integral to your success.

Regarding your feedback about the calendar, there is the ability to filter and show completed events at the top of the Calendar page. We also have some updates planned to add additional filter options to the calendar.

Thank you!

Lisa R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customer support is outstanding and responsive to our needs

Reviewed on 2018/06/25

Pros

We love that it is a cloud-based, HIPAA-compliant participant management software. I also find the tasks manager to be useful in organizing the everyday structure of our study. Our lab uses the automatic triggers, which are very useful though they could be programmed to be a bit more flexible in terms of the events that trigger them. We also use the bulk tasks and assigning features often, and they are very helpful and user-friendly.

Cons

There are some small usability and aesthetic details that are less-than-ideal (e.g., when typing in descriptions the window does not expand so you can only see small chunks of what you're typing, there is no easy way to get to "My Tasks" without looking through a list of everyone else's tasks, when viewing a participant profile the whole page scrolls together so you either lose your place in the list of participants or on the profile page if you need to scroll, etc.) There is no easy way to see a list of all participants in a study, unless you don't create statuses. Study setup was more difficult for our study where participants complete different components of the study (and different number of assessments) based on which group they are in - however, we have been able to work around this with some creativity and the help of the Ripple team.

Cecilia V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Ripple has made keeping track of hundreds of participants for our clinical trial easy and...

Reviewed on 2018/06/25

Pros

It is incredibly useful for keeping vast amounts of information about our participants in an easily accessible (but secure) location. This software is specifically designed for studies trying to keep track of many participants and has so many functions specific to that goal.

Cons

My only concern with this software is that it logs you off after very few minutes of use. It can be frustrating to log in every ten minutes or so.

Suzy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This software has facilitates my ability to keep track of and schedule research participants.

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

It has enhanced my lab productivity and enabled us to keep track of participant recruitment in a much more precise way.

Pros

It is HIPAA compliant, which makes it relatively easy to work with the IRB to get approval to use. It allows for lots of customization for your study design. It is easy to add and remove study team members with different levels of access. You can send reminders for members of the team to do different tasks associated with participants and study events. You can set up study events based on expected dates or that are triggered based on the completion of other study events. There is a registry (database) that houses all the subjects that you have entered. It is easy to query this database and select potential participants into specific studies.

Cons

I would like to see an easier way to input large numbers of potential participants into the registry from a csv file. I would also like to see a more integrated calendar and scheduling system and emailing system.

Brianna A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Remote Work Made Easy

Reviewed on 2020/05/25

My team is able to track recruitment and retention, which is very helpful when deciding which community organizations we should put more energy and resources toward. We then thank our community partners for the referrals and strengthen our bond by referring our participants to them. This community networking has played a role in when and how we communicate with participants, another aspect that is well tracked in Ripple. We can also assign Ripple tasks to team members and associate them with specific participants, thus accounting for everyone on our team and in our program.

Pros

Our team transitioned almost everything to Ripple, before the coronavirus began to affect our research protocols and data collection. Our familiarity with the product prepared us to transition to remote work very smoothly. We have greatly appreciated Ripple's customer support and desire to enhance the system's features. Some of our favorite features include the creation of tasks and the ability to track recruitment and retention strategies. Without Ripple, our administrative team would have a hard time communicating participant information in such detail.

Cons

There is always room for improvement, but it is evident that the Ripple team values customer feedback and is working around the clock to provide as many relevant features as possible. I imagine it is difficult to field the amount of feedback that they receive, but their communication about their goals and progress is fantastic!

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Brianna,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that Ripple supported your move to remote work during this disruptive pandemic. We look forward to enhancing the application more in the future, especially in regards to task management and ensuring you can focus on nurturing your participant relationship.

Thank you!

Jacob G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Interface with Lots of Potential

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

Pros

It is really easy to use and is optimal for recruitment workflow as well as tracking participant status in a study. It's also great as a quick reference to look at participant contact info.

Cons

The dates logic can be kind of wonky. For example, it normally prompts the next study visit some amount of days after the last visit. This is great, but some visits occur a set amount of time after the baseline, not the last visit, so this can make the set dates really off for some participants.

The dashboard could also be more useful in regard to showing a richer database set, such as how many participants completed a study phase for example.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Jacob,

Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you find the Ripple recruitment features so beneficial.

In regards to your feedback on scheduling flexibility we recently released a major update to this functionality that will allow you to truly customize the date calculation process. Take a look at the Study Settings - Events page to take advantage of these new features.

Thank you!

Stephanie T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Research Management Software

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Ripple is invaluable! It's efficient and prevents steps from falling through the cracks. I highly recommend research teams schedule a demonstration with Ripple wonderful team to learn how Ripple can work for your project.

Pros

Ripple is incredibly easy to use and customizable to your specific project needs. Ripple is so efficient, Research Assistants on our project were able to take on more responsibility and tasks, eliminating the need for an entire position. Ripple makes it easy to track all the moving pieces of a research study and tasks each staff member needs to do. It's also effective for project managers to see aggregate data for reporting.

Cons

The only features that could use improvement is the recruitment tab. Sources are unsearchable and it can take a while to locate a specific source.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Stephanie,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear Ripple's flexibility and efficiency have helped optimize your project team.

We are making some improvements to searching and filtering in multiple areas of the app, and based on your feedback will be sure to research how the same enhancements could be applied to the recruitment tab.

Thank you!

Erin F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ripple Review

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

Pros

It is extremely helpful to organize your recruitment process into groups of individuals (e.g., those you need to email, ineligible), and mark where individuals were recruited from. This lets our study team know how much progress has been made and from which source we are seeing the best recruitment. Additionally being able to organize enrolled participants into groups helps when you have multiple conditions. Lastly, the comments feature is great to note down details.

Cons

It is quite easy to accidentally move a participant from one group to another with your mouse, which causes confusion later on. Perhaps once a participant is placed into enrolled, there could be a feature to double check movement of participants so that subjects do not get accidentally shifted around.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Erin,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear you are getting so much value out of Ripple's recruitment tracking features. Hopefully you have had a chance to take advantage of some of our latest enhancements to participant statuses and events.

We appreciate the feedback on accidentally moving participants. This is something we will definitely take a look into and see if we can make the app more error proof.

Thank you!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ripple has been an extraordinary help to my team and I in terms of organizing our project.

Reviewed on 2018/06/25

Ripple has almost eliminated our need to use multiple different spreadsheets, calendars, and databases to keep track of all the components of our study. It's features have made our staff feel much more organized.

Pros

I love being able to customize so much within Ripple. Adding custom variables to each participant and creating our own event structure has really helped us keep track of important, unique variables in our study. Additionally, the bulk task feature has been immensely helpful for experienced members of the team as well as newcomers to ensure all responsibilities are completed. These are features that cannot be found elsewhere.

Cons

In our research study, the day to day schedule for our team is constantly changing, for both our participants and our staff. Unfortunately, Ripple's calendar feature is not customizable enough for us to rely on.

Naomi L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy and effective

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Pros

The calendar feature as well as the completing tasks are crucially helpful in our longitudinal project

Cons

Mobile feature needs improvement, there should be an app!

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Naomi,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that Ripple's calendar has been beneficial to your research. We have recently made some minor improvements to our screener forms to ensure they are more mobile friendly. We know that mobile access is an ongoing need for our customers and hope to continue to enhance Ripple to address this need in the future.

Thank you!

Merranda M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, easy to use, versatile, and can be changed to work for multiple types of studies.

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

It makes managing studies so much easier. The friendly format ensures less mistakes happen. I can formulate tasks to appear based on various events. Since there are so many little things that need to get done in the recruitment process, everything is much more streamlined now.

Pros

I like that the basic structure is so easy & intuitive, but it also allows for so much user-specific changes that make having multiple studies under one account so easy and efficient. I am a study coordinator, and using one study with ripple and one without, all my RA's prefer using ripple.

Cons

For the uses of my study, the updates and good customer service have led me to have no dislikes at the moment.

Vrinda D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing customer service. Fantastic platform- so easy to track participants without confusion

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

Pros

Ease of use and thoroughness. It seems like they thought about everything- must have people on the team that actually do research so know what is needed.

Cons

Would love an added feature that helps you download participant data into an excel file- we have other platforms for that but would be helpful

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Vrinda, thank you so much for the review! We are glad that you found Ripple comprehensive and easy to use. Regarding the export to excel option, this feature can be found under Site Admin> Export. Here you will be able to download any study participants into an excel file. Thank you!

Grace R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Tool for Organizations

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

Overall wonderful experience with Ripple.

Pros

Easily accessible and very quick to learn the software. Wonderful tool for all types of organizations.

Cons

Navigating to your own company site is hard. I would like to see the ability to find your organization in a drop down menu on the main Ripple page.

Response from Ripple Science

Hi Grace,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that Ripple has been easy for you to learn and access.

We will definitely take your feedback regarding navigation into consideration as we look to improve the app in the future.

Thank you!

Giorgia P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I used Ripple for my dissertation participant recruitment and it was so easy and useful!

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

Pros

The interface is very user-friendly and allows you to easily keep track of your project progress. It helped me to really stay on top of my rate of recruitment.

Cons

It is more difficult to use when you have many people on a project, but that just takes some organization on the part of the team.

Natalie M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great software for managing sensitive information

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

It is easy to securely login to Ripple from any location and machine, which means users are not restrained to one location in order to be able to access important information. In addition, Ripple's ability to track progress was instrumental in helping multiple research projects in our lab meet critical deadlines.

Cons

It is currently difficult to assign more than one ID to an individual (e.g. if they participate in multiple studies within one lab). Adding this feature would help users track the participants that have participated in several studies.

Rachele B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Using Ripple has been a great way for my entire lab to be organized and efficient.

Reviewed on 2018/07/28

Pros

We love the flexibility of the program and how easy it can be to create a system that works for our specific needs. The calendar has been a particularly useful tool for us to stay organized and connected as a lab. The same goes for our Tasks tab.

Cons

Some of the Dashboard statistics are not very helpful, and information is asked of recruitment sources which is then no utilized in the Dashboard statistics. We would like to be able to exclude pilot participants from our general participant lists, but there is not a function to mark a participant as a pilot participant. We would also like a global place to organize all participants in our lab, regardless of what study they were in. Then we would like to access this global information to see which studies a participant has been in to help us shape future participant recruitment plans. We would also like to see the participant's age in the 1-line summary of participants displayed in enrolled or potential participants tabs. Would love to be able to email right from the system, but I also see why this would not be advantageous in some situations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ripple has facilitated greater ease, organization, and more effective collaboration in our...

Reviewed on 2018/07/03

Greater ease and efficiency in our research. I love the effective collaboration the software promotes.

Pros

The option to create and utilize checklists for every step of the recruitment and study process is so intuitive and helpful--I love the functionality of the software as a whole, but especially the interface.

Cons

Site logs users out EXTREMELY fast. I know this is important to ensure privacy and confidentiality of sensitive information, but perhaps a prompt that notifies the user the page is about to log off could be utilized. Also, in order to login to ripple science, you need the direct link to the login page. It's not searchable using google and can't be found through the ripplescience website. A simple google search directs users to the purchasing page, but without the direct link being emailed to me by my study coordinator, it's hard to see how users should navigate to the login page.

Afsara Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall easy to use platform that could be made better with a few adjustments!

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

The software has a user-friendly interface and I like how we are able to customize how we sort our participants.

Cons

I would like to be able to click on participants on the calendar and be directed to their individual file; the current version does not allow this.