Lumen5

4,6 (134)
AI-based video creating, editing and marketing platform

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(134)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

134 Reviews

Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Easiest Form to Create Quick Videos

Reviewed on 2022/01/06

I needed videos created quickly and without having to hire video editors.

Pros

I needed to create quick video ads for social and Youtube. Lumen5 allows me to simply put a landing page and it will fetch and create a video, quickly.

Cons

It is a bit expensive and I was able to find other products with a better value

Alternatives Considered

InVideo
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy Way to Create Videos From Posts

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

Pros

This is a pretty cool and easy way to generate high quality videos from blog posts/existing content. Overall, I like how it scans your content and then lays out a suggested video with images and motion animation. It also allows you to select music to give your videos more depth.

Cons

Some of the editing features are limited and lacking. This in a way keeps the production process simple and saves time, yet at times can be a bit frustrating when you'd like more options.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

I guess it does the job okay

Reviewed on 2019/04/13

This program has the things you need to put together a video. I'm not sure that it's any better or worse than any other system. The pieces are there but of course the videos quality will be based on the artistic and advertising skill of the user.

Pros

There are some nice options such as "Brand presets" that you can upload and use for videos.

Cons

I tried the option of making "instant videos" from feeds such as blogs. The resulting video did pair somewhat appropriate visuals with text quotes. For example, a blog post about writing for children used pictures of children. However, the resulting video wasn't very compelling. The children all looked unhappy, and the text quotes would need major editing.

bimal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

lumen5 review

Reviewed on 2021/12/08

My experiences with Lumen5 is feaking awesome. I enjoy making short and log videos here.

Pros

Lumen5 is the best video making software compared to others. Because it is easy and less expensive to use. Anyone can easily open and start making videos for any type of business it doesn't matter you are making videos for Facebook, youtube, TikTok or LinkedIn you can make professional looking videos in minutes. You can easily paste your blog URL and it will crawl your page and make a video according to it.Lumen5 is power by Ai.Inside you get million of free video for your business.

Cons

In this app, I think there are not any cons.

Josh Bernthold,
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Blogs To Videos (Out of Thin Air!)

Reviewed on 2019/05/01

Pros

Lumen5 is so flipping easy to use! That is what I like most about the software. I also like the fact of how powerful making these videos for your posts can be. You are able to make videos not off of a post as well and just on the fly. This is very helpful when making a little promo or explainer video.

Cons

I do know that there are other competitors that are emerging since the release of Lumen5. I am just hoping that they stay ahead of the curve and continue to develop the software further and add more features.

Matthias
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

If you are blogging, you need this tool! :-)

Reviewed on 2018/07/27

Easy and fast production of great videos.

Pros

This tool scans your blog posts and generates videos on his own, using the written words in your blog posts as a sort of subtitles, and searching and using to this subtitles fitting pictures. You are able the change the words, change the pictures, using background music... If you know how, a new video may be produced in less than 30 minutes (or even much faster).

Cons

To highlight the text or to change the text is sometimes a bit frustrating (at least on my laptop). When you are ready it takes several minutes to generate your (downloadable) video.

Renato
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast videos, easy solution

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Within its intended use, it is a unique app, simple to use and quite efficient. Even though I don't use it very often, it has helped me a lot to adapt content to video.

Pros

What I like most about Lumen5 is how easy it makes creating videos simple. When you want to turn the content of a website into a video for easy presentation, Lumen5 helps you do this with a few simple steps.

Cons

Although it is a very useful and easy-to-use app, we have to understand that it has major limitations when it comes to creating and editing videos. Don't expect to do any super production here and everything will be fine.

Depp
Overall rating
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

saves time while creating video

Reviewed on 2018/04/30

Time saving and easy to manage

Pros

I had to spend hours on creating video content for my business. Lumen5 has optimized my time, now I'm able to create videos from posts in 5 minutes. I also have access to a wide range oh high quality images

Cons

The subscription is pricey. It will improve if templates and more text style options are added. Also, Video recording should be supported too.

Response from Lumen5

Hi Leonard,

Thanks for the review! We're so glad it's saving you time. Just out of curiosity, how much time on average has it saved you per video?

Thanks!

Amna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Create short videos easily

Reviewed on 2020/09/23

The overall experience has been great

Pros

It has a lot of options and makes small videos easily from existing blogs or new articles. Many customizations available

Cons

More templates would have been better, plus the stock videos and images can sometimes be not free and cost extra

Natalie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

When Lumen5 says, "Create a Video in Minutes", they weren't joking!!

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

Creating more professional style videos is flawless with Lume5!

Pros

I love Lumen5 for short videos and animated videos for my social media clients. It truly is easy to easy and has a great user interface!

Cons

I usually do not like to complain about prices but Lumen5 is pricey! Starting at $19/month, on top of other services that I pay for as a marketing consultant, this seems a bit steep!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best social media platform video.

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

I needed to create videos with my personal style.

Luxury content with music of the highest quality harmonious, cultural and inspiring.

With Lumen5 I can do all this, creating videos with text content and images, or just images, or just texts, and the best, combining my ideas according to Lumen's own image and video library!

It is wonderful! It has mainly Hard Rock music to serve as soundtrack for my videos!

I love you guys!

Please feed the platform with more images and videos from Malibu, Los Angeles, California.

Pros

Lumen5 is the best video creation platform available. I feel happy and grateful to have been one of the first users in the community. I remember that I needed to create videos from my content for #LuxuryDistrict on Instagram and Youtube, but I did not know how to start.

Suddenly I received an invitation from team, introducing the launch of the platform!

I love you guys! I wish you all the blessings and success ever! Congratulations!

Cons

When the branding color palette was only put to premium users. But its alright! Lumen5 is evolving every day! Congratulations!

Syed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lumen5 –‘is my favourite tool to create content and innovative design for social media’

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

My overall experience with Lumen5 is very good. As I mentioned, This tool made mt job easy and my clients are happy. Anyone can be very creative with this tool because they have a lot of options to choose and create the design and this is really amazing.

Pros

I absolutely like the fact that Lumen5 is packed with a lot of important features such as- collaboration, audio tools, brand overlay, social sharing, and more. I can create different types of videos for my client. This tool allows you to produce highly-engaging content. I would say Lumen5 is a great source to drive the marketing team to progress. Because the resources of this tool are very useful and easy to utilize for increasing business engagement. I am using this tool for a long time to create a dynamic project for my clients and they are very happy. I think using Lumen5 is time-saving because you can finish your task quickly as their stock full of the fundamentals you need.

Cons

The costs of Lumen5 is not affordable for all. I think they should waive the price up to a certain amount. I don’t like the fact that sometimes it takes time in rendering the final video.

Joyce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and a great ROI

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

Lumen makes it easy to create videos and share it to social media. Their support team is amazing and is a tool that works for me and my business.

Pros

I love how I'm easily able to make videos in a faster pace than before. Its a simple to use software and for that my business has grown.

Cons

Rendering time may take up to 10 minutes.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for social videos!

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

Overall, great experience!

Pros

The software is very user-friendly and makes professional social videos, sized for different platforms. The video can be customized with your campaign logo and the highlight can be set to a specific color using the hex code from design files.

Cons

The two major cons: 1) It takes forever to render the video once created. 2) The highlight can only be placed on one section of the text, not in two different sections. That makes picking what to highlight a little tricky and it's not always exactly what you want.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Want easy to make Business Insider style videos? This is the tool for you

Reviewed on 2018/09/15

It's quick, powerful and lets you create truly custom assets if you put in a little extra effort to prepare your own materials to upload to the platform first.

Pros

Lumen5 is awesome. In about 5 minutes you can take any text, whether from a blog post or just copy and pasted into the tool, and create high quality 'Business Insider' style videos with just a few clicks. It's a great and convenient way to keep up with the demands of constantly needing to push out video for use on social media. The fact that you can upload your own images and videos to use in the different scenes also means that you can use this tool to create truly stunning client assets in a fraction of the time.

Cons

Once you input your script, whether its from a link to a blog post, or copy and pasted in... you can't edit it. You *can* add a line or two manually, but I've found the system doesn't do its job as well on the automated creative side if you do this. That means that if you find you want to add any text to your script after you've already started a video, your best and fastest option is just to head back to your dashboard and start fresh.

Suzanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Too much editing required

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

It wasn't a good fit for me. I'm glad I had a year to try it without paying. I wouldn't have been happy paying for what I got.

Pros

I got a year's use of their higher tier for free. That's really about all I can say in terms of pros.

Cons

The slides weren't broken up in a way that made sense. The photos and videos the program chose to accompany the text didn't relate to the text, and very often there were limited resources available to use with the text for the videos. There was just not enough relevance and the videos took too much time to edit that it wasn't workable for me.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for short, simple, text-based videos.

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

I was lucky enough to have a free 1 year subscription from AppSumo, and enjoyed it while I used it. I did not renew after the deal ended.

Pros

It made it really easy to share videos frequently on social media, without having to shoot any footage. Ideal for sharing quick tips, news, etc.

Cons

Resizing videos wasn't flawless, and sometimes updates wouldn't be saved causing work to be lost. Thankfully, it wasn't frequent.

Hanna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best video making website ever!

Reviewed on 2019/09/28

Pros

As a small local business, it can be hard sometimes to find a good product that meets all your expectations for a lower budget. Lumen5 has made us loads of successful advertising campaigns that took less then a few minutes to set up. Absolutely amazing piece of software!

Cons

Personally I love the product the way it is, but it might've been very helpful if there was more ways of personalisation (creating own styles, uploading brand fonts, etc)

Miguel
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An easy way to transform your posts into videos

Reviewed on 2018/04/08

An easy way to transform your posts into videos

Pros

- you can make a video from a post in 2 minutes: just paste the link, choose the titles, put some images/videos, and its done!
- you have unlimited videos per month
- you have access to premium stock images and videos to put in your videos
- you can export in 720p or 1080p (depends on your plan)

Cons

- you do not have pre-existent templates
- its expensive for what it does: 99/per month in the premium plan

Sherwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/02/02

Quick customer support when needed. Really didn't need help with much since it's very intuitive and easy to use software.

Pros

Very easy to use. Great customization options available a selection of media as well. Can also keep track of sites you want to automatically create new videos in the future.

Cons

Might be costly for smaller operations or independent users. Recommended for businesses or power users easily.

Ifeoma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MAKING VIDEOS WITH LUMEN5

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

Over, Lumen5 was a good investment and I especially loved the quality of the video.

Pros

I love the fact that I can make Videos Ads for my trainings with Lumen5 which delivers the message I want to pass across.

Cons

I don't like the fact that it's not so easy to manipulate Lumen5 especially while using the edit button. A newcomer to the app may find it cumbersome.

Iniyavan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Content Machine helping to convert my blogs into videos

Reviewed on 2018/07/20

Convert your blogs into videos

Pros

I really like when we shifted our content marketing from Blogs to Videos. Lumen5 Made it more simple by just entering the link, It captures the content and the images in the link to create a video.

Cons

It sometimes grabs other images in the page and It seems to be a bit overpriced from my standpoint.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lumen5 a fantastic video creation tool

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

This video software will be an enormous help in getting your message out to social media visually.

Pros

So easy to use with a mountain of images and music to choose from. Creating a video has never been easier!

Cons

Nothing - it ticks all the boxes. If you want to add your own images and music background you will need a purchased software copy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for creating videos quickly

Reviewed on 2019/12/31

While I wouldn't say Lumen5 is the best video editing software out there, it saves a ton of time creating videos that are based around your existing content (ie blog posts). Great for content marketing.

Pros

- has an innovation automation engine that can almost create videos for you
- really easy to use
- easy to create videos for each social platform

Cons

- some of the editing features are lacking, particularly when you want to make your video a bit more customized
- no audio recording

Precious
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Very easy to use video editing tool

Reviewed on 2022/06/06

Overall Lumen5 is the easiest and probably most quickest way to edit a video especially for those with no prior knowledge of video editing.

Pros

I like that it is very easy to use even without prior video editing skills
I like that there are so many tools available for immediate use
I like that it doesn't take much time to edit a video
I like that it produces high quality video

Cons

I don't like that there is limited customisation on text placement
I dont like that it takes a long time to render a video
I dont like the fact that options for background music is limited