Lumen5

AI-based video creating, editing and marketing platform

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(137)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

137 Reviews

Renato
Renato
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast videos, easy solution

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Within its intended use, it is a unique app, simple to use and quite efficient. Even though I don't...

Within its intended use, it is a unique app, simple to use and quite efficient. Even though I don't use it very often, it has helped me a lot to adapt content to video.

Pros

What I like most about Lumen5 is how easy it makes creating videos simple. When you want to turn the content of a website into a video for easy presentation, Lumen5 helps you do this with a few simple steps.

Cons

Although it is a very useful and easy-to-use app, we have to understand that it has major limitations when it comes to creating and editing videos. Don't expect to do any super production here and everything will be fine.

bimal
bimal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

lumen5 review

Reviewed on 2021/12/08

My experiences with Lumen5 is feaking awesome. I enjoy making short and log videos here.

My experiences with Lumen5 is feaking awesome. I enjoy making short and log videos here.

Pros

Lumen5 is the best video making software compared to others. Because it is easy and less expensive to use. Anyone can easily open and start making videos for any type of business it doesn't matter you are making videos for Facebook, youtube, TikTok or LinkedIn you can make professional looking videos in minutes. You can easily paste your blog URL and it will crawl your page and make a video according to it.Lumen5 is power by Ai.Inside you get million of free video for your business.

Cons

In this app, I think there are not any cons.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

I guess it does the job okay

Reviewed on 2019/04/13

This program has the things you need to put together a video. I'm not sure that it's any better or...

This program has the things you need to put together a video. I'm not sure that it's any better or worse than any other system. The pieces are there but of course the videos quality will be based on the artistic and advertising skill of the user.

Pros

There are some nice options such as "Brand presets" that you can upload and use for videos.

Cons

I tried the option of making "instant videos" from feeds such as blogs. The resulting video did pair somewhat appropriate visuals with text quotes. For example, a blog post about writing for children used pictures of children. However, the resulting video wasn't very compelling. The children all looked unhappy, and the text quotes would need major editing.

Connor
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing video creator and editor that allows you to upload a blog post for automatic video...

Reviewed on 2018/06/09

Easily created dozens of videos for our marketing purposes. This is something I would not have...

Easily created dozens of videos for our marketing purposes. This is something I would not have thought one person would have been able to do but I was able to churn out videos without having a team to help.

Pros

We never purchased this because the free version was absolutely amazing. I was surprised there was so much functionality in the base version. The one thing the free version didn't have that I would have paid for is HD video quality but it was still good enough for our purposes. The integrated stock photos, video backgrounds, and background music is fantastic and was something I used extensively in our marketing.

Cons

It's amazing, but the one thing I wish existed that I brought up to their team is if you duplicate a previously made video, you can't change the blog post associated with it in their interface that allows you to easily copy and paste text from the blog post that the video is intended for. This is such a small complaint for an amazing free product.

Josh Bernthold,
Josh Bernthold,
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Blogs To Videos (Out of Thin Air!)

Reviewed on 2019/05/01

Pros

Lumen5 is so flipping easy to use! That is what I like most about the software. I also like the fact of how powerful making these videos for your posts can be. You are able to make videos not off of a post as well and just on the fly. This is very helpful when making a little promo or explainer video.

Cons

I do know that there are other competitors that are emerging since the release of Lumen5. I am just hoping that they stay ahead of the curve and continue to develop the software further and add more features.

Depp
Depp
Overall rating
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

saves time while creating video

Reviewed on 2018/04/30

Time saving and easy to manage

Time saving and easy to manage

Pros

I had to spend hours on creating video content for my business. Lumen5 has optimized my time, now I'm able to create videos from posts in 5 minutes. I also have access to a wide range oh high quality images

Cons

The subscription is pricey. It will improve if templates and more text style options are added. Also, Video recording should be supported too.

Response from Lumen5

Hi Leonard,

Thanks for the review! We're so glad it's saving you time. Just out of curiosity, how much time on average has it saved you per video?

Thanks!

Amna
Amna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Create short videos easily

Reviewed on 2020/09/23

The overall experience has been great

The overall experience has been great

Pros

It has a lot of options and makes small videos easily from existing blogs or new articles. Many customizations available

Cons

More templates would have been better, plus the stock videos and images can sometimes be not free and cost extra

Natalie
Natalie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

When Lumen5 says, "Create a Video in Minutes", they weren't joking!!

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

Creating more professional style videos is flawless with Lume5!

Creating more professional style videos is flawless with Lume5!

Pros

I love Lumen5 for short videos and animated videos for my social media clients. It truly is easy to easy and has a great user interface!

Cons

I usually do not like to complain about prices but Lumen5 is pricey! Starting at $19/month, on top of other services that I pay for as a marketing consultant, this seems a bit steep!

Stasha
Stasha
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A good choice for video creations

Reviewed on 2022/09/23

The dashboard is more than evident, and It was easy to use. There are outstanding organized...

The dashboard is more than evident, and It was easy to use. There are outstanding organized options. I used to love the instant video option.

Pros

This platform was my first choice for creating video content. The possibilities are good but sometimes limited in terms of design. The template has already predetermined the position of the letters, and there is no drag and drop, only a choice of corner or center. An excellent option if you are not bothered by the sense of detail. There is a possibility that within one template, a slide can replace a different design. The library has a satisfying choice of media.

Cons

If you are a paid account user above the Basic plan, there are many opportunities to ease your work, but on the Free & Basic, it's not the case. You can't change colors or add a logo. Media content availability inside a platform is provided within account features. If the creator wants any customization or quality images and videos, have to choose the Starter plan. In my opinion, it's too expensive.

Mary D.
Mary D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lumen5 Rocks It!

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Pros

Lumen was the first online video production site that made me wonder why I did things manually for so long. Easy to use, extensive stock images and video clips, audio and the ability to create something that looks professional.

Cons

The blog post video creation. Not something I would use but it may come in useful for other people.

Wendy
Wendy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Lumen 5 for Easy Peasy Videos.

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

I've added videos to my Facebook groups and web pages. I upload to YouTube. My focus isn't on...

I've added videos to my Facebook groups and web pages. I upload to YouTube. My focus isn't on videos -- I do lots of writing, images, videos and more. BUT I spend a few hours, do a video or two and they really catch attention of my followers. Lumen makes it a fun experience for me!

Pros

I really like this software as I can enter a URL from my site, or a cut and paste from a document on my computer -- and BAM, Lumen makes a video.

Lumen sends an email when the video is done -- they select the important parts of the page that you'd likely want in the video. They split up the page into slides. They also automatically pick images for each slide, and places the text on it. It's really a pretty nice process... so easy peasy!

I always edit. I change many of images as they auto-select images from their massive library of images, but I prefer finding my own and I enjoy that part of making the video look like it flows nicely. Some of the images are gif images that move... so the video goes image to image and also some frames have the leaves on the tree moving in the breeze, or a person smiles or waves. I like really that.

I sometimes change the text selected automatically by the app. I delete a slide, add another, and change the highlighted text... just depends.

I also always add music. You can search by the mood of the music so its relatively easy to pick one that fits nicely. Even if they added Voice Over (my "con" in this review), I'd still want music in the background.

Cons

I need a voice over option -- and that's my problem right now. I'd like to use these videos for Udemy classes and more, but I need to speak as I go. I hope they offer this soon in an upgrade!

Syed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lumen5 –‘is my favourite tool to create content and innovative design for social media’

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

My overall experience with Lumen5 is very good. As I mentioned, This tool made mt job easy and my...

My overall experience with Lumen5 is very good. As I mentioned, This tool made mt job easy and my clients are happy. Anyone can be very creative with this tool because they have a lot of options to choose and create the design and this is really amazing.

Pros

I absolutely like the fact that Lumen5 is packed with a lot of important features such as- collaboration, audio tools, brand overlay, social sharing, and more. I can create different types of videos for my client. This tool allows you to produce highly-engaging content. I would say Lumen5 is a great source to drive the marketing team to progress. Because the resources of this tool are very useful and easy to utilize for increasing business engagement. I am using this tool for a long time to create a dynamic project for my clients and they are very happy. I think using Lumen5 is time-saving because you can finish your task quickly as their stock full of the fundamentals you need.

Cons

The costs of Lumen5 is not affordable for all. I think they should waive the price up to a certain amount. I don’t like the fact that sometimes it takes time in rendering the final video.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing tool for creating shareable videos in minutes

Reviewed on 2018/05/31

Pros

At the risk of sounding dramatic, Lumen5 was a gamechanger. While I typically don't use the blog-to-video feature as much, it's really cool and lets you create videos for social media easily - even for those without experience in video editing software. Engagement on my clients' social media account has gone way up since I started using more video.

Cons

The ONLY issue I have is when uploading your own video footage, sometimes the "timing" seems off as it's based on the amount of text, and consequently, the video almost flickers for a moment. However, this is very trivial and definitely not anything to worry about - I don't think most people would notice.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for social videos!

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

Overall, great experience!

Overall, great experience!

Pros

The software is very user-friendly and makes professional social videos, sized for different platforms. The video can be customized with your campaign logo and the highlight can be set to a specific color using the hex code from design files.

Cons

The two major cons: 1) It takes forever to render the video once created. 2) The highlight can only be placed on one section of the text, not in two different sections. That makes picking what to highlight a little tricky and it's not always exactly what you want.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Want easy to make Business Insider style videos? This is the tool for you

Reviewed on 2018/09/15

It's quick, powerful and lets you create truly custom assets if you put in a little extra effort to...

It's quick, powerful and lets you create truly custom assets if you put in a little extra effort to prepare your own materials to upload to the platform first.

Pros

Lumen5 is awesome. In about 5 minutes you can take any text, whether from a blog post or just copy and pasted into the tool, and create high quality 'Business Insider' style videos with just a few clicks. It's a great and convenient way to keep up with the demands of constantly needing to push out video for use on social media. The fact that you can upload your own images and videos to use in the different scenes also means that you can use this tool to create truly stunning client assets in a fraction of the time.

Cons

Once you input your script, whether its from a link to a blog post, or copy and pasted in... you can't edit it. You *can* add a line or two manually, but I've found the system doesn't do its job as well on the automated creative side if you do this. That means that if you find you want to add any text to your script after you've already started a video, your best and fastest option is just to head back to your dashboard and start fresh.

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Lumen5 Review

Reviewed on 2021/06/01

I really like Lumen5. You don't have to know about video editing at all to be able to use it, they...

I really like Lumen5. You don't have to know about video editing at all to be able to use it, they make it very easy to create any type of videos. You choose a video, audio, add your words to be displayed, and you can also add a voice over. It's simple and great at the same time. I highly recommend it!

Pros

I love how easy it is to create a video with Lumen5. Even with the free plan it's really great. Lots of videos and audio tracks to choose from.

Cons

There are no cons with Lumen5. I think it's great. There is a watermark with the free plan, but that's not an issue. If that's a problem you can always upgrade.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Time saving video creation software

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Lumen5 has helped me become more productive by saving time on video creation that I need for myself...

Lumen5 has helped me become more productive by saving time on video creation that I need for myself and my clients.

Pros

I love that Lumen5 has made creating a video from an article so easy with such great-looking results.

Cons

Customization of fonts and styles was limited, but has recently expanded and so I'm continuing to use this tool more often.

Lindy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great for Social Media Videos

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

Use it to create content for my social media. It works great.

Use it to create content for my social media. It works great.

Pros

I love the ease of use and streamlined way they've set up the dashboard when creating videos. I like that there are so many options for music and that you can pull slides in to create content.

Cons

I didn't like that the maximum length of a video is 5 minutes. I know it's for social media but I'd like to be able to use it to create longer tutorials for YouTube. I also don't like that the version I purchased through AppSumo has a watermark at the end of the videos.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

Been able to create short videos in under half an hour for bloggers and small businesses. Outstandin...

Been able to create short videos in under half an hour for bloggers and small businesses. Outstanding live action visual and stock music.

Pros

Easy to use. Access from all devices available. Have not experieneced any glitvhes.

Cons

The software on video play back/preview is a little delayed. However unsure if that is also affected by my wifi signal.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great service

Reviewed on 2019/07/27

Pros

I love the instant videos feature. Posts from my website are extracted automatically to Lumen 5 and instantly are ready for further editing. I also love the brand preset feature, where your logo, branding colors, fonts etc are set up only once and then are available any time with one click.

Cons

I find their starter plan expensive for someone who does not a heavy content creator and needs it a couple of time during the month.

Loraine
Loraine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customizeable when you need it, automated when you don't

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

We needed to create quality, meaningful videos with a small, nimble team with little editing/product...

We needed to create quality, meaningful videos with a small, nimble team with little editing/production know-how, and Lumen5 has allowed us to do exactly that.

Pros

We can turn out quality, engaging videos in a matter of minutes.

Cons

The amount of customizeable options isn't quite where I'd like it to be yet, but there seems to be more updates to the platform every day, so I'm confident that it's getting there.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Video Creation Made Easy!

Reviewed on 2018/12/28

Pros

Simple and straight forward. We create a lot of videos to go with our clients blogs each month.

Cons

I find the software isn't evolving as quickly as other that I use.

Deni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lumen5 for my business

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

I'm able to deliver really nice videos to post on social media. People view them! So far, I don't...

I'm able to deliver really nice videos to post on social media. People view them! So far, I don't believe it's "helped" with my business, but at least for now, I'm serving (hopefully) more people in a different way. I have had a great experience with customer support in answering my questions in a timely manner.

Pros

Being a creative....it's FUN to use! I love seeing my articles turned into a video. I'm able to really capture the heart of my content (the viewer doesn't know what's missing).

Cons

I want to be able to put my website URL on the last page with my logo, or signature picture. When I had the free version, I was able to do this. I just upgraded to the paid version...and I can't? Weird. I think a lot of this is the fact that you can't adjust the font size. This would be a huge asset in creation. Also, I'd say that when you choose a "highlight" color for your font, you have to be super careful with choosing your background images. It can get lost...unless you put it in a box, which I don't always think looks attractive. That's not totally negative, just an observation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for creating videos quickly

Reviewed on 2019/12/31

While I wouldn't say Lumen5 is the best video editing software out there, it saves a ton of time...

While I wouldn't say Lumen5 is the best video editing software out there, it saves a ton of time creating videos that are based around your existing content (ie blog posts). Great for content marketing.

Pros

- has an innovation automation engine that can almost create videos for you
- really easy to use
- easy to create videos for each social platform

Cons

- some of the editing features are lacking, particularly when you want to make your video a bit more customized
- no audio recording

Reggie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Does what it needs to.

Reviewed on 2020/04/14

Pros

One of the most trusted software for its functionality

Cons

Pricing is a little high. There are other software that do the same at a slightly lower price