Showing 20 reviews of 10

Artifactory

Artifact repository manager for software development teams

4,7 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 20 reviews of 10
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good companion for Java software crafters

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Pros

Any software company, after a while, has its own internal tools that you can't keep copying to each new project. Also, any Continuous Integration/Deployment system needs a repository for the artifacts. Artifactory serves perfectly to these needs.
The web UI is simple enough, with a nice search engine, good integration with main CI servers and a REST API. Maven support is available in the OOS version and many other packages are supported in the Pro one (eg. NPM, Docker). If you're behind a corporate proxy you'll love the repository mirroring to limit the hassle with IT. Available on-premise and as cloud service. Upgrade is easy.

Cons

It mostly works transparently, but be careful if you're behind a too strict proxy: recently our client's IT security decided that many JARs from Maven Central were dangerous, redirecting to a "forbidden" page. We soon ended up with the repository full of JARs actually containing that page. It took a while to figure out, so remember to keep the MD5 check enabled.
Sometimes it seems that Artifactory starts leaking memory and we need to restart it.
The Pro version is not really cheap.

Gil B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Binary Repository

Reviewed on 2020/04/13

It's very intuative and a standard of binary repositories, the basic verion supports all packages and Jenkins and other tools. Highly recommended!

Pros

We use the WebDAV shares functionality to our source control so when a developer commits/delivers code and binary to the source control (RTC) it moves the binaries to Artifactory so it keeps the source control safe from binaries. I also like the support for all types of packages including Conan C/C++ packages. It has a connector to almost anything including Jenkins, Docker, K8S, etc.

Cons

The free/open source version lacks functionality comparing to it competitors such as supporting comiting more than one file and some packages support.

Emanuele S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable and simple to use repository

Reviewed on 2019/06/08

We use artifactory as repository for both applications packages and infrastructuse as a code software.

Pros

Web interface very intuitive. I also like the availability of virtual repositories, so that you can "merge" a local with a remote repositories showing as a unique repo.

Cons

When I manually update a package the definition of path to upload to is a little complex.

Daniel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Perhaps Not Needed, But Interesting?

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

Cool graphics, easy to understand, but ultimately not needed.

Pros

I'll admit that I've been very intrigued by the fancy digital mapping used in JFrog's general interface, and especially so in Artifactory. Cool graphics let me know exactly what all my information is doing or going, and is intended to provide clarity.

Cons

The software provides so much clarity that I'm not actually sure if I need it! Seriously, it's a cool product, but the features are so automatically included in other products that we already use... it seems like an unnecessary add-on.

Imri N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great and convenient service for package management

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

The Artifactory makes it easy for us to manage a lot of dependencies in different repos. Also, it enables us to verify builds, versions, and overall health of our products.

Pros

I like the intuitive UI, the search option, our whole company uses the same Artifactory, good integration with Docker and Git, great for Jenkins.

Cons

Steep learning curve, takes up relatively large disk space, I'd like to customize the way the data is displayed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Only tool for packaging and deploying continuously that supports everything throughout our...

Reviewed on 2018/07/26

Pros

It is a clean, efficient central point for your CI to run through. Build and store versioned packages of any component you need, deploy via docker, setup custom build scripts and notifications, do virtually any task need through automation. Takes deployment times from days to hours (at least it did in our environment)

Cons

I'm not sure if this is specific to this piece of software or just a fact of the function but it is definitely a large setup and management overhead. We use a team of 3 to manage and contribute to it. Because there are so many technologies feeding into it and so much research needing to be done I don't think you could manage what becomes the core of your CI setup without some serious complexity

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best one-stop shop for artifact management

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

Works with all major artifact types: npm, docker, helm, debian. Universal login support through SSO. Easy to generate unique tokens for each app.

Cons

Could be more clear in the instructions about how to set up the server for development vs a hardened production instance.

Nick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Convinient Artifact Managment for large organisations

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

Very satisfied with our teams choice of working with Artifactory.

As our projects keep growing, the integration with said service is making the transition to a more scale-able project smoother than ever.

Pros

The ease of use and the learning curve of Artifactory is worth the time learning and making yourself comfortable with it.

The UI is very welcoming and not overwhelming.
Team integration is easy since Artifactory is widely used among my peers.

Cons

With lots of options and paths available, it's easy to get lost on your way of finding the better way of achieving the desired results for your project.

Tal A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for artifact management

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

We use Artifactory for all of our packages, the Ui is amazing.

Pros

Works will all artifact types, can work for any organization, very visual tool, intuitive and professional tool, gets updates frequently.

Cons

Takes a while to feel comfortable around, can be very overwhelming at first, there is quite a learning curve.

Tom H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product!

Reviewed on 2016/02/09

Artifactory is clearly leading the way allowing me to use both SaaS and on-prem to manage all my packages types /NuGet/Docker/ etc. The UI is dead simple to follow and the support is almost always available.
Cons: Having said that, it comes at a cost, you need to have a budget for this if your not using the OS version.