29 reviews

Coderbyte

Coding assessment platform for technical interviews

4,5 /5 (29 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
29 reviews
Abhimanyu S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Software for Screening Potential Candidates

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Pros

Quick Creation of Assessments based on Skills or Roles. Configurable Email Templates for sending out invite email.

Cons

The Questions Library needs to be increased with more questions at Hard Level. Although there are good questions already, but it will be more advantageous to have more questions especially for FrontEnd Developer Role.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool that helps to move forward our recruitment

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

Pros

Many options to challenge your candidate. Nice review of candidate results

Cons

UX part of software could be improved with easier navigation

Lakshmana S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Does it job well

Reviewed on 2021/01/05

Pros

We use the tool to screen the candidates as many candidates apply when we post a open position. We used to take one of our teammate's help to filter the profiles and then call for interview etc. With the help of this tool we could filter 80-90% of the candidates which saves our time. It's easy to use and customer care was great.

Cons

I remember that I tried plagiarism feature in the trail version, I thought it can be improved.

Jose A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2019/09/01

Confirm candidate's skills

Pros

Able to evaluate and confirm candidate's software skills.

Cons

one-week trial was too short to find weakness in the software.

Will I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Coderbyte is price competitive and feature rich

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Pros

Ease of use, and pre-built programming challenges.

Cons

The customization aspects are a hint difficult to prescribe for engineers and is more focused on developers only.

Alex A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customizable and easy to use

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

Pros

Product is easy to use and has an intuitive design.

Cons

Some tests are bugg-y which resulted in test-takers having to resit them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Some quick feedback

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Pros

The price is definitely competitive. Playback of candidates doing the challenge is good for inspecting 'cheaters'. The candidate summary is very useful.

Cons

The fact that I cannot easily add custom tests is a big con. No pair programming with webcam.

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

Hello,

Thanks for being a valued Coderbyte customer! We appreciate your feedback and are excited to soon be releasing some major updates to our pair programming product.

Also, we understand that adding custom tests could be faster. Right now, we apply an expert review to all custom tests to ensure that the candidate experience remains excellent. On other platforms like HackerRank, the lengthy and tedious challenge descriptions create a terrible experience for candidates.

We want to make sure that never happens on Coderbyte so that our customers can continue to hire top talent, rather than drive them away!

Thanks,
Coderbyte

Monika S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive, Easy to use platform with uber-cool features

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Used it for the first time. Loved the experience. It was seamless.

Pros

(i) Ease of building the question sets
(ii) Screen-recordings to check out the approach followed by the test-takers
(iii) UI (seamless and intuitive)

Cons

(i) Should add more diversity to questions on React.js and Node.js

Cedric F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Many options for many profiles

Reviewed on 2020/10/11

Pros

Coderbyte offers a lot of option for many different profiles and various coding language. It's easy to use with all all options available directly in the first price plan.

Cons

Back-end interface is not the nicest one, but it works.

Linda N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Useful tool for candidate prescreening

Reviewed on 2019/10/16

We use the tool for candidate prescreening - a 20-30 minute technical exercise before a candidate is invited for an onsite interview. We've had some success with the tool but are having some difficulty tuning the questions such that the score is a decent indicator of a candidate's success.

Pros

Preconfigured questions and test cases that allows users to use an online IDE to submit a coding sample. Relatively low price point to other tools evaluated.

Cons

Difficult to tune the prescreening questions to meet our needs - we're still working through a balance of finding questions that aren't a time burden on candidates but produce a decent amount of code to review for quality (not just accuracy + time as is auto graded).

Vinicius S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best for my needs!

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

Pros

Really easy to use, customizable, good metrics and feedback. Just wanted to use for 2 months and it was a vey pleasant experience.

Cons

It faces errors when the invitees try to use Internet Explorer. We also can't download the assessments for recording reasons.

Smitha B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Coderbyte for Employee Assessment

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Our overall experience has been excellent. Coderbyte has been easy to setup tests for our assessments. We are able to run multiple tests in large numbers and evaluate students for our campus recruitment. This has reduced our TAT in scoring and evaluation, help better our hiring process and made it very objective. The candidates also find it easy and engaging to use.

Pros

The time based scoring for the result. Coderbyte not only evaluates on completion of assessment but also on the time taken to complete the assessment.
It also checks for plagiarism and this is a very good feature when we are conducting assessments for recruitment.

Cons

Inability to withdraw/cancel invites. Sometimes wrong invites get sent out or candidates are not interested, in such cases there is no option to withdraw or cancel the invite. Also if a candidate has already received an invite but for any reason not got the email, there is no option to resend an invite.

Eric M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CoderByte Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Pros

Good price for the product, and ease of use

Cons

The test were not really customizable to real life experiences, that most of my developers deal with

Dorian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for small teams!

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Pros

I'm part of a small talent team that works with education & education technology startups. Coderbyte is a great way to assess large numbers of candidates for technical roles - the set-up is easy, as is the review of candidate scores. This is a great way for me to fast-track strong candidates over to our data team.

Cons

None that stand out to me at this time - perhaps some option for customization in future, but we specifically chose Coderbyte for its library of available challenges (vs. something like HackerRank).

Cristina B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great value for money

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Pros

- user-friendly interface
- good variety of challenges to choose from
- great customer support

Cons

- HR analytics could stand to be improved

Darshan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very useful!

Reviewed on 2020/10/12

Coderbyte has definitely helped us streamline our interview process.

Pros

Diverse challenge library.
Up to date compiler
Value for money

Cons

The admin dashboard takes some time to get used to.

John O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fairly good remote screening process for coding candidates

Reviewed on 2020/11/27

We found that it was a great screening tool during the covid lockdown rather than inviting candidates into the office for a test.

Pros

Easy to configure pre made tests
Screen recording of assessments

Cons

Could do with more pre made assessments.
A couple of the candidates mentioned that the system was not that easy to use.

Nitin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helped us recruit best from the bests :)

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Pros

We were looking to hire best programmers and one of the biggest challenge was to check their Logical Skills. Coderbyte helped us to prepare different level tests for different positions we had and also it has very nice reports such as score %, Plagiarism, recording of their tests and many more factors which really helped us to take decisions. Amazing tool!

Cons

The UX of Admin panel could be improved. There were times where I had to find a candidate but couldnt find easily.

Yair A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid new contender

Reviewed on 2019/08/03

We just started using Coderbyte to help automate and standardize our engineering pipeline. Setup was easy, and we were able to preview our assessments and send them out to candidates in < 1 hour. Looking forward to seeing the impact on our recruiting processes – optimistic so far.

Pros

- Straightforward setup, easy to send challenges to candidates
- Support has been very responsive so far
- Software seems to be frequently updated
- Enterprise offering allows for custom domain and branding
- Inexpensive
- Library of challenges is a nice plus

Cons

- Some questionable UX choices + unexplained features (how does scoring work?)
- Need to email support to set up ATS integrations

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

We're thrilled that you're seeing so much value in Coderbyte, and are excited to continue improving the platform and enterprise feature set.

Duangrudee P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wide range of predefined tests , unlimited invitations and good value for money

Reviewed on 2019/10/06

We used to spend a lot time interviewing unqualified candidates. Codebyte saves us a lot time by screening only candidates with the skill set that we are looking for.

Pros

Pricing per month and the amount of invitation I can send per month is unlimited. The platform has sufficient list of predefined questions.

Cons

Most of the questions are algorithm oriented. If there are more questions on DevOps , and data science. It will be great.

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

Thank you for giving Coderbyte a spin. We're adding more assessments for more roles every week you can find the latest platform updates here: https://headwayapp.co/coderbyte-changelog

Regev B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awsome Product

Reviewed on 2020/01/14

Pros

Great set of challenges and easy to use UI. Great pricing tiers.

Cons

The open questions library is a bit thin

Analisse D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, a perfect tool for hiring developers

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Overall, it is just what I needed and there is always support if I ever have questions or concerns.

Pros

The ease of use, the vast selection of coding challenges, and the customization of the platform.

Cons

None have come up since i started using the platform!

Riza herzego F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product with great price!

Reviewed on 2019/07/25

Pros

It help us to create online problem solving challenge, for unlimited candidates, with good price

Cons

the solutions of all of the problems provided in this platform can be found in google

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

We're excited about our partnership with Zenwork!

Currently, our SQL and front-end challenges are entirely private with no public solutions. Coderbyte also detects plagiarism in case candidates copy and paste. And, with feedback from Zenwork and other leading brands that partner with Coderbyte, we will be extending our library to include many more private challenges quite soon.

Colson F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for First Time Software Dev Hire

Reviewed on 2020/12/03

Coderbyte was super helpful for us as we hired our first software developer. Coderbyte had the most features and was the most reasonably priced for a small business. As one of the owners of our company, I am not a developer, and Coderbyte allowed me to make sure we made a great hire.

Pros

Easy to set up, reasonable pricing, ability to hide test questions

Cons

No option to weight the scoring on individual sections of the test

Thomas D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2020/07/24

We were looking for a full stack dev and the tool prevented us to make some hiring mistakes and select the right profile. Great value for money especially for young startups!

Pros

The ability to prepare a test based on the skills of the candidates and to assess them in a live situation. This is 10x more telling than a reference call or a review of past codes / projects. I also liked the video tool and the report which allowed to assess the candidates

Cons

Some skill tests are missing like MongoDB, Express and AWS. I wished there were more of those