Showing 25 reviews of 15

Checkmate

Candidate reference checking and verification

4,8 /5 (15 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
Showing 25 reviews of 15
Marika T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2020/04/29

Excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] responds quickly and is able to help with any minor issue we have had with our own internal systems. More than helpful and very generous when we were trialing the product to ensure it worked for part of our organization that we were trialing it on.

Pros

The product is easy to use, you can customize your template and you don't spend hours of wasted time try to contact the referee as they can complete the template in the time that suits them. The time it traditionally takes for references to be completed has reduced significantly.

Cons

Just the number of reminder messages - but Checkmate is very open to feedback and looking to always improve processes.

Nicole W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Increased user experience and reduced follow up required

Reviewed on 2020/05/01

We have seen a number of benefits through CheckMate including, but not limited to cost savings, increased candidate and referee experience, reduced follow up time due to automatic reminders via email and text to candidates and referees, openness to introducing new features based on customer feedback. We have also seen an increase in completion of reference checks.

Pros

Ease of use for both internal users and candidates and referees has been a big positive. The mobile optimisation available to candidates and referees leads to a positive user experience. Ability to build customised reference templates for specific roles enables us to have a unique approach. CheckMate is integrated with our applicant tracking system which allows information to be available through one source. The support we have received has been fast and efficient. The CheckMate team are open to suggestions and feedback and are able to implement changes quickly. The pricing of the software is extremely competitive in the market.

Cons

Anything extra we have needed has been implemented through new releases over time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cost-Effective, Easy and Fast!

Reviewed on 2019/05/14

We hire high volume roles and we have seasonal variance so this is a great tool to assist with streamlining the process for everybody, it's easy for the candidate and referees which is important to us.

Pros

I really liked how easy it was to get set up and start using the system, we had urgent roles we were hiring and we could get these references completed within a few hours.

The ability to control our brand was a really unique cool feature, and being able to design our questionnaires allowed me to tailor them to the unique roles we often hire. Being able to do everything via SMS and on mobile is also an awesome feature!

The service was really helpful, and always available to answer any questions I had.

Cons

The only con was that the system didn't integrate with our recruiting system, however, this is currently being built and expected in the coming months.

Louise H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic Referencing Software

Reviewed on 2020/04/30

Fantastic - [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has very much partnered with us to ensure we are receiving the best possible experience and maximising the software to its fullest.

Pros

The ease of use of the software, the ability to integrate with our ATS system, the local and hands on account management support, and not to forgot how user friendly it is for both candidates and referee's to complete.

Cons

Nothing springs to mind. I think the software is brilliant and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is absolutely open to receiving feedback on possible tweaks.

Sam B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great online tool for automating reference checking

Reviewed on 2019/02/27

Pros

The overall experience using Checkmate was extremely positive. From their easy-to-use platform to their extensive range of features; including a custom form builder, industry-specific questionnaires, mobile notification and live sharing, to their extensive report generated at the end of the process. Checkmate takes care of the entire process. All I did was enter a few details to begin with and their system did the rest.

Cons

To be honest, there wasn't really anything to fault about this product.

Manuel D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Referencing made easy!

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Pros

Saved our team a lot of time chasing referees, we recruit a lot from overseas so the ability to SMS and email them anywhere was a great help.

Cons

Doesn't integrate with our ATS right now, but hopefully will in future.

Anthony D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

Pros

Checkmate has really helped our hiring strategy, we've started conducting the checks earlier in our recruiting process, allowing us to use the checks in support of our final decision, rather than when we only reference checks upon offer. By doing so we've been able to use the insight from the check alongside other assessment tools to make more informed hiring decisions

Cons

We weren't able to have multiple users, however, I was told this is being developed in the coming months.

Brandon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best pound for pound reference checking software

Reviewed on 2020/02/26

Pros

We were able to customize it to our very specific reference process. We also were able to brand it specifically to our company.

Cons

The price is still very affordable, but in the first few months of using we saw several price hikes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, Flexible, and Effective

Reviewed on 2019/08/26

Pros

I really enjoyed how intuitive and efficient the software is to use throughout the entire process. I work in a very fast-paced environment where time is money, and Checkmate's simplicity and ease of use is a game-changer. Being able to easily and quickly create checks, and then monitor everything in a simple dashboard is great.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about the software.

Ethan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Addition to our Process Since We Started!

Reviewed on 2019/08/28

Pros

Since using Checkmate, we've been able to hire more candidates, take on more clients, and most importantly spend time in more pressing areas. To date we've turned 26 referee's into candidates that we've now placed - through them showing interest and openness for new roles within the questionnaire!

Cons

Best addition to our process since we started!

Brent W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Making life easy

Reviewed on 2020/04/28

Excellent to deal with, great that they are looking at the market and seeing what else the can offer.

Pros

It made doing reference checks a breeze and gave them the consistency that they required.

Cons

N/A suits our purpose. They have also integrated into out recruitment software

Melanie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review on checkmate

Reviewed on 2020/05/06

Pros

We find checkmate very easy to use, It makes our pre employment check process quicker, easy and more streamlined.

Cons

They are continuing to grow this product, offering more pre employment other then just reference checks which is great.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

Pros

We recruit in a high volume and high turnover workforce and Checkmate has really helped to streamline an important part of the process. It's reduced our talent teams workload and turn around time considerably. Also, being mobile our candidates and referees can do everything from their phone which is a huge help.

Cons

We'd like to be able to automate follow up questions if/when needed, which I believe is a feature they're looking into building

Misty B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

People info

Reviewed on 2020/12/27

Overall experience was ok..You can find out a lot..The money you got to pay is not worth it when it gets the info wrong on the person .But they are good about giving you the money back

Pros

Well I like best about this software is it is so EASY TO USE.Really common sense to use this..You can find out alot

Cons

What I like the least is some of the information is incorrect because a lot of the info on me was most definitely incorrect.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Save time, money and effort for everyone involved in the reference checking process

Reviewed on 2019/05/19

Pros

We found Checkmate to be super efficient and cost-effective solution for streamlining the reference checking process. By using this product, we've managed to save an incredible amount of time wasted chasing both candidates and potential referees. Every aspect of the product was designed with the hiring managers, candidates and referees best interests at heart.

Cons

The only minor downside was that the product didn't integrate with Talent App Store, but that is a feature they are going to be rolling out later this year.