47 reviews

Advataxes

Online accounting solution for employee expenses

4,3 /5 (47 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,4
85% recommended this app
47 reviews
John G.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Very user-friendly expense management platform!

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to navigate, you can save reports and continue later.

Cons

If it had an smartphone app too, that would be perfect!

Response from Ad Valorem

Hi John, Thank you for your review. Although we don't yet have a smartphone app and we should look into it, we have a smartphone or «mobile» login on the main page that you can use to fill out an expense report, take a picture of your receipt, and submit your report. You should note that the current mobile login has fewer functionalities than the login connection.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Francois L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Nice tool !

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

- We no longer need to have different excel spreadsheets for each provinces (for different tax rates), and we do not need to update some of the changing tax features, such as large companies.
- Reduce paper printed.
- Easier approval process
- Very good customer services

Pros

- Ability to directly save invoices into the system from a camera
- Automatic calculation of mileage
- Calculation of taxes according to the applicable rules.

Cons

- The speed of the system; when you click on a tab it takes a few seconds to get to the new page.
- The mobile application could be more complete and allow to never need the computer.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Francois, thank you for your response. We're glad you like the Canadian sales tax functionalities as well as the distance calculator, as these are core functionalities of Advataxes to properly claim recoverable taxes and lower the time required to fill out an expense report. As for your other comments we are also working on increasing the speed of certain features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sebastien C.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good concept, still place for improvement

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

Good! But definitively place for improvement on user friendliness.

Pros

Scanning of invoice right away. Easy place to store the invoice picture

Cons

Unable to write a title to a scanned invoice for easy usage later on.
Unable to forward a pdf invoice received in an email (from an hotel).
No app on iPhone so not able to use without Internet access.
Not able to start simultaneously two separate expense reports (for example, one for expenses on Company credit card and one for expenses made on personal credits card or else, like traveling kilometer expenses).

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Sebastien. thank you for your feedback. We will take your suggestions into consideration as we add new features on a regular basis.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Flora S.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

User friendly, quick access to information

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

I use the software both as a user to do my expense reports and to approve and process the expense reports of other employees and the software is so user-friendly that requires little training to get familiarize with. It is a great tool to track the approval process of the reports and to make reports to see how much is being spent by employees and by departments. The only downside of the software is that it does not provide the total amount being spent in each account, you have to do it manually by downloading the report in excel format and arranging it yourself. Other than that, is a great software if you are looking to go paperless since it gives you the option to upload receipts straight from your phone or computer as an attachment.

Pros

- Easy to use
- Paperless option
- Able to trace reports and download information to excel

Cons

- Does not give the total per category/account

Response from Ad Valorem

Thank you for your feedback this is much appreciated. As for the total per account, if your profile set-up includes a tab called "Reports" then you should see it in the menu bar, then In the drop down there is a selection for "account summary" and "Category summary" that may provide what you are looking for, Do not hesitate to set up a time for a call at [email protected]

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jean D.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

My review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- it's easy to use
- Great idea to have to the user guide

Cons

- Should ask for invoice before sending to approval

Response from Ad Valorem

Hi Jean, thanks for your feedback. You should know we also have a series of instructional videos that assist you in exploring ways to comply both with company's policies and Canadian Tax rules in a quick and efficient manner. Do not hesitate to contact us for a link to these videos.
The Ad Valorem Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pierre S.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Advataxes review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

easy to use with drop down menus and icons

Cons

I have no issues or dislikes about the software

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Pierre, thank you for your assessment. As for the drop down menus, you probably realized that you can access your historical expense reports including your KM incurred and expenses per category. We are pleased that you are finding these features easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good sofware to share costs

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

Globaly, Advataxes was used to refund some travel costs and it worked pretty well.

Pros

There's a lot of flexibility with the content of the product we are putting in an advataxe report, permitting to be more in line with the need of the people.

Cons

The modification of the dates is hard to do and sometimes we need to cancel some entries.

Response from Ad Valorem

Thanks for your comments. As we continuously add functionalities, do not hesitate to request a Webex to obtain a second look at Advataxes. The Ad Valorem team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Louise C.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great application

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's fast and easy to use! Reports are customizable, even after submit. We can include receipts.

Cons

Nothing so far. All that I need is there...

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Louise, thank you very much for your comments, it is very appreciated. We're happy to see that it's saving you time for processing expense reports.Stay tuned as we regularly update and add features to the software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Advatax

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use
Historical data easy to retrieve

Cons

Not enough options for expense types and acccounts

Response from Ad Valorem

Thank you for submitting your review. You can raise with your account administrator the kind of options for expenses you would like to have, If the account administrator can't fulfill your request, them it can be brought forward to us and we can look into it

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stuart C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Expenses

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/24
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I have had no issues with the software

Pros

It is very user friendly and and easy to learn

Cons

It would be better if you could combine multiple expense entries together

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Stuart, thank you very much for your feedback.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Renold S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Advataxes

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

It helps to make the work easier without the use of a printer. reduced the work load as cell phones are used by everyone all the time. Fast and very reliable.

Pros

Can be used from anywhere when you have a cell phone with you.
Fast and reliable. Good help from the support team whenever required.

Cons

This software doesn't seemed to be designed well for the cell phones as the pages don't load/ appear appropriately while loading the software. It can be redesigned/ adjusted for the use of cellphones so that the pages will fit on the cellphone screen.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Renold, your feedback is very appreciated.We are glad to see that you are saving time using your mobile device to fill out and submit your expense reports. You should know that there are some new features for the mobile that will be out shortly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nicolas F.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 201-500 Employees

good but not excellent

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

maintain a excel spreadsheet for user
maximize TPS/TVQ refund
mobile software for travelers

Pros

mobile, scan receipt, attach receipt to expenses

Cons

access "my receipt" is not fast enough
cannot code the same receipt on different gl code, ex : hotel and restaurant
can't drag and drop receipts received by email... needs to be saved and attached after.
max of 25 lines / report

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Nicolas, we are pleased to hear that you are maximizing your GST & QST refund using Advataxes. As for your comment relating to the speed of the "My receipts" tab, you should know that we are currently increasing the speed and you should notice a difference this month. Also, you should know that we will be implementing new features in the coming future.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Charles G.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Initial take

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to enter the information and push to the next level for approval and processing eliminates paper and is one of the few instances where apps move us towards the ideal of a paper free office.

Pros

Fairly intuitive
Easy to enter data
Drop down menus with useful categories
Developers open to customization/corrections

Cons

Some of icons are not industry standard
Many users will require training to use at all

Response from Ad Valorem

Thank you for your honest review, Charles. We are pleased you find Advataxes intuitive, as it was an objective when we designed it. As for the icons, we'll review them in comparison to industry standards.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Maria P.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

fast and easy

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

it's simple to use and you can do it anywhere you are

Cons

I don't use it often and the times I needed to use it, it was simple and problem free.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Maria, thank you for taking the time to fill out this review of Advataxes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kaoutar B.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 201-500 Employees

easy to use

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/19
Review Source: Capterra

my expenses review is the reason why I'm using advataxes. Still some work to do in order to improve the software but nice in general

Pros

Friendly and not complicated to use. Also I like the idea to add my expenses daily to track them.

Cons

once a report is sent for approbation we can not get access to it anymore !

Response from Ad Valorem

Thanks Kaoutar for your comments. You should know that once you send an expense report for approval, you can still access it, using the "status" drop down to the right and select "Pending Approval" , yet you can no longer modify it, unless it is sent back to you by your approver. The Ad Valorem Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lucie N.
Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Advataxes review

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

We are a franchisor and have many employees visitng our locations and issuyng expenses report.

Pros

the simplicity. I have a lot of expenses report to review and the system is so easy to use.
The detail of the expenses is there and easy to open and approuve.

Cons

The time is takes to open up...maybe the size of the data base is important

Response from Ad Valorem

Hi Lucie, thank you for your evaluation. We're happy to see that the approval process is smooth, as it has always been one of our main goals. Improving the speed of certain features is something that is also important to us and we are addressing it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Emerita C.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Advataxes Review

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

the software is simple, easy to use and user-friendly

Cons

sometimes it's slow when adding multiple expenses

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Emerita, Thank you for your feedback. We will take it into consideration.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sylvie A.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent tool for managing expenses reports

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, time saver, great benefits for users and for accounting purposes.
Good customer support.

Cons

Would like to see additional reporting options possibilities in the future.

Response from Ad Valorem

Thanks for this review. You should know that we have on our "to do list" plans for additional reports, in the "Reports Tab" that is available generally to account administrators. Also Advataxes is a great enabler with the reports that can be exports to Excel, so that you can filter, yet we will add other goal oriented reports such as KM threshold per employee. The Ad Valorem Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marie-christine L.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Survey

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

User friendly, IPhone App
Pictures uplaod

Cons

Not liked with my credit card to upload expenses automatically

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Marie-Christine, we are pleased to hear that you appreciate our mobile functionalities. Regarding the comments on credit cards, we are informing you that in Canada, a credit card statement is not a valid receipt for income tax rules as well as GST/HST and QST purposes, even if the factors method is used. The invoice is the proper document for tax rules so for that reason the focus of Advataxes is on uploading and storing receipts.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sofia C.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Amazing product

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Since launching this in our company I'm only getting positive feedback. It's easy to use and the team behind it is amazing. Excellent service.

Pros

The fact that it's easy to use and the ease of mind knowing that they are up to date on the tax claim laws.

Cons

I would have liked an App for the cell phones.

Response from Ad Valorem

Glad to hear it's helpful with handling GST-HST-QST recoveries. As for the App we'll look into it at some point but in the meantime the mobile login can be used with cellphones to fill out an expense report. Thanks
Serge

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael F.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Advataxes +/-

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple interface. Easily accessible on laptop via the internet.

Cons

Difficult process for uploading receipts. No mobile app to support this. Requires manual manipulation for currency exchange. Cannot link to a credit card.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Michael, Thanks for the feedback. An easy way to upload most receipts; use your smartphone, click on the mobile, and you will be able to select expenses and take a picture of your receipts (meals, parking, tolls ..). You will be able with your smartphone to view and send your expense report. For currency exchange, we have automatic conversion for 8 largest foreign currency; contact us for a private Webex, we can show you these functionalities. In Canada, credit card statements are not a valid document under both the Income tax act and sales tax legislations; that's why Advataxes is an invoice based software. It's a bit more work, but it will improve your company's bottom line. The Ad Valorem Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Brian W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review from the top

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its vey easy to use...all self prompts and calculations are done for you

Cons

We can't group all the expenses incurred in one day into a single entry. Everything has to be entered seperate and it can be time consuming

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Brian, your feedback is greatly appreciated. As you stated, the calculations are done, and it's in part because we ask users to enter each transaction date for each expense. Yet we can look into populating an expense date with the previous expense's date.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dennis O.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Its better if you can add multiple attachment

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

Good

Pros

Can do my expense report on my phone . And If you can combine the kilometers and the
The expense receipt in one transaction

Cons

Cannot add multiple attachment . That it.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Dennis, thanks a lot for your observations. We would like to inform you that you can attach multiple pages to an expense using the desktop connection and coming this month you will be able to do the same using the mobile connection. If you need further details do not hesitate to contact us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ronald A.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Approval of reports

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

No comments

Pros

The beauty of it is that it was easy to understand and use. Although, it was easy, it is full of good features which have to be discovered in future deeper usage

Cons

All positive at this point. I did not see any problems or other at this point.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Ronald, Thank you for this great review. You should know that we have plans to add more features, so don't be surprised to see additional functionalities. The Ad Valorem Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mehdi K.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

most ever easy way to report my expenses

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/22
Review Source: Capterra

report expenses at real-time and track the status

Pros

user friendly and simplicity help me to encourage me in the future

Cons

I couldn't find mobile app, so I had to go through browser.

Response from Ad Valorem

Hello Mehdi, Thanks for your comments; it's really appreciated. Yes to use Advataxes with a smartphone, you have to go on the main page and click the blue button MOBIILE. Thee is actually a short MOBILE video on the main page down below. The Ad Valorem team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10