21 reviews

Muster

Advocacy platform for nonprofits & trade associations

4,8 /5 (21 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
5
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
4,8
Customer Support
5
100% recommended this app
21 reviews
Elaine a. E.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Happy we made the switch to Muster

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

We have been very satisfied with Muster and are glad we made the switch from our previous vendor where everything was a la carte and the customer service was non-existent. Muster has been very attentive to our needs and the software itself is great. We've recommended Muster to several other non-profit organizations in our area because of our good experience with it.

Pros

We like how easy it is to use and that the price includes everything -- each feature is not a la carte.

Cons

When we first subscribed there were some kinks to be worked out particularly around loading lists, but those have been addressed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Charles M.
Industry: Public Policy
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Muster is a Must-have

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

We began using Muster in its early days as a tool for us to build a grassroots advocacy organization. Before Muster, we used MailChimp, which is great for sending email, but it doesn't provide the key functionality of calling your list to specific, political action and then tracking the outcomes.

Muster was absolutely critical to our success when, last year, our city council passed the final vote to begin building rapid transit infrastructure for our city.

Now, as our organization grows and matures, Muster's features allow us to keep our supporters engaged and keep our officials on the right track.

Pros

Muster is great for the following reasons:
Excellent underlying data that makes segmentation and targeting your list simple.
The team is fantastic at supporting their product.
Sending quick updates is easy.

Cons

Muster could be better if:
More integrations
Greater ability to customize emails
Organization-facing mobile apps for managing lists, signups, calls to action.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kadi P.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Effective Advocacy Tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

Using Muster has increased our reach on issues that matter most to our members. Our members find it easy to click through the prompts and customize their message to legislators, and they are able to easily share the Action Alerts among their networks as well.

Pros

Muster is an effective tool for engaging our association membership to participate in advocacy activities and engage their elected officials. With a few simple clicks, it makes it easy for people in our network to reach out and advocate.

Cons

There is not a way to modify the text in the messages we send to legislators—ie, bolding certain phrases, italicizing legislation, or bulletin key takeaways. This is disappointing that the letter the legislator receives is not eye-catching in that way, where they can easily pull out the key features of the message.

Response from Muster

Kadi,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we appreciate the feedback! We always want to ensure the deliverability of constituent messages which is why we made the choice to limit the styling for them.

We look forward to continuing to serve the Michigan Federation for Children and Families and making it easier for your supporters to connect with their legislators.

Best,
Corey @ Muster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Atul B.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful and economical

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

User-friendly with an easy to use interface. Economical - well suited for a growing organization. Very responsive team, actively seeking feedback and making changes to suit our campaign.

Cons

Data organization can be tricky. Large numbers of contacts can slow down the interface.

Response from Muster

Hi Atul,

The whole Muster team wants to thank you for your continued feedback! We want to ensure you and every other customer gets the most out of our product. We've loved seeing the incredible growth you've had in the short time you've used Muster and we'll always work on ways to make the experience smoother.

Best,
Corey @ Muster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew M.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

We needed a simple and straightforward 'contact your legislator' tool. We got that and more.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

We increased our grassroots lobbying presence from practically non-existent to one of the most active groups in the state of Iowa. We also grew our activist network 4-fold, with the help of a lot of online ads that drove new activists to the action page.

Pros

It's very simple, you can begin using it almost immediately after signing up, and you can track and monitor every email/letter/phone call you produce. We signed up thinking we would only use the email action tool to get members of our organization more involved in grassroots lobbying. Instead, we used every tool available and grew our activist network 4-fold (with the help of a lot of online advertising to drive people to the action page).

Cons

When you create a new email action for users to click on and contact their lawmakers you can edit the landing page (which describes the purpose of the action and some talking points) but not the form letter. So if you want to freshen up a form letter you have to create a new email action. This was just a minor inconvenience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robert M.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Political Action is Easier

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

We are a professional association working to pass state legislation and this is the first political action software we have used. So, far it has been going very well and the learning curve for the system is very modest. As we build our database of contacts, we're also gaining confidence in our ability to efficiently and effectively mobilize our members to contact key legislators at just the right time.

Pros

Muster is very easy to use and the ability to identify contacts by legislative district is extremely helpful. The ability to create Calls to Action with accompanying message templates looks very promising and will get much more use as we get closer to the upcoming legislative session.

Cons

While this system will identify contacts by legislative district, it doesn't currently identify the legislative district of an individual contact. We understand that is likely to be added in the future and will be much appreciated.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brandon C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Enables Advocacy Engagement with Members at a Reasonable Rate

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

A positive experience. It's less expensive than some of the other options out there and it gave us what we needed to increase advocacy engagement with our members.

Pros

It gives us the ability to engage with our members making it easy for them to contact state representatives and officials about issues important to our industry. The interface was simple and not too complicated as well.

Cons

It has limits. There's a need to recreate the campaign when you want to resend. In some cases, there's also an issue with proper district borders as it pulls from map coordinates and they can sometimes be slightly off. For example, I'm right on the border with another district so it didn't display my own district properly. This isn't a common problem but it does happen sometimes and they're working on it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Karen B.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Muster Testimonial

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

the ability to easily communicate legislative issues with the membership.

Pros

Muster is the best advocacy software product I have seen or used. The ease of use for both the Chamber and the end-user through the Action Center allows us to engage our members and the community in issues that impact our area

Cons

i can not think of anything at this time

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew K.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fits this niche calls to action better than anything else; support it top-notch

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/23
Review Source: Capterra

We use Muster primarily to get our members to contact their legislators when its in session -- e-mails for the most part. The ability to target not only by district, but specific *committees* is extremely helpful. (We'd rather not bombard every senator and rep with messages if we can help it.)

It's still fairly new, so there are features that aren't yet implemented... emphasis on "yet." Just about everything we've suggested is already planned (and might even be released by the time you read this).

And that goes to the question of customer support. We once had to wait about 15 minutes for an e-mailed support question and that's the longest we've ever waited. That kind of fast response is typical.

That's something to keep in mind. If you're curious about a feature, ASK. Don't just rely on these reviews; the Muster folks are incredibly responsive.

Bottom line: Highly recommended.

Pros

Great back-end database of legislators. Fine-tuned targeting. Clear instructions; great interface.

Cons

Lack of some customization options for messages (e.g., direct HTML editing).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Megan W.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best Investment to Date

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

WONDERFUL. Customer service has been so quick, thoughtful, and solution-oriented.

Pros

The ease of use for me to create action alerts, the ease of use for the members of our organization to send targeted emails - it's been a game-changer for us.

Cons

I wish there was an email template I could send out to our contacts asking them to update their home AND business address. Explaining that they'll only receive the alerts if they're a match with our targeted group.

Response from Muster

Hi Megan!

Thank you for the glowing review and insightful feedback. As we continue to iterate on Muster, we will look for ways to make that process easier for you and your supporters. As of now, the best way to go about retrieving/updating addresses would be to send out an email broadcast with the Muster contact form linked. We think there are ways we could make this easier though and will work to bring them to life.

We've loved partnering with the Virginia Retail Federation and look forward to continuing to serve you the best we can!

Corey @ Muster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bryan B.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very user-friendly

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

Muster offers an effective means of connecting your constituents to members of Congress with easily drafted and distributed messages. The team is easily accessible and helpful when responding to questions. As a DC lobbyist with more than ten years of experience in government relations, I strongly recommend it.

Pros

The ease of setting up your own "grassroots" broadcast, and the list management features make it easily manageable.

Cons

When targeting smaller groups of congressional members, it would be helpful if Muster could allow you to select or "de-select" specific members of Congress by alphabetizing by last name.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lisa G.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Muster Makes our online Advocacy Possible

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Our organization has worked with Muster since its startup and they continue to adapt to customer needs. I have worked with other e-advocacy firms and nobody compares to Muster's attentive customer service! They would probably answer my call for help at 2 a.m.! They are reasonably priced and easy to use. I like that they provide for contact with local elected officials as well as federal and state because they are so grassroots oriented.

Pros

-easy to use; reasonably priced; outstanding customer service; local contacts

Cons

Almost anything I have recommended to improve the product has been implemented. Muster appreciates the advice of the practitioners!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Muster: Best Bang for Your Buck

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love that Muster is so affordable! It makes advocacy software accessible to smaller organizations.

Cons

In 2019, the committees list in Muster broke and hasn't been fixed the last time I checked. This used to be a huge time saver for me, so I hope it resolves soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jo M.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very Helpful Tool

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience and happy to have this tool for our members

Pros

Easy to use, accurate database, simple and effective

Cons

A bit of a learning curve on the definitions of broadcasts

Response from Muster

Hi Jo,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and feedback! We're thrilled you find Muster so easy-to-use as that has always been a top priority when creating tools. Ease-of-use will continue to be a top priority here at Muster, and we look forward to continuing to serve NDASA.

Best, Corey @ Muster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kyle A.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Game Changes

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service is what sets this product apart!

Pros

The functionality is a game changer for trade associations and Chambers of Commerce.

Cons

Once an action alert is closed, you cannot clone it for a new situation. It would be nice to be able to clone closed ones or be able to save form sections of content.

Response from Muster

Kyle,

Thank you so much for the incredible review! We're very excited to have the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber as a customer. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and making sure you're successful in all your advocacy initiatives. The feedback is always appreciated, and we look forward to providing you even more tools in the future. If you need anything, don't hesitate to reach out!

Best,
Corey @ Muster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brian C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool for association advocacy communication

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

As an association executive director, I've been using Muster a little over two years with great success. It is a very affordable alternative to other similar resources in the marketplace and the customer service is outstanding. I recommend any association that needs advocacy communications, especially on a budget (an who isn't?) give them a try.

Pros

Price and ease of use

Cons

Inability to easily replicate archived campaigns (repurposing content older than a year)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Christina B.

Great way to connect your contacts with their elected officials

Reviewed on 2017/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Working with Muster has changed my organization's approach to advocacy efforts. We can now offer our contacts an efficient and effective way to reach their elected officials. The software is easy to use on our end and also easy for our contact list to use. We have seen our advocacy list grow at an impressive and consistent rate since integrating Muster into our website. The Muster team also provides excellent customer service. They are quick to respond if an issue or question should arise. They are also willing to listen to our needs and figure out ways to integrate new ideas that can help our advocacy efforts grow into their software updates. Highly recommended.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kelly P.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

We've had a great experience with Muster and the Muster Team!

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We love that the Muster Team is always listening to our feedback and trying to accommodate our needs, even if they are only specific to our organization. We really like that capability of out of constituency contact. We typically ask our members to contact committees, which means they may not necessarily be constituents of those legislators. Other advocacy software companies don't allow that, but we're happy Muster does.

Cons

The extra fee for tracking phone calls. For our needs, we'd really prefer just to have Muster provide the phone numbers of legislators to our members for those who'd rather make phone calls vs. email or Twitter.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joe L.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Affordable and Effective Advocacy Software

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use for admin and user, customer service experience, covers the basics for organizing communicating succinct messages to federal officials

Cons

List upload functionality via CSV is a bit clunky if you're pulling from a database, though I believe they have SSO option.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kelly C.

Excellent grassroots mobilization platform

Reviewed on 2017/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

I've used several voter/grassroots mobilization platforms, but couldn't be happier to have moved my association to Muster in the past year. The user interface is clean and intuitive. The email blasts and action alerts are easy to compose, and our members find them appealing and user-friendly. Muster's customer service is also phenomenal - they quickly respond to help requests and are always open to software development suggestions to continue to improve the platform. GREAT software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Elaine E.

Muster has helped our organization engage with our members

Reviewed on 2017/03/23
Review Source: Capterra

Since we've started using Muster, we've had much better response from our members when we send Action Alerts or ask them to engage with their legislators. It is helping us with our advocacy in an easy, streamlined way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support