10 reviews

Jama Connect

Product requirements & application lifecycle management tool

4,4 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
3,9
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
4,1
80% recommended this app
10 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Jama Connect Review

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/30
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience using Jama Connect has been really good. I would definitely recommend it to my colleagues.

Pros

Jama provides a very user-friendly interface with a lot of intuitive functionality.
Provides requirement traceability and also versioning.
The functionality to apply filters has been implemented better than most of its competitors in the market.

Cons

The text editor can be a little difficult for a first time user and can be made more intuitive.
Filtering can be made more convenient to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Manoj K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Good choice for requirement management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Good product but loading and navigation issues

Pros

1. I have been using Jama for over one and half years. The good thing about JAMA is all the requirements are systematically placed in JAMA. Its search option is good. By typing any keyword, all the related requirements get listed below.

2. I liked the requirement review facility in Jama. All the comments are well preserved. By going through them, I can ensure whether any comments are still open. It helps in tracking the closure of all questions/comments raised during requirement review.

3. Notification service of JAMA is quite good

Cons

1. I felt that loading and navigation of Jama needs to be improved. Sometimes the delay is quite noticeable.

2. Though the homepage contains all important information, little improvement in look and feel of GUI can make it more attractive.

3. There should be auto login in Jama using windows login password like other software I use. Every time I have to manually give windows login/password to enter Jama

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Yu Q.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Jama Review from a True User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Web-based and much cheaper option than DOORS.
Learning curve is really flat.
No need for professional IT engineers to maintain the system

Cons

Data export an import extremely not convenient. Now only support export to excel. After excel export, the sheet is not the same format as seen in Jama and it takes me long time to reformat the sheet in excel.

3rd party tools integration is not ideal, like the support to EA, Github,...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kim C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Jama Contour is a Winner!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/13
Review Source: Capterra

We purchased Jama Contour Requirements Management software recently and I have to say the software is everything we wanted it to be and more. The major selling point was the ability to store and create your own field level data and we have taken advantage of that in spades. This alone has saved us hundreds to thousands of dollars. The level of customization provided by this software is far beyond anything we have seen. We use it on a daily basis and we are not moving away from this software. It helps drive us to our mission of "Excellence" in IT. Thank you Jama!

Pros

Ease of installation, Ease of use, Ease of customization. Works as advertised and excellent customer support.

Cons

You need a pretty decent server that can handle the memory requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stan T.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Jama Connect Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/20
Review Source: Capterra

A concise, centralized repository for defining new product marketing and customer requirements, administered with rules-based workflow. There is flexibility to maintain requirements per time-based, dollarized roadmap. The downstream EARS/SEARS brings entire product development team into a tight-knit collaborative environment where SW links and dependencies manage the evolution of requirements and downstream changes

Pros

Collaborative medium; Collective decision making and decision records; Information archive & presentation; Ease of use

Cons

Training was cumbersome and took longer than was anticipated; Managing reviews and policing workflow

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nakul S.

Excellent for requirements traceability

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

I was able to write software requirements

Pros

1. a lot of functionality perfect for complex requirement traceability
2. extremely good notification system

Cons

1. a bit sluggish at times
2. if you do not have enterprise license then it will limit the number of users who can stay logged in together

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Joshua L.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I have used Jama for the past couple months to keep track of requirements for new product.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

The main benefit I get from this software as an engineer is that I have a controlled and organized way to keep track of the requirements for a new product we are developing. This is shared with other teams and is organized in an acceptable way for future FDA approval.

Pros

The best part of Jama is that it creates an easy to navigate and flexible system where our company can keep track of system, sub-system, and component requirements for a product that we are going to get FDA approved.

Cons

Once you get into the software and know how you are going to use it, it is pretty simple. When I was first introduced to it, however, it did take me a little while to catch onto the workflow.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Javier O.

User friendly high level of customization.

Reviewed on 2015/09/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros: I was able to build in Risk Management into the tool without much hassle. User Interface is user-friendly and feels natural.

Easy to set up.

Low resources consumption. Is amazing how well it performs. It's not a heavy application.

The current license scheme have only paying licenses for content creators. Approvers, reviewers, viewer, etc. have free access.

Cons: Reports are tied to the use of Word and Excel which might prevent usage. Probably should use open formats instead for use in multiple platforms.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Craig A.
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Jama for document development

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how Jama tracks changes. When creating a document it is easier for multiple people to edit it at once than Word.

Cons

It is different than other document software so some people have a hard time learning it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dan S.

Jama Is Ok - Get's The Job Done

Reviewed on 2017/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

We use Jama to manage our product lifecycle. Coming from Jira, it takes a little getting used to. Some of the basic configurations are hard to set up, but overall it gets the job done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support