20 reviews

DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

4,3 /5 (20 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
5
85% recommended this app
20 reviews
Rob M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great product & great team!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/17
Review Source: Capterra

We have streamlined a previously disconnected process.

Pros

This brought all of our estimating functions into one software package.

Cons

Takeoff tool could be better. They have committed to upgrading.

Response from Beck Technology

Rob,

Thank you for the 5-star rating! We have made significant enhancements on the quantity takeoff feature inside DESTINI Estimator in 2019 and are currently working on some new enhancements for 2020. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact us at [email protected] . Thanks again for your continued support!

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jan B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Leading Edge Estimating

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Implementation takes time. They don't offer a canned out of the box database for costs or assemblies. So be ready to bring your own or build from scratch.

Pros

Beck-Tech has a tremendous support team to help with issues, bugs and general how-to's. The flexibility of the software allows the user to bend it to his/her will. We especially enjoy having all our estimates in a single database for quick resourcing of historical costs and enterprise level collaboration.

Cons

Not sure it's a Con so much as a point to before purchasing: because Beck-Tech is a leading edge software developer changes in the software are frequent (2-3 times per year). This means your team had better be comfortable with adaptation and pushing the limits of software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ben F.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Destinit Estimating

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I do like that you can take Revit models and download that for quick takeoff. However it is only as good as the modeling imported by the architect.

Cons

Do not like that it is difficult to track and locate takeoff items, and to be able to review with others. and to be able to share this information with field operations for their information.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Carlos A.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Destini Estimator

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Great Service, they need more program developers

Pros

The features are very good, it has great reporting features and different ways of presenting the cost, for much easier analysis. Great 3D takeoff features but if you are in early stages of design you can't only rely on BIM models. You can't allow your estimate to be as good as your BIM model

Cons

Implementation needs to be more standardized, the support and implementation teams have done everything they can but the development of the program is lagging. 2D takeoff must be greatly improved. There has to be a simpler way to build assemblies. No available online tutorials. Need realistic set in stone dates for releases of required updates

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Melissa L.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Sundt Construction's Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with Beck has been fantastic. We started using DProfiler about 10 years ago and have worked closely with the company to develop the features within Estimator. They are a company who listens to their costumers needs and have dedicated themselves to further enhancing the software.

Pros

The greatest pro of Estimator is the ability to easily sort and display pricing, allowing for changes and updates to made easily. The database our company works with includes preset coding for CSI, Procurement Packages, Systems Format, etc. to allow an Estimator to quickly export information into whatever format an Owner or team member may prefer. This preset ability to sort line items, also allows an Estimator to easily access any project within the company and have the ability to easily sort or find information to their preference.

Cons

A con would be the updating of software. This con comes with a pro, in the sense that Beck Tech has listened to the market and our needs and are frequently updating the software to meet the ever-changing market and technology upgrades. However, the added con is the updating of unit pricing and database information as well as someone managing the software updates to be able to use the software to its fullest potential.

Response from Beck Technology

Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Commercial Contracting Estimating Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Great, we are very pleased with Destini Estimator.

Pros

-Easy to use, intuitive
-Constantly updated & improved
-Customization
-Accurate
-Targeted to preconstruction, not a suite of software products
-Good customer service & training

Cons

-Involved software setup period
-User interface can be tricky sometimes

Response from Beck Technology

Jeff,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Experienced User

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

I have a background as an extensive MC2 and Timberline user. Estimator seems to have the ease of use and robust sorting capabilities of MC2, which I have really enjoyed. Adding/creating line items is easy. My experience with the 2D takeoff tool is that it's not robust enough for me to use on a regular basis and needs significant improvement to be a contender with OST, especially for larger projects that require QTO to be broken out into different zones. I have extensive experience creating takeoff assemblies inside the program and have been pleased with the ease with which it can be done. Creating reports seems non-user friendly. However, that was a challenge in MC2 as well with its Crystal Reports plug-in. Timberline isonly slightly easier in that respect.

Pros

The ease of creating WBS codes and the user friendliness of sorting estimates is its strongest attribute. The ability to program assemblies is also strong. The ability to link the estimate directly to quantity takeoff can be beneficial.

Cons

The 2D takeoff tool lacks some critical functionality that keeps me from using it as my primary takeoff tool. (zones/layers) I'm accustomed to using a QTO tool as a record of an estimator's takeoff that can be accessed by others. The Estimator 2D takeoff tool doesn't seem to allow that functionality.

Response from Beck Technology

Jason,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bill B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

DESTINI Estimator review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

The overall experience is a breath of fresh air in our industry. Not only do we utilize DESTINI Estimator for estimating but it has become a marketing tool for our company.

Pros

The integration with BIM 360 and the ability to utilize the design files (Revit) has a huge impact on our estimating effort, significantly reducing the time it takes to create an estimate. Also the support received during implementation and after is unparalleled with any other tech company I have dealt with. Even being from a smaller firm I feel we get the same support of their larger clients. Having access to the people that design the software and understand your questions is huge.

Cons

The feature that DESTINI Estimator is missing right now that is causing the most frustration within our company is the fact that once you do a take-off it is not very easy to track where the item was taken off from in the 2D application. We need this ability especially with self perform work so the guys in the field can utilize our take-off quantities and confirm where material was figured for the estimate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Estimator Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Highly flexible for sorting and viewing data. Easy to produce custom breakdown reports with the Dashboard.

Cons

Currently does not have the ability for more than one estimator to be using the software at the same time. That feature is coming soon though.

Response from Beck Technology

Thanks for the review, Brian! Stay tuned for the new release of DESTINI Estimator, which will support multi-user access to all features in the platform (including integrated estimating and takeoff functionality). -Stewart Carroll (President at Beck Technology)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The rocketship to the future.

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

DESTINI Estimator helps our business work more efficiently and effectively. We've been doing estimates in much of the same manner for close to 60 years. DESTINI brought our business into the 21st century. We are now quicker and more accurate with our bids.

Cons

Due to the range of options for each aspect of a bid, it takes a little work to understand. The training time for each employee has ranged from 8-30 hours based on their knowledge of computers and how bids are put together.

Response from Beck Technology

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Jonathan R.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

DEstimator Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

DEstimator has been a great tool for us in our estimating process. Great sorting and filtering functions, 2D and 3D takeoff capabilities, estimate comparisons, etc. all have helped make us a more efficient estimating team. Another great pro is the support staff from Beck Technologies -- the best customer service I have ever had from a software company.

Cons

Don't really have any, just the internal struggle to keep up with their releases. Because they listen to their customers, they are constantly testing and releasing new features, which can be hard to keep up with if your internal IT processes aren't as agile.

Response from Beck Technology

Randall,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Greg H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Timesaver

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/09
Review Source: Capterra

We have been able to seamlessly transition to a location/component segregated bid tab excel spreadsheet that the entire staff can use.

Pros

Transfer from D-Profiler.
WBS codes, flexibility.
Transition to excel bid tab spreadsheet is seamless, resulting in a powerful tool to analyze bids and ensure a complete estimate. Best estimating software I've ever seen and I've used them all.

Cons

Screens are actually a bit complicated to open and arrange.
Loses the quantity formulas that originated from D-Profiler.

Response from Beck Technology

Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Donnie M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/24
Review Source: Capterra

Isolating costs for Uniformat vs Bid Tab vs Base/Alt is really handy. You always have a clear picture of what is included in your estimate.

Pros

What I love about Estimator is the ease of sorting estimates. You can find a particular item using the numerous sorting options by WBS properties.

Cons

The 2D takeoff is a little cumbersome. Linking existing takeoff to new items can be a hassle.

Response from Beck Technology

Donnie,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Forward-Thinking

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/09
Review Source: Capterra

We have a great working relationship with Beck Technology. They have Best-In-Class customer service, and are willing to help us long after we have "gone live" with the product.

Pros

Estimator is built around feedback from the industry. The functionality continues to evolve with each new version based on input from its users, which is relatively rare as far as estimating software goes.

Cons

Creating assemblies is cumbersome - too many clicks and inputs to achieve the outputs.

Response from Beck Technology

Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sarah S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Estimator

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The possibilities for this software are exciting. Use of a database, up-to-date labor rates, and being able to do a takeoff and instantly dump the data into an estimate are ideal for a large company.

Cons

Implementation of the features sold are slow to materialize and the takeoff tool is terrible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Michael H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Review

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexibility in switching between cost codes / WBS's
Integrated Takeoff within suite

Cons

Can be a bit overwhelming at first, I anticipate there will be a learning curve for newer users

Response from Beck Technology

Michael,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alexander H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

New Estimating Software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very intuitive to use. Much more flexible than many of the legacy software systems we have used in the past.

Cons

None thus far. Great gains in productivity in the department

Response from Beck Technology

Alexandar,

Thanks for the 5 star rating and for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Director of Preconstruction

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very user friendly, easy for new employees to pick up and start using right a way.

Cons

Can't total individual line items or multiple line items

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Blake S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Estimator Review

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/01
Review Source: Capterra

I think estimator is a great program that will be great once certain features are introduced to assist overall workflow.

Pros

I like that it has estimating capabilities incorporated into the program. Took me awhile to figure out how to connect costs, but once I did it was helpful.

Cons

There are several features missing that would create an easier workflow.

I would like to see the program include a drop-down list of some kind for organizing drawings and be able to click on them and jump directly to pages. It would also be helpful to have some sort of indication next to the pages that shows which have takeoff in them.

It would also be nice to have some sort of shared file storage so that a network of people could have access to projects and be able to work and see a variety of projects.

Another feature that would be helpful is to have a way to turn layers on and off to eliminate clutter in the takeoff sheet. Maybe be able to turn bid tab's on and off.

Response from Beck Technology

Blake,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator. If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

David W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

President engaged in the purchase and a high veiw of its performance

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/17
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent

Pros

I like that thus far the estimating software and the support have been very much in line with the discussions during the sale of the software. MY estimating team says the software operates as they had expected and that the support from the rep has surpassed their expectations

Cons

the survey will not allow me to say that I do not have any cons

Response from Beck Technology

David,

Thank you for taking the time to review DESTINI estimator! If you have any further questions or comments feel free to email us at: [email protected]

-Beck Technology team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10