8 reviews

TACTIC

Fast track both workflow and DAM for your applications.

5 /5 (8 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
8 reviews
Tom P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fully customizable and easy to deploy

Reviewed on 2020/10/13

Pros

This software is very powerful and can be customized to do almost anything

Cons

The GUI could be more polished allowing larger fonts

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you kindly for the review. We appreciate the comments you have made.

Improving the GUI is an ongoing project and we expect to offer the ability to adjust the font size (type) in a future release.

Ken R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Superior Technology Platform

Reviewed on 2020/03/03

The problems which we were seeking to improve were Document Management and Workflow Management. TACTIC solved these problems for us.

Pros

TACTIC is a highly innovative, easy-to-use, flexible technology platform which is less expensive, more adaptable and with greater functionality than other available document and workflow management systems.

Cons

There are "no cons", from our perspective.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you for the review! We are seeing more and more of our clients using TACTIC for document management across business units - these can be complex documents often with many assets associated to the document.

Also, we have invested in the user experience over the last few years and we appreciate this 'easy-to-use' feedback. That was not always the case!

Diego C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best integrated workflow and asset management solution

Reviewed on 2020/02/28

Tactic orchestrate the studio pipeline and assets, makes it easier and faster to produce better contents.

Pros

Tactic is extremely powerful and flexible in modeling many different workflows. Being opensource is a big plus and make it possible to modify it at the very core. Once configured it is much more powerful then similar product and the great API make it simple to build custom tools around it.

Cons

If you are starting on your own with the opensource version it can be difficult to setup but Southpaw offers very good supports and the Tactic community is growing.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Diego, thank you for the review! We are glad you find the software useful in your operation.

A quick note around setting up open source. Yes -- setting up the open source can be difficult but -- as you mention the TACTIC community is growing (which we are very pleased with) and we also offer professional services support to help. Southpaw also offers a suite of products which are all built on TACTIC. This is especially useful if an organization does not have dev resources.

Sean M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

True management

Reviewed on 2020/02/10

Pros

While others do asset tracking, nothing compares to the flexibility and configuration options within Tactic. True asset tracking AND management. Don’t be fooled by the “other” off the shelf options, long term Tactic can be cohesive in any environment.

Cons

Learning curve can be high out of the gate but once configured it’s much more powerful then other solutions.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you very much for the review of TACTIC. We appreciate your feedback and the review very much. The testimonial about 'true' asset tracking and management is especially helpful with all the 'noise' out there.

Meagan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

TACTIC is taking our systems to the next level

Reviewed on 2020/02/19

Positive

Pros

TACTIC is perhaps the only software solution that is both robust and
flexible enough to tackle our unique supply chain demands and
complexities. The Southpaw team takes care of its customers, and their
openness to innovation has made them an invaluable partner in building
out our green supply chain management system; which tracks, traces and
delivers products along with a carbon footprint mapping, from producer
to end consumer.

Cons

We have not experienced any issues using TACTIC.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you for the review of TACTIC. We appreciate you sharing your story on how TACTIC is taking your systems to the next level!

Mario S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A business platform that opens up endless possibilities.

Reviewed on 2020/01/29

Excellent, worked exactly as expected and full of pleasant surprises.

Pros

Tactic has the capacity to make any process an automated process, it is flexible and scales easily, and works perfectly as an intermediary between disparate products and the end user.

Cons

There is very little to dislike, but if i am forced to pick something, it would be the availability of documentation is a little bit of a chase.. having said that, the folks at TACTIC are more than willing to provide me with answers that i am unable to find on my own.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you for taking the time to review. Your input is very important to us as we continue to refine and grow our TACTIC products. Yes, the documentation is an ongoing improvement project and we intend to continue that focus.

Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Workflow Automation and Production Management Tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/15

Overall, working with TACTIC was a pleasure, both from a technological and from a support standpoint.

Pros

Powerful, extremely flexible system for managing production workflows and all related digital collateral. The system enables you to easily formalize and structure your production methodology, and build automated triggers to move media files around, trigger transcodes or renders, etc. It has a robust API that allows you to build tight integrations with production tools such as Adobe CS, video editors, and 3D design applications.

Cons

The setup can be quite complex depending on your workflow and environment. Upgrades can also be challenging, depending on your level of customization, as you have to carefully manage internal scripts/code so that they don't get overwritten after a major release.

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the details and certainly appreciate your business.

Potential and future users of TACTIC will also appreciate the details of your review and will help them get an understanding of how you utilize TACTIC in the media and broadcast industry.

Anna K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Open Source!

Reviewed on 2016/05/12

Great open Source tool which can be integrated workflow engine for BPM not just DAM. They also offer services to help set it up and maintain it. We are using it for app development purposes and it's been a great asset.

Some of pros include:
- It can work with many db engine out there like sqlite, postgreSQL mysql, oracle, SQLServer, and to an extent MongoDB

- One can model the process flow of one's work environment in the workflow creator in TACTIC to break down the different steps and plan, set up notification, trigger action at different points accordingly.

- Great team to work with!

No con's!

Response from Southpaw Technology

Thank you for the review of our Open Source TACTIC. We have a ton of new features and functionality available on our new TACTIC Project product. It can accelerate a TACTIC deployment greatly. We encourage you to contact us and try it out.