Showing 68 reviews of 65

Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Communication and collaboration management solution

4,3 /5 (65 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
Showing 68 reviews of 65
Ali D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The most powerfull tool

Reviewed on 2018/09/17

I work for more than 10 years with systems associated with the UCM and I present few failures and these were never associated with the software was hardware or bad configuration, really excellent.

Pros

Its stability is impressive, practically without maintenance it is able to work a lot of time.

Cons

At present, a state of maturity has been achieved that allows it to be one of the best in the market, although it requires a little more time than other brands.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

No Joke - Its a phone system.

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

Number 1 - Cisco. - Inherited this phone system about 4 years ago. Self taught how to use and configure. Have since installed 4 more systems for other customers - feature rich - must have extensive Cisco knowledge.

Cons

Must have extensive Cisco knowledge. Classes, trainings and certifications recommended. This is not an easy system to learn or implement, and there are many many variables

Miguel G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Cisco Unified Manager good for big deployment of VOIP

Reviewed on 2018/05/17

Pros

Easy to manage alot of individual phones. Able to edit a group at a time or individual phones. Easy to make changes remotely and not having to physically go to each phone

Cons

Alot of menus and options that can overwhelm users. Process to update firmware on phones is very cumbersome and time consuming. Some things needed to be done via CLI and not the web gui.

Justin E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I am a system admin and architect

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

The stability of this system is unparalleled. The granularity of management restrictions is incredible. This truly is the gold standard of enterprise voip systems.

Cons

The upgrade process and licensing structure is labor intensive. Real time monitoring tool is clunky and difficult to understand.

Kelly B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cisco Review

Reviewed on 2017/04/28

Pros

Great tool for my team to use for both incoming & outbound calls. Easy to use and great functionalities.

Cons

The reporting tools are a bit overwhelming and sometimes difficult to report on the exact items I need.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for product with a ton of features

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

I have been using Call Manager for about 2 years now and have no trouble navigating the system. If the use-case fits your needs and you have the resources it's a great product.

Pros

There are a ton of features with CUCM that allow for a lot of customization. I like the fact that it is a very stable system and don't have to worry about it having issues.

Cons

Because Call Manager is very feature rich, training classes are needed to better understand the product. Also, licencing cost and support are expensive which make it hard to justify for SMB and small K-12 schools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Hosted Phone System

Reviewed on 2018/09/26

Good product with great support from one of the largest companies. Ultimately stopped using it for an all in house solution.

Pros

We like the ability to monitor different sites when we used this platform. The ability to have separate offices extension dial and setup call centers with ease was much help during our initial call center deployments.

Cons

The platform is not as simple to use as other systems but does generally cover all necessities we had for a system. We ultimately decided on an in house system to improve our system.

Zach K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The absolute best in software of its kind

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

very easy to communicate with inside team and outside customers and vendors while working remotely

Pros

the features and functionality of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (UCM) are great for anyone who works remotely from their main office or travels frequently for business

Cons

This is an expensive program, it can be cost prohibitive to most small businesses, if there was a lite or small business version available it could be more accessible to other users

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential software to management a fleet of Cisco IP devices.

Reviewed on 2018/08/05

Pros

Updating extensions, mobility profiles, and hardware is instant, so changes can be instantly seen. Everything on Cisco IP devices can be customised through this software, using features like the device template. There is plenty of documentation on forums and the Cisco support pages on how to configure these devices as required.

Cons

The UI is a bit dated and isn't scalable to mobile devices.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Network made easy

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

We realize that easy management of all network devices save us a lot of time

Pros

We used all types of unify access points, routers and Switches in business or private
It is a pleasure to config ad access , vlans or limited bandwidth

Cons

Unify controller should have wizards for beginners like smart home Szenario with separate iot network

Kristoph K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable, appealing UI, and functionally comprehensive

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Able to fully function in my role's capacity regardless of working from home or at the office.

Pros

It delivers the things that I expect it to be able to do -- make calls, conference with colleagues -- and I have rarely heard of a colleague disliking the software. It is easy to use without any introduction, and this speaks to the

Cons

It's hard to find something to dislike, given that I use it for fairly simple functions. There haven't been any personal instances of being unable to connect to colleagues, and I have never had a call drop.

Guillermo R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent tool that allows to perform several communication tasks in a single platform

Reviewed on 2018/05/17

Pros

- The quality of its service is impressive.
- Constant support for security vulnerabilities.
- When talking about many users there are few who can compete with this tool.
- The implementation is not complicated.

Cons

- Too expensive for a small or medium business.
- Sometimes it's hard to get some kind of online support.

Beth J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent VoiP product!

Reviewed on 2019/11/21

Pros

With this product it is extremely simple to control multiple telephones within our company. It offers many benefits as far as incoming and outgoing conversations.

Cons

Getting it set up initially within an office took seemingly forever and without step by step instructions, we would have never been able to figure it out.

Mark T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cisco CallManager - easy choice for a Cisco shop

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Been using call manager for over 10 years - this is one of the better call systems out there - sure cloud based services are popular but for enterprise with thousands of phones this is a solid option.

Pros

CallManager is a phone system seemingly built by "network guys" - it has all the major features of a call control server and is easy to manage from a network perspective. The software is solid and runs well - programming phones is very easy as well.

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome in addition some device support can be problematic. If you stick to an all Cisco ecosystem it works well but when trying to integrate its not the best. Call reporting\details can be a bit harder to dig into without some sort of front end software.

Omar C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Top Notch Product, though very costly

Reviewed on 2016/01/18

Pros

The product is very stable, especially since CUCM started running on Linux. It doesn't require constant updates. It is very feature rich, more so with every new version. It's web interfaces are well laid out and intuitive. Tech support from the Cisco TAC CallManager team is usually very good. CUCM interfaces with so many other VoIP products out there, including Microsoft.

Cons

Tech support from the Cisco Global Licensing team has not been very good in my experiences. They usually take days to reply, often issue the wrong licenses, and the licensing process seems to be convoluted and constantly changing. Cisco promised that with their new licensing strategy starting with version 9 would be more cost efficient and easier to understand. It has not turned out to be more cost efficient at all. Also, Cisco yearly maintenance is very costly, as well as all their endpoints, much more costly than the average competitor.

Josh L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy Phone Management

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Pros

The call routing and phone configuration windows allow you to change most aspects of how the call is routed or goes out. The GUI is easy to use. The bulk import is great for programming lots of phones at one time.

Cons

Expensive and not for small scale environments.

Joshua R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Cisco Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/16

Over all I think they are a good compony but all compnys need to inprove on things. They have come far with their stystems and I would maybe consider going back to them in ther future

Pros

So some things of Cisco i think was a pro was the call quality. It was super smooth and did not have lots of delay.

Cons

Our phones did not have good support for my bussness. The phones are bulky and hard to program. The screan is not backlit so it is hard to see if the lighting is in a dimmer setting. The wier to the phone had to be replaced three times over the few months i used it.

Olakunle F.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Cisco UCM remains the traditional option for voice over IP

Reviewed on 2018/06/17

Pros

The Cisco UCM is built for purpose with hardware optimization for voip services. As with most cisco products, the architecture is resilient and applicable for high availability environments. The application is modular and rich in features. Rich CTI features also.

Cons

The licensing of the features can be complex to understand. You may not know what is required for the functions you want until you talk to an expert. Not suitable for out of the box implementation. Highly trained personnel required to deploy.

Praveen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cisco unifed communication manager

Reviewed on 2020/12/18

Pros

IT saves a lot of time when you have large number of hosts .use host profiles and apply on the other host using cisco UCS

Cons

if there is a bug in the host profile it will be applied to all the hosts . need to be very careful when creating host profile

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Fancy going to HI? Why fly when you can pilot your very own nuclear submarine...

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

This software is probably great for global businesses. It's been sold to far too many SMBs and it's a nightmare at everyone one I've seen that tried to implement it.

Pros

This thing's got it all. If you need to do it, you can do it with Cisco UCM. And it's ridiculously reliable.

Cons

The complexity. The interface. I wish they'd make a UCM Lite, with 90% of the flexibilty of UCM turned off or hidden or something.

Tina M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great experience!

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

Pros

The UCM is feature rich and full of functionality. It's a bit of a beast so, I suggest educating yourself on the product or partnering with a company to manage it. It's been very reliable.

Cons

Big learning curve. It's beneficial to work with an engineer that's familiar with the system since there is so much to it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cisco CUCM Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

I am a network engineer with 6 year experiences. I used some IP pbx like avaya, alcatel and cisco.

Pros

Easy web interface, easy configuration. limitation for different user types like administrator or helpdesk personel.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and you should fix them periodically.

Alexander R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

costly but reliable and wide range of features

Reviewed on 2018/09/12

This is Enterprise-grade VoIP here, only significant improvement would be lower cost.

Pros

It's easily scalable and has lots of great configuration and administration tools. My use case is limited but I understand that it has a very wide range of unified communications capabilities. The product support (Technical Assistance Center) is great too. Super easy to perform spot additions and changes once your deployment is already set up. Also, you can get as granular into individual device configs as you want.

Cons

-Price (hardware and licensing)
-Time to become familiar with GUI. Learning curve is steep.

Larry B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Cisco Unified Communications Manger is a wste

Reviewed on 2017/06/15

Pros

Cisco Unified Communications Manager is an okay product but is incredibly not user friendly. It's scalable, but not worth it.

Cons

The user interface is not very intuitive for many users. It is overly complex and hard to use for most users. It also require many many clicks to complete simple tasks.

Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Reliable phone system

Reviewed on 2021/02/12

Overall, Cisco Unified Communication Manager was one of the most stable products that we didn't have to worry about at all. It powered our VoIP communication, voicemail delivery by email, allowed us to automate certain feature changes and more. It was rich in feature and features were hard to find. We stayed with default feature-set as much as possible.

Pros

Cisco's unified communication manager is rock solid once set up. You won't have to worry about this system going down. We used it on-prem. While it has a lot of capabilities, we used only fraction of it. They also have APIs you could use to communicate programmatically and change ring groups/hunt groups, round-robin and more. It takes a while to master the features.

Cons

The user interface has not been thought through very well. It looks old school. In today's day and age where the user interface design is clean, well-organized and easy to find, Cisco's Unified Communication Manager looks clunky (but it works)! There are lot of opportunities for Cisco to change its look and feel to make features easier to find.