Wirecast

4,5 (8)
Live video streaming solution

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(8)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

75%
recommended this app

8 Reviews

Frank . p. M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wirecast is a great tool for Live-streaming!

Reviewed on 2021/10/14

Since I switched from other live-streaming applications and started using Wirecast, I have produced fantastic work and I have seen great results. It is not difficult to setup and use, the interface is great and you can customize your streams to suit your needs. Fantastic Software!

Pros

This software is easy to set up. Even if one does not have a good background of it, it is easy to master. It took me just a week to start streaming on my own. I really liked the professional interface it provides, which is also very user friendly. Everything is clear and colorful. Whenever i faced some challenges, their customer support was very helpful. I really appreciate their effort. With Wirecast, I am now streaming on both You Tube and Facebook. The Wirecast Pro is a very good tool, that is indeed value for money. Wirecast produces fantastic streams especially for me because I use Blackmagic streaming product kit.

Cons

If the machine freezes, you have to restart the session. Also I have found out that it requires a stable connection of internet.

Philip Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Wirecast works well but it does take some time to learn, however, the customer service is...

Reviewed on 2021/11/23

I was able to do what I set out to do - go live on social media with my broadcast quality cameras and audio. I did this regularly for a period of time and was able to teach my apprentice how to use my gear so that I could concentrate more on being talent than camera operator/producer/audio recordist, etc...Then he decided not to participate and I stopped broadcasting for a while. When I got back into it I realized that my yearly subscription has run out and I decided to give OBS another try. My experience and confidence with Wirecast made it easier for me use OBS.

Pros

The ability to set up a series of scenes that play one after the other without having to interact with the software. This enables me to be a one man show with a certain finesse that would be difficult to do without this feature. I also like that I can connect it to my broadcast cameras and record isos independently of the mix I'm streaming live (so I can re-edit and re-purpose the raw "live" footage at it highest quality later).

Cons

The price point is a bit restrictive, however the customer service is worth it for the most part. The thing is upgrades are costly and older versions are not always compatible with OS updates, so I couldn't use it with all my computers and that is exactly why I switched to OBS recently.

Alternatives Considered

OBS Studio

Reasons for Choosing Wirecast

I couldn't get OBS to work with my hardware. The customer service representative at Wirecast walked me through the proper settings and I was quickly able to get up and running.

Switched From

OBS Studio

Reasons for Switching to Wirecast

Customer service and feature set (including being able to create a play list that switched automatically from one source to another.
Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to Get Going - But Quirky

Reviewed on 2021/11/29

Overall, experience has been good, it is a program that can be as powerful or simple as you need it to be. The complexities come when things do not go exactly as they should. For example a saved video or audio source may not connect and requires restarting the program. Lightly trained and non technical volunteers will struggle when things happen that are outside the norms.

Pros

From absolute novice experience, it was relatively easy to get up and begin live streaming. They have many training videos available that make it easy to see how better to use the software. The built in APIs for YouTube and FaceBook make it easy to broadcast to multiple platforms. The video switching capabilities are basic and volunteers are capable of running it when everything goes smoothly.

Cons

The built-in software video encoders are tricky. As a novice, one does not generally understand the nuance of codecs and the differences between them. We run on an powerful Apple MacBook Pro - I9 series with 16GB of RAM, and when using the Apple native encoders, we experience artifacting in the stream that technical support is unable to correct. When running the non-Apple encoders the CPU usage spikes and the whole system heats up fast and sometimes lags.

Alternatives Considered

OBS Studio

Reasons for Switching to Wirecast

Positive reviews, and a known professional recommended it for ease of use over other systems
Golden C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wirecast is a top class professional streaming tool. I am in awe!

Reviewed on 2021/09/25

Since I started using Wirecast, I have produced very professional streams. It works in both Mac and Windows, I am loving it. Its various destinations and premade scenes are very phenomenal in producing high quality streams.

Pros

This Software was very easy to configure and to use from the first week I bought it. Wirecast is user-friendly and its user interface is great to interact with. The learning curve is very short with Wirecast, even a newbie can master it within a few weeks. It offers very affordable packages in terms of pricing. I always buy the package thats suits my work and I upgrade it so easily. Their customer support has been very helpful to me since I bought my first package long back. Wirecast is by far the best for me because it allows me to stream both to YouTube and Fcaebook at the same time, something phenomenal. Also it contains already made templates and presets, which made my job so easy and viable. For creating very professional streams, I recommend Wirecast any day long. Last but not least, it now supports other plugins, which is great to us bloggers.

Cons

It requires a stable internet connection like many other applications. Then the pricing is a bit high, but the value I am getting overrides the cost. It offers value for money though.

Chhavi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Wirecast from OBS has been a good decision

Reviewed on 2021/07/22

Love it and a good paid option.

Pros

Split screen, on screen text and wirecast go for iphone are the best features of wirecast

Cons

If the stream freezes during a live session then you have to restart the session which majorly hampers the live broadcast. This is a rare occurrance and not very common though.

Angel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good but not Great!

Reviewed on 2021/04/22

I managed to stream the productions I needed with Wirecast and got work done. Overall it a stable software that turns your computer into a decent video mixer to do livestreams.

Pros

Wirecast is a Good software for me but NOT Great due to the Computer Resources it requeres. The software itselft is easy to learn and friendly to the new user. You can be up and running in matter of minutes without reading long instructions. Its straight forward and the interface is quick to learn. No big learning curb.

Cons

When it comes time to GO LIVE that's where most of my issues begin. You MUST have a very powerful PC to get the best of this software of you will encounter frame drops, and connection issues once you are streaming. Another con that I encountered was that I could not record locally and Stream to various destinations at the same time. It was either or for me. The type of machine I have is a Alienware and I was still having issues.

Alternatives Considered

vMix and OBS Studio

Reasons for Switching to Wirecast

Wirecast if the best known software in the industry when it comes to professional stream and live video mixing so I went with it as our first option.
Kevin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great solution for livestreaming

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

It's great and we're thankful for what it allows us to do.

Pros

We were able to begin live streaming within a week of purchasing the software, which means it's intuitive.

Cons

I wish the interface was simpler and more user friendly. There are things that we've had to "figure out" that would be helpful to have quickly at our fingertips.

William C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wirecast

Reviewed on 2020/07/21

We have been very pleased with Wirecast and plan to continue using it for our Graduation Ceremonies and other like events at the College.

Pros

The think I like most about Wirecast is the interface it provides to stream live video across multiple platforms such as Facebook or YouTube. The preview screen is also most helpful when preparing to transition to the next shot.

Cons

The thing I like least about Wirecast is the amount of time it takes to get it setup correctly. However, once it has been setup, it is a fantastic tool.