Airbase

5,0 (42)
Spend management platform with accounts payable automation

Overall rating

5,0 /5
(42)
Value for Money
4,9/5
Features
4,8/5
Ease of Use
5,0/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

100%
recommended this app

42 Reviews

Dmitri L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best AP solution for SMB to MidSize businesses

Reviewed on 2020/06/23

From start to end we had an amazing experience with the sales process, implementation and daily operations. Highly recommend!

Pros

The best thing about Airbase are not the constant flow of features, the insanely fast support team or even the ease of deployment. The best thing is the architecture for approval flows and how the product team pays very close attention to customer needs.

The approval flows are setup in such ways as to allow each team to be fully automated in their approval flows and forbids circumvention of controls, thus allowing us a very high level of confidence that each person is accountable for their purchases.

Cons

I highly recommend Airbase, however, this is a new product and I also recommend spending a lot of time analyzing each nuance of your AP process needs before moving forward as not all features are immediately available. At the time of writing this review, international payments are not yet ready but Airbase has communicated their roadmap and we know exactly when this will be rolled out. The minor drawbacks have not impacted our improvements in performance, quality, and stability of accounting controls or slowed us down at all.

Alternatives Considered

Tipalti, SAP Concur and NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

Bill.com is knows for its sync issues and weak approval flows. Airbase not only fixes both but also gives you tools to validate everything through reporting and flows that are flexible but reliable.

Switched From

Bill.com
Joe O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential Tool in Modern Finance Tech Stack

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

The overall user experience is excellent. Airbase helps Welkin improve accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses and supports a much faster monthly closing process. Time savings come also from the vendor self-onboarding process, which allows to save key documents such as W9/W-8BEN and contracts. Real-time spending monitoring also allows department owners to check on their spending without finance/accounting support.

Pros

- Automatic bill coding with OCR (time savings).

- Automatic credit card coding with receipt management function.

- Excellent onboarding and implementation team.

- Fast responsive customer support team.

- Airbase improves features based on customer feedback.

- Fast and meaningful product improvements and great UI/UX.

- Early access to beta features on request (such as receipt audits, advanced approvals).

Cons

- Airbase lacks a few features to replace some other tools effectively (e.g. Expensify).

- Annual fee could be lower or cashback on credit cards higher.

- International payments still not supported as of early Feb.2021

Alternatives Considered

Ramp and Divvy

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

- Improved accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses. - Faster monthly accounting closing process. - Vendor payments and onboarding through automation. - Efficient year-end receipt compliance audit. - Real-time expense reporting / monitoring by department. - Better UI/UX experience for the accounting team.

Switched From

Bill.com

Reasons for Switching to Airbase

In our vendor evaluation in 2019 Airbase received high scores for key features such as automated accounting procedures (bill coding, credit card coding/approval processes), receipt compliance, vendor self-onboarding, and departmental spending monitoring/reporting). While Brex offered the biggest credit (one-time $5K AWS) and slightly larger cashback reward program (recurring), Airbase offered overall more time savings for the accounting/finance team.
Sean C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Bill pay only

Reviewed on 2021/07/26

Airbase has been responsive and helpful with all issues we've encountered. It took a decent amount of time to set up bill pay and we've misstated our GL multiple times due to lack of understanding of how the product functions. However, we are happy with the product and have recognized significant efficiencies compared to our historic manual processing.

Pros

This software makes it simple and efficient to aggregate, prepare, review, and pay invoices. It has significantly reduced the time to process AP via its clean workflow and automatic timed payments after approvals are completed.

Cons

There are some idiosyncrasies in this product that take time and effort to understand. Unfortunately, our trial and error learnings have resulted in multiple GL misstatements; one of which resulted in an error identified by auditors. For example, when an invoice gets changed/updated by the Vendor the AP processor has an opportunity to "archive" the bill in Airbase. This action does nothing to your GL so any new invoice will be double-counted.
I also wish there was a way to remind approvers more frequently. Bill are most often late due to delayed approvals.

Amanda P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Just Get It, You won't Regret It!

Reviewed on 2021/12/10

We are able to provide virtual cards with spend limits and controls which helps employees not have to expense large costs, and gives us the ability to approve the spend before we pay for it.

Pros

Integration with Airbase was about 8 weeks total, which is not bad when you consider it is your full procure to pay software. I enjoy having the spend control limits and that everything (PO's, virtual cards, reimbursements, and bill payment) is in one system which makes it easy for accountants and employees.

Cons

Reporting needs to be beefed up a bit, I believe a custom reporting section could easily fix this. Additionally, the PO light tool should have customer fields so each business can get what they need is critical from the PO approval workflow.

Sheng P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase ease of use

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Overall the experience has been wonderful, we are able to close more accurately and timely due to using airbase. There's no longer a struggle trying to determine what the spend is on various cards as they all have been categorized previously. Although initial setup may take longer it is well worth the accuracy.

Pros

The best part of airbase is that it easily integrates with QBO.
This allows me to setup prepaid on Airbase that automatically set up to sync to QBO for a monthly close.
Cards are automatically set up to charge a certain GL code, rendering it unnecessary to go back monthly to determine what the spend was and where to charge it.

Cons

When making some entries, it does not use a new naming convention and would use the most recent journal entry naming convention to make the the journal entry title. This can lead to bit of confusion.

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

We wanted more accuracy and timeliness as well as an all in one product

Switched From

Divvy
Arianna C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A necessary system for scaling company

Reviewed on 2021/07/26

We added more control to our expenses, more visibility and improvement on the monthly closing timing.

Pros

When a startup goes above 100 people, you need a spend management software. Airbase has tons of features, the implementation is easy and their product team always strive for continuous improvement.

Cons

I think it's on the right path, however some tool for reconciliation is missing when it comes to check that all the prepaid accounts are cleared and booked and that amortization expense is correct.

Rajat W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase - Making spend management simpler

Reviewed on 2021/07/18

Highly recommend it. Easy to use and great customer support

Pros

Easy integration with GL
Great reporting system
Easy to use and control

Cons

Improvements in having multiple funding accounts as opposed to just one bank account

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

Wanted to have all non payroll spend under one platform

Switched From

Expensify and Bill.com

Reasons for Switching to Airbase

Better customer service
Steve G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great All-around solution

Reviewed on 2021/03/21

Pros

Ease of use and overall beautiful UI / UX for a complex product.

Cons

Lack of international payments will be nice at some point. I was excited when they launched employee reimbursements.

Andy J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy tool to simplify and unify multiple tools

Reviewed on 2021/05/07

Pros

Airbase has been very useful for my team in terms of consolidating our company cards, bill payments, and expense reports/reimbursements. The support team has also been super responsive and helpful.

Cons

One product nitpick is that I sometimes have a hard time finding certain bills or payments because they filter by state, and I don't know before-hand what state the bill or payment is in.

Alexander M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplicity, Ease of Use

Reviewed on 2021/12/09

Keep it Simple Stupid seems to be airbase's Mantra. They've focused on making the interface intuitive and not overwhelming, which makes it really nice to use as an end user.

Pros

Previously was using Trinet in order to submit expenses. Difference is night and day. Submitting receipts via email is natural, fits in well with my day to day. UI provides clear feedback on what the status of reports is. I also like that they use plaid to link your re-imbursement accounts, the whole process of linking my account took about sixty seconds.

Cons

I have very few qualms so far. A back button on the request reimbursement form page would be a nice touch. Or inferring what sort of reimbursement it is (Cash/Card Expense Vs. Mileage) in order to simplify the submission process even more. Overall though, these aren't major impedances to using the software.

Josephine P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best platform I have signed us up for!

Reviewed on 2021/02/24

Airbase has been a pleasure to work with from the start. Even the sales part didn't feel... well.. salesy!
The onboarding was exceptional. We were assigned an onboarding support specialist who literally walked us through every step of using Airbase over 3-4 training sessions. There wasn't a thing left out and after each session I was sent away with 'homework' to ensure that each stage of setting up Airbase and integrating it with our accounting platform was done correctly.

We have now been using it for about 6 months and the customer service continues to be excellent. Despite the fact that it is a general support request, it is always the same support specialist that returns an answer (and usually within a couple of hours).

Our team have all had a really positive response to adopting airbase. It has given them the autonomy to spend as they require, but still kept the ultimate control over spending within our finance function for the organization.

Prior to Airbase, we used to spend hours trying to reconcile spending at the end of each month!
It has also meant that we pay our vendors immediately because the process of inputing a bill and making a payment is so quick and easy.

Pros

I love the user experience on this platform. Everything about it is just intuitive and well thought out. It makes processing purchasing requests a really seamless experience and has saved us hours of work at the month end.
Since adopting Airbase as our platform for spend management, we have been able to take everything back in house, have much more control over our spend, receipts and reporting, and have cut our bookkeeping costs by 90%

Cons

I honestly can't think of any downsides to Airbase. Really! It's saved is tons of time, money and headaches.

Kenny M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase makes managing spend a breeze

Reviewed on 2019/05/03

* It's been a life-saver on the finance side. I've been able to automate all of our spend and everything from recurring software to one-off employee requests get routed through Airbase. Really easy to administer and employees needed no training.

Pros

* Helped me streamline the entire spend process at Coda.io - I route most expenses through the platform - everything from software to travel to one-off expenditures.
* Incredibly easy to use - I have never trained an employee on how to use Airbase. They log in, and it's clear what they should do.
* It creates tremendous peace of mind on spend - I don't worry about vendors charging us more than they should, people buying software they don't need, and card numbers getting stolen.
* Visibility - It's easy to know what has already been purchased, who purchased it, and how much are we spending.
* Keeps getting better - Airbase started with just digital credit cards but the tool is quickly replacing all types of spend management software internally.

Cons

* Mobile app still catching up to web app, but moving quickly.
* Manually moving over old spend into Airbase by switching credit cards with vendors was tedious, but a worthwhile one-time investment, and Airbase did a lot to make it as painless as possible (found all the vendors for us that we needed to update)

Drew S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Hyper-granular control, finally...without being "that account person bugging people"

Reviewed on 2021/02/17

Pros

- Hyper-granular control of expenses. Instead of managing limits and checking expenses on corporate cards, each approved expense request receives a single virtual credit card number (managed by accounting) for that specific vendor an expense (one-time or recurring)
- Flexible approval workflows

Cons

- Lack of integration with budgeting. Approval workflows should show managers how any discrete approval affects their department budget.

Desene S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase has transformed our AP process!

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Airbase solved our messy credit card reconciliation problems and has given us pre approvals and real time insight into all spend as it occurs. As an accounting team we don't feel like we are playing catch up at the end of the month.

Pros

We use the virtual cards, physical cards, POs, and bills/bill payments. Each area works perfectly and syncs directly to our ERP, Netsuite. It is has saved us so much time from a reconciliation standpoint. Our employees love the virtual card functionality and ease of approvals.

Cons

My only dislike is that they don't have Expense Reimbursements up and running. As a finance team we are looking forward to the day when we can have this in Airbase as well.

Vivien K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome product!!

Reviewed on 2021/03/30

Pros

The number one thing I love about Airbase is their ease of use. I particularly love their reporting and tracking features because we're able to view our spend on a general or granular view. We're currently syncing our Airbase transactions with QuickBooks and it has been super seamless to use. We're able to change our GL codes easily before syncing, which is great. Their customer service team is always very responsive and helpful. They will work with you to get anything and everything resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

They only notify you when you run out of funds. This causes inconveniences when we get notified really late in the day because our funds will not get transferred into our account until the next business day. It would be nice if we can get a warning when we're low on funds, so we can plan accordingly instead of having to deal with declined charges until the next business day

Sabrina H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's very good

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

While the system is good I actually appreciate the customer support the people are Airbase are very personable and friendly.

Pros

The software is easy to use and navigate, it also helps that the design of the site is pleasing to the eye and doesn't cause confusion or looks to crammed full of features, its formatted in just the right way.

Cons

The only issue if that, is that I keep forgetting to go in and make payments in the bill payment section once its been authorized I also keep forgetting though its simple enough what tab i need to go into in order to release the payments - would be nice if they payment was auto processed once authorized unless a specific date was noted for payments to go out.

Khanh T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase from the People Ops perspective

Reviewed on 2021/08/27

Pros

The most impactful feature for our team has been Airbase's ease of use and the fact that we don't have to process expense reports. So no more wait times for reimbursements to land and no more wasted time tracking down receipts!

Cons

Can't think of anything at this time. Airbase has been awesome!

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Switched From

Expensify and Bill.com
Chuck W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Airbase -- Great Spend Management Software -- HDVI Uses It Every Day.

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

See above --

Pros

Airbase directly addresses some of the hardest financial management issues facing all companies today -- and HDVI is no exception. With a robust set of features, Airbase manages our spending across all types of purchases -- subscription based, one-time, etc. -- and across all types of payments (ACH, Checks, Credit Cards, etc.) It takes multiple cumbersome processes and consolidates them into streamlined, highly automated workflows -- reducing our work, and increasing our visibility into and control of company spending across the board.

Cons

Initially, Airbase had limited functionality in a few areas. However, it's quickly filled those holes in -- so at this point, it's more than overcome those initial limitations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Airbase total spend management

Reviewed on 2021/08/02

Overall very positive experience with Airbase from the Sales process, to implementation to using in the day to day. We have gone from a manual process for invoices, a corporate card solution, and another tool for expense reimbursements to a single tool to manage all of this and automate our expense accounting.

Pros

Bringing all spend management (Cards, POs/invoicing, vendor management, expense reimbursement) and accounting automation into one easy to use tool. Very easy to implement and set up.

Cons

It does not integrate with Tripactions, but this is a minor complaint.

Nicholas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, all-in-one expense manager!

Reviewed on 2021/08/25

Airbase makes expense management super easy and has saved me a ton of time. I would recommend this software to anyone! Airbase has been designed to make the entire expensing process super intuitive for all.

Pros

I love this software! I really enjoy that we can keep track of all our expenses within one platform and how simple it is to submit an expense. It literally takes seconds with the automated receipt scanner. I also love how quickly virtual cards can be created. With virtual cards, you never have to worry about losing a physical card or having the card number being stolen. The transfer of ownership of the cards is always such a seamless process as well!

Cons

There are not many things I dislike about the software. Sometimes the automated receipt scanner picks up on the wrong vendor names/amount, but that is super easy to add manually. Also, there are times when you have to go in and edit an approved expense which can be difficult to do, (I typically have to re-submit) but other than that it's a fantastic platform.

Julian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really great solution for purchasing!

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

Pros

This is the first time I have used a spend management platform like this and it is 100% a game changer. I enjoy how easy it is to set employees up to create virtual credit cards and efficiently take care of expenses with external vendors. Permissions that are set up for each person streamlines the approval process and lets them get their work done quicker. It also easily tracks all of your expenses so that you can reference them at any point. Really grateful that my company uses Airbase!

Cons

No areas of improvement that I can think of at this time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Enabled us to scale at an early stage

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

Pros

The combination of card spend management and AP automation was truly unique. It solved two key problems in one spot creating a consolidated view of all of our spending that allowed us to scale without the need to hire additional headcount.

Cons

Occasionally some of the required steps of a couple workflows feel like a bit cumbersome for a small organization, but, the controls put in place are best practices and I know we will be implementing them soon.

Alternatives Considered

Bill.com
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy, seamless, intelligent

Reviewed on 2020/09/09

Pros

Airbase makes spend management really easy. I like having a separate virtual card for each service. Setting, managing, limiting, and reporting cost on a per-service basis makes it really easy for us to make sure we're spending money efficiently. Sharing virtual cards externally (e.g. when we want to make it really easy for a candidate to expense an onsite interview trip) is super handy.

Cons

No real complaints! I haven't had any major issues using Airbase.

Sudheendra C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easiest way to expense and purchase business software

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

- Expense, approve, invoice cloud software spend
- Audit tracking

Pros

- Easy to use UI and a seamless Okta (SSO) integration
- Service/Item autofill feature
- Ability to generate virtual credit cards and request approvals within minutes

Cons

Nothing I hate, but a few improvements like below would be nice to have:
- Once in a quarter email report would be nice to summarize all "active" purchases/credit cards
- Integration with end-tools (eg., smallpdf) and alerting when the usage drops to downgrade to free plans

Karin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient and Saves Time

Reviewed on 2021/08/26

Pros

I have been in the corporate accounting world for over 20 years and Airbase is the first system that I have used that is all encompassing and saves so much time from the start of the transaction process to the final payment. Takes away all of the manual tasks that are part of the payable and procurement processes. Highly reccommend!

Cons

Need better reporting for reconciliations of accounts