Google Chat

4.5 (2,302)
Write a Review!
Communication tool for businesses and non-profits

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(2,302)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

2302 Reviews

Zuhairah
Zuhairah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great quick messenger quality

Reviewed on 2021/04/01

My experience of more than 5 years using this software is wonderful and will continue working with...

My experience of more than 5 years using this software is wonderful and will continue working with it.

Pros

I use Google product a lot and this software is one of the best quick messenger software that i have use to communicate with my team. It can be integrated easily with other software like Google Calendar and Drive which make a speedy process to share files and document with my team directly from the messenger.

Cons

Nothing that i dislike with this software. It is free to use and included in the Google Workspace that we have use.

Nisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Texting with privacy

Reviewed on 2024/05/06

Pros

I liked how our company can instantly reach another team member while continuing to work without disruption

Cons

Sometimes when we don't get a notification that someone messaged us and it is minimized so you just have to make sure to pay attention at the bottom of the screen

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Easy to use but slow and with many things to improve

Reviewed on 2022/04/08

I like most of the features and design, but must improve stability.

I like most of the features and design, but must improve stability.

Pros

It's very easy to use and create teams, also starting a Google Meet in just one click.

Cons

You can't send more than 1 file at the same time, and sometimes it becomes so slow you have to restart it. You cannot save favorite or important messages.

Alternatives Considered

Discord

Reasons for Choosing Google Chat

Free and easy to use, also it's a Google service.

Switched From

Slack

Reasons for Switching to Google Chat

Google ecosystem and Google Meet integration.
Bryan John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chat Platform of today

Reviewed on 2024/02/19

Very happy with Google Chat. Everything is already here, why look for other messaging platform,...

Very happy with Google Chat. Everything is already here, why look for other messaging platform, right?

Pros

Google Chat was introduced to us at work, when we started using it, we enjoyed it. Its very accessible and easy to use. Its like any other platform but the good thing is you can sync your Google Calendar and Google Drive which made it so remarkable.

Cons

I can't think of any, because Im enjoying it ao far.

Kayla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Effective tool for Team Communication

Reviewed on 2024/04/16

Pros

It makes communicating with our team members fast and easy

Cons

nothing :) its great! I would love a feature that allows us to search key words to find previous messages

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Chat with wease

Reviewed on 2024/04/14

It’s very good and user friendly experience

It’s very good and user friendly experience

Pros

It’s easy to handle and customer friendly

Cons

I have no complaints about the product and easy

Marcos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love this simple dynmic platform to engage

Reviewed on 2024/05/04

Pros

The ability to share thoughts and ideas in a blink of n eye

Cons

Nothing it's the best tool out there couldn't vlcompete

Ally
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great chat service!

Reviewed on 2024/05/06

Pros

Google chat is easy to use, accessible on the go through my smart phone, and allows for instant communication when waiting for an email just won't work.

Cons

It's easy to message the wrong person because of the layout.

Rayvano
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple and effective

Reviewed on 2024/05/06

Pros

It's integrated with other google products which makes working easier

Cons

Google Chat is not as extensive in terms of features comparing to Teams.

Roberto
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Is it different...

Reviewed on 2024/05/06

Pros

I like that it comes from google and it attempts to be life chat and different! and it has a good reputation that promises to be better and integrate, be integrated and stuff to improve what the user asks from a chat...

Cons

Is about the same as others and I don't like that soon it turns cold and not like or as I wish I would expect; don't know maybe is the tone and conversation I'm having; still there should be and I look forward for a new platform that will have assisted all of this; even though, is promising but soon falls not being different from usual or other chats.

Hussein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Are you loosing due to miscommunication and delayed communication? The solution is here.

Reviewed on 2023/09/29

Good deals. More achievement, clear communication channel and committed service delivery. Google...

Good deals. More achievement, clear communication channel and committed service delivery. Google Chat is a bundle of benefits.

Pros

By far, Google Chat is of help. Very impressive and reasonable cost, high accuracy in its performance. As a CEO, instant messaging has been the most salivating deal. I can reach out to leaders from different departments fast and instantly. Mass texting saves time. I also like the live notifications made possible by Google Chat.

Cons

Just a simple and easy to use software. No complicated features or themes. It has no challenge to me.

Arun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Avearge tool for team collobaration

Reviewed on 2022/03/20

Average experiece overall. Good for one-to-one communications. Message tagging feature is missing,...

Average experiece overall. Good for one-to-one communications. Message tagging feature is missing, which becomes difficult to reply to a specific message in a group.

Pros

Inbuilt within Gmail and apps, easy to use

Cons

Not able to tag a message and reply to that person. Context gets lost in Google spaces.

Alternatives Considered

WhatsApp, Slack and Skype

Reasons for Choosing Google Chat

Its open software which can't be used for business purpose. Employee's don't like to use personal WA for official purpose, because of which Goolge Spaces/Chat has been evaluated and used.

Switched From

WhatsApp

Reasons for Switching to Google Chat

Easy to use. Comes free with GSuite license. Sufficient for employee collaboration, further improvements are required although.
Khim Cate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenient and user friendly Chat interface

Reviewed on 2023/11/20

It is awesome. We can easily contact employees when needed. The mobile access also helps with...

It is awesome. We can easily contact employees when needed. The mobile access also helps with urgent communication. Google chat understands the value of urgent and instant messaging, making it easier for users to post important files, updates and mention on channels. Evertything is easily organized thanks to Google Chat.

Pros

I like the real time updates on desktop notifications, how you can mentiom someone especially for urgent situations, creating channels as necessary. It makes everything more easy to organize.

Cons

None, everything is great! Even the new updates where the user chat is on right and other party messages is on right makes everything more easier!

Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple to use and preferred over other chat systems

Reviewed on 2022/06/21

Fantastic user interface and easy to use tools. It has been a life saver in many instances!

Fantastic user interface and easy to use tools. It has been a life saver in many instances!

Pros

I love that we have full history available for all chats and channels. This is very useful as in the roofing business, sometimes it can take years to finish large commercial jobs through various phases. This history helps keep all of our internal company conversations and data at our fingertips.

Cons

I wish that the search feature could be a little more user friendly. You have to remember which person you were chatting with to find a specific word or topic and a lot of our communications cross-over other individuals or channels so finding a specific thing takes more time than it should.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Captera_Google-chat

Reviewed on 2023/10/05

Pros

This app was a very soft app, rapid and secured. One can easily jump from it to hangout and also it is available via Gmail

Cons

This chat tool is not rich enough in emoticons. Additionally, the option of research in the discussion needs serious improvement.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Google Chat : Easy Chat ...Reliable Communication

Reviewed on 2023/03/05

Pros

With Google chat you need not to share your phone number which is quite annoying at times to share . With Google chate is provides safe and secure enviornment to the users and they can even block the users whith whome they dony want to interact with.

Cons

Google Chat is not widly deployed in the community as other chat tools are . That chat tools provided by other major players in social media chatting are more comfortable i believe.

Jennie
Jennie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fun and easy to use!

Reviewed on 2020/07/15

Overall, google chat is a great product that fits in wonderfully with the entire Google product...

Overall, google chat is a great product that fits in wonderfully with the entire Google product suite. You can easily copy/past from chat into a word document (though there is formatting issues to deal with; I typically go from chat to notepad then to word). It's user friendly, has an app to use on other devices, and you can use chat either inside gmail or as a "pop out", so the email page can be minimized (not closed!) and still use the chat box. Chats can be saved, so you don't have to worry about ever saving it and loosing it.

I've been using gmail since it was by invite only, and have seen gmail grow, including the inclusion of the chat feature. It's definitely a product I would recommend to anyone.

Pros

Gmail Chat has been around for a good long time. It's a great tool if you're wanting to contact a fellow gmail user and strike up a conversation for work or personal use. I often use it to discuss the current novel I'm writing with my husband (who is my sounding board and listens to me prattle on about the corner I've written myself into). I've also used it to send links, grocery lists, recipes, etc.

It's really easy to use: you sent an invite to someone using their email, phone number, or name. The other person gets the request, and they can either accept or decline it. If they accept (and are a fellow gmail user), they can immediately start chatting via text.

Quick, simple, and very user friendly!

Also, the chats are always saved (though you can turn that option off), and are searchable. (I've had to use that feature MANY times!)

Cons

There is a limit to the characters you can send. Since I frequently send stuff to the husband while writing, I often have to divide it up into sections. Same with anything else I send that is very long. I haven't used it for anyone that isn't a gmail user, so I honestly have zero clue how that would even work.

The app for using it on an iphone is called "hangouts" and not "chat", so that can be confusing when you're trying to find the right app. But it works great once you find it, download and install it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Modern Enterprise Chat

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

One of the obvious competitors for Google Chat is the prevalent Skype (previously Lync) instant messaging application often bundled with Microsoft products such as Outlook and Office for ease of integration.

Unlike Skype, Google Chat offers a more modern set of features. Foremost is the way in which content can be directly shared in the chat window such as images or image previews from URL resources. Rich content can simply be pasted directly into Google chat and seamlessly integrated into the conversation. In Skype, copy pasting an image results in the image being sent as an attached file which is disruptive and really negates the convenience of sending an image over IM versus more conventional means such as e-mail.

Overall Google Chat offers a modern approach to enterprise instant messaging that simply works and works well.

Cons

One of the main concerns for Google Chat revolves around the precarious nature of Google long term product support. On the other side of the fence Skype users are migrating to a more Discord or Slack like application called Microsoft Teams. This next generation of application incorporates IM into a broader context that includes more robust moderation and content sharing capabilities.

As of now, Google Chat is in a branding transition to be incorporated as Google Hangouts Chat which indicates that Google intends to stay in the IM application space, but its not clear what features will be updated to bring Google Hangouts Chat in-line with competing applications.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good platform for real time information sharing

Reviewed on 2023/05/07

Real-time messaging is possible between users on the chat service Google Chat. It is intended to be...

Real-time messaging is possible between users on the chat service Google Chat. It is intended to be a quick, safe, and dependable method of communicating with friends and coworkers.

Pros

All the services of google suit can be integrated so its a great help when you need to collaborate with your team mates and you can seek assistance remotely. Users may easily share files and work together in real-time on projects.Notifications that can be customised are available in Google Chat, making it possible for users to remain on top of crucial conversations without being overrun by notifications.Google Chat is accessible on both desktop and mobile devices, including iOS and Android.

Cons

Google Chat doesn't offer as many features as some of its competitors, such as Slack or Microsoft Teams. For example, it doesn't have advanced project management or task tracking features.Integration with non-Google services: While Google Chat integrates well with other Google services, it can be more difficult to integrate with non-Google services, which can be a drawback for some users.

Alternatives Considered

Slack
Orest
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best chatting platform for anyone

Reviewed on 2024/02/22

Google Chat has been with me for years of work, both individually and as a team.
The Google Chat is...

Google Chat has been with me for years of work, both individually and as a team.
The Google Chat is definitely worth using for workspace, business and educational purposes. It is a very versatile, easy to use and professional tool. Totally recommend this app!

Pros

I find Google Chat to be the best instant chat platform when in comes to professional or educational purposes.

I love that at the palm of your hand, and in a few seconds you can be talking, organizing and working together with one or several people, from and to anywhere in the world.
It is a simple and easy to use platform, without losing effectiveness and professionalism.
I also find impressive the amount of options and tools included to improve teamwork and in real time.
I can easily schedule a meeting and the whole team (or the people I invited) will be notified via the Google Calendar, with time and confirmation request included.
The Google Chat is definitely worth using for workspace, business and educational purposes.

Cons

One tool that I think is missing is the ability to record audios instantly.
This could increase the agility of the work and increase conversational fluency.
I think is missing, as other chat platforms already have this option, and it would definitely give Google Chat a leg up.
I think that there are no other things that I would change, or that I don’t like.

Frida
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A long time dependable company. It's flexibility is natural.

Reviewed on 2023/10/06

Very productive and quick software. It has promoted collaboration and discussion which contributes...

Very productive and quick software. It has promoted collaboration and discussion which contributes to the growth and development of my business.

Pros

Google Chat has for a long time saved me time and energy. Very quick response even when sending massive messages. It has given me control over every departments effortlessly. I can instantly pass and receive messages. Groups messaging has brought high level collaboration.

Cons

No cons. With Google Chat, everything is simple and straight forward. Nothing is hard basically. Go for it.

Kevin
Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good chat, but not quite up to the level of Apple iMessage

Reviewed on 2022/12/21

Overall, Google Chat solves the issue of business communication being slowed down by long e-mails...

Overall, Google Chat solves the issue of business communication being slowed down by long e-mails back and forth. Business colleagues are more likely to quickly answer Google Chats than to answer e-mails, and group chats allow for great collaboration.

Pros

Google chat is overall a great product. It's integration into Gmail and excellent mobile execution help maximize work productivity. I like that messages can be edited after being sent, that images can be pasted inline, and that hyperlinks can be added.

Cons

I don't like that Google chat allows for only one hyperlink or inline image per chat message. I also wish the feature to send chats to your Gmail was more robust (so I could pick and choose what portion of the chat gets sent) and that it was easier to add someone to a group chat. I wish Google chat was more like Apple iMessage in polish and execution.

Timo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Google Chat Review

Reviewed on 2022/01/26

when part of the G-Suite for Business, this is a great integration which has made collaboration and...

when part of the G-Suite for Business, this is a great integration which has made collaboration and file sharing more streamlined and simpler as well as safer than using external tools for each

Pros

Easy to use, a worthwhile messenger tool when you are using Googles other business tools as well, as it integrates nicely like all G-Suite tools do, not sure I would recommend using it as a standalone solution, there are better messengers at better rates for just the chatting part

Cons

this may seem petty, but more often than not, it seems that notigications for new messages are a bit iffy, especially when on a group chat. I know we all want to focus and not be distracted by constant notigications, but I have missed several urgent or time-sensitive infos because sometimes notifications just stop, or the count on the iOS app is not updated

Hafizah
Hafizah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free communication platform

Reviewed on 2021/08/17

Me and my team use it to have a quick chat between us. We are happy to use it daily.

Me and my team use it to have a quick chat between us. We are happy to use it daily.

Pros

Google Hangouts is a free communication platform that have a a quite a good feature like private messenger and video call. I can add my colleague to the contact list from their Gmail account and it will gives the current status of them if the are available or offline.

Cons

I feel that this software is quite basic and not too many tools are available to customized it. The smartphone version is constantly crash and had to restart my phone every time the software is crashing. The software has no newly additional feature and i afraid it will be obsolete.

Lena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Google hangouts is ok software for business

Reviewed on 2022/01/06

For the software to be free, it is decent to use. The features that are offered work well and...

For the software to be free, it is decent to use. The features that are offered work well and reliably, so you can be confident using the messaging, chat, or video calls for your business. I would have liked to been able to record and live stream though. The recordings are so important for employees that miss meetings or for tracking our clients pets while in the facility.

Pros

I like that it is free and easy to use. The chat and video feature is great for having meetings without everyone present.

Cons

I really don’t like that you can not screen share or record your meetings. The live steaming feature is absent as well.

Alternatives Considered

Google Voice

Reasons for Switching to Google Chat

It was free and was easy to use.