Showing 347 reviews of 3

Horizon

VDI platform for managing virtual desktops & applications

4 /5 (3 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
67%
recommended this app
Showing 347 reviews of 3
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very useful when remote work is done

Reviewed on 2020/11/25

Overall I like this product, recommend.

Pros

I genuinely like vmware tools for their design usability and functional combination. Horizon is one of them. It’s great tool for remote work, provides ability to connect to your virtual desktop at work or at university.

Cons

Sometimes connection drops without causes, at least in my home network.

Jose de jesus R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience virtualizing productivity environment for the growth of services

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

The opportunity to share my experience with the use of VMwaresVphere is generous because I can help other users with my recommendation or other potential clients who wish to implement a virtualized environment

Pros

I have worked for a few years in virtualization, using virtual environments completely or mixed environments, virtual - physical, and MWware vSphere has shown me to be a hypervisor, taking full advantage of the processing capacity of each host, so taking advantage of the centralized administration that is achieved through VMware Vcenter, the large number of configurations of networks and virtual networks give an additional value to product.
Likewise the use of multiple operating systems allows me to have a server farm with a variety of services to our customers to meet their needs 100%.
Actually working VMware vSphere together with VMware vCenter is the greatest benefit cost advantage, since we have significant savings in terms of equipment maintenance, licensing, space saving, energy savings and man hours dedicated to supervising a physical environment as such.

Cons

The daily work of the vSphere tool has helped me to know it and not only know its advantages and benefits but also its few weak points, however its greatest weakness may be its high cost, which for implementations in small business environments can be very difficult. of implementing since a technological infrastructure of process of a great capacity is required and the cost in the licensing would affect in an important way the cash flow, and it would be underutilized.
Without the integration of VMware Vcenter 100% all the benefits of VMware vSphere would not be used.
Equally, the training of the staff would also have a huge cost, even though the training by the technical staff is excellent, there is also the virtual training that gives the advantage of cost savings, however it is not as effective as in person.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

horizon

Reviewed on 2020/12/18

I would go with cloud if want to be less trouble

Pros

if you are managing your own infrastructure then horizon is good .as part of your virtualization servers u can parallely work on desktops .not a big issue .saves some money when compared to amazon work space but efforts needs to be like upgrades patching etc ..

Cons

if you infra is low in memory cpu and storage .desktops will be slow and need to restart .huge investement for license windows vmware etc ..and support

Josh J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best choice when it comes to creating a virtual infrastructure.

Reviewed on 2020/12/04

Been running all of our workloads on vSphere for the past 17 years. We could not function as an IT organization without it.

Pros

VMware created the category of Virtual Infrastructure. Whether you are virtualizing your applications, servers, containers or network, VMware has a solution that meets the most demanding mission critical needs.

Cons

Very costly, it is the gold standard, but comes at heavy price compared to its competitors. It does however deliver.

Ihab M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Virtualization = VMware

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

We no longer have to worry about buying new physical servers. We have 2 HPE blades chassis and 2 HPE Synergy across 4 location. VM migration between data centers is very helpful.
hardware is being utilized at almost 85% and overall cost is certainly reduced.

Pros

I have been using VMware for almost 12 years, day to day operations had never been so easy. easy implementation and administration. we converted 95% of our server to virtual machines.
My favorites features are online migration, high availability and DRS .

Cons

I didn't and still don't like the web interface, the old Windows application prior to version 5.5 was perfect and very effective. now with the new flash based interface is dissapointing.
there is another HTML5 version but it lacks some features.
i am hoping that they come up with a new version these days knowing that Flash plugins will no be longer supported.

Jeffrey M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Virtualized environments in a click of a button

Reviewed on 2018/09/22

Pros

Although the company i work for has moved away from using vmware, I will review as part of vSphere as i still use personal version for my VMs. vSphere has two amazing uses namely,spinning up duplicate test environments for students writing on site tests with monitoring. vSphere is also amazing for test environments for our applications to be deployed to before releasing via build servers to a production environment. Software uses minimal memory apart from values set per environment on each PC. load and performance testing seems to kill environments though.

Cons

If not configured correctly, virtual environments created may hang for a long time . Needs fine-tuning before any deployment to be used for tests to replicate live environments. This takes a lot of resource time . Have sometimes found that Windows hypervisor sometimes requires re-enablement after multiple restarts without starting up vSphere suite. This was found to happen if hypervisor was started during the install process.

Sonu S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

VMware Virtualization tool

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

It was a good experience, Since installation was simple and a little bit of knowledge one can setup a virtual servers easily.

Pros

It's light weight OS, Which is very easy to load into the server. It requires very less time to setup. Once the OS is installed it can be used to create many VM's which is very helpful to separate the servers virtually.

Cons

The licencing is costly. There is no support from VMware team, in order to get things sorted out it takes much time since one has to experiment there own.

Oren H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Why vmware

Reviewed on 2020/10/19

Overall excellent software and does the job.
Flexible software if excellent capabilities although not particularly cheap software you will have to pay quite a bit even though they have bundles

Pros

I have been working for about 8 years with this software, the uniqueness of vmware is the stability, very stable software with almost no glitches.
It is very easy to implement things to add virtual machines etc.

Cons

The initial settings require the installation of a VMware specialist.
If you want to install advanced options like vmotion you will need to arrange quite powerful and compatible hardware so that there is no decrease in performance

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent virtualization platform

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

Very positive - when issues have arisen their support team has been able to help very quickly and is is vary rare that the program ever develops issues.

Pros

Setting up of templates/clones is extremely simple. These tasks can be completed outside of office hours by the simple act of setting up a scheduled task.
Settings can be toggled in order to allow for the addition and/or removal of RAM and CPU cores whilst the server remains active, and the addition of hard drive space is invaluable.

Cons

It is rare that I have actually come across something that has actively caused an issue within vSphere.
The closest I can come to a con about the software would be that VMWare failed to corner the hosted server audience - Azure for instance is now a far more viable solution as both the licencing and the hardware can be brought from one company - had VMWare moved into this earlier I do not believe that we would be considering moving our entire infrastructure to Azure.

Scott J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best virtualization platform out there.

Reviewed on 2017/11/16

Turns just a few physical servers into Hundreds of Virtual servers. The ROI is amazing.

Pros

A complete offering. Feature rich. Works very well with minimal complex setup. Can be configured for maximum performance with some bit of tweaking of hardware and software. Compatible with the widest number of guest operating systems. New HTML5 web interface is accessible from mobile devices.

Cons

Can be very complex in larger configurations. More feature rich editions are quite expensive. You can be nickel and dimed to death with addons. May require outside resources to setup correctly for maximum performance depending on your environment.

Jose V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Repurpose Aging Servers Quickly and Profit

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Repurpose old hardware and make great, efficient use of machines that are just sitting idle. Great for testing and certification of applications.

Pros

We've been able to re-purpose some older servers that were not being used. We're currently using vSphere for a sandbox environment and some non-critical business applications. The hypervisor has allowed to host some apps we did not have room for on other servers. The setup was quick and painless. We were worried that the server hardware would not run as smooth but the broad compatibility of vSphere has allowed to us a smooth and suprisingly fast experience.

Cons

Since we're on the free flavor, obviously we're hitting some of the limitations of a non-paid version. However, we're looking at possibly making a purchase in the near future.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product for both small and large business

Reviewed on 2018/04/19

We were able to consolidate multiple racks of server to a single rack and increase uptime in the process. We scale faster than ever and can transition between hardware platforms seamlessly.

Pros

This product scales exceptionally well. I have gone from a single host to 40 hosts and 1000 VMs pretty painlessly. There are more security options than other competitors and the reliable is hard to beat.

Cons

The software is expensive and you have to pay for each peace. The core product is good for very basic stuff but you have to pay for additional licenses and products to get the really good stuff. It can be very complex and the web GUI is clunky and buggy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Next Level Enterprise IT

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

We were able to consolidate and virtualize all of our servers; vSphere takes away the daily struggles with hardware and empowers standardizing operating systems across the entire enterprise.

Pros

VMware vSphere is a superior virtualization platform. Using vSphere, we have been able to virtualize our infrsatructure, produce numberous Proof of Concepts with ease, and testing and deployment has never been easier. The software is very mature, easy to use and intuitive in it's design.

Cons

The software is expensive for enterprise features. The Hardware Compatibility List is also very limiting.

Scott L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VMWare makes deploying workstations and servers incredibly easy.

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

We use this for our end user virtual desktop assignment as well as several of our test servers and testing environments. It's very easy to assign users, remove and add virtual hardware, and remove unused devices.

Pros

This software is super easy and fun to use. Creating new desktop pools, virtual appliances and servers, or virtual desktops for individual use is really fast and reliable.

Cons

The best features, such as View Composer and Linked Clones, cost additional in licensing, and the software licensing in general is very expensive. Setting up the environment can also be very intimidating, and may require third party assistance.

Jason L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VMware vSphere Allows Ease of Management for Virtual Machines

Reviewed on 2018/09/24

vSphere makes what should be an overly complicated collection of processes related to server virtualization, and makes them so easy that they are barely even considered in regards to time and work costs.

Pros

vSphere is a phenomenal tool for managing server virtualization. It's a single-source tool for any adjustments that need to be made to current machines, any additional machines that need to be created, or any obsolete machines that need to be taken out of production. All of these require both minimal effort and minimal time cost.

Cons

The interface of the software can be difficult to learn, as the way pools of resources are represented and managed themselves (Datastores used for storage for Virtual Machines, virtual networking components, etc) are handled separately from the virtual machines themselves. Once in the mindset of how vSphere organizes all of these components, the interface clicks and is much easier to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Setup VMs and administrer with the the web client - No app needed.

Reviewed on 2017/12/21

Simple server management and organisation.

Pros

Setup VMs and administrer with the the web client - No app needed.
Allow you to setup and run multiple server instances both Windows and Linux on a single server.
Adjust memory and disks with a few click.
Organise and group multiple servers based on the different teams.
Setup test servers for developers at the click of button.
View server utilisations and load with simple graphs and tools.
Move VMS from one physical server to another.

Cons

Can be slow to load when multiple VMS are added.
Relatively expensive, although considering the functionality it gives using one bit of hardware for multiple server instances this can be accepted.
If the physical server fails, all servers stop working. (Although if you have multiple servers the servers can move automatically when configured correctly with the right paid option).

Cary D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

vSphere

Reviewed on 2019/06/24

vSphere helps to successfully manage simple to highly complex ESX cluster environments providing a rich set functions which address the most important ESX cluster management use cases.

Pros

vSphere presents a powerful and intuitively access visual user interface which allows an easy organization of complicated tasks and monitoring capabilities for the ESX cluster environment.

The visual user interface is organized as a hierarchy which allows for "drill down" scenarios to get information starting at the highest level, the ESX cluster.

Cons

The vSphere software currently lacks a powerful capability for monitoring different metrics pertaining to disk utilization levels .

Joseph L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We Run Our Business On vSphere

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

I'm in management now but I started in an entry level postion as an Engineer, I been using vSphere since day one. It's a very easy concept to grasp, so if you have your premsissions set right you can trust your infrustuture to any tier of the sysadmin family.

Pros

It's a beautiful piece of so software that allows you to get the most out of your existing hardware and squeeze as much RIO as you can out of your recourses. It's easy to setup and manage and is Cloud Ready if you are just starting up.

Cons

It's pricey and takes some wits to navigate their licensing maze.

Philip E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good tool for managing your virtual machines

Reviewed on 2018/06/10

We are at a point where for the most part this tool runs quietly in the background until there is an issue that needs addressing. When there is something that comes up, it is generally straightforward to address simple machine operations such as restarts, adding drive space, and other daily operations.

Pros

Lots of good informational right at your fingertips, near real time diagnostic information and controls, everything is laid out in such a manner that it is easy to find the machine you are looking for, and to diagnose issues or perform operations. Setting up alerts and integrating them into your other systems is also pretty straightforward. There is a very logical approach to everything.

Cons

Sometimes there is a general sense of slow performance when you have many machines, however that is to be expect and it is more of an old reliable workhorse, that never gives the impression that it is about to fail.

Brian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Virtualization Software Available

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

We have been using VMware vSphere for many years and have been on many different versions. VMware is by far the most flexible solution available and provides all features and management capabilities needed.

Pros

Very powerful and feature rich. The user interface is setup well and easy to navigate. Single pane of glass for overall status of hosts and VMs.

Cons

Price point. Licensing costs can be high based on features needed. If you only need the very basic features there is a free version available.

Paul B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VMware is very solid.

Reviewed on 2017/12/08

Runs my client's servers on a daily basis.

Pros

Very reliable. The premier hypervisor in the world. I've never had a serious problem running it. Price seems pretty reasonable for small businesses.

Cons

The reseller program; a couple years ago they instituted a fee for resellers which pushed out a lot of small resellers like me. I kind of resent them for that. Customer support is expensive and hard to get if you're not paying a lot for it, but since it's so reliable, you don't need it often.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Virtual Infrastructure Done Right

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

It has helped manage our business daily for years.

Pros

Easy to manage every aspect of your virtual environment from physical hosts/storage to virtual servers. Web interface is nice if you don't want to install the client. The features to manage your VM's are very nice and easy to use from the software.

Cons

Newer versions favor the web interface, which seems to be a bit slower than the client, and some of the settings are a bit buried.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VMware it is!

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

Pros

Been using VMware vSphere before it was even called vSphere! It was pretty simple to wrap my head around the concept years ago and have not looked back at all. We are currently in discussion about taking out licensing even further to add DRS. We love it and are not even considering another virtualization software.

Cons

The additional features we are looking to purchasing licensing for are going to cost a fortune.

Jonathan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

VMware VSphere - Built for business

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

Customer Service is good. The product is solid and doesn't seem to crash often.
I was able to learn a lot since the start of virtual machines.

Pros

VMWare Vsphere is a solid virtual machine application that gets the job done.
Everything you need to create, manage and maintain a virtual environment.

Cons

The only issue I have with VMware is the cost associated with licensing and their whole license structure.

Mariana A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for business

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

I have been using it for about 6 years already and I love it :)

Pros

Easy usage and even when upgrades happen, they try to keep the overall outlook so its easy to transition from one previous version to a new one, but with more features everytime. Also you are not force to upgrade inmediately as techinical support goes for a while.

Cons

I really can not add anything on the list, I am really happy with this product