Showing 89 reviews of 76

vCenter Server

IaaS platform for managing and deploying virtual machines

4,6 /5 (76 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
Showing 89 reviews of 76
Joseph L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Twice the Fun!

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

vCenter is a must if you are using ESX for your Hypervisor.

Pros

Great way to manage your entire virtual infrastructure and integration all your favorite IT solutions for a one stop shop. Now you can have redundant vCenters!

Cons

Sizing vCenter to fit your needs is a bit of trial and error. Also, we have had to apply a handful of tweaks and workaround for issue throughout the years.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Control center for virtual datacenter

Reviewed on 2018/05/06

Pros

Since version 6.5, when vCenter can be installed as Virtual Appliance, it's the best control center for VMware environment. Easy to configure, quick and has HTML5 support.

Cons

Price is high for version with all functionality. Not all functions are available in HTML5, there are still some which work only with Flash version. Backward compatibility only to 5.5. Since version 6.5 no support for installed vSphere client.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

vCenter is needed

Reviewed on 2019/02/18

Pros

you can have as many esxi host running but the only true way to actually manage all at once, is via vCenter.
you can Vmotion your vm's, create different clusters for the hosts. allocating whether its storage, memory, datastores vcenter has it.

Cons

can be a bit pricy but well worth it. Depending on the amount of hosts/cores. etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

For all your VMWare orchestration needs this is the software of choice.

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

It allows rapid provisioning of virtual machines, centralized performance monitoring of my cluster, and numerous other benefits.

Cons

I have yet to find a disadvantage to this software other than the first time you use it the learning curve can be a little steep, but VMWare provides a number of great learning resources.

Chris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I use vCenter to manage a worldwide install base of vSphere servers.

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

Fast, stable, consistent, time-proven software.
Well known by existing support staff and potential new hires, very little training needed.
Easy to understand UI

Cons

High license costs.
I preferred the windows based thick client which is being depreciated in favor of the less capable web client.

Marc L.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great for managing all your vsphere servers

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Pros

Easy to setup clusters, good reporting and features, nice options for upgrading and alerting. Been a good product for years.

Cons

Kind of disappointed they are phasing our Windows vcenter and moving towards appliance only support.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent software

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

Pros

Very easy GUI usage. Safe and easy for use for new users.

Cons

Sometimes it can`t find source file and sometimes it`s left log unnecessary files.

Raul M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best choice for centralized management

Reviewed on 2018/06/26

Pros

VMware VirtualCenter is few steps ahead in virtualized environments. Having a centralized management and virtualized servers and workstations can make the difference in the enterprise business.

Cons

The enterprise edition price is high for medium to small business. The support for Linux based environments could be better.

Karen M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great monitor and control tool for IT

Reviewed on 2018/06/01

Centralized control and management of all the IT infrastructure

Pros

This software gives you a centralized control and management of all the IT infrastructure. Helps to monitor the performance of the servers.

Cons

Doesnt have a friendly graphic interphase and like other VMware applications, the product is expensive.

Mike S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

VMware vCenter - Managing your virtual machines made easy

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

VMware vCenter is a great way to virtualize your server farm.

Pros

VMware vCenter software makes managing all your virtual machines, that are in use in your data center, easy. The capability to take snapshots of the VMs had helped us several times so far, when there are issues with a VM.

Cons

For first time users VMware vCenter has a little bit of a learning curve. But once you try out some of the features, you will be surprised of all that is has to offer.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent management of the virtual machine

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Pros

You can do the migration of other virtual machines, according to their use. You can check the CPU and the memory of the machine for the storage of assets, very fast, I recommend having a custom tool for the use of resources.

Cons

Vmware Vcenter presents some very difficult to identify errors. Still carrying the record to the user's support, the solution is complicated. Difficult in advanced terms.

Joel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Do not use, really terrible

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

so clunky and not a pleasure to use like other software.
Really difficult to use and does not work half the time, really unstable

Cons

Customer support almost non existent, tried getting in contact many times but to no avail.
Really unstable, would be doing work and the system would crash. This happend many times

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

very easy to use and not complicated

Reviewed on 2018/03/16

consolidate servers very easy

Pros

even my perfil is storage is very easy to use vmware virtual center and administrate the virtual machines, clone it and also replicate.

Cons

i dont like that after two or three years upgrade is a most and we need to also refresh the harware to sopport it

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great program to see all your hosts and servers

Reviewed on 2018/03/22

Pros

Manages and allows one to see where everything in the VM structure is. Handles many things and allows for a less headache

Cons

Its a bit hard to navigate. If your a newbie, don't try playing with he software and ask for help. Some stuff require more knowledge. ALOT of options and things.

Jose de jesus R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Use of VCenter, my great experience

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

To be able to share with a great audacity the experience of using the software that I use on a daily basis so that I can also get to know the experience of other end users, learn from their experiences, recommendations and experiences within the professional, technical and personal spheres.
Widely recommended, the first time I use it I would recommend it 100% to other professionals, who want to share their experience and experience.

Pros

For more than 10 years I have been a VMWare VCenter user, in which I have been able to experience the great benefits of a software that allows to have centralized administration of all the resources of a virtual environment. The creation of teams is considerably simplified, since the allocation of resources is very fast, the management of the configuration of the networks and the storage elements are now easy to use and assign. With the new virtualization technology used by VMWare VCenter, the computing centers have great scalability, the remote management of data centers for disaster reoccupation is very effective.
The creation, administration and configuration of Virtual Networks is also one of the best advantages of VCenter, its implementation is quick and easy. The backup of the virtual environment is also easy to perform, in this way the operation of my services will be guaranteed in case of any application or operating system failure, I no longer have to worry.
I have used it with different brands of hardware in different companies and it seems to me that the product behaves equally fast and versatile.
I feel more secure and confident in every moment, I recommend it tirelessly.

Cons

One of the few advantages that VMWare VCenter has is that it adapts to only medium and large companies for its cost, it is worth using, the hardware to be used must be of great potential in order to make the most of the resources and exploit them for the benefit of the company and thus have 100% utilization.
Another disadvantage that it has is having a VCenter cluster, that is having two or more VCenter having access to the same database so that in case of failure it can continue the operation as if it had not roasted anything, for this modality it must be have a clone of the VCenter turned off and turn on in case of error and not recovery of the original VCenter, this generates waste of time for lack of this process is automatic.

Chris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

vSphere is nothing without vCenter

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

I have administered and managed hundreds (maybe thousands) of VMs with vCenter. Used the last 3 major versions and they are constantly improving and adding features and increasing the hardware limitations (a VM with 1TB of RAM!!).

Pros

vCenter puts all the awesome technologies and features together in a manageable environment. vCenter is the first step in clustering resources into no longer seeing individual hardware servers as important. Virtualize compute, storage, and network so as to be one seamless datacenter resource. vCenter is compatible and integrated with so many other products and VMware's powershell library for vCenter is exhasutive.

Cons

Like vSphere, it can get pricey. And as of the most recent release, I don't think that there is a really good high availability solution for the vCenter VM itself so that if it dies, you may be left doing alot of manual work until you can bring it back up.

Ahmed E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vmware VCenter

Reviewed on 2020/12/26

Very good

Pros

User interface. Integration with LDAP. updates for vcenter and hosts.

Cons

Interface must be simplified for users to interact with it

Rajitha W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Virtualization is the best

Reviewed on 2018/12/03

overall this is superb technology and interesting GUI. Using this it is very easy to manage virtual servers and manage network and storage. this is totally easy rather than using more physical servers

Pros

This is one of the best solution for virtualization. It is easy to implement the technology and easy to Manage physical ESXi hosts and virtual machines as well. There are lot of functionalities in this vcenter sever and we can make every virtual machine highly available with zero downtime. User interface is very easy and descriptive as well.

Cons

in network slowness sometimes vcenter will go to hang state. It is the one of main problem.

Stjepan V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

vCenter WEB GUI

Reviewed on 2020/06/26

All together great product.

Pros

Consistent layout of menu, ease of use, improved HTML5 GUI, AD login plugin.

Cons

There are still some features missing that exist in Flash WEB client; vSAN monitoring is buggy, export of listed events/tasks,inventory is not possible in HTML5 client. After upgrading or updating I must warn all users to clear web browser cache before first login to vCenter WEB GUI. Sorting of columns in active tasks (in bottom frame) is often jumping/rearranging as task finishes and making it unusable for monitoring.

Eric L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Way to Manage Multiple Hosts

Reviewed on 2018/08/28

This software allows me to have multiple servers on very little hardware and have redundancy so my business stays running 24/7. It is part of my enterprise no matter what company I work for.

Pros

This makes it very simple to manage multiple ESXi hosts in one pane of glass. It's fairly easy to use once you understand the basics but has the ability to be very powerful.

Cons

I don't like how the latest management is all web based. Before you can use a stand alone client but now you must access via a web console. It is not as polished as the app.

Ken L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent way to manage VMware environment, though could use some modernization

Reviewed on 2019/04/07

Great for managing and operating our VMware environment.

Pros

I like how intuitive and simple the on-boarding process is. We had little to no experience but adding a host, setting up a cluster, enabling features like HA and DRS was very easy. The UI works well and all you need is a web browser, no flash or plugin required. Our environment is pretty small for now and we can use virtualcenter for most tasks. We use govmomi to automate certain tasks, deploy and tear down of infrastructure along with maintenance operations. The community is quite large and helpful.

Cons

Some tasks require a number of clicks before you can submit them. Occasionally I will navigate myself into an unfamiliar place and I need to go back to HOME to start over again. Sporadically the UI will hang and slowdown, this might be because we need to add more CPU and memory to our VC virtual machine. VC definitely requires a lot of resources to work well. While VC provides a lot of metrics, they are not exposed in any meaningful way. You can extract them via the APIs but it looks like we might need vC Operations to better consume them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I manage my virtual machine Vcenter.

Reviewed on 2018/05/14

First of all you can manage a lots of hosts and virtual machines by one web window.

Pros

It is so easy to manage all machine from web window. You can monitor all hardware status and CPU, Memory and storage usage under summary tab. Also you can migrate Virtual machine others machine which it has more resource than other machine.

Cons

Vmware Vcenter complicated my systems. I never seen any bad situation in VCenter. It depends administration of your systems.

Matt M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best way to manage multiple ESXi hosts

Reviewed on 2018/07/05

Pros

- every version gets better and better
- easier to deploy
- newest version support HA which means the possiblity of less vCenter downtime which is great
- the appliance is now full featured meaning 1 less Windows Server

Cons

- complicated licensing structure that didn't used to be that way
- VMware support has decreased in quality over the past 1-2 years
- VMware still can't kill off the Flash UI in favor of the HTML5 version

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Getting Better Every Release

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

VMware VirtualCenter is a single pane of glass application to manage our server environment. It is essential to operate the VMware cluster, we could not live without it.

Pros

The software is very stable and makes it easy to perform day to day management tasks. It gives a good overview of our environment and helps us to make choices in e.g. load balancing or making changes to settings. Rolling out new servers is easy to do.

Cons

Not every feature is available in the HTML5 version of the interface. There is also a Flash interface that you may need to switch to, to make changes to e.g. permissions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

VMware VirtualCenter Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

Overall its good .

Pros

The best part of VMware is ease of use. You can manage multiple servers and machines at one place and provide best utilization of resources.

It allow you to you to use shared resources when it is not in use, which help to optimal resource utilization of machine

Cons

A bit expensive for small companies . Recovery is difficult and time consuming .