Showing 51 reviews of 40

Camtasia

Screen recording, video making, and editing tool

4,6 /5 (40 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
Showing 51 reviews of 40
Aziz R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Camtasia | Software Reviews

Reviewed on 2020/11/09

Well, I enjoyed a lot using Camtasia a. It is very user friendly. I believe everyone loves this very much.

Pros

I use Camtasia for video editing purposes. It makes me feel good.
Well, Camtasia video recording software. It allows you to screen recording with astounding features, animations, and effects. A lot of features I like it more especially video transitions, great effects, and so on.

It was founded in the United States in 1987. Now It is gained much more popularity among YouTubers. They don’t have a free version but offer a free trial so that you can buy from them if you like it.

The price is $249 as a one-time payment per person.

Cons

It makes computer slow during rendering videos. That is why it takes a little bit of time to render videos

Enoch D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Video production made easy with Camtasia

Reviewed on 2020/12/18

i have been able to make awesome videos for my youtube channel thanks to camtasia and my overall experience has been great

Pros

looking for a lightweight software for your video editting, with great interface, check this software out. it has all the features and the tools to make a top notch media production. Make a video like a pro with all the fancy trasitions and effects, annotations and transitions. record your screen in an awesome way with just the click of a button and edit them easily. do voice-overs, documentaries and vlog videos easily with Camtasia. export them into several formats for web, phone, iphone and many other formats.

Cons

it could do more with a lot more features to make the sofware better

Hiran T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Editing and creation of video and audio is made simple and fast.

Reviewed on 2021/02/03

Pros

The User interface is simple and required tools placed on the left side tab. Audio editing job done easy by audio effects option have preloaded option like noise removal, volume levelling, fade in, fade out and clip speed. The preloaded effects made editing job quick which are loaded in media, annotations, transitions, behaviours, animations, cursor effects, voice narrations and audio effects. The User can lock the track and make hide or visible of the particular track.

Cons

Importing of the media file is not quick. Launching of the software take more time to open the software. Functions of the software are not quick responsive.

Chandra R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good, reputable product

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

Excellent.

Pros

It is a very robust and stable product. You can create awesome videos with Camtasia. Burning captions is very easy. Overall a solid product.

Cons

Not very user-friendly. Takes some time to acquire the skill and learn all the features.

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice balance between features and ease-of-use

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

Lovely. I've tried iMovie, and Premier Pro and they don't compare to Camtasia for doing screencasts, recording + exporting and simple movies. If you're a movie maker, this isn't for you, but if you're throwing together a quick family video or annotating a demonstration video, Camtasia is perfect.

Pros

It's so easy to quickly record a screen, app window, or region of my screen, then annotate and export it. If you want to go a bit further, the media library and transition effects etc are great & useful.

Cons

At times, it feels a tiny bit light on features: there's certain things I'd like to be able to do easier, but these are minor things and again, not what its meant to be used for.

Laurence T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best video editor I’ve ever used

Reviewed on 2020/08/09

My experience has been very positive. I’ve edited hours of videos in Camtasia and it’s been a very enjoyable experience.

Pros

Chopping up video clips and making professional videos is really easy. Plus the screen recorder is fantastic.

Cons

Nothing so far, Camtasia is really good. I’ve used Premier Pro, Final Cut Pro, and Sony Vegas Pro, and it’s safe to say Camtasia is my favorite of them all.

Andrew H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Camtasia is a good tool

Reviewed on 2020/10/03

A good software that helps when needed

Pros

It is a useful application helps you to record your screen while making sessions or videos that can not be downloaded

Cons

very expensive for its features and has a short trial period

Stefanos E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Camtasia review

Reviewed on 2020/12/18

I have been using Camtasia on a daily basis to perform screencasts, record my videos and edit them afterwards in order to produce high quality training materials for technical audiences. I am very happy with the overall performance and feature set of the software and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It covers my requirements as a beginner video producer and trainer.

Pros

Camtasia offers a boost in the process of video recording and editing. It features very high quality screen casting and high resolution .mp4 video output. Also Techsmith's training academy allows new video editors to obtain useful knowledge in the field of video production by offering courses to every new paid Camtasia subscription. Last but not least, Techsmith offers a rich library of assets and templates to use in your professionally looking video project.

Cons

Unfortunately Camtasia is not officially supported on Windows Server systems. I had a Windows Server 2019 box on which I would like to install it but this is not officially supported.

Kn R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Camtasia Review

Reviewed on 2020/10/16

Camtasia is a joy to use to develop eLearning content. You can make it as interactive as you want with quizzes or other elements or keep it simple and use it to publish PowerPoint presentations.

Pros

Camtasia is a great software for creating eLearning presentations and videos. It's also an ways software to use for those who are not tech savvy. The software is easy to learn and allows you to quickly get started creating eLearning projects. I like that you can add and format callouts as well as add animations and control timing and execution of the animation.

Cons

It's not as feature rich as Adobe Captivate, but still allows you to create good content. Sometimes Camtasia does not work well, when the project file gets too large or when your working on a project file on a network drive, instead of your local computer hard drive.

Richard G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product for tutorial videos

Reviewed on 2020/10/02

Amazing. Will continue to use this software for all video creating. Our marketing team also now uses it for digital social media.

Pros

The features in this software make it easy for anyone to create and edit tutorial videos. Even as a first timer it was seamless

Cons

loved it all the way around. the only thing I would change is selection of audio clips.

Heather T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy To Use

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

The software has allowed me to create pieces of videos that I use over and over then splice them into other videos at the applicable place. This not only streamlines my work but ensures we are using the correct information each time. It has also allowed me to create more professional quality of videos in far less time.

Pros

The system has a robust set of features built into it that are easy to use and manipulate. Most things are as easy as dragging and dropping them into place on the video you are editing. You can easily add things such as transitions, moving call-outs, and even splice in other videos. It took me about 30 minutes to get it all figured out.

Cons

It feels overwhelming at first and the controls aren't necessarily easy to figure out unless you have watched a tutorial. Once you do then it is very easy to figure out and navigate.

Maher T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Video Editing? So Camtasia

Reviewed on 2020/11/27

Pros

Simple to use, very large options and tools.
You get what you imagine.

Cons

The timeline needs more precision in terms of thumbnails to get perfect scenes.

Daniel T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Camtasia Review

Reviewed on 2020/12/29

I use Camtasia to record and create professional training video for my courses, webinars, and for post-production recorded Zoom live session. It’s very easy to create another similar video, using templates, video placeholders or simply copy-paste an existing project and replace existing media with a new one.

It is less feature-rich than Adobe Premiere, but you can’t beat its simplicity.

Also, TechSmith delivers amazing support tutorials to help you learn how to use the platform.

Pros

Camtasia is very easy to use and has enough features to make your video looks professional.

Has templates and video placeholders that are very useful when you create similar videos.

It has quite a few video effects.

It has auto sound normalizer and noise reduction (is not perfect, but it helps).

Camtasia comes with a Screen Recorder that is integrated with the editor. After recording, you have the option to auto create a Camtasia project and add the recorded video to it.

Can capture mouse and you can edit it later (like size or hide it). Camtasia also smooth the mouse movements.

You can explain better some topics using text overlay (very easy to create, extend, or add effects).

Supports green screen.

It’s easy to import video and photos created in other application.

You can post videos directly to YouTube from within the application.

Cons

Sometimes I need to be exact when cutting and splicing a video or audio and I miss one or two steps of zooming-out the media.

The software was freezing on a laptop without a graphics card (rarely).

Camtasia doesn’t have the possibility to change the editing speed. But I managed to do it using a workaround: changing the media speed and before exporting don’t forget to change it back to normal.

For a long video, rendering takes a lot.

Audio processing is a bit limited (for more control you should use another tool like Audacity)

If you hear that Camtasia can import PowerPoint slides, don’t be too enthusiast about that, it will import them as photos only. Doesn’t import/replicate any effect or text.

Amanat A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Video Formate and file size is good

Reviewed on 2021/01/25

Pros

The file size of a video of the same time-length is very small than others. Text video result is outstanding. Quickly applying Transaction, sound effects, and chroma key.

Cons

Quickly remove the chroma key, all features are good. I like it

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is a useful solution, try it free..

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

we are mostly using camtasia to training our specialists who works from out of offfice. All employees become home office since April '20 due to covid-19 and this program has became crucial. A new era has begun for business world and camtasia is a key player.

Pros

we transfer all our training programs to e-learning platforms. Not just our trainers but also my other team members such as QA specialists can use camtasia easily to record. We usually combine parts or recombine after updates which occurs very often. Its user friendly interface is important and valuable

Cons

Snagit 2020 is must be free or lower price.

Daniel E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Educational films

Reviewed on 2020/04/16

With Camtasia, we have always been able to create professional explanatory films that have been highly appreciated by customers. Processes were well visualized for the users.

Pros

Camtasia is an excellent tool for creating explanatory movies. It makes it easy to synchronize sound and video. Many small functions make a professional look possible. For example, straightening the mouse pointer or zooming in and out.

Cons

Camtasia is an excellent tool for creating explanatory movies. However, it often takes a lot of fine-tuning before all of the functions finally match.

Rob W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Essential when creating instructional video's

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

It is versatile and easy to use. I use it to edit recordings of classes and create guides how to do stuff.

Pros

The software is easy to use. I do not use it to produce blockbuster movies but simple instructional videos and recordings of lessons. For this purpose, it is easy to use, has enough options, and is quite stable and fast.

Cons

I cannot think of anything that is relevant. Perhaps not having a plug-in for Google Slides is something I might miss (because there is a plug-in for Powerpoint but that I do not use very often).

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Basic Workhorse for Screen Recording and Video Editing

Reviewed on 2020/07/29

Pros

Good functionality for easy screen recording and basic video editing plus access to some free downloadable template assets.

Cons

Annual upgrades are not that impressive and seem to not come with easy to understand tutorials from the developers. Responsiveness to user feedback for improved functionality is not top tier.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best video editing soft

Reviewed on 2020/05/27

It was good experience to work with this app. But I could not use it free forever.

Pros

It can be used to edit almost any type of video. The wide range of functionality and easy interface made the apps one of the leading video editing applications. I have used the trial version because I am not a professional video editor. But it has amazing transaction effects, tremendous pre-installed effect, royalty-free music, a lot of intro videos, and so on. It is the best option for a beginner user too.

Cons

It is not free apps. One need buy its license which is expensive. But as the developer is developing the apps regularly they need a paycheck. So if anybody wants to be a pro video editor as an amateur I can recommend this app to start with.

Rebekah P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software but hard to use

Reviewed on 2020/11/11

My overall experience with Camtasia was definitely positive but the software was too complicated for me to invest time into learning it.

Pros

I made beautiful and professional videos on camtasia. They looked like a team made them. Everything flowed very well when it was finished

Cons

It is extremely hard to use and I felt like I needed a encyclopedia in order to figure it out. Loads of little buttons that have no direction. I wish when I was beginning to use it there has been a walking on onboarding.

Alexandra N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Software for Course Recording

Reviewed on 2020/12/04

The recording experience is great- if youre not a total newbie to audio/video software. I had adobe experience from a few years ago, so that part was easy. I just wanted to upload it in mp4 format or wave, and couldn't find a way to do it.

Pros

Given you are familiar with similar layouts, such as audio software programmes, or video software, this is easy to use. We bought ours cheaply (camtasia version 9) via a humblebundle offer. Great if you want to record your screen and audio for e.g. making courses to sell, or youtube- or to record a powerpoint presentation. I tried it out once so far, to check on the recording quality.

Cons

Please add an automatic export as mp4 or the like to the program. it may be there but i didnt see it when i first tried it out.

Ariyan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best and easy video editing and creating software

Reviewed on 2020/06/17

I use Camtasia for my camera video editing. I cut unused thing, add some title and customise the sound. sometimes I edit my whiteboard video with this, and I sell those video to my buyer.

Pros

Camtasia is a video editing and creating software. I used this software overall in 3 years. This is a really helpful software for simple editing work. The feature of this software are very easy to use. So, I recommended my all friend and colleague to use this software. There are some easy tools and option, anyone can learn about this software in one or tow day. The rendering file of this software is small but the video quality is very good. that's why it's my favourite software.

Cons

There are no special effect and fx tools. after saving the video file, that folder contains too many files.and also one thing is, you can't make any high quality petty or slide video with this.