56 reviews

Exago BI

Embedded business intelligence software with WYSIWYG builder

4,6 /5 (56 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,7
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,8
95% recommended this app
56 reviews
Tom K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago - Great for SaaS products

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

• Includes Report Building capabilities that can be utilised by the client.
• All report building is completed within the browser – no downloads required.
• Includes Dashboards.
• Includes ability for clients to build dashboards within the browser.
• Strong permissions structure, that means you can explicitly say which users can see what.
• No data access layer – this is entirely managed within the client, which means no replication of login data.
• Reports are built based on a ‘model’, built from our database
• Includes software upgrades – easy to implement
• Support provided via telephone or Zen Desk
• Report Building capabilities – can replicate current functionality.
• Option to download a trial version of the software.
• No SQL Licence required.
• If we end the licence, we have 12 months grace to transfer to another solution.

Cons

• Support Hours – These are 8am – 6pm EST (We are a UK-based business)
• Costs – cheaper than Reporting Services with BI, but much more expensive than Telerik, Synchfusion and similar.
• Server / hardware requirements

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mark R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good product to integrate Ad Hoc Reporting into SaaS software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I think the general help and assistance from Exago has been good so far, we are kept up to date with version releases and we have a regualr dialogue with their team which is good to see.

Pros

We reviewed a selection of tools on the market and we felt the Exago was the product best fit our needs based on cost and functionality. We implemented Exago as a reporting tool for our customers to run real time reports and have graphical dashboards on their home screens as a kind of snapshot summary.

Exago gives you the ability to create a suite of reports ready for customers to use and export in range of formats. You can also give customers express reporting so that they can tailor their own reports however this isn't something we have done just yet but will look to do so in the future.

Were overall satidfied with the product and were looking forward to working with Exago in recommending further features and improvements.

Cons

The dashboards take an incredibly long time to load and there doesn't seem to be a simple solution for fixing this just yet.

Improved Map reporting would be a great addition, a number of our clients wish to view data on maps and this seems to be very limited at the moment.

The UI of the dropdown filter boxes could be improved and it would be good if you could return back to your filter options after running a report if you wish to amend rather than having to run another report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Jennifer T.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great ad hoc reporting engine

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

From my perspective as a software developer who integrated Exago's software into our own, they provide many flexible features that allow you to customize the product depending on your own needs. For example, Exago provides several interfaces that allow us to manage our customer created data, where we store the reports and schedules created by our customers in our own database tables. They also provide other extensibility features, like server events that allow you to add custom code for specific events during a report execution.

We have used the api to "publish" reports for use in other parts of our application, as well as replace legacy asp reports in our application with reports created in Exago. This has helped us tremendously in standardizing reports across our application in terms of the terminology used as well as the data that is returned. Now when our customers try to compare results from various reports across our application, there is much more consistency.

Pros

We integrated Exago software as an ad hoc reporting engine for our customers. It allowed us to expose our data model to our customers and provide for them a way to create their own reports. Some of the features that we benefited from, which we did not have in our legacy solution were the ability to create custom formulas in a report and also the ability to schedule a report.

Cons

Our data model is very large and we would like to see some future improvements on how the designer handles all of the field lists so that the designer could be more responsive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Flexible, extensible, high-quality web-based report designer and execution engine

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We create cloud-based web-based CRM, scheduling, and accounting software. Our customers kept asking us for a way to write their own reports. We looked at the popular non-web-optimized options (like Crystal Reports) and a couple of web-based ones. Once we got a demo of Exago, we knew we'd found the perfect fit. It meets the needs of both our most sophisticated users and our many non-technical users. Now anyone can write their own tabular reports, create charts, dashboards, pivot tables, and schedule them to be automatically executed and emailed at any time. Integration was a breeze -- we had a proof-of-concept going in a few hours and a full solution ready not long after that. Best of all, the team at Exago is first-rate: friendly, accessible, and knowledgeable.

Pros

Multiple ways to write a report: Express and Visualization wizards for new users, and a full-featured canvas for experts. Easy to integrate and highly programmable with REST and .NET APIs. Works with a wide variety of data sources, and can combine data from multiple different sources. The pace of new feature development is excellent, with a great mix of customer-requested enhancements and Exago's own innovations that you may not have even thought of!

Cons

Documentation on the very advanced programmability features is incomplete (but getting better quickly)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ed G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago as White Label Reporting module

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Doing business with Exago, their people, their company, has been absolutely a pleasure.

Pros

Architecture is sound and integrates well with our own internal SaaS dev strategy. Ad-Hoc Reporting feature set is well liked by our customers.

Cons

Support for some areas of HTML5 rich document functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Simon G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent BI provider

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It has been an excellent working relationship working with Exago.

Pros

Reporting is very rich and company has been a pleasure to work with.

Cons

We have had to overcome a few challenges with the way logic works, but the company was very responsive in addressing those issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jeff S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Looking forward to getting started with Exago

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We're hoping this will allow us to provide a modern, easy to use BI tool for our users.
Roxanne did a great job leading us through the sales process. She was very responsive and helpful throughout.

Pros

We're just getting started but Exago seems to be easy to integrate and use, it should be a huge improvement for our users. Also, the Exago team seems extremely helpful and easy to work with.

Cons

Since we're just getting started we haven't been deep into the product, so we haven't come across any problems yet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Siddhartha N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Overall a Good Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent

Pros

Ease of use
Intuitive design
Responsive management
seamless integration

Cons

We should be able to schedule the chain reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christien D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Not just a scalable Analytics Tool .. a trustworthy partner to support your business.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

There is nothing we do not like about the system or the support team at Exago. The Customer Support and management team involvement is beyond the norm. As a start-up with limited resources, we underestimated our effort and were fortunate Exago were there to help. Take advantage of an open and transparent team, and make sure YOU have a clear understanding of your current challenges and discuss with them openly. They are not a heavy duty sales team so take advantage of that early on and you will have a system second to none in a very short period of time.

Pros

We started with Exago two years ago, around the same time as we launched our own system. At the time our clients were small and our reporting requirements fairly simple so our decision was primarily based on affordability. We could not have made a better choice, then or now. We now have larger clients and one in particular who is amazingly complex in their business (Global Logistics), now bringing in data from their legacy systems and looking to this company to report on their Operational Risk. Exago has been there every step of the way helping us grow and making our clients secure in their choice of a small start-up to push information to their global stakeholders.

Cons

We are still expanding our reach and any questions we have had were either easily answered, or on their roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ethan D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A great embedded BI solution

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago provided us with a great BI tool but even more important they were a great partner to work with. Their guidance and support during the implementation phase of our project was reassuring. Any issue or questions that arose were answered in a timely manner. And we continue to get great support when needed. The BI tool itself added an expansive amount of functionality to our product and has been well received by the users.

Pros

This software was really made to be an embedded solution. We were able to integrate Exago into our software product in a way that was seamless for the user. Other solutions created barriers around integrating through security or technology requirements. Exago was able to provide us with a solution that was obviously built for embedding.

Cons

Error handling could be improved. Errors will often require digging through server logs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bryce L.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Exago offers Complex BI in a very Simple Way

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago is constantly improving and add new features. Not only to their core product but also pushing the pace of new technology like AI and IoT. We're very happy that we not only chose to work with a great product but also a great company with even better people.

Pros

Exago has been an amazing tool for us. Our developers love working with it and our end users continue to send in great feedback. The implementation has gone smoothly and we're looking forward to continuing our roll out of more and more features.

Cons

There is really nothing we don't like about Exago and what they offer. If we run in to an issue their support staff and extremely responsive and help provide solutions. If we need a new feature added they are very transparent on when we can expect to receive the request based on their development and release cycles.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marc J.
Industry: Computer Software

Exago Delivers

Reviewed on 2015/10/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Exago software is built intelligently. They know what end-developers need to make their lives easier for integration and have a great sense of what report builders need to get their job done. Exago hits the right balance with ease of use and the ability to do complex reporting.

Cons

Sometimes challenged on some complex support requests but we eventually get to a solution together.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael P.
Industry: Computer Software

Great product and great company

Reviewed on 2015/10/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product is easy to use and very flexible, it really adds value to our own software products. The Exago team are extremely helpful.

Cons

This isn't a criticism - keeping up with new features and being able to use all the capabilities of the product can be a challenge. We really need to have one or two dedicated individuals in the company to maximize the benefits of the product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ritesh N.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Extremely customisable solution with rich interface

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

As a cloud-based solution, Asite needed a BI solution that was extremely configurable and highly performing. Exago was a great fit on both aspects. We wanted something that went beyond DB and Stored Procedure based solution. The Web Based API Data Objects allowed us to fully configure the report data objects whilst respecting the complex ACLs that are a typically seen in the Common Data Environments our clients manage on Asite.

Pros

Web Based API Data Objects
Drill downs
Dashboards

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony D.
Industry: Computer Software

User Friendly Reporting

Reviewed on 2015/10/20
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Exago is easy to implement. Their customer service and training is extraordinary. Anytime my team has questions or needs opinions on how to display information Exago staff is very responsive.

Cons

Mobile optimization needs to improve. From what I understand this is soon to be released.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Luc B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful product, Nice organization, Great customer service!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

People are Exago are easy to reach and very responsive. Nice and professional organization.

Pros

Very flexible, powerful, simple to use product. Perfectly meets the business needs of our customers.

Cons

Nothing in particular.
Product meets our expectations, contains enough features, great value for our customers

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dan E.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago works for SaaS companies looking to integrate Ad Hoc Reporting

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our experience has been uniformly positive, from sales, to implementation, to ongoing support.

Pros

We implemented Exago as an Ad Hoc Reporting tool for our customers, to go beyond the built-in reports we already provide. Exago gives them the flexibility to build their own quick ("Express") reports, create advanced and highly formatted reports, create dashboards, charts, and pivots, and to schedule reports to be automatically generated and mailed to a specified group of people. It was straightforward to integrate it with our platform, give customers a filtered view of just their own data, and customize the product for our specific needs. We evaluated a number of competing products and Exago was the winner for features, integration, and pricing.

Cons

Many of the products in this category are true Business Intelligence platforms, designed to be used by professionals in large corporate or organizational settings. But our customers are regular people, often volunteers, without professional training in complex software. The help is generally good and there are lots of video tutorials. But it would be nice if Exago had more wizards to step users through setting up a more complex report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Graham B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Exago Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to setup for Customers to create their own Reports. Scheduling/Emailing Reports

Cons

Software is embedded in a 3rd-party software and they haven't deployed all features which is a little disappointing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bryan P.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Exago is an excellent tool with great value for money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We use Exago extensively and have done for many years. We use Exago in our SaaS offering and it really does what it says on the tin. We have not been able to find a better tool and as an added bonus the pricing is sensible.

Cons

The only negative feedback is that the UI could be slicker but I am being a little pedantic.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rick A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent Analytics tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We use Exago to offer self serve reporting for our SaaS software clients. It plugs in nicely and is a tool jam packed with reporting options that allow our clients to create various reports and dashboards unique to their business objectives.

Cons

Exago is powerful and doesnt have many negative aspects. I just wish we had enough time to deploy the latest version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gary H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful, High-quality Reporting Solution that is Designed for the End User

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/03/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Three years ago, we set out to find a reporting solution that could replace SQL Server Reporting Services. We had a long list of requirements, among them:
• A Web Based Report Designer
• Easy to Create Basic Reports with Little to No Training
• Advanced Functionality that would Satisfy our Advanced Users
• Licensing that working with an onsite and SaaS deployment model
• A Clean Modern Looking User Interface
• Ability to White Label
• Ability to Secure the Scope of the Accessible Tables and Data
• Ability to Integrate with our Security Model and Dynamic Table Relationships
• Ability to have a Distributed Execution Model for our SaaS solution that Maintained Data Isolation and Security

Exago and one other reporting solution were short listed and went into an evaluation phase. During this 2-month process, we did POC integrations, tested the performance of the solution, security, APIs, and called on technical support. We found that Exago was faster to implement and easier to use. In one of our tests, we sent out a link to both products and asked all our employees to create a report within both products, without any training on either. We found that everyone created a report in Exago, but we had a high percentage of people that could not in the competing product. Additionally, the reports made in Exago we generally built with more complexity in them, due to the ease of use. Their support was extremely responsive. So much so, that we thought that it may just be because we were in the sales cycle. I am happy to say, that is not the case. Exago is just very customer focused and has a knowledgeable support staff that is always looking out for the client.

Pros

• Ease of Use
• Flexibility of Product
• Performance
• Data Security
• Ease of Implementation
• Product Support
• Commitment to Security
• Pricing Model
• Commitment to Client Success from the Top Down

Cons

Error Messages when using it in a Distributed Model can be a Challenge
• Brought up on last support call and they have committed to improving

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A great option to integrate reporting into an existing product.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/02/24
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our company has integrated Exago into our existing web application to provide reporting capabilities to our end users while allowing our development efforts to continue to focus on new features. This has allowed us to provide a mature and feature rich reporting environment while maintaining a consistent workflow and security model for our customers.

The Exago customer support has been great to work with, and they are continuing to release new features and product enhancements.

We are not yet using the "dashboard" features available through Exago, so these comments do not reflect that functionality.

Pros

Their variety of report designers (Express View, Express Wizard, Standard, and Crosstab) allows users with different levels of report writing experience to use the designer and features appropriate to their abilities.

The interactive report viewer allows users to adjust the formatting of a report at runtime.

The ability for end users to schedule reports to be delivered as an e-mail attachment.

The ability for the administrator to add custom functions to address industry-specific needs.

Simple wizards for creating graphs and gauges.

Cons

Changing “interactive” filters (report parameters) reruns the report with each change, so if a user needs to select several items in a list, the report reruns with each selection, which can be quite slow.

You cannot use a formula in an initial report filter, only in an interactive filter. This can result in far more data being returned to the report which you then have to filter out in the report, which is slower. Note that Exago has said this ability is supposed to be added in 2017.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jonathan G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use fast evolving software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago is evolving fast and packing more and more features. We have been using the software for the past three years now and the interface as well the functionalities have evolved dramatically. The improvements can be seen in every areas of the application so every type of user can benefit from it.

Pros

Exago is easy to use for beginner users as well as expert users. Can be used for simple plain lists up to complex interactive dashboards. Speaking of interactivity, we use those dynamic filters a lot throughout our vast library of reports and dashboards. Our clients can then easily compare data and find trends they could not see otherwise. The support we get from Exago's team is outstanding at any level.

Cons

Nothing really to report here other than some data manipulation functions that we would have liked to find generically. The good news is that we could program them ourselves.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Daniel H.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Business Intelligence Software - Exago

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have now had Exago software for about 2 years and am greatly impressed with its flexibility, ease of use, ease of integration, and most of all technical support. This product surpasses other software products in its class in that it offers features that are standard that require add-ons and additional expense with others. I am very impressed with this company's commitment to making this the leader in the industry which is marked by their enhancements and additional features quarterly, if not more often at times. And, did I say how easy it is???

Pros

Great customer support and full of features.

Cons

Nothing that warrants a statement here.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brian S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product, great support!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We needed an easy-to-use ad-hoc report writer for our HCM application that we could fully integrate into our software. With Exago, not only did we deliver an intuitive and easy to use reporting tool for our non "techie" users but we also added a whole new BI dimension to our application with the interactive Dashboarding functionality. Our experience with Exago the product and the company has been nothing but exceptional.

Pros

The versatility of the product in that it is usable by the full spectrum of users from novice up to seasoned reporting pro.
The great customer support we receive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10